Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A little rant

• 03-08-2014 5:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭

After a nice day out with the wife, we pop into supervalu to pick up a few bits and bobs. I stay in the car, while she goes in. Im sitting there enjoying the music in the sunshine, when a ****heap of a Kia Sedona parks alongside.

I normally park away from other cars, especially mommy mobiles. This ****er parks tight on my left side, at an angle. I put down my phone and look at him, because I know whats coming. The driver is an old fella in his 60s. He sees me, pauses mid strong throw, but still makes a solid THUNK. No apology, just a " How are ya?". Im pissed and narkily say, "Could you have parked any closer?" His reply..... " ah, sure we'll survive"

He then has to literally, squeeze out between our cars, and pointedly looks at my number plate.

What a @#&#ing @#/&!

Small scratch, but annoying as hell. I know this comes up regularly, but had to vent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Yap a car is just an object to go from A to B for most people. "A little ding is no harm" would be this mans philosophy. They don't seem to understand that it ain't just a piece of tin for some...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

A parked car is a homing beacon to these yokes. Park miles from every other car and some plank will park beside you. Boils my blood.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I went in for a roll at the local deli counter earlier, left the car in a near empty car park. Back out 4 minutes later and someone had parked about 18" away from the side of my car. Had to squeez in through the crack in the door, drives me bloody mad.

I'd have given him dogs abuse and be requesting he paid to fix the scratch.

My car has a number of small dents from people doing this, if I catch someone doing it they are going to know about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Were you right in between the white lines OP?

A lot of people park badly, hugging one of the lines, which means another vehicle has less room to go into the next space. Often they'll have to hug their own line to give themselves room as a consequence and then it continues down the line.

All it takes is one poorly parked car to cause a ripple effect in a busy car park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

You should have opened your door forcefully, aiming to whack him in the nuts.
    Watching the codger crumple in a heap would have made amends, I dare say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭JamBur

I could've torn strips off this guy, and it would have been water off a ducks back. My wife was telling me a story about a guy in his late 60s who lost the plot altogether when she told him off for slamming into her car door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭landmarkjohn

A BMW 730i is a big car, shortly after getting it I got a scratch from a careless so and so in a shopping centre car park so now I use 2 spaces and feel completely justified, have no quams or embarrassment whatsoever. I think a lot a parking spaces are just too small for the cars on the road now, even family saloons are getting huge.. Mondeo, new Mazda 6 etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Notch000

someone idd this to my car before and walked off in blind ignorance when i asked them about it or their lack of care, after they left i left a knee shaped indentation in their door,
    Not particularly proud of it but it had to be done at the time.

on a separate note my father has a pretty serious OCD case of fear of parking dents, he has a 2000 merc from new and parks in most remote spaces of any carpark and does obnious **** like double parking in empty car parkes and often parks across 2 spaces, his car is falling in to a bit of a tatty state with burnt lacker, really badly oxidiesed alloys & 2 bust up wing he never bother repairing after mild tips and there moss growning round the window sills and badges (ocd about power washers too) but there are perfect doors all round....go figure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

A BMW 730i is a big car, shortly after getting it I got a scratch from a careless so and so in a shopping centre car park so now I use 2 spaces and feel completely justified, have no quams or embarrassment whatsoever. I think a lot a parking spaces are just too small for the cars on the road now, even family saloons are getting huge.. Mondeo, new Mazda 6 etc.

I don't give a fook what you drive, unless it's a car park with abundant space that's a d1ck of a thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Big Nasty wrote: »
    I don't give a fook what you drive, unless it's a car park with abundant space that's a d1ck of a thing to do.

The way I look at it is looking like a dick is fine if it saves me repair costs.

I've had someone make shyte of a door on me in the past - much more than a little ding meaning a new door skin. Cost me a fortune and I'm not going to risk it again. Lesson well and truly learned. Taking two spaces is worth more to me.

Sorry, no.

I've no problem with it in a big empty C/P but if spaces are limited you know how frustrated people get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

spaces are way too small - they just squeez them to suit planning requirements

ends up like a ghost estate

fnYx4Gm.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Sorry, no.

I've no problem with it in a big empty C/P but if spaces are limited you know how frustrated people get.

At this stage having spent a small fortune on dent removal from giving others the benefit of the doubt I'll willingly park like a dick. Being considerate doesn't work.

Although I usually just being her car to avoid even worrying about it. It's destroyed from them anyway.

I'm a tolerant man, but if I see that level of ignorance or laissez faire I feel like breaking the cvnts wing mirror off.

