Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland in 2034

• 01-08-2014 7:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭

What do you expect Irish society to be like in 2034?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

Stinking, as the crippling water rates mean people no longer wash or shower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Controlled by Skynet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

With the advent of successful langer enlargement surgery, lads will pole vault to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

The Garth Brooks public enquiry will be drawing to a close at a bargain €2.3bn with the conclusion that the city manager did the right thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

Nodin wrote: »
    With the advent of successful langer enlargement surgery, lads will pole vault to work.

I'd quite like to have a penis several dozen metres long with veins so thick you could swim through them, but I don;t think 2034 is a realistic date for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

The Garth Brooks public enquiry will be drawing to a close at a bargain €2.3bn with the conclusion that the city manager did the right thing.

Or that there was endemic corruption on all sides but nobody will ever be punished for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

The Healy Rae dictatorship will be into its second year and Laois sold off to pay for the compulsory flat cap wearing initiative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

The Dublin underground still wont be built

Ah come on some things will have to be good

I rekcon it'll be less violent, slightly richer, less alcohol-centred, more liberal in general

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

RTE's entire schedule will consist of clones of Gay Byrne interviewing Gay Byrne about what it means to be Gay Byrne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

Back with the motherland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

RTE's entire schedule will consist of clones of Gay Byrne interviewing Gay Byrne about what it means to be Gay Byrne

They will self-destruct trying to out-condescend each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

I rekcon it'll be less violent, slightly richer, less alcohol-centred, more liberal in general

You left out the junkies, what happens to them? Perhaps a monument erected in their honour in 2030 to their brave acts of syringing and mugging ?

moxin wrote: »
    You left out the junkies, what happens to them? Perhaps a monument erected in their honour in 2030 to their brave acts of syringing and mugging ?

they'll mostly be dead, but the new ones will be far more sedate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

You're optimistic, I think we'll still be implementing austerity to pay off our debts.

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    You're optimistic, I think we'll still be implementing austerity to pay off our debts.

But by then we'll have shiny moon-money which will magivally appear in German banks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭dickface

Browner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Following 20 years of global warming it will be much like present day Catalonia. I'll have a vineyard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Even more foreigners. Feckin loads of them. Our towns will be taken over, all the Irish will have fecked off back onto the land. Mark my words. It's happening already.

BTW; no xeno.

One things for sure: Old Men's scrotums dangling forlornly in the wind will have become a central feature of our everyday lives

they'll mostly be dead, but the new ones will be far more sedate

A new lethal form of methadone perhaps? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Young Blood

Ireland will be the dominant country in the British Isles dictating a secular policy to both Wales and Scotland.

You're on the wrong forum bud, perhaps boards.co.uk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭MultiUmm

Ireland will continue to become more liberal, therefore we'll have a more progressive and open society.

The Catholic church will be even less relevant than it is now, although there will probably be small pockets of more extreme hard-liners scattered about the place, re those nuts in 'Catholic Democracy'.

We'll have a more racially diverse society, we'll definitely be seeing a lot of second or even third generation children from immigrant families.

Economically, well, that's hard to say. The global economy appears so unstable that you can't even predict how the next 5 years will pan out, never mind the next 20.

Flooding and extreme weather will probably be even more prevalent, which will be a serious issue for us to contend with.

Alcohol will still play a central role in society, although advertising and cheap distribution will most likely have been cracked down on, with even more health warnings etc. in place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Young Blood

You're on the wrong forum bud, perhaps boards.co.uk?

Let me finish that...'prompting a change in the prefix British'.

MultiUmm wrote: »
    Ireland will continue to become more liberal, therefore we'll have a more progressive and open society.

The Catholic church will be even less relevant than it is now, although there will probably be small pockets of more extreme hard-liners scattered about the place, re those nuts in 'Catholic Democracy'.

We'll have a more racially diverse society, we'll definitely be seeing a lot of second or even third generation children from immigrant families.

Economically, well, that's hard to say. The global economy appears so unstable that you can't even predict how the next 5 years will pan out, never mind the next 20.

Flooding and extreme weather will probably be even more prevalent, which will be a serious issue for us to contend with.

