Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ebola: Prep and dig in or bug out to the hills?

• 04-08-2014 3:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭

Ive started to stockpile water, dried food and there are medical masks in the post. What are you doing to get ready? If anything...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

prepping wise I think staying in would be the best bet you have a roof over your head and on your own turf unless you had some where to go. it is transmitted via bodily fluids so it would actually be slow to spread in a western country so long as you avoided public transport. more gear and more fuel at home so probably best to stay here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭CardinalJ

Given it spreads from direct contact with an infected person I think you'd be as well sitting in your house if it does arrive here.

I do think that we don't know how it would spread in a developed country compared to the parts of Africa it is currently spreading in. That said, I'd be concerned that we would be us usual reactive rather than proactive in dealing with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

Agreed, I would imagine people will be directed to stay in their homes in reaction to a pandemic.

I wonder about mains water the spread of Ebola by other means. Infected bodies will ALL cause infection, a body in a lake could infect many.

Will the infection even live in this climate?

And yes Ireland will be reactive and not proactive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I'm going to start by avoiding Sky News. Figure everything else will fall into place after that.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

An independent drinking source, be it stored water or your own well may be a wise precaution.

I would also add a good supply of surgical gloves, goggles, and plenty of soap (with hand sanitiser as backup when out of the home). Also consider how you will dispose of any protective gear if you think it may have come into contact with a contaminated person? Be sure to wash the gloves with soap and water before taking them off to avoid accidental contamination with bare skin. I understand that about 10 days after any possible interaction with an infected person is the critical time-frame for close monitoring of own health.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭WakeUp

You seem like a clued in bunch over here about lots of things. I still don't think it's time to panic but this needs to be watched closely, very closely. some really bright people post on zerohedge biologists, micro biologists, medical people(miffed,cougar,iridium) watch out for their comments it's a good place to keep up to date with what is actually going on not the bits and pieces being drip fed to people on the news. Ebola is not to be feared by us per se but certainly respected.
    http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2014-08-05/second-ebola-patient-arrives-us-complete-ebola-news-summary#comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Nothing. Flu kills more people than Ebola. Ebola is fluid-borne, so I've about as much chance of catching it as I do HIV. Less so actually.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

gerrowadat wrote: »
    Nothing. Flu kills more people than Ebola. Ebola is fluid-borne, so I've about as much chance of catching it as I do HIV. Less so actually.

And so if you know that flu kills more than Ebola, and Ireland is no stranger to the flu and all it's various strains, what precautions do you take against that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Tabnabs wrote: »
    And so if you know that flu kills more than Ebola, and Ireland is no stranger to the flu and all it's various strains, what precautions do you take against that?

I get vaccinated every year and go about my business.

Fair play, you're well prepared so.

Hang on, what happens if it's not one of the top three expected strains?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭hexosan

As posted in the SHTF thread. The first suspected Irish case.

http://www.thejournal.ie/ebola-1621206-Aug2014/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭wolfeye

The Health Service Executive (HSE) said there is no confirmed or suspected case in the country following reports that a patient suspected of having the highly infectious virus was being transferred to an isolation unit in an Irish hospital this morning.
    "There are no confirmed, or suspected, cases of Ebola in Ireland," a HSE spokeswoman said.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/health/hse-confirm-no-ebola-case-in-ireland-30510725.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭hexosan

hexosan wrote: »
    As posted in the SHTF thread. The first suspected Irish case.

http://www.thejournal.ie/ebola-1621206-Aug2014/

Suspected & ruled out all in one morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭SlowBlowin

Lots of stuff online about the rate at which ebola is mutating, most experts worried about its transition to an airborne virus !!

Now thats some bad $hit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

SlowBlowin wrote: »
    Lots of stuff online about the rate at which ebola is mutating, most experts worried about its transition to an airborne virus !!

Now thats some bad $hit.
    I didnt know viruses could mutate that quickly! Thats a worrying trend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

Now thats some bad $hit.

Source ?

shedweller wrote: »
    I didnt know viruses could mutate that quickly!

Never had a cold?

endacl wrote: »
    Never had a cold?

Ya for sure!
    But they are talking about ebola mutating in the past while. Hmm. I suppose i need to learn a bit about this eh? Im no microbiologist! But ive seen the walking dead, does that count for something??!

shedweller wrote: »
    Ya for sure!
    But they are talking about ebola mutating in the past while. Hmm. I suppose i need to learn a bit about this eh? Im no microbiologist! But ive seen the walking dead, does that count for something??!

http://www.the-scientist.com/?articles.view/articleNo/34189/title/Catching-the-Cold/

That should get you started!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭SlowBlowin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭feet of flame

Know your enemy, here's a free 8 week online course that'll teach you all you need to know, Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases.
    coursera.org/course/epidemics

Thanks for the sources mate, however the main thing going for us seems to be the fact that as it says in the articles that no known virus has ever changed the way it infects humans, it is extremely unlikely and only possible in theory. As many have pointed out influenza is far more likely to be the next biggie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Rucking_Fetard

In a worst-case hypothetical scenario, should the outbreak continue with recent trends, the case burden could gain an additional 77,181 to 277,124 cases by the end of 2014.