Just to elaborate, I see this all the time - not necessarily from people who are precious about their cars but from people that have zero consideration for others and take up two spaces in areas with limited parking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Sorry, but that's just stupid. There are plenty of disabled and parent & child spaces available for the taking. Why take two spaces, when you can park in one of those? :pac:

was joking by the way, for those who didn't get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

If you think these careless f#@kers don't care about your car with their doors, you would want to see their attitude towards commercial vehicles.
    I drive a van for work and have given up and lost count of the amount of dints and scratches from peoples doors hitting the side if it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,312 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Just to elaborate, I see this all the time - not necessarily from people who are precious about their cars but from people that have zero consideration for others and take up two spaces in areas with limited parking.
    If the cvnt parker in the OP had done what you seem to hate (apart from your escape clause / cop-out of 'limited parking'), then this thread would not exist, and you would have no reason to rant.

It is always a good idea to find a space with clear air either side, and if the easiest way to do this (in an area with plenty of empty spaces) is to straddle two spaces, then do it.

Regarding this thread: if it happened to me, it would be pictures, reg. no., insurance details etc. Fvck the begrudgers. Sh!t will continue to happen as long as we let it go.

@OP: It's nice to be able to vent, and there are almost always too many variables to judge, but going on what you said: you rolled over.

Regarding the width of spaces - look at Lidl/Aldi car parks. If you can't fit your car into one of their spaces properly, you shouldn't be driving.

Multi-storey car parks: different story.

Apart from the immediately above, I usually take two spaces when there are lots more available. Ding my bus, pay the fare is my general motto. Unless your skull is gang-related (word in the last sentence, not capitalised, not specific) of course.

Never engage, no angry words; but at the end of the day/night everything is relative. Slight ding; genuine apology; age/condition of my car - these variables all have to be taken into account. Doggy bag, and all that.

Just to clarify: not getting at the OP here - there are always loads/too many variables, and I might have let it go just as you did!

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

This. My coupe has wide opening doors so I literally have to use two spaces. I'm a fairly chunky fella (as some of you know already) and it's near to impossible for me to get out without the doors touching another car if I park in a single space.

At least when I park in two spaces, others don't try to squeeze between me and another car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭freddieot

Last time this happened to me the other guy was driving a 911, and yes there was plenty of room for him to get out. Banged my door, not a word, just walked off. small scratch, far less worrying than coming back to two flat tyres for example.

My main way to avoid this sort of thing is to park far away from other vehicles, especially in supermarkets and to take up as many spots as necessary (when the car park is fairly empty of course. Usually no problem as I prefer to shop early in the morning or late at night for exactly this reason. Lazy f!!!ers usually try to park as close to the entrance as possible so I find this is a good combination.

Also, although I like a clean car, I find it pays to let the old Sorento get as filthy as possible and just clean the windows and lights etc. This also, discourages people from parking too close as they can get covered in sh!!e if they rub against the car getting out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭gifted

I parked in a multi storey car park in Galway a few years ago, when I returned to my car a feckin honda civic parked right up close to my drivers door. Barely had enough room to walk through it let alone open my door. So shocked I was that I had to walk up and down the gap between the cars to double check....with keys very discreetly pointing outwards in my hand. Poor civic ended up looking like a cheese grater by the time I was finished.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭dmc17

freddieot wrote: »
    Last time this happened to me the other guy was driving a 911, and yes there was plenty of room for him to get out. Banged my door, not a word, just walked off. small scratch, far less worrying than coming back to two flat tyres for example.

As in two flat tyres on a 911? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭dmc17

gifted wrote: »
    I parked in a multi storey car park in Galway a few years ago, when I returned to my car a feckin honda civic parked right up close to my drivers door. Barely had enough room to walk through it let alone open my door. So shocked I was that I had to walk up and down the gap between the cars to double check....with keys very discreetly pointing outwards in my hand. Poor civic ended up looking like a cheese grater by the time I was finished.:D

Did they damage your car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

That's pretty low. If you had enough room to walk between the cars and vandalise theirs it can't have been that close.

Learn to read :rolleyes:...Had to walk through the gap sideways

dmc17 wrote: »
    Did they damage your car?

don't know, didn't check ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,664 ✭✭✭Heroditas

So they didn't damage your car, yet you vandalized theirs?

I'm well able to read, thanks.

Heroditas wrote: »
    So they didn't damage your car, yet you vandalized theirs?

Answered that already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,664 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Answered that already.

