Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

School trips.

• 03-08-2014 7:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭

Was talking about this with someone today, have some of the best memories. We went to wales in year 5 for an adventure holiday, it was tradition every year that year 5 went for it, but apparently there was foot and mouth everywhere, so every where we were gonna go and wanted to go was closed, so we only stay in the hostel or go to the local village.

Then in year 6, originally the priest used to organise a trip to a theme park, but he'd been arrested and we had a new priest in, who decided to take us to london, we had a lot of **** fast food, wasted money on the traditional stuff you waste money on school trips, like rubbers and highlights. Good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Lucky you! We never had as much as a day trip anywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

cloud493 wrote: »
    Was talking about this with someone today, have some of the best memories. We went to wales in year 5 for an adventure holiday, it was tradition every year that year 5 went for it, but apparently there was foot and mouth everywhere, so every where we were gonna go and wanted to go was closed, so we only stay in the hostel or go to the local village.

Then in year 6, originally the priest used to organise a trip to a theme park, but he'd been arrested and we had a new priest in, who decided to take us to london, we had a lot of **** fast food, wasted money on the traditional stuff you waste money on school trips, like rubbers and highlights. Good times.

Can you tell us this story as well? :p

Or was he just one of those boring pedophiles? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

We went to Munich in either 3rd or 5th year and got absolutely fcuk faced drunk at the nite club in the hostel we were staying in, good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

We had a school trip to Belgium. Quite interesting country. Stayed at a convent. They were really cool about giving kids beer, but those cells are a bit weird.

I was 11/12 at the time and my main memory of the trip was nearly getting my head kicked in by one of the 4th year skinheads. At that time I never thought I'd see this day.

Nothing to do with my little fracas, but he was expelled shortly after that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭cabledude

In transition year, we went to Delphi Outdoor centre in Connemara for 3 days. Place was deadly. 5 hour trip in a mini-bus and the teachers we had were sound out. I'll never forget the breakfast in the place. 1 aluminium bowl of corn flakes and 1 slice of toast. Strictly no seconds. We used to break out of the dorms at night and head up onto the roof and smoke and drink smuggled in cider. Best trip ever. If memory serves me correctly, I was the only one out of my group to get the shift. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Thank fcuk facebook wasn't invented when we went on a fourth year trip to the Netherlands. Sex shows, gay bars, casinos, photographing the teachers riding each other, stealing the busdriver's dope. It was a bit mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

Can you tell us this story as well? :p

Or was he just one of those boring pedophiles? :(

Considering they used to 'waste money on....rubbers' it could very well be just another boring pedo priest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Just a boring pedo priest. He used to take kids up to yorkshire for a week, no contact with home, but I never went.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

Every year, my whole school would go to the ploughing match. With nothing better to do, everyone'd spend the day searching for fireworks.

Just a boring pedo priest. He used to take kids up to yorkshire for a week, no contact with home, but I never went.

He's no fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Went on quite a few trips about the place during school years but the best few were obviously the ones abroad :D

4th year we were taken to Paris/disneyland, and it was my first trip abroad ever so special enough anyway

5th year we were taken to Barcelona, twas good fun except for hassle between us students that almost ruined the trip but not entirely

6th year was the best though, NY - best city ever imho, havent been back there yet cos of finances etc but its definitly on my list :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Woah!!! :eek:

At least they got a trip away I suppose, joke!!!

Aye :p I used to beg to go, but I was too young for it. Also on that london trip, new priest slept naked in our room (hostel room, 6 eleven year old boys)
    That was kinda weird, never questioned it till quite a few years later.

Aye :p I used to beg to go, but I was too young for it. Also on that london trip, new priest slept naked in our room (hostel room, 6 eleven year old boys)
    That was kinda weird, never questioned it till quite a few years later.

And he was the non pedo priest?:confused:

No he ended up being dodgy as well :pac: funny old school that was.

Were there really that many pedo priests back in the day? :pac:

No he ended up being dodgy as well :pac: funny old school that was.

But good trips ;)

When we were in a hotel in Paris a few guys were lighting deodorant sprays to make flame thrower type things. One slightly ADHD guy saw them and started doing it, the ****er was running up and down the hall after people (some of them had nothing to do with us at all, like) for several minutes before the alarm went off. Prick got away with it too.
    When the teachers came up to see what was up, someone said that a bunch of girls were sniffing aerosol sprays and got in a ton of ****e for it.