European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Know your enemy, here's a free 8 week online course that'll teach you all you need to know, Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases.
    coursera.org/course/epidemics
    We'll be dead long before that, knowing our luck.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭littlemac1980

Anyone on here have any thoughts on what would be a guideline list of essential stock to have in preparation for the possibility of bunking down in a house for 2-3 months?

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B4EjTfXhwMcwZm9SS1Znd0pUZW8/edit

There's a sample list for one adult that will get you going. It needs to be converted from American-ese but you'll get the idea.

Tabnabs wrote: »
    https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B4EjTfXhwMcwZm9SS1Znd0pUZW8/edit

There's a sample list for one adult that will get you going. It needs to be converted from American-ese but you'll get the idea.

Cool thanks. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

I live with other people, international people who will invariably and understandably travel at Christmas etc. I was just wondering what one should do in the event of a global pandemic. Arrange with friends to all stay in one house with tinned foods and bottled water? Run to the hills? (This would be the best option no?) I would pretty much be prepared to do this if it was within a 30 mile radius or if there was an exponential increase in cases, isolate from humanity and all that, but I know next to nothing about living in the wilderness so I'm reviewing options. Oh yeah I don't have a car so would probably have to walk.

Stay put, isolate yourself(s) and it's time now to build up a reserve of drinking water (5L/person/day) and food to last 21 days minimum. It is also worth having disposable gloves, face masks, safety glasses etc. should you need to interact with people who you suspect could be carrying. That's a basic list if it's think it's worth the effort.

But don't think bugging out without any solid and practised plan is a good alternative.

I presume having the ability to collect large amounts of rain water and boil it daily on a stove would be a reasonable alternative to stocking up on bottled water?

Never understand this prepping lark if something is coming and you are there in your own place with food and supplies how long will it be before other non preppers just come in and beat the ****e out of ya and rob your stuff? Don't think it wouldn't happen, we are in Ireland too so not likely you will have a gun which is the most essential piece of survival equipment after food and water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

If such a situation were to occur, namely the compete collapse of society, and I'd imagine martial law would be declared first before that could happen, you could fashion arrows and spears. Afaik the spear is a remarkably effective weapon, it has a long reach thereby separating you from your opponent, in medieval times it was favoured over the sword which was primarily used for close quarters hacking and and slashing. You could also make rudimentary body armour from sheet metal.

youtube! wrote: »
    Never understand this prepping lark if something is coming and you are there in your own place with food and supplies how long will it be before other non preppers just come in and beat the ****e out of ya and rob your stuff? Don't think it wouldn't happen, we are in Ireland too so not likely you will have a gun which is the most essential piece of survival equipment after food and water.

Ahh, no! You've exposed the achilles heal in our plan :( Damn those big boys and their bullying ways.

Yeah, that's number 2 on the list, right after what do I need to survive and overcome...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Thankfully I'm already out in the hills with my own water supply, stocked up fuel store, pantry, freezer and utility room.

But lads....at this risk of being considered overly cynical and callous......do youse think this might all be a giant publicity stunt for the start of the next season of the Walking Dead?

(i'm hiding in the hills)

Haha! That thought occurred to me too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

I presume having the ability to collect large amounts of rain water and boil it daily on a stove would be a reasonable alternative to stocking up on bottled water?

I believe that collected rainwater is filthy. Bird poop etc. in it. You'd want to be certain that boiling (after some preliminary filtering) would do the trick.

Khannie wrote: »
    I believe that collected rainwater is filthy. Bird poop etc. in it. You'd want to be certain that boiling (after some preliminary filtering) would do the trick.

Collected rainwater is grand. Its the collection system that's the problem.

Rainwater itself is almost 100% pure by the time it reaches the ground. It can absorb trace elements of atmospheric gases and pollutants, but not nearly as much as your lungs do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

endacl wrote: »
    Collected rainwater is grand. Its the collection system that's the problem.

Rainwater itself is almost 100% pure by the time it reaches the ground. It can absorb trace elements of atmospheric gases and pollutants, but not nearly as much as your lungs do!

Oh I mean the roof that you're using to collect it and the gutters etc are not sanitary in the slightest (that's the bird poop bit I was talking about). I should have been clearer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,724 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

If such a situation were to occur, namely the compete collapse of society, and I'd imagine martial law would be declared first before that could happen, you could fashion arrows and spears. Afaik the spear is a remarkably effective weapon, it has a long reach thereby separating you from your opponent, in medieval times it was favoured over the sword which was primarily used for close quarters hacking and and slashing. You could also make rudimentary body armour from sheet metal.

