Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boardsie Advice/Information

• 25-07-2014 5:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭

A long time before I even joined boards, I used to visit the website for information on different things. I remember looking at the LC thread for predictions back in the day. :pac: When I talk to people I meet, a lot of them will say 'no I'm not on boards but I have visited the website looking for information on what penguin to buy/how to deal with said penguins behavioural problems and how to survive the apocalypse, etc'

I thought it was quite interesting. I, myself, have got some pretty sound information/advice off you knowledgeable folk.

So AHers, what has boards taught you that you didn't know before? Do you use the site to figure out what to buy/how to fix things/advice on penguins etc etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

First rule of boards is don't talk about boards.

You lost the game fatso!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

You love your Penguins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Luke92 wrote: »
    First rule of boards is don't talk about boards.

You lost the game fatso!

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

So AHers, what has boards taught you that you didn't know before?

Links234 has provided a witty perspective on transgender issues that I haven't seen anywhere else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

I had no idea what an Atari Jaguar was, before. Or the correct phrase for giving someone in need a refreshing vigorous shot of wee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Boards taught me that people are a lot more ignorant on the internet than in real life.

And that "the taxpayer" is a self-entitled c*nt.

Only thing of use that I learned was a guitar chord that I could have found anyway if I could be bothered learning some theory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

It used to crop up a lot when searching for stuff for me too before I joined up. A lot of stuff on here is pretty useful years after its been posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

:(

OK sorry bit harsh. I retract my fatso comment. You still lost the game.

Boards taught me that people are a lot more ignorant on the internet than in real life.

Have you got evidence for that, or are you just a troll?

I notice you haven't answered my question.

Exhibit A.

Nope, no troll, just my opinion.

Oooooooohhhh, someone is a party pooper today.

I like it here. I know this one poster who closed his account twice and came back a third time, so it can't be that bad. ;) I won't name any names.

That Macbizzle fella was an awful aul prick though.

EDIT: Was Donkey Oatey making a joke? :p It's hard to know on here :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I first came across it when someone told there was good tips for the mocks:rolleyes. I didn't join until a couple of years later. I'd never heard of it prior to this. Even today a lot of people don't have a clue what I'm talking about when I mention boards.

I think it's a good source for info on a wide range of topics in the different forums, most people seem genuine and eager to help when you pose a question.

Its me. I seen him do it.

Was Donkey Oatey making a joke? :p It's hard to know on here :rolleyes:

He was, it is, carry on!

You play the Sanctimonious Gobshíte role quite well, my friend.

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Boards has taught me that their are some right stuck up, holier than though, ultra righteous dick heads out there.

Some people really are heartless bastards.

You play the Sanctimonious Gobshíte role quite well, my friend.

:p

Do you have any evidence for that or are you just trolling over whether that would be an ecumenical matter?

Meanwhile in Gaza, they have opinions over MH17 too.

Do you have any evidence for that or are you just trolling over whether that would be an ecumenical matter?

Meanwhile in Gaza, they have opinions over MH17 too.

I've three fiddy pieces of evidence, you dole-taking scumbag Catholic Garth Brooks fan.

I really fúcking hate this place sometimes. :D:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

ive learnt that if you criticize a decision by sinn fein, you're a traitor to the country.

i also learned that if you applaude a decision by sinn fein, you're a shinner bot.

ive been called both :o

I first came across it when someone told there was good tips for the mocks:rolleyes. I didn't join until a couple of years later. I'd never heard of it prior to this. Even today a lot of people don't have a clue what I'm talking about when I mention boards.

The "advertising campaign"didn't help much,it was only noticeable what the ad was for if you were actually aware of it anyway,even then it was obscure.

I propose a truce.

I'm serious about post #5 - and Farming & Forestry is a good insight also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

ive learnt that if you criticize a decision by sinn fein, you're a traitor to the country.

i also learned that if you applaude a decision by sinn fein, you're a shinner bot.

ive been called both :o

Traitor-bot.

No idea what the argument is about but I suggest missiles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I don't get the penguin thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

Traitor-bot.

funny how we're not getting called islamo-bots for supporting palestine.

does the 'bot' suffix only apply to minority thinkers? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

I did once take my life in my hands and ask a question on the hunting forum.

All it was, one of the lads around here comes back now and again and blasts the bjesus out of the crows and mags. I wanted to buy him a box of cartridges. Just before I made a total dick of myself in the gunshop (see old feckers get self concious in unfamiliar environments too) I thought I'd ask what to get blah blah

Actually the lads there were very nice and it turns out you can't :)

Boards has taught me that their are some right stuck up, holier than though, ultra righteous dick heads out there.

Yeah, feck you too sonny.

:p:D

catallus wrote: »
    I don't get the penguin thing.

Shame on you. I thought we had a connection Catallus, obviously not. :mad: :(

Some people really are heartless bastards keyboard warriors

FYP.

I feel like a hypocrite, I like the majority boardsies, there's only a few shnakes in the grass from time to time. Not saying I agree with all the ones I like but my opinion is far superior to theirs and that's all that matters. :pac:

Shame on you. I thought we had a connection Catallus, obviously not. :mad: :(

We have an internet connection, femme, but if you work hard it might blossom into more.:cool:

Seriously, the penguin thing, explain please.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 656 ✭✭✭NipNip

I'm in da pub

We have an internet connection, femme, but if you work hard it might blossom into more.:cool:

Yeah, okay, so.....

NOPE! :D :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Links234 has provided a witty perspective on transgender issues that I haven't seen anywhere else.

Oh awesome, thanks! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

The Atheism forum teaches people about how to conduct a rational argument.

I've learned a lot just reading the forum.

Useful skills to have anywhere.

The Atheism forum teaches people about how to conduct a rational argument.

Useful skills to have on any discussion forum.

I've heard the outdoor pursuits forum is fairly rough though.

It's black and white.

Who's the party-pooper now! :pac:

Yeah, okay, so.....

Penguins are what made you fat aren't they? :p

Rough outdoor pursuits? Why am I only hearing about this now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I've met some of the loveliest people I know through boards as well though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Don't even open it. They'll use your innards as a guy line.

Savages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Oh yeah, it's not really advice or information, but I met the other half through boards... we're together 3 years now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

LizT wrote: »
    I've met some of the loveliest people I know through boards as well though :)

Lovely?
    Boards?

What have you been smoking? :pac:

Nah, you're right though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Sauve wrote: »
    Lovely?
    Boards?

What have you been smoking? :pac:

Nah, you're right though.

To be clear, I obviously wasn't talking about you though...

Links234 wrote: »
    Oh yeah, it's not really advice or information, but I met the other half through boards... we're together 3 years now :D

Awwww congratulations. :)

Nevermind some of them the moany holes on here, I've got a lot of good advice and talked to some pretty cool people. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

You people have fixed my computer,my phone,my car window,helped me recover 300 quid from pixmania and over 1000 from tesco, found me a smart DVD player I could afford,probably saved me hundreds with discount codes and bargains...the list goes on...and on.
    I still wouldn't trust ye with my "personal issues" but I'd be lost without boards.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

Gordon Gekko (Michael Douglas) said money is the b¡tch that never sleeps. For me, boards is a sort of virtual sister of this creature.