Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Vehicles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭jhon boy

cut backs lads just pray to god your house never gets robed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/all-resources-of-a-murder-probe-assigned-to-body-parts-case-1.1885245

Just came across an article which says gardai are putting the resources that would be used in a murder investigation into this case and the picture the irish times has shows a fairly rough looking yaris.

I hope the garda fleet isnt getting as depleted as this photo depicts.

They have Fiestas too :pac:

On the other hand, I've seen an unmarked E90 330i in a garda convoy before, so it Can't be THAT bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

There is a 141 i30 in the background

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Well I'd imagine the runabouts would be grand for cases like this? Keep the better cars for the traffic corps and unmarked units?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Sobanek wrote: »
    On the other hand, I've seen an unmarked E90 330i in a garda convoy before, so it Can't be THAT bad.
    Can they use seized assets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

ian87 wrote: »
    There is a 141 i30 in the background

I was nearly taken clean out of it by a Garda i30 that went into an alarming speed wobble in Nenagh 10 days ago. Shocking stuff.

Unmarked cars I've seen:
    - 07 Focus ST hatch
    - 06 Mondeo 3.0 V6
    - 06 Subaru Forester
    - 06 BMW 330i
    - 08 Mondeo 2.5T (?)
    - 08 V70 T5
    - plenty of 03 Camrys

and more stuff not even worth mentioning.

Most of the decent fleet is from 2006. Did they get an EU funding or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

The Garda fleet has been decimated in recent years and to see them driving about in yaris's, Clio"s and fiestas just shows how bad and under resourced they are. All their new cars are bog standards family estates like i30's and Focus's and are not designed for high speed pursuits/chases. When you see the spec'd up cars that the uk police and even the psni have, it's actually embarrassing!

the_syco wrote: »
    Can they use seized assets?

No idea, If they were purchased originally with crime proceeds then maybe yes.

CJC999 wrote: »
    The Garda fleet has been decimated in recent years and to see them driving about in yaris's, Clio"s and fiestas just shows how bad and under resourced they are. All their new cars are bog standards
    To be fair it's always been the same. I'll admit the fleet isn't being updated as often. And all Police forces have small Panda Cars for nipping about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Hollister11

They should cut the F*****g politicians should get they pay cut in half and put it into emergency resources.

It would probably being in less than €500k and increase corruption by 1000% so ya go ahead.

Anyway, back in the real world, an update and upgrade of the fleet would be good.

Just to give you an idea what usually unmarked cars are in Poland:

- Opel Insignia 2.8 V6
    - Ford Mondeo MK3 3.0 V6
    - VW Passat 3.2 V6
    - Skoda Superb 3.6 V6

And the coppers in Warsaw even have an ex-gov E38 750iL :D

Dont the armed unit have an armoured X5 that CAB took from a gang in Limerick,

sure theyve got others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

In the photo the hubcaps dont even match.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

ba_barabus wrote: »
    It would probably being in less than €500k and increase corruption by 1000% so ya go ahead.

Anyway, back in the real world, an update and upgrade of the fleet would be good.

They bought 300 avensis' 2 years ago and they've just bought 500 hyundais this year with most of them starting to roll out lately.They also bought a load of transit connects recently aswell.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

aaronc182 wrote: »
    Dont the armed unit have an armoured X5 that CAB took from a gang in Limerick,

sure theyve got others?

Yep it's all kitted out with gun racks now.The armed unit has a load of high spec volvos kitted out aswell.Mainly v70 r specs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭BdaraB

CJC999 wrote: »
    The Garda fleet has been decimated in recent years and to see them driving about in yaris's, Clio"s and fiestas just shows how bad and under resourced they are. All their new cars are bog standards family estates like i30's and Focus's and are not designed for high speed pursuits/chases. When you see the spec'd up cars that the uk police and even the psni have, it's actually embarrassing!

