Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weird callers to your house

• 25-07-2014 3:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭

So in my hometown, there's this old doctor.
    Anyway, he called out to my house (where my brother lives and I don't anymore) yesterday evening and asked my brother where my neighbour that's been dead since 2009 lived. My brother explained he's been dead years but the dr was having none of it saying he was chatting him a few weeks ago.
    My brother pointed him in the direction of where he used to live, and was about to walk away when the dr started asking my brother lots of questions about me.
    Where was I living now, what was I doing, where was I working, was I ever back home. He started freaking my brother out as this man wouldn't know me. My brother told him he didn't know where I was or what I was doing. But, he kept asking questions saying he had daughters that wanted to get in touch with me and how would they go about that? My brother at that point told him to leave, and he did, but he drove off in the opposite direction than the dead neighbours house.
    Thing is, both his daughters are friends with me on Facebook and neither of the. Ever comment or write to me on it so I doubt they want to get in touch, cause ya know, they could.

Now my brother has me pure nervous I'm going to end up kidnapped or something!!

Has anyone else had weird callers to their house, and not just the usual chuggers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Has anyone else had weird callers to their house, and not just the usual chuggers?

Your story has set the bar pretty high for this one - doubt anyone can top that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

just the odd traveller asking if I want to sell them me car... No, why the fcuk would I want to sell you my car?

Ps. Nice knowing ya Lexie :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

It's ok, my boyfriend has assured me if in fact I do get kidnapped they won't take too long in bringing me back. Ahh true love!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,876 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

That's a bit.... weird, alright.

Nowhere near as dramatic as that, but I live in a terrace of houses in Dublin. First house in the terrace has a family living in it - don't know them from Adam but they've a fair collection of cars and vans and they look a bit chaotic. I live well over ten houses away.

A few times a couple of years ago the daughter (I assume) appeared at my front door, slightly hyper, saying "hiya, you know me, I'm XXXXX from No. Y" and asking for the loan of the most bizarre items. A hairdryer. A corkscrew. Can't remember the others things, but do remember thinking WTF??? and politely saying "eh, NO!". This happened maybe four or five times over a year or so.

Haven't seen her or had her call for ages - thankfully - but I often wondered did she specifically pick on me (and if so, why me?) or did she make her way up the road to my house and beyond, knocking people up looking for the lend of a hairdryer, or whatever :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Dowl88

He wants to smell you is all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

Sounds like that Dr is on the road of losing his marbles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Already there by the sounds of it.

Hitchens wrote: »
    I think I know who the OP is talking about ;)

... Midlands?!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Maybe it was dr.pepper, whats the worst that could happen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,184 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Em..... How do you know it's actually his daughters that are your fb friends? Anyone could be behind the profiles......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Already there by the sounds of it.

How old is this old doctor? It is a possibility that he's going a bit senile. Rather than freaking out, you could help by getting in touch with the daughters on facebook and casually mention that their dad was around later and mentioned that they were looking for you. At that point they'll either say "oh yes, we wanted to invite you to a school reunion", or "No we weren't", and bring it up with their father, and potentially spotting if he's getting a bit soft before he runs into difficulties.

I guess you know what happened in the hospital? :eek:

Nope! Before my time! And good idea messaging the daughters, I'd just feel a bit weird considering I don't really know them that well, haven't seen them since school (8 years ago) and even at that, we wouldn't really have talked.

Maybe he isn't well though and they might know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,092 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Nope! Before my time! And good idea messaging the daughters, I'd just feel a bit weird considering I don't really know them that well, haven't seen them since school (8 years ago) and even at that, we wouldn't really have talked.

Maybe he isn't well though and they might know.

how are they Facebook friends with you if you don't know them well? Just wondering now!

