Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chinese vs. Chipper

• 02-08-2014 3:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭

I feel like eating a load of unhealthy shíte tonight, but where I don't know. :(:p

Help me out guys! :D

Which is best? 110 votes

Chinese
    0% 0 votes
    Chipper
    100% 110 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I feel like eating a load of unhealthy shíte tonight, but where I don't know. :(:p

Two flagons and a batterburger will se ye right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

KCs if you're in Cark tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

I know a few people who always say the prefer chinese but when they order from there they buy a burger and chips.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Pizza at Credo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Thai at anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Get thee to the Fish Wife. Burgers or fish, either is worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Ruu wrote: »
    Pizza.

Four-Star pizza is expensive.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Red Thai Curry with chips for dunking yo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Hard to beat a fresh cod and and chips, drenched in vinegar with a lashing of salt tbh.

Chinese in Ireland is all sugary syrupy bloop tbh.

Edit, do the sane thing. Samosas, lamb jalfrezi, pilau rice and garlic onion and coriander naan. That's what you want. Hard to beat Indian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Chicken foo yung, chips and curry sauce.
    I would demolish that now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Indian all the way!!

The only thing is you have a burny bum hole the next day in the aftermath of taking a poo. :( Fcuking chillis. *waves fist angrily*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Hollister11

Get both

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Skullface McGubbin

Chinese or Chipper. one of life's many tough decisions. Why hasn't someone set up a combination of the two? A Chinese Chipper. That would probably solve the OP's dilemma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Indian all the way!!

The only thing is you have a burny bum hole the next day in the aftermath of taking a poo. :( Fcuking chillis. *waves fist angrily*

Classy. :)

Hard to beat a fresh cod and and chips, drenched in vinegar with a lashing of salt tbh.

Chinese in Ireland is all sugary syrupy bloop tbh.

Edit, do the sane thing. Samosas, lamb jalfrezi, pilau rice and garlic onion and coriander naan. That's what you want. Hard to beat Indian.

Awwww I'd love a Jalfrezi! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

How has nobody mentioned kebabs yet? From a proper kebab shop, not the local chippy's mystery meat.

Chicken and lamb, wrapped in fresh naan bread. It'd put a horn on a snowman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Sciprio wrote: »
    I know a few people who always say the prefer chinese but when they order from there they buy a burger and chips.

Chips in a Chinese are absolutely terrible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Chinese or Chipper. one of life's many tough decisions. Why hasn't someone set up a combination of the two? A Chinese Chipper. That would probably solve the OP's dilemma.

If there's chipers in China, dya reckon the Chinese do be 'craving an Irish':confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

Fecker!
    now I want some, both, any!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Are we talking about duck sized Chinese versus chipper sized ducks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,387 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Chinese food.

Great bunch of dishes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,231 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

indian , chicken and prawn madras,rice,keema nan .... mmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

A nice bit of spicy szechaun beef with mixed veg, better than a scabby burger & soggy chips anyday

Classy. :)

I was timing how long it would take you to get here. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

Depends.
    Delivery or walk in order?

If walk in, chipper. Delivery, chinese.

There's something, for me anyway, that just doesn't feel the same about getting less than piping hot chipper food and getting to eat it straight away. Don't like the idea of it sitting for 20/30 mins.

Chinese on the otherhand doesn't feel too bad to heat up.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,359 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

KCs if you're in Cark tbh.

Worst chips I've ever had from a chipper. Cork people's love for KCs mystifies me.

Depends.
    Delivery or walk in order?

If walk in, chipper. Delivery, chinese.

There's something, for me anyway, that just doesn't feel the same about getting less than piping hot chipper food and getting to eat it straight away. Don't like the idea of it sitting for 20/30 mins.

Chinese on the otherhand doesn't feel too bad to heat up.

Delivery :p

We usually get our chipper food delivered and it's grand and hot.

Delivery :p

We usually get our chipper food delivered and it's grand and hot.

Delivery all the way. Ain't nobody got time for leaving the house for food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Chinese. That changes if you live on the coast and can get fresh cod/scampi and chips. Chinese also tastes pretty good heated up the next day.

Only food worth leaving the house for is some sexy Sunday lunch.

Yum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I know I'll be shot for this but on average I prefer chips from a chinese to those from a chipper. However the food out of your average irish chinese or chipper is absolute muck, very low grade food.

Zaph wrote: »
    Worst chips I've ever had from a chipper. Cork people's love for KCs mystifies me.

I've never been there... :o

I must be one of the few here who can't stand Indian food.
    The smell of it to begin with. And to me it practically all tastes the same, some just spicier than others. No matter where I have gotten it the meat in it is always tough.
    But the most serious failing of Indian food is the look.
    It looks exactly the same on the plate as I imagine it does when it leaves the body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

KFC...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭rotun

Is there a Saburrito near you?
    Is hung over to bits earlier,

Got me chillie, refried beans, Spanish rice, guacamole, sour cream, chipotle sauce, jalapeños, lettuce, sweet corn, tomato, and onion up in that bizzle..

Right as rain now.

Smidge wrote: »
    I must be one of the few here who can't stand Indian food.
    The smell of it to begin with. And to me it practically all tastes the same, some just spicier than others. No matter where I have gotten it the meat in it is always tough.
    But the most serious failing of Indian food is the look.
    It looks exactly the same on the plate as I imagine it does when it leaves the body.

GET OUT! :mad:

Have you ever been to Kathmandu on Dame street? Fcuking unbelievable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

Curry from the Chinese is the business (dang makes me want some now)

GET OUT! :mad:

Have you ever been to Kathmandu on Dame street? Fcuking unbelievable!

Sadly yes :-(
    And to people eating Indian fyi, the odour seeps from your pores for days :.p

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

If you can find a decent quality chipper with fresh fish, then go with that.

Decent quality Chinese takeaway food doesn't really exist (or I'm yet to encounter it). There's a few decent restaurants for that sort of thing.

Thai and Indian takeaway can be okay if you order from the right places.

Sadly yes :-(

Ah g'way outta that. I don't wanna hear any more Smidgey. I thought we made a birchy connection but this has put a dampner on it. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Zaph wrote: »

It varies massively in quality. One week it could be gorgeous, the next dripping it oil, fatty, soggy. When it's good, it's very good. Dont know if they still do it but the flamin' pig in the spuds would kill the most hellish of hangovers.

Ah g'way outta that. I don't wanna hear any more Smidgey. I thought we made a birchy connection but this has put a dampner on it. :(

I'm sorry, I won't korma round here no more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 leBIT

But who was "churry cheeps"

I'm sorry, I won't korma round here no more

You have made me really tikka!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

If you can find a decent quality chipper with fresh fish, then go with that.

Decent quality Chinese takeaway food doesn't really exist (or I'm yet to encounter it). There's a few decent restaurants for that sort of thing.

Thai and Indian takeaway can be okay if you order from the right places.

There are a lot of bad ones allright Chungs in Mountview D15 is the business

You have made me really tikka!! :mad:

I know but I was trying to make samosa the gag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

You cant beat the ancient chinese cuisine of Chips, Rice and Curry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

I voted Chinese.

Then as I clicked I regretted my decision.

That's kind of how I feel every time I eat Chinese also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Kayleigh..

I've never had food delivered.

#mayoproblems.

Kayleigh.. wrote: »
    I've never had food delivered.

#mayoproblems.

Fortunately for you, I can't slag off Mayo as my grandfather came from Kiltimagh. I have a Mayo jersey at home somewhere, I couldn't support Longford and risk dying of embarrassment.

Could be worse Kayleigh, you could be from Cork. :pac: