Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the oddest thing you did as a kid?

• 02-08-2014 5:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭

So I went to Mosney when i was like 8 and met a couple of other lads, we started playng football and doing typical 7yo boy stuff.
    When they asked me where i was from I said Monaghan, I had no idea really where Monaghan was or what they sounded like so I put on a a sort of leprechaun accent.
    I have no idea why I did this:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Sellotaped a torch to the handlebars of my bike and went around the estate at night pretending I was Street Hawk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Sinead from across the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭AlfaZen

I ate the curtains in my bedroom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

Before starting school
    There's a tape somewhere in the house, it's gone missing (I think my mam recorded over it actually, but she denies that), where there's recordings of me talking about dead animals I found and what I assumed happened them. It started when a bird killed itself flying into a window at home and I witnessed it. My mam just got a tape recorder thing and I insisted on recording the story to honour the bird, then it just became a bit of a fad for me to talk about dead animals around the place.

School
    - I used to take down the death notifications being read out on the radio on the way to school and recite them at the beginning of the day to the classroom.

- Held an absolute ton of funerals for any dead animals found around the school and made everyone attend. That's probably not as odd.

- Made communion using eggcups, bread, water, the oven(/on a shovel over the fire)... always wanted to experiment with wafers but we didn't seem to have any ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

AlfaZen wrote: »
    I ate the curtains in my bedroom.

Ah here. Pull yourself together man FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

Became best friends with inanimate objects!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Put clumps of grass on electric fences and then reel in laughter when cows bit them and did the funky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Rosie Rant wrote: »
    Became best friends with inanimate objects!

And you don't still do that?

*Cough* Rampant Rabbit *Cough*.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

School
    I used to take down the death notifications being read out on the radio on the way to school and recite them at the beginning of the day to the classroom.

Held an absolute ton of funerals for any dead animals found around the school and made everyone attend. That's probably not as odd.

Made communion using eggcups, bread, water, the oven(/on a shovel over the fire(... always wanted to experiment with wafers but we didn't seem to have any ever.

You sound like a fella i used know, he gave all his childhood playing priest, no interest in toy cars, toy tractors, sports or girls. It was mass after mass if he came round. He had all the dress up, he had stolen fancy jugs glasses as alter chalices. He used a tv stand as an alter. He made a cross out of 2 bits of 2x1, had a barbie nailed to it.
    He used use white buttons as communion and ribena as wine. He is a priest now true story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Aged around 9, I tied string to the handlebars of my bike and used to imagine it was a horse and the string was the reins. I'd steer using the string. In my own little head, the Lone Ranger had nothing on me.

You sound like a fella i used know, he gave all his childhood playing priest, no interest in toy cars, toy tractors, sports or girls. It was mass after mass if he came round. He had all the dress up, he had stolen fancy jugs glasses as alter chalices. He used a tv stand as an alter. He made a cross out of 2 bits of 2x1, had a barbie nailed to it.
    He used use white buttons as communion and ribena as wine. He is a priest now true story.
    Ahhh, I was the other way around altogether. Took me until I was about 13 to realise that I was treating catholicism as some kind of fun game and didn't actually believe a bit of it at all at all!
    Kept playing for a few years after that too.

Oh, thought of another one!
    I had a collection of 2.5" tall religious statues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Bonedigger

My brother and I were reminiscing a couple of weeks ago about the things we got up to in childhood,and he said did I ever remember scraping up chewing gum which had been walked into the roads and footpaths and eating it!:eek:
    My god,I can still feel the grit between my teeth just thinking about it!:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Bonedigger wrote: »
    My brother and I were reminiscing a couple of weeks ago about the things we got up to in childhood,and he said did I ever remember scraping up chewing gum which had been walked into the roads and footpaths and eating it!:eek:
    My god,I can still feel the grit between my teeth just thinking about it!:o

I think most kids gave this a shot :o

I used to "collect" snails. I would keep them all in an upside down plant pot, then be surprised when they all died, then I would collect more and repeat the process. Poor snails!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

At around age 4 my friend and I had a game where we would cross our arms and nod 4 times and believe we had been magically rendered invisible to everyone but each other. Then we would follow strangers around,be completely heedless to anyone speaking to us and attempt assorted feats that we would not otherwise try.
    Everything was much more fun when you are invisible.

