Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the most ''ripped off'' you've ever felt?

• 23-07-2014 10:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭

With that receipt from the pub in Temple bar making the headlines, I'm wondering what's the most 'ripped off' you've ever felt?

For me, it would have to be the last time I was at the cinema. I rarely go to the cinema to be honest and any time I do go, I usually don't buy the food their. However, this time I was bringing my little nephew to see that stupid Pudsey the dog movie. I got a small popcorn and fanta for him and a bag of pick and mix. I handed the girl at the till a tenner and she said ''another €2.50 please''. I felt violated as I knew I could've gone to a small newsagent and gotten the same thing for about €3.50 but this cinema had a strict no outside food policy.

So people of AH, have you ever been sickeningly ripped off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Fcuking paid into see hangover 2, and got me again with hangover 3.

Never again though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

thelad95 wrote: »

Today at the work canteen. Got chicken curry and rice, then said "Actually can I get wedges too". Bastard lobs on a few measly ones on top of the dinner. E1.10 extra. I was thinking as I was eating them, each one is like 20 cent, enjoy it man.

Why didn't I say anything, cos I just didn't. However I plan to falsify many of the comment cards around to draw attention to this practice (happened last Friday but thought it was a once off). I'll have my victory by fraudulent means.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

Yes. As a student, I rented a bedsit. It was in horrible condition but I really wanted my own space. The roof leaked, the carpet was damp and smelly, the windows didn't shut properly, it was filthy. I paid £300 deposit. When I left I actually left it in a cleaner condition than I'd found it, but the landlord pretended I had caused the damage, and refused to give my deposit back. I complained to the organisation that he's a member of who are meant to safeguard my deposit, even emailed them pictures which showed I couldn't possibly have caused it, even had witnesses who saw the state of it when I moved in but the organisation took the landlord's side and I never saw the deposit again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

thelad95 wrote: »
    With that receipt from the pub in Temple bar making the headlines, I'm wondering what's the most 'ripped off' you've ever felt?

For me, it would have to be the last time I was at the cinema. I rarely go to the cinema to be honest and any time I do go, I usually don't buy the food their. However, this time I was bringing my little nephew to see that stupid Pudsey the dog movie. I got a small popcorn and fanta for him and a bag of pick and mix. I handed the girl at the till a tenner and she said ''another €2.50 please''. I felt violated as I knew I could've gone to a small newsagent and gotten the same thing for about €3.50 but this cinema had a strict no outside food policy.

Just sneak it in like everyone else does? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Subscribed to the Playboy Channel during the mid-nineties.

Had no idea it was pixelated.

Might as well have just stayed fapping to the scrambled screen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

I bought Fifa Street for the Xbox 360.

What a shocking game, Andy Carroll and street footnall do not mix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Subscribed to the Playboy Channel during the mid-nineties.

Had no idea it was pixelated.

Might as well have just stayed fapping to the scrambled screen.

Ripped off in more ways than one that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭deadybai

Fecking paid 18 euro in to a night club a few weeks ago cause some 'Big' Dj was playing. The music was absolutely awful and i left after half a hour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I paid to see that mrs browns excuse for a film. I felt violated and dirty after and only stayed because the wife wanted to see the end
    I have a good mind suing the sawn off little bollox for wasting my time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Every year the Italian chippers sell fish n' chips at half price. It's a well advertised one day special and very well known. People have been known to queue up.

It'd want to be half price for the miserable portions they give out

All a con :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭bboybaboy19

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Every year the Italian chippers sell fish n' chips at half price. It's a well advertised one day special and very well known. People have been known to queue up.

You're going to he wrong chippers.
    The ones around me give more chips than is possible for a normal sized human being to consume!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Every month when I see vodafone robbing me of another €55 for my phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭Halloween Jack

The night I lost my virginity....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭A Greedy Algorithm

99 ice creams in London a few weeks back - Trafalgar Square.

I knew it was going to be expensive but not £10 for 2 little blobs of ice cream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭siblers

I paid 13 euros to go into a nightclub in Cavan! I've paid less to go into nightclubs in the centre of Amsterdam and Leicester Square!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Groga

Having a Yamaha Virago 250 driven away by a thief during a test drive who had the cheek to wave goodbye as he left. Never to be seen again...