Just saw that. So you vandalized a car because someone parked a bit too close to you.
    Classy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭kirving

That's a ****ed up thing to do. Happened to me recently, as I was sitting in the car. Tiny mark on the door handle. To be fair he looked genuinely sorry, and had a paddy spec Insignia, and it was at 6am, so I guessed company car. A lot of hastle for him, so I thought that having a go at him about his driving was enough.

Later that day, I was listening to the news in a SuperValu carpark, conscious of the bump earlier. Woman parked right next to me, not a chance she was getting out without hitting me, so I took the keys out, and waited till she hit me door. Pressed the alarm panic button, and nearly gave the overweight aul one a heart attack. I couldn't stop laughing at her trying to run away, so ended up nor bothering to chase her.

DR48wN.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Was at the supermarket sitting and waiting for the wife while she was in shopping with the drivers window open.

Some guy in a shítty red opel astra parks in the space next to me and the woman in the passenger seat (I assume it was his mother) just pushes out the door without holding it, I see it happening so I grab the door before it hits my car.

Dude runs around and starts screaming in the window at me in Turkish.

I sit there looking at him saying nothing and then he starts trying to push the door into my car, which I stop him doing.

I get out and say nothing, just stare at him. A few people start stopping in front of my car. At this stage I think he realises how much a dick he's being and gets into his car tearing off and leaving his mother standing there.

Never experienced parking rage until then.

I was lucky I was in good humour that day, on a bad day I would have lost the rag with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭JamBur

O/P here again, I stayed in the car for 2 reasons;
    1. I didnt want to go shopping :)
    2. It was a packed carpark, and I wanted to watch out for parking gimps

The dick patked about a metre and a half hanging out of the space. He was at such an angle that his rear was obstructing me from reversing directly, yet he was still so close that he had to squeeze out of his door. I was pointedly looking at him, and he did pause. There would have been significant damage otherwise.

I made my comment, and did look, but didnt spot the scratch at the time. Scratch is minor, but new. Wr only got the car about 3 weeks back, and I had recently washed & waxed.

I try to avoid raging, as I lost it totally on a prior incident and promised myself never again.

I can't get over how uptight people are about their car doors, are they made of egg shells?

Maybe I am missing something here ... how much force did he use when opening the door? Did he keep hold of it or did he swing it open?

I will admit sometimes when somebody parks tight to me, I open my door all the way till it touches the next car. Shouldn't do any damage like this, right?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

salonfire wrote: »
    I can't get over how uptight people are about their car doors,

yeah!
    I mean its just outrageous that somebody would spend thousands of euro's and then want to look after it!

Cabaal wrote: »
    yeah!
    I mean its just outrageous that somebody would spend thousands of euro's and then want to look after it!

I just find it hard to believe people are causing so much damage to other cars by opening a door...

They must be intentionally giving it a good wallop. And that is the bit I find hard to believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Spoken like someone who has never had to shell out a few hundred quid to have the side of their car repaired.

The people of Ireland, as a whole, cannot be trusted when it comes to car parks. Until the general attitude towards car parking and motoring in general changes in Ireland, it is perfectly valid to protect your €x000s asset and park it in the manner that ensures the least risk to it. If this means parking across 2 spaces to ensure that the cars beside you have enough room to get out then so be it.

If you want someone to blame, blame a) the people who have no regard for other peoples property, and b) the planners who are too stupid/greedy to design car parks that are actually sufficient for the size of modern cars. The people who are looking to protect their cars are not to blame and it is totally wrong to call someone a dick for wanting to protect their property.

Rant over.

djimi wrote: »
    Spoken like someone who has never had to shell out a few hundred quid to have the side of their car repaired.

The people of Ireland, as a whole, cannot be trusted when it comes to car parks. Until the general attitude towards car parking and motoring in general changes in Ireland, it is perfectly valid to protect your €x000s asset and park it in the manner that ensures the least risk to it. If this means parking across 2 spaces to ensure that the cars beside you have enough room to get out then so be it.

If you want someone to blame, blame a) the people who have no regard for other peoples property, and b) the planners who are too stupid/greedy to design car parks that are actually sufficient for the size of modern cars. The people who are looking to protect their cars are not to blame and it is totally wrong to call someone a dick for wanting to protect their property.

Rant over.

I work in a hospital and witnesses poor parking every day of the week. It p1sses me off no end to see the way some people park in an area with limited parking forcing others to park on the street and walk to the hospital in all types of weather. People don't come to a hospital for leisure time and if you double park in an area like that, you're a fvckin d1ckhead. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭fmcg_scribe

Some years ago, my parents went on a holiday to Nice in France. One day while my father was walking along one of the main shopping streets in Nice he noticed a Smart car parked between two other cars. He was intrigued by the fact that there was no space for the Smart car to move - it was all bumper to bumper, front and rear. As luck would have it, the owner of the Smart car returned while my father was walking past. He was intrigued about how the Smart car was going to be moved out of the parking space, so he hung around for a minute or two. As you might expect, the Smart car bumped over and back between the other two cars and gradually the owner angled the car out of the space but it's fair to say that the other two cars came off worse.