At around 4 I also tried to sell my drawings and toys I didn't like to my adult neighbours. When they took pity on me and gave me money without taking anything off me I returned the next day to try and shake them down again.
    Then my mum found out and suffice to say that income steam was cut off quicksmart much to my great annoyance.

Ooooh, another one! When I was about 4, I wandered off with a man I never met before who had a mole on his face because I thought he was Mr Bean. According to my dad, the man wasn't remotely amused by this; my whole family still call the guy Mr Bean.

Paedophiles, that's how you lure children, a passing resemblance to Mr Bean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

Ate several dozen rubber bands (having chewed them over the course of a few nights) and a substantial proportion of an Adrian Mole book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

When I discovered how to tie knots, I tied everything up. I "Wasted" lots of expensive yarn tying things up in the garden, it looked like a spiders nest in the gay pride parade. I also tied my Sister to the bed with a kite, and myself to the bath.

I became obsessed with super heroes, and wanted to be one, so I ordered a ninja outfit from a mail order magazine. Made some nunchuks and sneaked out of the house at night, waiting for crime. Dunno how the other super heroes find crime, it's actually really fucking hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

On the "church" front, at around 12 I got press-ganged into serving as one of the altar boys, I was highly not impressed. The job involved wearing a white, floor length robe which hid your feet, so I reckoned it would be great craic altogether to bob around and "float" across the back of the altar while priesty had his back turned to us and was talking to the congregation.

I got sacked as an altar boy after that first outing and got a flea in my ear from the teachers too. I reckoned it was worth it, all the kids at the mass were breaking their holes laughing under their hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Dropped trou and pissed on a checkers board that my brother and cousin were playing on because they wouldn't let me play. Age 5.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Pre school. My mum was friends with another mother. Me and her son locked ourselves in the bathroom, turned on all the taps full on and then unrolled all the toilet rolls and stuck them to the walls and floor.

Two mums going absolutely ape**** :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭ComplyOrDie

Won the Jackpot at the races, I was 7 and just picked names i liked. My parents collected the £943 and gave me £43 to spend on whatever i wanted, the rest went to the bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭cazzer22

Ah here. Pull yourself together man FFS.

Please don't tell me your name is Annette Curtain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Got married to a neighbourhood kid while we cycled around on bikes, we were about 10 years old I think. NO idea why we did that, good job it wasn't legally binding :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭cazzer22

When I was about seven, I told a good friend that I would teach her how to rollerskate. I made up all these tricks and moves with strange names and she thought she was the business, she showed her brothers and sisters the 'tricks' and made an arse of herself when they told her, the tricks weren't real haha. No idea why I did it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Dressing up as Baby Bop from Barney in playschool and assaulting my brother.. The thought of it makes me chuckle :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭ArtyM

Bought a broom handle and some paints in local hardware store, painted Chinese style symbols on it and walked around thinking I was Monkey from the Water Margin Tv show. Taught myself Chinese too, my own unique version, which bore no similarities to the actual version.

Used to sleepwalk, they would find me the next morning under all the coats in the cupboard.

Used to like to drink Molasses and Water. The thought of this today makes me retch.

Used to stare at the Dog intensely and use my Telepathic powers to make him fart. Had a decent hit rate with that actually - though there is a chance that the Dog in question was just flatulent by nature and I didn't actually influence this in any way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Dropped trou and pissed on a checkers board that my brother and cousin were playing on because they wouldn't let me play. Age 25.

FYP ;)

Me and my younger brother were playing outside, about 7 and 5, I'd say. I see my dad arriving at the gate on his bike and, for no reason whatsoever, I abruptly decide to walk down to him really slowly with a serious face and say "[Younger brother] has a fierce bad smell off him, I think he's after ****ting himself". My dad immediately brings him into the house all serious and the brother hasn't a clue what's up.