Do I win with that story or what? What do I win? A 250 Yamaha?? Really? lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Subscribed to boards and got access to the Sex & Sexuality forum

It wasn't durty. Pretty boring actually :(

I don't think it exists anymore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Groga wrote: »
    Having a Yamaha Virago 250 driven away by a thief during a test drive who had the cheek to wave goodbye as he left. Never to be seen again...

Do I win with that story or what? What do I win? A 250 Yamaha?? Really? lol

You win a special prize for letting someone "test drive" your bike :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭GalwayGirl26

99 ice creams in London a few weeks back - Trafalgar Square.

I knew it was going to be expensive but not £10 for 2 little blobs of ice cream.

Same craic in the park beside St. Patricks; Not £10, but I'll def go for a Mr. Freeze next time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

There's not much going through my bank account right now and Bank of Ireland have charged me the guts of €100 over the past 6 or 7 months for not having enough money in my account :mad::confused:. I'll hopefully be back to business as usual once I finish up the course I'm in but they can go and give themselves a flying fcuk up their arse if they think they're seeing a red cent of my money from then on.

(Yes I know all banks have charges)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

80 euro for a record player in HMV that wouldn't even stay in the groove for more than 2 seconds at a time.

NEVER pay less than 100 for a turntable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Was it a real pain in the ass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

8 months ago joined a well known broadband service and salesperson told me that I was signing for no contract , with €35 per month forever.

Turns out I signed for a 12 months contract rising to €50 p/month after 6 months .

The salesperson got me on that one .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Go into shop, get bun and bottle of 7-Up Free, "that's 3.60 please"says rabid crook behind the counter, "what, 3.60 for a Bun ?" says I, "No 1.80 for the bun, and 1.80 for the 7-Up",says she "but it says "free" on the bottle" says I, "That's 'cos ders no calleries in it , like" says yer wan, real smart-like. Feckin' robbers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

Meteor's "unlimited" data for €10 every 30 days only for it to be capped at 7.5mb so it's not really unlimited is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Paid the hooker by credit card?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I took my little girl to the circus yesterday' at half interval they were selling pony rides and photo with the parrot . My little girl pestered me for a ride on the small horse, 3 euros and they basically took her on a 1 min ride . She then asked about a photo with the parrot . I told her No!!!

I bought her a. Ice icecream on way home and a decent toy from toy shop .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Puzzle35

Universal social charge on my payslip.... Every month. Bank charge more like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

In the vain of being ripped off...The Most ripped off I felt was by a taxi man one night in 2008.

To set up the scene I was coming home from town one night (thats dublin city centre for you country folk :P ) and I get a taxi back to Blanchardstown. The biggest mistake that I made was this guy was a right skanger. On the phone for most of the journey just talking utter crap to who ever was on the other line.

So I am on the navan road (about half way home) and I say to him "drop me outside my house when we get there, mate. I have a 50 euro note on me but have smaller notes in my house" - que him going "nah, nah, nah man, 50 is good, i got the change!" - But I decline as I would rather not break the 50.

So we pull up to my house. I step over the gate, unlock the door, straight to the kitchen table to grab smaller notes and back out the door. Grand, was only 35 seconds. So I give him the money, hands me back my change and as I am stepping over the gate I notice I am about 5 euro short and I pause.... I then turn around and as the taxi driver is driving off he yells "wanker" :rolleyes: or should that be "wannn-ker" with his poxy common as muck accent.

I will always remember it. The dirty pig. Like the 21 euro fare wasn't enough (which is a rip off in itself. but we choose to get taxis)
    As he drove off I ran out of my estate to try and catch him at the entrance (well, driving entrance to the estate) but he took a right instead of a left (if he took a left he would have went by me)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Went from hostelling in Asia to hostelling in Oz. Found the oz ones to be milking backpackers at every turn In asia it's like. "here is key, here is WiFi code, free coffee, juice and fruit in reception, Private rooms for a night €8 or €3 if you wanted a dorm, thank you."

In Oz, forget privates too pricey, dorms are $25 per person in a 6-8 bed dorm. You get there, 2 people for 3 nights that's $150 to sleep in squeaky bunks with 6 other people with grimey bathrooms at the end of the halls, plus $20 key deposit each, internet is $10 a day for one device only, $10 deposit required for use of the cutlery. So total is now actually +$220, oh but wait you wana pay with Card? We'll just charge an extra 3% even though is an Ozzie bank so that leaves you total cost about $50 short of what a 2 star hotel wud have cost you from day 1.

