Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Funny Nicknames.

• 03-08-2014 6:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭

I was out with my father last night and some of the old chaps he associates with have hilarious nicknames, the Grasshopper for instance, like he'll just say how are ya doing grasshopper and I'm in tears watching it. Other guys have names like 'the Saint' (saw statues move in the 80s)

Others in the town take names for their profession, Charlie 'Electric' works for the ESB, Michael 'Papers' runs a newsagents, Michael 'Pills' runs the pharmacy.

How come women never seem to have nicknames among themselves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I grew up with a group of lads whose surname was Beatty - every single one of them were nicknamed "Chester."

There was also a guy I worked called "Bishop" because in the middle of a very busy Sunday he was told he could go to mass (as a joke) and off he trotted!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Not making this up. My brother hangs out with Shoes, Burgers, Onion and Wheelie Bin. I've more than likely given my location away with that list of what would usually be considered inanimate objects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Because no self respecting grown woman would be caught dead responding to a nick name. It's a little boy thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭NeitherJohn

Guy in my place of work called Potholes because everyone avoids him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Because no self respecting grown woman would be caught dead responding to a nick name. It's a little boy thing.

Maybe it's just a guy thing. I could see women taking it too seriously and the whole thing descending into a bitch fest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭FrKurtFahrt

Tadhg 'Handball' Lally. I love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Secretly, deep down, we want to be like Maverick, Goose and Ice Man.......;)

I know a couple lads called 'papers' and 'pills' aswell...

What town are ya in?

Maybe it's just a guy thing. I could see women taking it too seriously and the whole thing descending into a bitch fest.

Possibly. I don't think women find nicknames very funny though that might be more the issue. They seem to be something that just men delight in.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,977 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

I worked with a guy that was called bungalow, yup, nothing upstairs..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Possibly. I don't think women find nicknames very funny though that might be more the issue. They seem to be something that just men delight in.

Like scat humour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

I'm female, I don't find them funny at all.

They are usually a form of slagging and I'm not into that.

I'm female, I don't find them funny at all.

They are usually a form of slagging and I'm not into that.

It's not slagging though, the nickname is a term of endearment. Friend's aren't going to square off for such a petty cause.

The one time you could see violence is if an enemy or outatowner addresses the individual by their handle, in certain circumstances that could lead to an ass whoopin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

The one time you could see violence is if an enemy or outatowner addresses the individual by their handle, in certain circumstances that could lead to an ass whoopin.
    Jesus, do you live in The War of the Buttons?

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Jesus, do you live in The War of the Buttons?

A man's man doesn't take too kindly to somebody not paying respect. Nicks are for close friends and associates.

I don't know you for instance, if I walked into a bar and started addressing you by your nickname you would see that as a sign of disrespect. This is Alpha male 101.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

or maybe women lack the creative capacity to come up with one ?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭Obliq

A management fella where my Dad worked had the double-barrelled surname of Cambell Crawford. Nicknamed soup and biscuits. I thought that was lovely :D

or maybe women lack the creative capacity to come up with one ?:D

Right. Because the examples in this thread are so witty and ingenious? The guy who owns the newsagents is called 'papers'? Everyone named Beatty ends up being called 'Chester'? I'm floored by the imaginative process that developed these unique gems. Oscar Wilde wouldn't be in it with ye.

What about the guy who runs the tyre centre, Joey 'Wheels', or the undertaker 'the timber tailor'.

Having a nickname is part of our man culture, don't mock it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

Growing up there was an old lad called "Feck the knickers"; did exactly what it said on the tin.

What about the guy who runs the tyre centre, Joey 'Wheels', or the undertaker 'the timber tailor'.

Having a nickname is part of our man culture, don't mock it.

I'm sorry. I didn't mean to poke fun at your man culture. It's clearly way more sophisticated and nuanced than I'd realised.

Tell us yours then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭DundalkDuffman

Guy used to work in a factory here was called Bombscare because people would scatter when he was coming.

I'm sorry. I didn't mean to poke fun at your man culture. It's clearly way more sophisticated and nuanced than I'd realised.

Tell us yours then.

I was called Vinny boy, and Vinny rich in primary school, the finest ground hurler in all of Tipperary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Sure "Teyla". If that's your real name :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Barman in the local pub is nicknamed The Exorcist... there's not a man alive that can move spirits like him.

Another I'm just remembering now is that a local Garda with glasses is known as Xtravision. Irish males are so witty, they make a nick stick for life. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

Rugby- went to an optition and told he has a condition called rugby eye, where his eyes are the shape of rugby balls and due to this he will never be a pilot or a professional darts player.

Rusty- ginger hair.