10 minutes or so later, I head into the house and see my brother lying face on the bed down with no pants or trousers on, towel under him and some cleaning things around him. I ask him what's up and he says he thought he shat himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Once, aged 6, I decided that I wanted to keep the class gerbil, Hannah.
    So I took action.
    I put Hannah into my pocket, where I had already stashed some porridge oats.
    This ill fated plan was flawed from the start, as I put her into her ' pocket nest' at 9:05.
    By 9:10 my leg was scratched to fûck and I decided this was more hassle than it's worth.
    So I slyly put Hannah into the corridor.
    Hannah ran into the next classroom where to teacher nearly had a heart attack and ran for for the headmaster.
    Who, and fair balls to him, he thought it was a rat, slid under the table and cornered the nibbly scratchy little fûck.
    As he neared Hannah, she jumped, he jumped. He whacked his head off the top of the table.
    Hannah ran and was never seen again.

I didn't even like gerbils

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

I was the eldest and my first sibling didn't come along til I was 7, so I relied on my imagination for entertainment. Never mind imaginary friends - I used to imagine loads of imaginary people, talk away to them, and gallop around the house on an imaginary horse. I was a right nancy no-mates.

Speaking of first sibling, a couple of days after she came home from hospital, I was allowed to push her in her pram outside. I thought it would be fun to bounce and jiggle the pram. I did it so roughly that my week-old baby sister was flung out of the pram and landed on the grass. My mum saw and sorted it out but we agreed never to tell my dad. She was ok anyhow, we think!

I also once ate an actual mudpie, to see what the fuss was about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

I dont know if it would be classed as "odd" but a broke some of my dads ribs before!
    Backround being if any of us were cranky etc.my dad would grab his chest and say "oh this crankiness is killing me" and fall on the floor...we would laugh and all would be happy again.
    Until one night evil siblings told 10 year old easily led, puppy fat me "he's not really dead, jump on him!!"
    I duly obliged resulting in a hasty trip to
    a&e and a month out sick for dad! :O
    He didnt do it again!! :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

We used to stick Mr. Freeze cool pops up our arsés and see how far we could shoot them

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭stalebread

In junior infants (was a painfully shy kid) I shat myself. just before the teacher called the 6 of us into a circle to read a story. I sat down can still feel the heat/ squashiness/ smell of it.
    A few lines in she sniffs the air and asks what's the smell!! I didn't volunteer an answer but was found out and swiftly sent home when my mother arrived.
    Never felt burning like it of my cheeks ( on face)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

When I was like 6, I remember I was never allowed to have chewing gum so in school I would scrape it off the desks and start chewing it :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I was never a kid, I was a child one time but never a kid ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭LuckyFinigan

I was fascinated by bins when I was a kid. I've no idea why, I used to love looking at them. Everyone thought I was going to be a bin man when I grew up.

Well are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭LuckyFinigan

stalebread wrote: »
    Well are you?

I wish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

stalebread wrote: »
    Well are you?

Nah, goats are curious creatures always rummaging :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Whenever my mum and dad drove past a timepiece (Sligo Cathedral) for e.g; I would shout CLOCK, CLOCK, CLOCK," at max volume until it was out of view.

Wresting after school before the buses came to pick us up. It was the late 90's and WWF was on channel four. Kids of all sizes pling on each other, I'm surprised nobody was seriously killed. We did all the trademarks and had them done to me.

A delicious bit of irony, how later we realized it was all an act and what we had been doing was actually putting ourselves in more danger, by doing things not even the wrestler did for real.

It was more UFC in reality then WWF

Adamantium wrote: »
    Whenever my mum and dad drove past a timepiece (Sligo Cathedral) for e.g; I would shout CLOCK, CLOCK, CLOCK," at max volume until it was out of view.

Hope ya pronounced the L clearly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Sprog 4

We used to 'recreate' the challenges form The Crystal Maze. One that springs to mind was trying to run across a wall without falling while dodging spits from people on either side. We used stones instead of crystals :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭biketard

In primary school one of my classmates asked me if I knew how to tie shoelaces, since his had come undone. Not wanting to admit that I hadn't a clue, I told him I could. I tied knot after knot until I reached the end of his laces. Probably 30 or 40 knots on each shoelace. I'm sure his mum was over the moon when he got home.

Another time, my Mum and Dad had a bunch of friends/relatives over. At some stage my uncle made fun of me and I left the room in a huff. Came back a few minutes later, walked over to him, and punched him as hard as I possibly could in the balls, then promptly left the room. It was never, ever mentioned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I really liked animals, so I'd walk around on all fours, refuse to speak or use my hands to eat, or sit on chairs. Including at school.