Here in the U.K. you often see them driving in a Peugeot Ion beyond that it's typically a Focus or Astra estate these days. I think the need to buy car for high speed chases when for 90% of the cars life its going to be sitting in traffic is a bit unrealistic

Hellrazer wrote: »
    They bought 300 avensis' 2 years ago and they've just bought 500 hyundais this year with most of them starting to roll out lately.They also bought a load of transit connects recently aswell.
    The Avensis was an inferior car and the Gardaí wanted the Mondeo but they were over ruled as Toyota financially gave a better offer. I did say 'upgrade' the fleet not downgrade.

The i30's aren't going to be an improvement and aren't going to be great as a run around with a DPF fitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭dingding

Sobanek wrote: »

Would this be a senior politicians car. I think the taoiseach and a couple of ministers still have state cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

BMW actually put in the best offer two years ago but it wasn't approved because the then Justice minister didn't want to face questions about Gardai in brand new BMW's.

Either way, I wouldn't be worrying about DPF's or the like - most of those cars will have 100k plus on them after a year so will have had plenty of time for DPF regeneration. Besides, I'd imagine that Hyundai have put a very good deal in place in term's of warranty etc.

BMW actually put in the best offer two years ago but it wasn't approved because the then Justice minister didn't want to face questions about Gardai in brand new BMW's.

The article I remember was in the Indo but I do recall reading the BMW story in the Times.

All I do remember from noth was they wanted the Mondeos

yeah heard they were offered beemers alrite, Would have been alot better than i30's

The Avensis was an inferior car and the Gardaí wanted the Mondeo but they were over ruled as Toyota financially gave a better offer. I did say 'upgrade' the fleet not downgrade.

The i30's aren't going to be an improvement and aren't going to be great as a run around with a DPF fitted.

Never said they upgraded the fleet.Just giving the facts of what they have just ordered.

avensis was / is not suitable as a garda vehicle and either is the i30 but hyundai gave a better financial deal.

The mondeos that are on the fleet are coming to the end of life..they have to be disposed of at 300k.

I really don't know what's out there that could be suitable.New mondeo petrol isn't the best and all the ford diesels also have a dpf so not the best either.

They need to go upmarket but I'd say the budget isn't there for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

not sure about the 300
    http://www.thejournal.ie/new-garda-cars-636420-Oct2012/
    but thejournal mightnt be the most accurate website

What surprises me is that gardai involved in a murder investigation are undertaking some of the most serious work a garda can do. Surely for duties like this a yaris with two different door handles a serious dent and a rough look to it cant be suitable.

They need to go upmarket but I'd say the budget isn't there for that.
    I don't know about upmarket, skoda do good petrol models that would suit in the octavia but I agree with the rest of the post. I know in the Uk the move to diesel ended up costing a fortune for some police forces with increased breakdowns and expensive parts needed for repairs.

not sure about the 300

What surprises me is that gardai involved in a murder investigation are undertaking some of the most serious work a garda can do. Surely for duties like this a yaris with two different door handles a serious dent and a rough look to it cant be suitable.
    I doubt the victim cares about the dodgy bodywork.

As I said, BMW put in the best offer a few years ago and were still turned down. It would have been cheaper in the long term compared to any other offer so budget doesn't really come into it.

Ford will struggle this time round because they've no Mondeo really to offer right now.

not sure about the 300

We were informed it was 300 and all servicing was to be done with us with warranty going to Toyota dealers.It was possibly 300 over 2 years now that you say it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

It was possibly 300 over 2 years now that you say it.

I think so from what I know :)

BTW, as for warranty and breakdown etc, Gardai get some of the best deals in Europe from manufacturers. More often than not the majority of stuff is covered.

The benefit of having a race between manufacturers to register as many cars as you can I suppose.

It would have been cheaper in the long term compared to any other offer

I must ask someone in the force in the UK how the BMWs faired for running costs overall. he never had anything nice to say about the Skodas, infact his force went back to Vauxhalls as they were considerably cheaper to run and better overall.

Just have to take manufacturer support into account for maintenance costs too. Some will support it more than others and offer uplifted warranty etc.

I'd imagine it would be in the interest of Vauxhall in the UK to do this given its a "UK" brand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

In the photo the hubcaps dont even match.

And the door handles.....

wonder did CAB take those hubcaps of some drugrunners yaris :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

I'd imagine it would be in the interest of Vauxhall in the UK to do this given its a "UK" brand.