They were in my class from primary school all through secondary school, kept to themselves though. Added me on Facebook years ago, they never really post though so I forget they're even there most of the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

A naked African child who lives next to us knocked on our door a few days ago looking for milk... That's definitely the strangest we've had.. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

I've had a lot of religious preachers come to my door, mainly Jehovah's witnesses. But the weirdest of all were two American Mormon girls. I was a teenager at the time and I stupidly let them in the house and started talking to them. I only said yes when they asked me if they could tell me about their beliefs, I didn't give them any more encouragement than that. Yet after talking to me for literally five minutes, one of them pulled out a diary, started flicking through the pages and the asked me, "So, when would you like to be baptised?" I had to ask them to leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

A naked African child who lives next to us knocked on our door a few days ago looking for milk... That's definitely the strangest we've had.. :p

This reminds me of something that happened when I was 14 or 15. My little sister had an African schoolfriend, and they had gone swimming together. I was alone in the house, when suddenly I heard footsteps thundering up the stairs. My bedroom door burst open and a young, skinny barefoot African girl ran into my room and started picking up my belongings and looking at them and rummaging through my things. I was so shocked that I went into polite mode and said, "Can I help you?" The girl completely ignored me so I cleared my throat and said more loudly "CAN I HELP YOU?" The girl still ignored me and carried on messing around with my stuff. More footsteps up the stairs and then the girl's mother burst in, also completely ignoring me, and grabbed her daughter by the arm, and whacked her round the head a few times and dragged her out, yelling at her. It later turned out that this was my sister's friend's family who'd been waiting to collect her outside my house. The girl had some mental problems and my front door hadn't been locked. Still rude of the mother to totally ignore me in my own room though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Anyway, he called out to my house (where my brother lives and I don't anymore) yesterday evening and asked my brother where my neighbour that's been dead since 2009 lived. My brother explained he's been dead years but the dr was having none of it saying he was chatting him a few weeks ago.
    My brother pointed him in the direction of where he used to live, and was about to walk away when the dr started asking my brother lots of questions about me.
    Where was I living now, what was I doing, where was I working, was I ever back home. He started freaking my brother out as this man wouldn't know me. My brother told him he didn't know where I was or what I was doing. But, he kept asking questions saying he had daughters that wanted to get in touch with me and how would they go about that? My brother at that point told him to leave, and he did, but he drove off in the opposite direction than the dead neighbours house.
    Thing is, both his daughters are friends with me on Facebook and neither of the. Ever comment or write to me on it so I doubt they want to get in touch, cause ya know, they could.

Sounds like he plans on slipping you the sausage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,771 ✭✭✭cml387

This is rather sad. It's likely he is suffering from some dementia. It's not a pretty thing.
    I don't know what you can do discreetly but maybe ask any other neighbours have noticed a problem.

Well I messaged his daughter just casually mentioned her dad saying she was trying to get in touch, she replied saying her dad was out just looking for someone else. I just said that's okay and left it at that.

Thing is the guy he was looking for is dead years and even though my brother pointed him in the direction of the house he was looking for, he left leaving in the opposite direction.

He also knew who's house he was at and knew me even though our family would never have anything to do with him/his family and he doesn't live nearby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Angry_Mammarys

Well I messaged his daughter just casually mentioned her dad saying she was trying to get in touch, she replied saying her dad was out just looking for someone else. I just said that's okay and left it at that.

Thing is the guy he was looking for is dead years and even though my brother pointed him in the direction of the house he was looking for, he left leaving in the opposite direction.

He also knew who's house he was at and knew me even though our family would never have anything to do with him/his family and he doesn't live nearby.

I think I'd still be a bit wary if I were you, trust your gut instinct and all that, he could be ill, or he could be a creep, best thing to do is be careful!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Angry_Mammarys

Oh, and to add my own story, a few years after we moved into our current home, we had a knock on the door, it was two old guys that used to live in my house before we bought it, they wanted to know if they could go out and dig something up outta the back garden, that they left something there! ....Ehhh no says my Mam, Think she actually rang the gardai when they left, but they found nothing:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

If you think that's bad you definitely don't want me calling to your house...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Wulfie

The doctor probably saw the OP on his daughters fb friend list a long long time ago.
    He's probably fixated on her and couldn't keep it in any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

