Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Awful, annoying and Awesome movie cameos.

• 26-07-2014 7:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭

I'm currently on a marvel movies binge and the one thing that is really beginning to grind my gears is Stan Lee's cameos. They get borderline ridiculous! That said the films have some quality cameos and references. The unexpected appearance of another marvel stalwart taking the piss out of himself in a Thor movie being an notable example.

So what cameos did you guys like, hate, ignore, feel irritated by, thought were intelligent or had interesting back story to them. And why the fck can't they work on giving Stan Lee better cameos. Some almost seem like a parody of themselves.

Tl;dr Stan Lee cameos get pretty annoying, what makes a great cameo, what makes a poor one and OP needed to rant. Because it's actually been the biggest detractor of his marvel binge. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Alfred Hitchcocks cameo in "To Catch a Thief " was brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,320 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

In a perfect world, every film should have a Twisted Sister cameo :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭the baby bull elephant

Loved Ryan Reynolds cameo in Ted. Doesn't even say a word but found it quite funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Loved Ryan Reynolds cameo in Ted. Doesn't even say a word but found it quite funny.

Wow! I think I may have totally missed that! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Following up on his pseudo gay cameo in Family Guy,loved the fact that the guy who does Joes voice is who he was with in Ted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭McSasquatch II

Lots of ones that irritate me alright. One that particularly grates (and for reasons that I can't explain) is Alanis Morrisette as God in Dogma. She doesn't even have any dialogue and yet still manages to piss me off! Others would include Shyamalan in all his movies, Tarantino in Django Unchained...

Speaking of Tarantino, this is one of my favourite cameos;

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Stan Lees cameos suck, there I said it, the only good one is in Amazing Spider-Man. Nothing wrong with doing it the odd time but every movie is just getting silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

The best cameo ever is Randolph & Mortimer from Trading Places showing up in Coming to America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Walter Matuschanskayasky in Earthquake.

Marcel Marceau in Silent Movie (what the hell happened to this film, its vanished)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I've said the same about Stan Lee for ages too.
    I'm also hating that fat ginger kid getting a prominent shot in lots of movies.

My favourite, I listed In the other thread , hot shots "I loved you in Wall Street"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

It's not even a very good cameo, but it's just so unexpected, and Arnie is awesome, hence it deserves to be in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I always liked the Charlton Heston Cameo from Waynes world. A perfectly played gag.

Wolverine in X-men first class I got a big kick out of. It was just so unexpected

The coming too America one is a good shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Dunno if it counts as a cameo but Tom Cruise in Tropic Thunder was brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭CPSW

Great shout on the Charlton Heston cameo in Wayne’s World 2, great in gag where the original actor gets replaced by someone "better".

Bill Murray in Zombieland is a great one, especially how his cameo plays out.

Harelson: "Have you any regrets?"
    Murray: "I dunno, maybe Garfield"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

If it can be counted then John Turturro's in The Big Lebowski is the granddaddy of them all, by a mile the best thing in the film.
    "Nobody f**ks with the Jesus!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I didn't think Alanis Morissette herself was annoying in Dogma, but her character was annoying because she (?) was written that way. It's a bit unfair to blame her for her character's traits. :p

Erin Brockovich herself pops up as a waitress in the movie Erin Brockovich, but I wouldn't have noticed had it not been publicised in advance, so I don't know how effective it was. Ditto for the likes of composer Howard Shore in one of the Lord of the Rings films (The Two Towers, I think). Probably my favourite of all has to be director Martin Scorsese in Taxi Driver, as a genuinely creepy passenger in Travis Bickle's cab.

Awesome? Philosopher Marshall McLuhan appears as himself in Woody Allen's Annie Hall, to berate a couple in a movie queue for misunderstanding his work. How very meta. ;)

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

bnt wrote: »
    I didn't think Alanis Morissette herself was annoying in Dogma, but her character was annoying because she (?) was written that way. It's a bit unfair to blame her for her character's traits. :p

Pedantry, ahoy.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,530 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I loved Meatloaf and Dio's cameos at the start of the Tenacious D film Pick of Destiny. The rest of the film didn't quite live up to the opening few minutes but that part where Dio starts singing back to him from the poster is fantastic. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭SherlockWatson

Oak76 wrote: »
    Pedantry, ahoy.

Its not pedantry, tis common sense, Jaysus.

I never said I blamed Alanis Morrisette for her character's traits, or that I disliked Alanis Morrisette. I said that one of the cameos I disliked was that of Alanis Morrisette playing God in Dogma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

CPSW wrote: »
    Great shout on the Charlton Heston cameo in Wayne’s World 2, great in gag where the original actor gets replaced by someone "better".

