Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Think Farm Safety

• 21-07-2014 11:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭

Its IFA 'Think Farm Safety Day' today

I Think it would be good to have a Farm Safety thread for things such as safety tips, or risk assessments, or reccomendations from farmers.

IFA say
    Farm safety day is an opportunity for farm families to dedicate time to thinking about health and safety on their farms, and to identify danger areas, and to consider ways to minimise risks.

Its also about thinking farm safety ever other day also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

http://www.ifa.ie/cross-sectors/farm-family/farm-safety/

The IFA is asking all farm families to set time aside on July 21st to review safety on their farm

Download a Risk Assessment Document to complete on July 21st
    By taking time with family members and farm staff to review or complete a risk assessment on July 21st, farmers will not only reduce the risks to themselves, their families, employees and farm visitors but will also ensure they are complying with Health and Safety legislation. Read more about the IFA’s Farm Safety Campaign and find advice and resource to help with your risk assessment below.

More about the IFA’s Think Safety, Farm Safely Campaign
    Through our Think Safety, Farm Safely campaign, the IFA encourages all farmers and their families to maintain the highest safety standards on farms to help reduce the number of injuries and deaths.

Farming remains a labour-intensive and sometimes dangerous occupation. Each year farm fatalities reach double figures and more than 1,000 injuries occur on farms. We work with other agencies and organisations to increase farmers’ awareness of best practice in farm safety and to strengthen their commitment to health and safety by proactively addressing unsafe practices on the farm.

Protecting yourself and your family

The best way to protect you, your family and anyone working or visiting the farm is to know where hazzards occur and to eliminate or reduce the risks by implementing appropriate control measures.

The Safety, Health and Welfare at Work Act 2005 requires that all farmers with 3 employees or more must complete a Safety Statement. Farmers with fewer than 3 employees can comply with the requirement by adhering to the Farm Safety Code of Practice, completing the Farm Safety Risk Assessment and implementing the appropriate control measures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Stop taking chances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭on the river

Take your time.

It's better be safe than sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭linebacker52

Always tell someone where you are and what your at you might not be able use the phone if something goes wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,211 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Always tell someone where you are and what your at you might not be able use the phone if something goes wrong.
    yup this, i often leave a note on the table or send a text to say where i am, if something did happen they would have an idea where i am, most of the time farmers are on their own so people wouldnt know where to look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

You know your farm like the back of your hand but visitors wont eliminating any hazards or identifying them in some way is a must. A hazard map at the shed or dairy can be a very worthwhile tool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

While we don't have much machinery round the place, livestock here would be the most dangerous, especially for strangers. I know the cows here that will allow either myself or may father down but I have to say I cringed when I heard a relation brought a dog with her down the fields to see the newborn calves outside:eek:

Even I couldn't go down for a week to see one as I know one particular cow has a set on me for whatever reason. Never trust livestock, especially those not used to dogs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭SIX PACK

Especially if your going to be using Chainsaws working at height or operating the Pto
    The list goes on so many dangers on a farm just Think Safety First.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

whelan2 wrote: »
    yup this, i often leave a note on the table or send a text to say where i am, if something did happen they would have an idea where i am, most of the time farmers are on their own so people wouldnt know where to look

And put a time on it, so that the reader knows if you are gone 10 minutes or 10 hours! Used to do this years ago when it was just myself and my father. Worked well as one day I came home to find the house locked up. There was a note to say he'd gone to the bog for a load of turf about 4 hours previously. Turned out he broke down and was walking home, but it was very handy to know exactly where to find him.

With the sun and heat the last few days, very important for all to drink plenty of water to keep hydrated,

keep hydrated rather than getting dehydrated/thirsty and then drinking water,
    By sipping water all day

GY A1 wrote: »
    With the sun and heat the last few days, very important for all to drink plenty of water to keep hydrated,

keep hydrated rather than getting dehydrated/thirsty and then drinking water,
    By sipping water all day
    also sunscreen, hat and sun glasses. Also lads dont be taking your t-shirts off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    also sunscreen, hat and sun glasses. Also lads dont be taking your t-shirts off

But ladies you work away :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 tinaturnerfan

My advice on completing a Risk Assessment for your Farm is :

1. Take a visitors view of your Farm ( and from a child's perspective) - always include any employee's in the Risk Assessment process - It's the law!

- Trixi2011 states "you know your Farm like the back of your hand" AND may I add to that "Familiarity breeds contempt".

2. Write down all the potential hazards which pose a risk of accident.

3. Grade these in order of 'High Risk, Medium Risk and Low Risk'.

4. Take immediate action on the 'High'.

If you have a good Friend or Family member who wouldn't be familiar with your holding, ask them to assist you with conducting the Risk Assessment, it's amazing what fresh eyes see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Jesus very sad article in the journal today about last weeks tragedy.Very brave of the family to speak so soon after it hopefully it will make us all pause for a minute the next time we are doing something in the yard.