Alcohol will still play a central role in society, although advertising and cheap distribution will most likely have been cracked down on, with even more health warnings etc. in place.
    Good answer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

Wiped out by ebola.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

dickface wrote: »
    Browner

Im going with this answer .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

with Waterford the capital:pac:

agh no in all seriousness....id say it'll be much the same...but with less corruption and more jobs hopfully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Still wet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

The punishment for committing serious thought crimes will be to have comments from the journal.ie in 2014 fed directly into your brain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Absoluvely

Slane Girl will be celebrating the birth of her 11th son while KPMG Girl will be living off Daddy's pension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 any1butdublin3

Hopefully there will be less Dublin people on RTE, maybe a few nice presenters will Donegal brogues, just too many Dubliners on TV for my liking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Hopefully there will be less Dublin people on RTE, maybe a few nice presenters will Donegal brogues, just too many Dubliners on TV for my liking.
    The majority of the license fee comes from us Dubliners so I think its fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Im hoping RTE will be gone .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

The majority of the license fee comes from us Dubliners so I think its fair

I don't think you know what majority means.

I'm saying that as a Dublin resident with basic arithmetic skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,828 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

By 2034 all the land inside the canals of Dublin will be a separate republic of junkies inhospitable to anyone who does not elongate each spoken word for no reason.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,828 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Absoluvely wrote: »
    Slane Girl will be celebrating the birth of her 11th son while KPMG Girl will be living off Daddy's pension.

KPMG girls solicitors will have people disappeared for even mentioning her name.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭The Adversary

Eamon Dunphy will still be a panelist on RTE.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Lots of genetic engineering and neuro/nano-surgery.
    There'll be an awful lot of good looking people around.

Losing a limb or two will be no biggy.

Work will be highly automated, the jobs that we now refer to with the likes of 'ah yeah but you'd need a human to show the computer what to do' .... wont need a human.

We'll be repelled by the idea that people used smoke cigarettes. In the same way we think about chewin tabakky these days.

Your chemical kicks will be available via microchip. There'll be an awful lot of high people around.

Which is okay since work wont be a big deal either.

Philosophy courses will see a real surge as mere work starts to no longer get in the way of the big questions.

Crime/Crime fighting will be much concerned with nano level technology.

To our own detriment we will develop smaller and smaller cameras and communication devices, you'll never have privacy levels like those of today or like those in the past.

That comfort will be gone as Mrs O'Leary down the road can now operate a drone with a lazer distance mic and scan your home from 10,000 meters as her robot pours her tea.
    There'll be countermeasures, and counter countermeasures, and so on, and laws introduced and broken but you wont ever speak as freely as in past years.

Probably the first proper signs of the long awaited flying car moving into mass production.

Economic class will start to overshadow nationality more and more, the elite from all corners will live in a world even more separated and have even more influence.

Air/Long distance travel will see technological and economic improvements, a trip to Beijing for the weekend will be no big deal.

I may also have gotten some ass by then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

After years of provocation, NATO forces mount an assault on Ireland's southern coast, Supreme Chancellor Enda Kenny rides a nuclear weapon into battle.

The Shannon is drained and dammed, to provide a skateboarding park in the hopes of reinvigorating the Irish economy and Nation is down with the Kidz......it fails.

During the NATO invasion, Enda hopes the enemy tanks will just fall in top of each other into what once was the Shannon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭ErnieBert

There will be a countdown clock on Ahern Street (previously known as Grafton Street) to 2036 Dublin Olympics

A new professional soccer club called Saint ShelBohs Rovers FC from Dublin will win the Champions League.

The Irish Times will be a tabloid app called TIT

Rugby will have been found out and have amalgamated with the GAA

The price of pint will be IR£37 in Temple Bar. The Euro will be extinct.

Renting a flat in Longford City will be the same price as a flat in Rathmines because people will be able to commute to the midlands by hi-speed mono-Luas in 45 seconds.

Garth Brooks will be dead and Croke Park will be rebranded the Brooks Pepsi Arena

Sligo will not have changed a bit. It will always be 1987 in Shhhhligo

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

a post apocalyptic waste land ruled by many minor warlord who raid and kill as a way of life . food weapons and power will be the currency of the day. we will all have motorbikes and cross bows and deadly hair cuts .

i shall rule as a violent and benevolent leader over by tribe in order to finally pay off my mortgage

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 479 ✭✭In Lonesome Dove

Well there won't be any concerts or enjoyment events due to nimbyism and compo sponging.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 479 ✭✭In Lonesome Dove

And Cork will be the capital of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭rocoso

it will be the germans boy!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

And Cork will be the capital of Ireland.

Pfft, we'll finally be independent of this oppressive regime by then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

City slickers, city slickers everywhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Paddyfield

Never mind 2034. There will be more Dubs in Galway than locals by 2019.

It balances out the culchie invasion of Dublin in the 1970's