Farm pitchfork is a serious weapon. I know lots of rural folk who keep one under the bed rather than the gun. It can do serious damage and keep an attacker at a good distance. Also the forked end is appreciated as a way to stop a blade attack.

Unlike a gun it's ready to use immediately. Households with children particularly can't be keeping a loaded gum to hand.

And at €20 they are cheap, not illegal to have.

Not too many ordinary folk will keep coming when faced down by something like this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

_Brian wrote: »
    Farm pitchfork is a serious weapon. I know lots of rural folk who keep one under the bed rather than the gun. It can do serious damage and keep an attacker at a good distance. Also the forked end is appreciated as a way to stop a blade attack.

Unlike a gun it's ready to use immediately. Households with children particularly can't be keeping a loaded gum to hand.

And at €20 they are cheap, not illegal to have.

Not too many ordinary folk will keep coming when faced down by something like this.

A powerfull catapult and a supply of ballbearings is better if you want people to keep thier distance...a pitchfork can easily be grabbed especially from somebody who is afraid to actually use it.

Everybody should have a cudgel of some sort that never leaves thier side...a knife should be carried in the boot for closer encounters.

During a complete breakdown of society i can assure you i will not be waiting for somebody to come and steal my stuff...i will have firearms and vehicles and i will be launching premeptive attacks on anybody who isnt my friend in order to aquire THIER stuff.

chopper6 wrote: »
    A powerfull catapult and a supply of ballbearings is better if you want people to keep thier distance...a pitchfork can easily be grabbed especially from somebody who is afraid to actually use it.

Passlode nailgun....
    During a complete breakdown of society i can assure you i will not be waiting for somebody to come and steal my stuff...i will have firearms and vehicles and i will be launching premeptive attacks on anybody who isnt my friend in order to aquire THIER stuff.

charming....

wexie wrote: »
    charming....

Survival means just that...it doesnt mean meekly waiting to die or be killed.

In survival situations only the clever and the strong make it..we are animals after all.

Survival means just that...it doesnt mean meekly waiting to die or be killed.

In survival situations only the clever and the strong make it..we are animals after all.

Doesn't need to mean going out and killing other people either though

wexie wrote: »
    Doesn't need to mean going out and killing other people either though

As i said..if they are my friends or we can cohabit peacefully then there's no problem.

If i think they may be a threat to my life and that of my family OR if they are competition for rescources then they have to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

Don't forget bleach, hand santizers and soap!

Ebola is also sensitive to high temperatures, does anybody know what temp that is? Like if you were to whack on every heater you had in the house for a few hours would it kill the virus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭BreadnBuddha

As i said..if they are my friends or we can cohabit peacefully then there's no problem.

If i think they may be a threat to my life and that of my family OR if they are competition for rescources then they have to go.

Yeah. The world needs more angry Walter Mitty's like you in an EOTWAWKI scenario.

You'd be just perfect for target practice.....

With an attitude like that, you'd be lucky if every one of your neighbours aren't the ones coming looking to dispose of you.

Yeah. The world needs more angry Walter Mitty's like you in an EOTWAWKI scenario.

You'd be just perfect for target practice.....

With an attitude like that, you'd be lucky if every one of your neighbours aren't the ones coming looking to dispose of you.

Angry?

Nope.

Walter mitty?

Don't think so.

Well in the face of percieved hostility and/or a real threat i would in that case launch a pre-emptive attack...if all the bets are off then the "rules" of civilised living go out the window.

All survival and end of teh world(ha) scenarios should include a stockpile of weapons and ammunition...forget about firing home-made arrows and chucking spears at people...it's not a fair constest and there should be no fair play.

If i think they may be a threat to my life and that of my family OR if they are competition for resources then they have to go.

See, while I kind of agree with you, with regards to the threat etc. you're contradicting yourself insofar that even someone you're peacefully cohabiting with, or your friends.....will be competition for resources.

That sounds a lot like 'me me me me first and **** everybody else'.

Of course nobody would sit around and wait for people to come take their stuff/lives/supplies/etc. but to be honest you sound a lot like the guy a lot of us would be ready to defend our families from. Even if we were just happily (and peacefully) minding our own business as you've decided we're competition for resources or we have something you want.

Apologies if I'm misreading your posts but that's what you're conveying to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,724 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Everybody should have a cudgel of some sort that never leaves thier side...a knife should be carried in the boot for closer encounters.

Premeptive attacks !!

Ok that's too much into the nutter arena rather than prepping to survive.
    Defending successfully doesn't need to include going Out looking for trouble, in a real situation that would be taking far too much risk and would be bordering on stupid, what if my defence is better than your unnecessary attack?