Good little scene indeed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭the baby bull elephant

Speaking of Wayne's World...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Billy Idol in The Wedding Singer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

bnt wrote: »
    Erin Brockovich herself pops up as a waitress in the movie Erin Brockovich, but I wouldn't have noticed had it not been publicised in advance, so I don't know how effective it was. Ditto for the likes of composer Howard Shore in one of the Lord of the Rings films (The Two Towers, I think). Probably my favourite of all has to be director Martin Scorsese in Taxi Driver, as a genuinely creepy passenger in Travis Bickle's cab.

Also, the real Jim Lovell has a cameo at the end of Apollo 13.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,530 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Danny Glover's cameo in Maverick was decent too:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,730 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Peter Jackson and Cate Blanchett in Hot Fuzz surely have to rank among the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,320 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Lance Armstrong in 'Dodgeball'.

*runs for cover*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Thought of two others last night, Pursuit of Happyness, last scene of the movie he walks past a guy and they nod at each other, that guy being the Chris Gardner.

Not really a cameo but a small part, watched Alien vs Predator last night, the Nordic dude from the 90s Statoil ad was in it. Instant nostalgia!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

R2D2 in Star Trek

st09-sw.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

I dont like to watch good movies on planes so i usually flick around all the sh1te grumbling away to myself while getting slowly wasted and puffing on my eCig. Good times....

Anyhoo, last flight i was on i pushed through Anchorman 2 and made it as far as the CameoFest towards the end, it was a complete hollywood circle jerk and confirmed I have no business watching modern "comedy"

Rant over...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭snaphook

Hot Shots Part Deux

"I loved you in Wall Street!"*thumbs up*

It's hard to beat that one for me. It's utter genius. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Jonah Hill in Django Unchained was funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

The original 21 Jump Street TV show cops (Depp and someone else?) showing up at the end of the film was perfectly done.

Tyres from Spaced can also be seen as a bleach blonde headphone wearing zombie in Shaun of the Dead as well which was a nice touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

I loved Django in 'A Million Ways to die in the West'

Watched 'Not another teen movie' for the firts time in years last night - there are a fair few great cameos in that movie too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

Arthur C Clarkes cameo in 2001 A Space Odyssey is my favourite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

prospect wrote: »
    Arthur C Clarkes cameo in 2001 A Space Odyssey is my favourite.

2010 surely???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

Indeed, you are correct. He actually appears twice in the movie (although one of them is a photo)

Hugh Jackman as Wolverine in 'X-Men: First Class' always gives me a good laugh...

Also, it's up there with the best use of the 'one f-bomb allowed in a PG-13 movie' rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,565 ✭✭✭A2LUE42

Sharknado 2

More Cameos than I could keep count of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭T-Bird

Does this count?:D
    Wellr2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

Can't believe this hasn't been mentioned yet, best thing in the film. Gus Van Sant counting the money. Scott Mosier, Kevin Smiths long time producer is also great in this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Porn legend Ron Jeremy has a quick part in Ghostbusters.

ronjeremy.jpg

Also, what defines a cameo? Some of those mentioned (eg Alanis, john tutoro (sp?)) seem more like small parts than cameos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

Awesomist = Bruce Springsteen in High Fidelity... "Thanks Boss"

Mike Tyson in The Hangover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Jedwardian

Sean Penn in Being John Malkovich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 nelly river

Charlie Sheen, off his face and white as snow, in Ferris Bueller's Day Off.

Rumour has it Charlie wasn't even part of the cast, he just happened to be in the police station that day when the crew arrived for the shoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

T-Bird wrote: »

Took me ages to see that. :eek:
    Which Indy movie is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭D-FENS

Hitchcock will always be the king of cameos, but I always loved Hunter S.Thompson in Fear & Loathing in Las Vegas too.

Bad ones? I think the Anchorman movies went overboard with cameos in those fight scenes, the likes of that and countless other comedies/action movies have ruined the whole novelty of a good cameo.

And I'd argue a cameo needs to be an appearance by someone famous that has no bearing on the actual story, whereas ones like Christopher Walken in Pulp Fiction is more of a "bit part" - his speech about the watch is integral to Butch's story and he is one of a few characters, like Keitel and Roth, who make short appearances but have a distinct part to play in the movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭connollys

Justin Long in Zac and Miri make a Porno, excellant.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Turtwig wrote: »
    Took me ages to see that. :eek:
    Which Indy movie is that?

I don't get it.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34