I could kind of understand the gist of what Irish was and that people were really impressed if you could speak it (knew a kid who was a gaelgoir), but misunderstood the core concept a little bit and would just make it up. Like my mam would point at a wardrobe and say "what's that in Irish?" and I'd say "Catonk".

Our infants teacher was always going on about how important it was to keep your desk and the area around it tidy and make sure you didn't leave pencils and toppers and things lying on the floor, but I took it to heart too much and decided that those who didn't follow the rules must be PUNISHED. Bearing in mind that I was going around on all fours at the time, it was pretty easy to spot stationery on the floor so I started confiscating it and hiding it in the press at the back of the room. Foolishly brought another girl in on the scheme after a few weeks and she didn't got enough game to keep from being noticed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Gotham

Age 5. For no reason I crawled between the couch and the wall and ate half a newspaper (tabloid). I knew while I did it that it was a stupid idea and I could taste the horrible ink, but I kept eating. I left the other half there and after reflecting on what I did over the course of a week, tried it again - but this time couldn't eat as much.

In my later years I've recommended it to people; climbing behind the couch and eating the newspaper, truly a surreal event akin to a session of meditation. Nobody I ever told tried it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Young Blood

I use to sell raffle tickets for my rugby club around the neighbourhood. After collecting the money, I would just say I lost the ticket stubs and then pocket the money.

Them Irish punts use to be very heavy when you had a massive bag of them. I use to feel like a millionaire counting them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

At easter I picked up the phone and I tried to ring the gardai because my mam wouldn't give me another easter egg and that was child abuse.

My and my brother also asked my parents if we could sell my sister and swap her for this massive teddy bear called Berry Bear we saw on hoildays. We were obsessed, had the whole thing worked out, we were going to give Berry Bear my sister's seat on the plane home and then he could live in her room. Needless to say, it never happened but for about a year after that if I ever fought with my sister I'd say "Berry Bear would never do this, wish we swapped you for him". God I was pretty horrible :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Anyone that quotes the Bohemian Rhapsody post deserves a ban. And a kicking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

gozunda wrote: »
    Is this the real life? Is this just fantasy?
    Caught in a landslide, No escape from reality
    Open your eyes, look up to the skies and see
    I'm just a poor boy, I need no sympathy
    Because I'm easy come, easy go, little high, little low
    Any way the wind blows doesn't really matter to me, to me

Mama, just killed a man, put a gun against his head
    Pulled my trigger, now he's dead
    Mama, life had just begun
    But now I've gone and thrown it all away
    Mama, ooh, didn't mean to make you cry
    If I'm not back again this time tomorrow
    Carry on, carry on as if nothing really matters
    Too late, my time has come
    Sends shivers down my spine, body's aching all the time
    Goodbye, everybody, I've got to go
    Gotta leave you all behind and face the truth
    Mama, ooh, I don't want to die
    I sometimes wish I'd never been born at all

I see a little silhouetto of a man
    Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you do the Fandango
    Thunderbolt and lightning, very, very fright'ning me
    (Galileo.) Galileo. (Galileo.) Galileo. Galileo figaro magnifico
    I'm just a poor boy and nobody loves me
    He's just a poor boy from a poor family
    Spare him his life from this monstrosity
    Easy come, easy go, will you let me go?
    Bismillah! No, we will not let you go
    (Let him go!) Bismillah! We will not let you go
    (Let me go.) Will not let you go
    (Let me go.) Will not let you go. (Let me go.) Ah
    No, no, no, no, no, no, no
    (Oh mamma mia, mamma mia) Mama mia, let me go
    Beelzebub has a devil put aside for me, for me, for me!

So you think you can stone me and spit in my eye?
    So you think you can love me and leave me to die?
    Oh, baby, can't do this to me, baby!
    Just gotta get out, just gotta get right outta here!

Nothing really matters, anyone can see
    Nothing really matters
    Nothing really matters to me
    Any way the wind blows

Heard it first on the radio ... Sends shivers down my spine

In what way is this relevant to the thread?