Followed by
    "Right then here's you bed clothes for your bed, please change sheets when your leaving too, towels are $2 to rent. Room is on the 5th floor and there's no lift. Join us in our overpriced bar later, if you bring in drink there is a $5 corkage for beer and wine per bottle."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,766 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

My racing snail.

I even went to the trouble of removing his shell in a vain attempt to make him faster and thus recoup what I paid for him. If anything though it made him more sluggish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Pulled into a garage a while back to pump a rear tyre only to find you had to pay €1 for the privilege. Had to pay it as the tyre was very flat.

Will never use that garage again.

I know people will say the pump costs money to maintain, bla bla bla. How do a lot of other garages manage without charging people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Milan: pint and a coke 14 euro........coke only cost a euro!!!!!! Nearly ****in died when bill arrived

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭ch20

Around a year ago, I went into phone repair Shop,So I told him my problem with my heaphones that they are losing sound in oneside of the headphones .so he takes the iPod and gets a cotton bud for cleaning ears ,he twists the cotton bud around a bit in the heaphone Jack. I then check that the headphones are now working and then he charges me 20 euro...what a rip off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

Every single time I pay €100 for a 30 day Dublin Bus ticket...

On a more infrequent note, I ended up paying €40 for a pool party in Hungary last summer that I knew would be sh1te (and it was) because my friends wanted to go (one admitted it was a bit sh1te after :D). Really regret not just saying no to it, such a waste of money, but sure look. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭delta36

I got a cheap circumcision last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 I Voted For Kodos

delw wrote: »
    Meteor's "unlimited" data for €10 every 30 days only for it to be capped at 7.5mb so it's not really unlimited is it?

Literally says all over the ads about the cap. Try reading.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Looking at how much tax was on my first wage receipt and thinking what a rip-off regarding services proffered for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

My racing snail.

I even went to the trouble of removing his shell in a vain attempt to make him faster and thus recoup what I paid for him. If anything though it made him more sluggish.

no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I bought Fifa Street for the Xbox 360.

What a shocking game, Andy Carroll and street footnall do not mix.

I've no interest in fifa or pro evo etc but i love fifa street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭loh_oro

I felt ripped off sitting in the bus for 20 mins listening to a group of people talking (more like shouting) about how terrible it was that Garth Brooks was cancelled *sigh it's time I can never get back :'(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

Motor tax and V.R.T
    Simples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Montroseee

Paying 70 euro into a nightclub in Ibiza last Summer, a night in coppers the following weekend when I was home was actually more enjoyable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

racso1975 wrote: »
    Milan: pint and a coke 14 euro........coke only cost a euro!!!!!! Nearly ****in died when bill arrived

All bars in Milan seem to have crazy prices, even in the more downmarket areas. I went there with a few friends because we got a decent deal on a Ryanair flight, we were all broke students at the time operating on a shoestring, big mistake. We had to sit in our hostel room drinking supermarket wine on the last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Pasha?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 71 ✭✭ohohseven

In Dublin port I paid €20 for two "fresh breakfasts". The woman proceeds to take out two trays of frozen beans, sausages, eggs and mushrooms and throws them in the microwave. Disgusting too nice a word to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

on your first day in India. They know by the look of your pasty face that you've just landed! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

mikemac1 wrote: »

Our chipper is very inconsistent on portion size. We don't get chips very often but if we order large chips sometimes theres enough in 1 bag to feed both of us, we always order 2 though because sometimes a large portion looks more like a child size portion, go figure:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭missierex

UPC just charged me €204 to add another TV to multiroom....They charged me twice for the technician to call out (though he was out only once) -€20 a pop. They then charged me €60 to relocate the point, and a further €60 to install it (despite the fact that the cable was there already and live so all he had to do was attach the white UPC box to the wall, so in my mind there was no relocation, or installation really involved), and further €45 for the 'equipment activation fee'.

As you can imagine I ran riot, and managed to get a guarantee of €80 back, but I still feel that €124 is more than a bit rich, especially when you factor in that I now have to pay €11 extra per month for the privilege!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

Walking through the souks in Marrakech with my girlfriend, when we decided to buy some counterfeit soccer jerseys.

My girlfriend is a ball-busting contract lawyer in financial services so she goes to "negotiate" the price. The street trader opens with 500 dirham for the 2 jerseys, aka about 10 times what their worth. My girlfriend counters with 250 dirham and strikes a deal. I'm the one who ends up paying of course.. roughly €50 for 2 fake jerseys.. disgusted.