Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

why do YOU go on foreign holidays?

• 27-07-2014 10:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭

for the sun?

for the different cultures?

for 'spreading the seed/eggs' to a more 'exotic' bunch of people?

for.. the beach?

for seeing the sites/adventure? (that you cant get at home)

and if the above what do you do the other 50 weeks of the year then to cope!

all my holidays revolve around adventure and going cause I cant do what I like to do here + all the above are bonus' too

mmmmmm exotic women... :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

To get some nice cold weather and away from this heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Who, ME?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

To get away from all the foreigners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Because my family insist I visit.

Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I go far away on holidays for a few reasons, sun being a big one but also to just get away from the sameness of life in Ireland. I get tired of the same old people in work, at home, doing the same old things like drinking in the same pubs every week, complaining about the same things and never wanting to leave this country. When i visit America, India etc its great to experience different cultures and entertainment, see new people and generally refresh your batteries. If i didnt get out of this country once or twice a year I would likely go nuts from the constant culture of drink, drink, drink...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

To see different architecture/countryside. To enjoy a different climate/food. To soak up some history/culture.

It's refreshing to get away from what we know best. Going away always makes you appreciate what you have then you come back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

I go on holidays to get away from the same old routine in Dublin and appreciate other parts of the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Last foreign place I went was cyprus in 2010. The tea wasn't right, goats milk or some ****e like that. Haven't been abroad since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

I go for to see and experience

1. festivals (been to the highland games, Tomatinas festival in August)
    3. see sights (Prudential tower viewing deck, Bunker Hill, Spanish Palace, Lough Ness)
    4. Meet new people.
    5. Try new foods (Haggis, Spanish Omlette, fresh baked french bread in france, pasta in rome)
    6. Pick up women from other nationalities (so far been with an, American, German, Spaniard, Liverpuddlian, Ozzy, Italian, Venezuelan) The red hair and the accent obviously are a massive help when abroad
    7. For the craic (Vegas)

Better weather is a bonus but not a must.

The worst part I about going away is seeing how other countries operate better aspects of life to hours (boston's transport system British Hospitals, German police force). It mmakes me depressed how behind most of the western world we are for a quote unquote first world country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,086 ✭✭✭duffman13

Gannicus wrote: »
    6. Pick up women from other nationalities (so far been with an, American, German, Spaniard, Liverpuddlian, Ozzy, Italian, Venezuelan) The red hair and the accent obviously are a massive help when abroad.

Ginger? I'm calling bull**** on no.6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Dónal wrote: »
    Cork

Can't really blame you wanting to get away from Cork. I'd be the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

duffman13 wrote: »

They do very well in the latin countries.

As much as of a hinderence it is here in Ireland its the polar opposite abroad. especially in countrys where its nearly impossible to be born with it due to your skin pigmentation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

Adventure, discovery, learning... Culture, history, food, scenery, people, architecture... I have this yearning to find out where and how other people live on this planet, and what the planet looks like... Just about anywhere !
    Hard to explain really, I guess bottom line is curiosity.
    If I won the lotto, this is how I'd spend my money, and a little bit finishing off my home here too, it's nice to have an anchor point to go back to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

To relax, unwind and experience a different culture and learn new things. I love travelling, you always learn something new. It's an education in itself.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Ireland covers about 0.000001% of the surface of the world. That leaves a whole lot of space to see before you kick it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

faceman wrote: »
    Ireland covers about 0.000001% of the surface of the world. That leaves a whole lot of space to see before you kick it

0.000164% actually. And that includes the seas so if you take away the seas its .000567%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Reindeer

You can be the most intelligent and educated person in your village. If you haven't traveled, you haven't learned much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

I haven't been away since 2006. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Some Irish people go on foreign holidays to sit in a an Irish bar slurping Guinness and eating Tayto, talk to some buffoon from the next parish about GAA all week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Can't speak for the rest of them, but in Germany that would definitely be a plus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,365 ✭✭✭Joya

To get away from all the foreigners

we're that bad, huh? :(

Gannicus wrote: »
    I go for to see and experience

1. festivals (been to the highland games, Tomatinas festival in August)
    3. see sights (Prudential tower viewing deck, Bunker Hill, Spanish Palace, Lough Ness)
    4. Meet new people.
    5. Try new foods (Haggis, Spanish Omlette, fresh baked french bread in france, pasta in rome)
    6. Pick up women from other nationalities (so far been with an, American, German, Spaniard, Liverpuddlian, Ozzy, Italian, Venezuelan) The red hair and the accent obviously are a massive help when abroad
    7. For the craic (Vegas)

Better weather is a bonus but not a must.

The worst part I about going away is seeing how other countries operate better aspects of life to hours (boston's transport system British Hospitals, German police force). It mmakes me depressed how behind most of the western world we are for a quote unquote first world country.