Wasn't there, but when my school went to Barcelona, one bully wanker thought it'd be hilarious to take a dump right outside of one of his victim's doors. The other kid got a ton of abuse for cleaning it up while ****ter was branded a legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,173 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

They went to Munich in my school but i wasnt allowed fecking go! There where a few of us who were on a list that werent allowed. So ya the best i got was a trip into the four courts one day as part of what we where studying :pac:.

Oh! A school near home had a day trip to Longford as their school tour the year of the foot and mouth. Got a bus down to spend a few hours in Tescos and Xtravision.

Don't think I ever went anywhere outside the country. Wales was the greatest distance/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

In 4th year I headed to Ghana on a missionary trip and was a real experience in my opinion. Poverty nearly everywhere and the people were great craic but I feel sorry for them as well. It makes me think how the world is cruel to Africa in many ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Blue giant

Went to Switzerland. Was meant to be a non smoking and drinking trip but that went out the window when half of us showed up for the bus drunk. We did a good few things but best memories involved drinking 18 bottles between 5 people in 20 mins as we were meant to be back at the hostel, which during our first day there was a group of english girls from a private school.

We also only got about 12 hrs sleep from Thursday until that Monday as the night was the best chance to smoke a pipe out the window and drink cans of the cheapest alcohol we could get in the local corner shop. We were threatened that we would be thrown out every night.

Breakfast was included but we only got it one morning. Missed it every other morning. We also had to take a later tram one morning.

We went missing alot and found an Italian restaurant around the corner which sold beer for less than water. We ate there every night. All in all it was mighty craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Were there really that many pedo priests back in the day? :pac:

Yep. :D

We went to France in 5th year. Paris and Normandy. Was okay. Was nice to go to Normandy because I'd never been there before, despite living in Brittany during my childhood. I still have a scar about my lip from tripping on the floor when we went to see the Bayeux tapestry.

Paris was meh. At the time I used to go there 3 times a year anyway. Our French teacher got hammered and sat on the waiters lap in place we went for food. Then told us how she was engaged but has another "boyfriend". Of course at 15/16 years of age we thought it was scandalous and very exciting :rolleyes: Loads of people bought dirt cheap drink over there and then realised the drink was putting the bags over the allowance for the plane. So a good few were very drunk on the plane home. But we were quite a well behaved group in fairness!

Anyone else go on these French trips and have to go to that awful restaurant chain "Flunch" every day for dinner? :p

Our school used to do skiing trips for 2nd year students but then had to cancel them because some girl got pregnant on one of them. She could have got pregnant anywhere :rolleyes: And of course they cancelled them the year before I would have been able to go on one..gutted!

When I was in 6th year they went to Monaco on the school tour, seemed like a kinda strange place to go!

Yep. :D

Christ almighty :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Only went to one school trip. it was to a tourist working farm ****e thing. The most of us were from farming familys. What a load of dung it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

A lot of these trips seem to bring people into close proximity with pedos, involve getting drunk or even travelling drunk, an occasional pregnancy. Do these trips still happen???

I left out earthquake, getting stoned...

What were the feckin teachers at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

A lot of these trips seem to bring people into close proximity with pedos, involve getting drunk or even travelling drunk, an occasional pregnancy. Do these trips still happen???

You don't have to be going on school trips to get closer to pedos, they are everywhere.

Seems to be a lot more parental supervision on school trips these days, and a lack of priests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

went to Holland, got stoned and there was an earthquake. good times.

We went on a ski-ing trip to France. Ten kids, two male teachers, one of them was a drinker and headed for the bar where he stayed, locked, for the five days. The other one was massively obese - the minute he got onto a pair of skis, he headed off over a small cliff and broke both legs..oh how we lolled. There followed four days of debauchery, skiing accidents and a lot of alcohol. I think three of us came back not in casts. Even the drunk broke an arm slipping on ice outside the hotel.

That was the first and last school skiing trip. My clearest memory is daring each other to jump off the fourth floor balcony into the snow drifts. That claimed a couple. Good times. We spent our "spends" on flick knives that got confiscated in the airport on the way back. Which put a downer on things.

.... We spent our "spends" on flick knives that got confiscated in the airport on the way back. Which put a downer on things.

You too :cool:

Maphisto wrote: »
    You too :cool:

Yeah:o I remember sulking for a week over that. And they lied to us - they said they'd take them and put them in the hold - we could get them back once the plane landed. Sneaky french feckers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Rips

Oh god the school trips!