This reminds me of something that happened when I was 14 or 15. My little sister had an African schoolfriend, and they had gone swimming together. I was alone in the house, when suddenly I heard footsteps thundering up the stairs. My bedroom door burst open and a young, skinny barefoot African girl ran into my room and started picking up my belongings and looking at them and rummaging through my things. I was so shocked that I went into polite mode and said, "Can I help you?" The girl completely ignored me so I cleared my throat and said more loudly "CAN I HELP YOU?" The girl still ignored me and carried on messing around with my stuff. More footsteps up the stairs and then the girl's mother burst in, also completely ignoring me, and grabbed her daughter by the arm, and whacked her round the head a few times and dragged her out, yelling at her. It later turned out that this was my sister's friend's family who'd been waiting to collect her outside my house. The girl had some mental problems and my front door hadn't been locked. Still rude of the mother to totally ignore me in my own room though!
    Yeah, that's the issue of concern all right.

not that aul beating a mentally ill child nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

anyway....

had a couple of girls knock on my door dressed in some kinda brown uniform thingy trying to scam me some 'cookie' rubbish.

the neck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Had someone come to the door with a piece of paper saying some crap about how bad he has got it and how much the pictures are. I was at most 14 at the time and alone so said nobody was here and to come back later. He stood at the front door for at least half an hour until someone else came home. Sadly the front door was mostly glass so made it very awkward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

Hi I would message the daughter again and tell her the whole story You cant do no more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Hopefully a nod's as good as a wink, and that will be the last of it. If there is something wrong with him, she may not particularly want to share it, but now she knows that you know that he knows that she... well, you get the idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Foot in mouth moment

Hanley Center knocked on the door just as i was heading out for the football one saturday. Usual ****e looking for funds, gave him 5 euro for some draw, friendly bloke tbf started asking me what i was at for the day, ''just going out for the match'' ah right going the pub or what? ''yea just popping down to x, 3.50 a pint, ye should go down one day/night, fairly good and cheapest pub in the area'' he looked at me as if i was taking the piss and says ''na sure i'm in recovery''

ffs *facepalm* :pac:

lulu1 wrote: »
    Hi I would message the daughter again and tell her the whole story You cant do no more than that.

The daughter didnt seem overly concerned. Family seem a bit weird to be honest. The girls I went to school with seem alright but this guys mother or mother in law, whatever she was, was in big trouble for performing back street abortions back when we were in primary school, and I was telling one of the girls I know about what happened yesterday evening, and she told me about how her and her friend were hitching a lift from one town back to the next town years ago, he stopped in his jeep and the girls were getting in the back of it and there was a rifle in the back. Now this guy has land and horses I think so maybe the gun was legit, I know my dad had a gun too (but kept it in a locked cabinet lol).

I'm sure it's innocent enough, if he was some sort of mass murderer or a sniper wed know, I'm sure. Besides if there was anything sinister I doubt he'd call to my house to quiz my brother. I'd say he's just weird, and he's not Irish so maybe it's just his culture/language barrier that makes it seem worse.

Just usually my brother would be the calm one and I'm highly strung so I just got a bit freaked out that he freaked out. It's like you know if a baby falls and you make a big deal out of it the baby will roar, but if you stay calm it'll pick itself up and keep going? I'm a bit like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

I live in an "undesirable" part of Dublin to say the least. The last year and a half or so, every now and then, a junkie or someone who's pissed will, for some reason, come and go asleep in my porch. First time the guards were called, they took 2 hours, after that, the golf club usually comes in handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

HeidiHeidi wrote: »

Nowhere near as dramatic as that, but I live in a terrace of houses in Dublin. First house in the terrace has a family living in it - don't know them from Adam but they've a fair collection of cars and vans and they look a bit chaotic. I live well over ten houses away.

A few times a couple of years ago the daughter (I assume) appeared at my front door, slightly hyper, saying "hiya, you know me, I'm XXXXX from No. Y" and asking for the loan of the most bizarre items. A hairdryer. A corkscrew. Can't remember the others things, but do remember thinking WTF??? and politely saying "eh, NO!". This happened maybe four or five times over a year or so.

Haven't seen her or had her call for ages - thankfully - but I often wondered did she specifically pick on me (and if so, why me?) or did she make her way up the road to my house and beyond, knocking people up looking for the lend of a hairdryer, or whatever :confused:

This sounds like neighbourliness.