Certainly and without doubt or argument.

Incidentally I'm told GM's warranties in Ireland are very broad and fair, better than the UK's for some some things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

When people talk about the UK cop cars they all don't drive BMWs.

In my local met station it is mostly i30s & ford focuses.
    They do the day in and day out work.

They have 2 rapid response cars a BMW 5 series and a skoda VRS.

The detectives and community guys drive around in unmarked i30s.

As someone said the cops working on this case will more than likely not be driving using blue lights. The lad driving that yaris is prob just standing at the gate all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭godskitchen

BMW actually put in the best offer two years ago but it wasn't approved because the then Justice minister didn't to face questions about Gardai in brand new BMW's.

Either way, I wouldn't be worrying about DPF's or the like - most of those cars will have 100k plus on them after a year so will have had plenty of time for DPF regeneration. Besides, I'd imagine that Hyundai have put a very good deal in place in term's of warranty etc.

I heard that exact same story from a friend in the UK police force..... About the UK with the names changed to reflect the UK. Same makes and story......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭godskitchen

BMW actually put in the best offer two years ago but it wasn't approved because the then Justice minister didn't to face questions about Gardai in brand new BMW's.

I heard that exact same story from a friend in the UK police force..... About the UK with the names changed to reflect the UK. Same makes and story......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

Figure for 2011 was 212 toyota bought from toyota most these are have hit grounding limit.

there was 305 Hyundais from the 5 million spend announced last year only started hitting the roads in Febuary still not all on the road

Vovlos need to be replaced as there police spec they dont have the same limit as a normal car. but there getting old.....

Saab were a trial awful awful

The Yars is more than likely warrants or Compol car that isnt used as much as regular car they wouldnt be used if it was over 300,000 on it.

Yaris have no place in the force

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

BTW, as for warranty and breakdown etc, Gardai get some of the best deals in Europe from manufacturers. More often than not the majority of stuff is covered.

The benefit of having a race between manufacturers to register as many cars as you can I suppose.

I thought there was a scandal about a year back when it was stated that the Gardai bought a fleet of Ford cars at showroom price with no discount asked for

corktina wrote: »
    I thought there was a scandal about a year back when it was stated that the Gardai bought a fleet of Ford cars at showroom price with no discount asked for

that was press bull really they got large discount on the over 300 06/07 mondeos they got

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

corktina wrote: »

I think the scandal was that they were sitting unused in a compound for ages.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

I'm on the mobile so can't link it, but was some discussion in the emergency services forum about some UK police spec Volvos been purchased recently. Someone posted a PDF of the Volvo spec and options that are available from the factory, which were pretty comprehensive. Upgraded batteries, suspension, brakes, even a larger fuel tank. Regardless of brand, I think getting police spec from the factory makes the most sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

delly wrote: »
    I'm on the mobile so can't link it, but was some discussion in the emergency services forum about some UK police spec Volvos been purchased recently. Someone posted a PDF of the Volvo spec and options that are available from the factory, which were pretty comprehensive. Upgraded batteries, suspension, brakes, even a larger fuel tank. Regardless of brand, I think getting police spec from the factory makes the most sense.

Depends on what they're being used for and the costs involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

To be fair it's always been the same. I'll admit the fleet isn't being updated as often. And all Police forces have small Panda Cars for nipping about.

True but here those cars are the main and only cars attached to district stations, they're for ferrying prisoners, traffic duty, regular patrolling etching etc I realise they have similar cars in the uk and other police forces but they also have properly equipped pursuit and traffic cars. Here the traffic cars are simply big standard larger family saloons. They have no additional safety or performance upgrades.

BMW put in the best offer a few years ago and were still turned down. It would have been cheaper in the long term

As far as I recall, it was actually a case that getting the Gardai BMWs was working out cheaper than any other brand of car, but keeping them in BMWs (maintenance, servicing etc.) was working out much more expensive, ultimately.

Often Garda cars are still being serviced and maintained religiously, even when it would ultimatley be cheaper to write the car off and buy a new one. The Gardai will polish a turd.