Are you keeping number 2 as a secret reason?

btw most of my holidays i go to spend time with my family who i miss dearly (brother sister and their kids <3), went few times to croatian seaside as i have some friends there as well, but other than that i really love to explore ireland.. by now i think i saw more of the ireland than some irish for life :)
    (btw since im here 12 years im proud to be irish too so not sure if i qualify as a foreigner anymore :))
    yea, im in love with IE, have to admit :)..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Birneybau wrote: »
    Who, ME?

Beetlejuice is that you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I'd probably go abroad a lot more if there wasn't so much travelling involved. Actually, I think it's mainly airports that I hate. If Star Trek-style transporters (could be used by the general public) were invented, I'd be travelling all over the planet. Beam me up, Canada!

Also, I'm useless at planning holidays so, being single, holidays usually don't happen, although I went to Slovakia last year and Iceland about 4 years ago, both times alone.

although I went to Slovakia last year and Iceland about 4 years ago, both times alone.

so how was Slovakia, in few words? I have a friend there who lived in Dublin but returned 2 years ago, and is calling me to visit : )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

In the hope of finding a bar where I'll be dared to go down on 24 tanned fit women for a free cocktail.

Hell, I'll even pay for the cocktail if they want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

to meet other Irish people and go to Irish bars!

but really, just love being somewhere new and try to do as much as I can in the place and learn about the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Change of scene. It's a big world out there and I aim to see a bit of it before a cash in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Change of scene. It's nice to get away from the same old scenery and people here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Joya wrote: »
    so how was Slovakia, in few words? I have a friend there who lived in Dublin but returned 2 years ago, and is calling me to visit : )
    Slovakia was okay. I'm a really bad tourist so I usually just wander about the place for a while and then try to figure out how to get back to my hotel, hopefully without using a map.

I went there the day after I got home from the Electric Picnic and my feet were very blistered so that didn't help. I wouldn't go back to Bratislava but I'm glad I went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jogathon

Quazzie wrote: »
    0.000164% actually. And that includes the seas so if you take away the seas its .000567%

Is there a forgotten zero in the second number? Me v confused! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Jogathon wrote: »
    Is there a forgotten zero in the second number? Me v confused! :confused:

I suppose, but it's a zero before the decimal place so it's irrelevant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 i r legend

I like to export our fine culture by drinking all day by the pool in my gaa jersey before retiring to the Irish bar at night for a grand sing song of rebel songs. deadly buzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

1. Good weather
    2. Cheaper than holidays in RIP OFF ireland
    3. A change
    4. There is feck all to do in ireland (outside the main cities) except drink in pubs, or partake in some form of sport/exercise
    5. The sea is too cold in ireland (the nuts turn blue)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

I try to get away twice a year, you only live once etc etc.

I go for a multitude of reasons, but culture/history probably first and foremost, weather thereafter etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

If I had my honeymoon in Ireland it would be ****e.

Going on a cruise in the Caribbean next month :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

For the food! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭Jamaican Me Crazy

The sun

The experience

Food

I also try to get in a couple of short city breaks a year if I can.

I spend the other 50 weeks dreaming about / planning the holidays

TheTorment wrote: »
    Are you keeping number 2 as a secret reason?

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jogathon

I suppose, but it's a zero before the decimal place so it's irrelevant.[/QUOTE

No. How can the number be bigger when you take away the seas? I did spot the irrelevant missing zero before the point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

Museums
    Events
    The experience
    Reminder that the world's kind of huge and full of possibilities
    To have a thing to look forward to
    Breaks things up a bit
    Cos I actually really like airports a lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Antibes, my second home. I go there for an excuse to drive/ride through La Belle France, and to spend time utterly relaxed by the Côte d'Azur, the most beautiful place on Earth, enjoying the finest food and wine in the universe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

jimgoose wrote: »
    Antibes, my second home. I go there for an excuse to drive/ride through La Belle France, and to spend time utterly relaxed by the Côte d'Azur, the most beautiful place on Earth, enjoying the finest food and wine in the universe.

+1000,000 :)

I also like to reassure myself that there are some places where people can live their entire life without ever having :eek: BOUGHT A HOUSE !! :eek:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

No. How can the number be bigger when you take away the seas? I did spot the irrelevant missing zero before the point.

There are 10 apples, 9 green and 1 red. 10% of the apples are red.

If you take away 5 green apples, of the remainder, 20% are red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Because I like to take my shoes off in airports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

The first number is Ireland's percentage of the surface area of the planet. The second, larger number is Ireland's percentage of the land area of the planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

endacl wrote: »
    Because I like to take my shoes off in airports.

I don't do airports any more. The whole aeroplane thing isn't as much fun as it used to be.