I live in a row of suburban houses, and whilst that would be uncommon, I don't think a neighbour borrowing a corkscrew or kitchen appliance is particularly "bizarre":confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Their is only one solution to weird callers and its to get weird with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

My parents' house is in very rural Clare, one day this guy knocked on the door, big D4 head on him, probably on his way to surfing in Lahinch. Asked me "Hi there, do you know anyone around here who owns any cattle?"

It was the right thing to do and all (there were loose cattle on the road, which is dangerous, and ours was the next house he'd passed) but between the way he phrased it and the way he pronounced "cottle", I couldn't help it, I laughed and said something like "Eh yeah, I know about twenty of them". He got pretty pissed off, but fcuk him, he looked like a tosser anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I'd say they know what's happening, and tried to fob you off. Mental illness still has a stigma with some people, and ignoring it is some peoples reaction to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭obplayer

Living in a studio flat on the ground floor of a converted building. Late evening front door of building rings. Decides to answer, who knows why.
    Presented with this strange looking little guy with this enormous dog, Alsatian / Husky / Plain Fukcing Wolf beside him. Guy says something that might as well have been Mongolian. I just said "no". He went away, with his very scary hound. I've always wondered what he was trying to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

Is he still practising medicine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

ArtSmart wrote:
    had a couple of girls knock on my door dressed in some kinda brown uniform thingy trying to scam me some 'cookie' rubbish.

They were probably selling Hash Brownies (geddit?). You missed out my friend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭tadcan

A friend of mine lived at the end of a terrace and every few weeks or so, a zoned out person would knock on the door. It turned out a hypnotist had a show nearby and was directing the there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 71 ✭✭ohohseven

HeidiHeidi wrote: »

It's not in crumlin is it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Linka

the_syco wrote: »
    I'd say they know what's happening, and tried to fob you off. Mental illness still has a stigma with some people, and ignoring it is some peoples reaction to it.

I agree with this. Also ignoring it out of selfishness and unwillingness to take part in their care, sadly.

I've heard of this happen so often. Most recently a friend of mine who's mother who suffers from dementia. Shes the one that organised her care and is the only one that visits her. The others claiming to be too busy, while my friend has very young children and a baby herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Small girl keeps calling to our house asking to walk our dog, we said no incase the dog went mental or something and ran off (the dog is a bit soft in the head)

Shes also put through a few hand written notes asking to take the dog for a walk and said its free and she said she does it because she loves animals.

A few days ago I saw this massive rottweiler bayting down the road with the girl getting pulled along behind it :pac:

What a nice kid :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

Small girl keeps calling to our house asking to walk our dog, we said no incase the dog went mental or something and ran off (the dog is a bit soft in the head)

Shes also put through a few hand written notes asking to take the dog for a walk and said its free and she said she does it because she loves animals.

A few days ago I saw this massive rottweiler bayting down the road with the girl getting pulled along behind it :pac:

What a nice kid :D

Awww. :) Let her tag along when you walk the dog and let her hold the leash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

A neighbour of ours at home in his 50s with mental health problems sometimes walks into our house, makes himself a cup of tea, reads the newspaper and leaves after a half hour without speaking to anyone.

Nunnish legion of Mary women with a huge statue.
    Travellers wanting to sell stuff.
    Jehovah's witnesses from time to time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

How do you know the doctor is still alive

Is he still practising medicine?

I'm not sure to be honest. He didnt really do much of it anyway. Except for the guards, like if someone was brought in and a dr had to be called. Last I heard, he'd taken a high court case against the Garda station because he thought he had HIV and couldn't read the koran, because he wasnt "clean".
    Some drunk driver threw urine over him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

No religious nuts ever call to my house. Ever. I'd love if they did, I'd put them right fairly quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Pixelbastardo

I'm not sure to be honest. He didnt really do much of it anyway. Except for the guards, like if someone was brought in and a dr had to be called. Last I heard, he'd taken a high court case against the Garda station because he thought he had HIV and couldn't read the koran, because he wasnt "clean".
    Some drunk driver threw urine over him.

How could he "think" he had HIV, isnt he a doctor ?, would'nt he have medical training and all that ?