Monkey- not sure why he's called than.

Butsy- called that because he has smoked since he could walk.

Ears- has big ears.

Georgie - looks like georgie Burgess from the snapper.

And I was always called bosco because I always have big red cheeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

I know a guy whose nickname was Zero.

And his younger brother was Minus One:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

The general
    The monk
    The coach
    The viper

mackeire wrote: »
    The general
    The monk
    The coach
    The viper

All gangsters though, they're on a different level when it come to nicknames and there's nothing funny about any of them unless you want your jaw repositioned. :eek:

I'm just looking for the regular working man small town joe types with humorous handles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

A female Garda called robocop
    Garda named the chocolate soldier had a fake tan summer and winter
    Woman called the flying saucer
    Large rough woman called Brutus
    Skippy always talking about his exploits with women clue what was skippy?
    Podge and rodge bachelor brothers living together
    Pops he have 14 children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭septictank

I worked with a guy called Lester for about a month, not long after he left I mentioned his name and the guy said who, turns out it was his nickname named after Lester Piggott, for all the riding he got up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

half my class had nicknames when i was in school. they passed down generations. there was one guy in my class who had the same nick name as his older brother. He brother was 20 years older and the name had been passed down through 5 or 6 brothers (they were good catholics :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

I think women in general just are not as self depreciating as men are and you have to be in order to take a nickname on the chin. I also think this is why there are not as many female stand up comedians. It's not a bad thing, it just is.

I remember when I was about 11 I started to notice that girls were much more serious than boys and whenever boys would ask why that was, we would be told that girls just mature much earlier than boys but now that I am older I see that that was, and is, the biggest load of nonsense.

It has feck all to do with maturity, as that would imply that having the craic is immature and it's something to grow out of. Hogwash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

A guy at work nicknamed thrush as he was an irritating c**t.

Not a particularly nice one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭micar

Buttercup - he "apparently" ate a sandwich with some butterscups

Smush - a fella who was vertically challanged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

I was in school with Bear,Moose,Rat and Snake...These lads we're fooking animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭MortGoldman

When I was 12 and started at secondary school, a group of 6th year boys spotted my tiny scrawny self, my ginger hair, large glasses, my huge school bag and flask, and my buck teeth and referred to me as 'dexter'.

It was never malicious but it stuck. Even the teachers called me it (some of them anyway). I'm almost 27 now, and there are still people I interact with on a daily basis who I'm certain don't know my real name.

And yes, my username is another nickname I picked up at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

A girl that went to school with my brother was called Marijuana because she was a bit of a dope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cactuspaw

Local girl is always known as "Jockser", I think her brother was given it after a play they did in school, but as her name was was more fiting she got stuck with it. Poor girl got so many cards sent to her for her wedding with Jockser on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

It's not slagging though, the nickname is a term of endearment. Friend's aren't going to square off for such a petty cause.

Lmao. "An outatowner". Cue chorus of "I drove my tractor through your haystack last night".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

Jesus, somebody's got sand in their vagina this evening :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

Most of the nicknames for guys around my dad's age back at home seem to come from mascots and products: pair of bachelor brothers called Barney and Beany (bet this one is common enough, actually), bald fella called Mr Proper, a guy who came into school one day with flour on his clothes is still called Pat the Baker...

I had a ton of nicknames in school, none of them managed to transition to college but I guess that'd involve me introducing myself as them and that seems lame enough. "Hey, I'm Taka but you can call me Springs! :cool:"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

I'm a woman and I've a few nicknames- by my friends I'm mostly just called by the short version of my real name, which I wouldn't call a nickname. But my family mostly only call me by the two nicknames I've had since I was a child, and my college friends call me by the name they gave me there.

Doesn't bother me in the slightest, I actually kind of like them. I would agree it's more a male thing, but I'm quite attached to my 3 nicknames and wouldn't like if people stopped using them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

One of our teachers was really strict and tough....you'll never guess what we called her.....wait for it....HITLER.

Brilliant, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dar100

Bullseye
    Mousey
    Smokey
    Gargle
    Pie face
    Elvis
    Freaky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Customers in pubs can be given great nicknames by the staff

fingers - a fella who lost most of the fingers on one of his hands in a printing accident was one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Black Joe. More literal than funny tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Shaun Plays Games

My friend Eamonn was nicknamed Mossy.. Why I do not know, but now its stuck

Lmao. "An outatowner". Cue chorus of "I drove my tractor through your haystack last night".

Lol I know it sounds like the 60s deep south but it's actually like that where I live, outatowners are viewed upon with suspicion. Jackeens are probably the most despised. That accent goes over like a fart in church in my town, they just can't stand the fcukers.