There were a good few but the best had to be skiing in Italy. The instructors were good craic but looking back, really sleazy actually!

Couple of us progressed out of the baby group very quickly and they didn't have enough instructors, so they sent about 5 of us up the mountain by ourselves. We headed straight for the black slope and proceeded to ski straight down it... we might have survived even... except a group of beginners were being led out the side of the forest down at the bottom straight across the slope ... there was absolutely no way we could stop... so we all tumbled down the last 100ft or so ... nearly died... strewing gloves and sunglasses and sticks everywhere, and the Italian instructor with the other group screaming blue murder the whole time - brilliant!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

Best school trip was London.
    I can also remember going on one geography field trip up some mountains and scaring the **** out of some sheep who then bolted down the road, rocks flying and everything. The principal made me stay with him for the rest of the day...Gutted. Couldn't even have a sneaky fag or anything with all my mates taking the piss out of me :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

went to dublin zpoo, that weas it loike

GY A1 wrote: »
    went to dublin zpoo, that weas it loike

The zpoo was always boring shyte.

We went skiing in Val d'Isere, and I dislocated a shoulder. Got no medical attention until we got back because the teacher thought I was being a drama queen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

The zpoo was always boring shyte.

yup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

Being from the countryside a trip to the cinema in Dublin was about the height of our primary school trips. Our secondary school didn't do trips at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭dalta5billion

Candie wrote: »
    We went skiing in Val d'Isere, and I dislocated a shoulder. Got no medical attention until we got back because the teacher thought I was being a drama queen.

Dislocated shoulder? Pshawww.

Disclaimer: I may have hyperextensible shoulder joints...

Dislocated shoulder? Pshawww.

Disclaimer: I may have hyperextensible shoulder joints...

Do you shoulders look permanently dislocated? :)

It was pretty sore but didn't stop me skiing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Went on a school trip to Valkenberg in Holland , with many memorable moments .One that stands out was one the schools headbangers being dared to do a belly flop off a diving board that was about 15 feet high.He did it and nearly debollocked himself.

Another idiot got lost in Paris and eventually was brought to police station by two employees of the British embassy and was finally returned to us after being missing for six hours.

But by far my most favourite moment was visiting Waterloo where three geniuses managed to get on to another group's bus and were preparing to leave with them , the only problem was the that the other group were uniformed Canadian soldiers .The image of a Canadian sargeant marching them across a snowy carpark and returning them to our bus is seared in my mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

My school was such a shīthole. I didn't do TY so I went nowhere.

Well, one less year in secondary school was definitely worth it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

I'm just gonna leave you there in that little contented bubble of non knowingness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    My school was such a shīthole. I didn't do TY so I went nowhere.

Well, one less year in secondary school was definitely worth it!

And you avoided pedo priests, stoned students, drunk students, lost students, drunk teachers, avalanches, ****e on the floor, flame throwers, debollocked students, pregnant students, getting students pregnant, broken arms and legs, dislocated shoulder and such. I think you got the better deal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭stalebread

In transition year done a student exchange program with a school in Belgium. It was for a week each.
    They came here first.
    My student was a Pakistani chap. Had nothing in common. He was fairly religious I wasn't. Ended up spending a week with him, his parents and siblings above his fathers carpet shop!
    Had to remove shoes on entering.
    Got drunk 1 night was told if I was drunk could spend the night outside??
    Fed in edible stew/ slop all week
    Jaysus it's a boring country and people never again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

My most memorable thing about school trips is getting to go through the sack of old pastries and buns etc that my Aunt used to get off the bakery for the dogs. Going through this big potato sack of old cakes trying to find an edible eclair to have something special for a tour, highly exciting for me, bit weird when I look back :o

Most exciting one was Carlingford adventure centre, but it was the most awful wet weather for it, "orienteering", it felt more like punishment, walk around in the rain for hours while looking at a map yay

I wasn't allowed go on a lot of tours though by my parents :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

And you avoided pedo priests, stoned students, drunk students, lost students, drunk teachers, avalanches, ****e on the floor, flame throwers, debollocked students, pregnant students, getting students pregnant, broken arms and legs, dislocated shoulder and such. I think you got the better deal!

I'm a borderline alcoholic adrenaline junkie. You summarising the whole thread up like that made me super depressed I missed out.

God, it's like you don't know me at all, random internet person!