Typical French driver, you might say.

The story reminded of an anecdote from a friend who visited Paris some years ago on business. During the stay, one of his hosts, a retired French air force fighter pilot, drove him around the city to give him a guided tour. Anyway, when they reached the infamous Arc de Triomphe it was still peak time traffic, so my friend's heart was in his mouth because there's no traffic lights and it's a free for all. However, the retired fighter pilot was driving an old, battered car and didn't give a damn - he just pointed the car in the direction he wanted to go and brazened it out. The car didn't crash. My friend reckoned that it was a combination of the former pilot's navigation and spatial reasoning skills married to his French "don't give a damn attitude" that got them through that situation. Then again, thousands of Parisians drive around the Arc de Triomphe every day but I'm not sure that it's an accident blackspot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 302 ✭✭JonKelleher

JamBur wrote: »
    After a nice day out with the wife, we pop into supervalu to pick up a few bits and bobs. I stay in the car, while she goes in. Im sitting there enjoying the music in the sunshine, when a ****heap of a Kia Sedona parks alongside.

I normally park away from other cars, especially mommy mobiles. This ****er parks tight on my left side, at an angle. I put down my phone and look at him, because I know whats coming. The driver is an old fella in his 60s. He sees me, pauses mid strong throw, but still makes a solid THUNK. No apology, just a " How are ya?". Im pissed and narkily say, "Could you have parked any closer?" His reply..... " ah, sure we'll survive"

He then has to literally, squeeze out between our cars, and pointedly looks at my number plate.

What a @#&#ing @#/&!

Small scratch, but annoying as hell. I know this comes up regularly, but had to vent

I literally would not have been able to contain myself, I would have thrown hands with him!

Bumpers will generally take a knock better than doors though.

Cabaal wrote: »
    yeah!

I never understood that either. It's like buying a house and not caring if someone put in your windows!

Ah here. Are you now saying what is going on in car-parks equates to putting in the windows of a house.

The problem is people are so bloody wound up with a car door, touching it at all sets them off.

I don't even think it has anything to do with the size of the car. I drive a Porsche Carrera which isn't particularly big, but it still gets regular 'dings' on the door from careless people!

gctest50 wrote: »
    spaces are way too small - they just squeez them to suit planning requirements ends up like a ghost estate

fnYx4Gm.jpg

I know the point you're making but that picture's misleading. There was a thread on here before regarding how much bigger cars have actually gotten and it turned out they hadn't gotten that much bigger at all. The models themselves got bigger alright but people then started buying more cars in the classes below which kind of neutralised the overall size increase.

They're a small big bigger overall but not much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I work in a hospital and witnesses poor parking every day of the week. It p1sses me off no end to see the way some people park in an area with limited parking forcing others to park on the street and walk to the hospital in all types of weather. People don't come to a hospital for leisure time and if you double park in an area like that, you're a fvckin d1ckhead. :mad:

If you damage someone else's property you are also a dickhead. I'd sooner be the dickhead who doesn't have a large repair bill on my car; in all honesty I couldn't give a single **** what anyone else thinks of me or my parking, so long as my car remain safe and unblemished.

For what's it's worth, I wouldn't double Park in a small car park with limited space; if the car park was that small and tight I'd just find somewhere else to park.

I asked the OP but he didn't answer so I'll ask you, Gifted.

Were you parked right in between the lines or were you hugging one of them? If you were right on top of one of the lines then its your own fault if someone else parks in between their own white lines and consequently is right up close to you.

I'm not saying you did that mate but I have a feeling the OP did because he didnae answer the question ;)

Jesus. wrote: »
    I asked the OP but he didn't answer so I'll ask you, Gifted.

Were you parked right in between the lines or were you hugging one of them? If you were right on top of one of the lines then its your own fault if someone else parks in between their own white lines and consequently is right up close to you.

I'm not saying you did that mate but I have a feeling the OP did because he didnae answer the question ;)

I parked right between the lines, always have and always have to as I have 3 kids and need space on both sides to get the kids into the baby seats. At the time I did that I had 2 baby seats which are quite visible so I was seriously pissed off when this civic parked right over the white line and took up all my space and didn't give a toss about me and my kids but I got my revenge :D