I said wrote: »
    Jesus very sad article in the journal today about last weeks tragedy.Very brave of the family to speak so soon after it hopefully it will make us all pause for a minute the next time we are doing something in the yard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

very sad again, awful for family and all concerned,
    it shows how dangerous farms are and the importance of farm safety all round and thinking about safety

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Its tough reading these cases and they seem to be happening so frequently too at the moment..

It really is hard to know where we need to go regarding farm safety and children or even ourselves... Farms are family homes - yet they are dangerous workplaces.

Its hard to see how enforcement or auditing could be worked or even accepted yet can we really accept that nothing can or should be done, these are poor wee children loosing their lives in our workplaces..

From working in safety roles I also know that for each death there are usually 10 life changing accidents that are never reported in the news, loss of digits, limbs, sight or similar - injuries that permanently reduce a person's quality of life, then there are also about 100 injuries that cause someone to be out of work for 2-3 days before they recover, and maybe 1000 that require medical intervention, stitches or bandages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

_Brian wrote: »
    Its tough reading these cases and they seem to be happening so frequently too at the moment..

It really is hard to know where we need to go regarding farm safety and children or even ourselves... Farms are family homes - yet they are dangerous workplaces.

Its hard to see how enforcement or auditing could be worked or even accepted yet can we really accept that nothing can or should be done, these are poor wee children loosing their lives in our workplaces..

From working in safety roles I also know that for each death there are usually 10 life changing accidents that are never reported in the news, loss of digits, limbs, sight or similar - injuries that permanently reduce a person's quality of life, then there are also about 100 injuries that cause someone to be out of work for 2-3 days before they recover, and maybe 1000 that require medical intervention, stitches or bandages.
    Think this yr seems to be worse. Always been a certain amount. My parents can recount numerous friends who have died from accidents or lost children. Fathers friend killed by cow after calving. Another neighbour fell into slurry tank another friend list his two daughters after digger bucket came off and fell on them. Always has been happening

I agree its always been a problem, and in our area I could recant the same list as you have - and I'm not that old either..

It's just hard to think that nothing can be done.. its hard to accept that we should just go on with the status quo accepting the deaths of children or adults as being "part of the business of farming"..

Other industries have successfully significantly reduced deaths, construction probably being the best example... But we have the added complication of living on site and families being on farms 24/7.

Personally I think its only a matter of time before an attempt at a solution is forced upon the industry by the government - most likely at farmers expense too - probably a levi on milk and beef to fund it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

I agree its always been a problem, and in our area I could recant the same list as you have - and I'm not that old either..

It's just hard to think that nothing can be done.. its hard to accept that we should just go on with the status quo accepting the deaths of children or adults as being "part of the business of farming"..

Other industries have successfully significantly reduced deaths, construction probably being the best example... But we have the added complication of living on site and families being on farms 24/7.

Personally I think its only a matter of time before an attempt at a solution is forced upon the industry by the government - most likely at farmers expense too - probably a levi on milk and beef to fund it.
    health and safety on irish farms is non existent in my experience and along with that we seem to have a bit of a love for taking stupid risks and short cuts. if you see what other counties have to go through to be compliant with health and safety regulations id say most people be shocked.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

It would be better, and probably more reasonable, if it came from within rather than without.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

greysides wrote: »
    It would be better, and probably more reasonable, if it came from within rather than without.

I agree but doubt there is much appetite from any group to step up to the plate and take it on.. I'd expect it would be greeted with a huge amount of cynicism from farmers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

I'll ask any farmers on here could you please keep your kids away from the yards and heavy machinery.

I've no association with farming however there are a number local to me and every other day I see young lads no older than 12 I'd say driving tractors,field masters and dumpers around the yard while other kids look on.

It's terrible the number of accidents that have happened on farms this year.

So as a nobody asking the good folk on the tinterweb. Could you keep the young uns out of harms way as best ye can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

My parents can recount numerous friends who have died from accidents or lost children. Fathers friend killed by cow after calving. Another neighbour fell into slurry tank another friend list his two daughters after digger bucket came off and fell on them. Always has been happening

Jaysus run away while you still can!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

The "home farm" is always going to be a major issue, and something that we all really need to do something about.
    Perhaps its time we took a leaf out of the Australians book. Over there if you have a pool in your back yard it is law that it must be surrounded(or atleast the area around it must be) by a child proof fence with a lockable gate. Its considered a major offence if you dont have a fence and it's well policed to, with regular fly overs to check!
    It should probably become a part of inspections be it in whatever form that a safe play area is provided for children away from the yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭eric prydz

Likewise here,too many people I know have been killed or maimed in farm accidents,i myself have had a few close ones and have took risks that could have ended totally different but thankfully I now know better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

Does all this come back to the family farm thing. If we weren't so attached to the family farm would farming be a lot more profitable and safer as farms would get bigger, they would be run more as businesses not a way of life and less likely to have kids around and more likely to have tough regulations in place as regards health and safety at work with regular audits! Just my tuppence worth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭eric prydz

Does all this come back to the family farm thing. If we weren't so attached to the family farm would farming be a lot more profitable and safer as farms would get bigger, they would be run more as businesses not a way of life and less likely to have kids around and more likely to have tough regulations in place as regards health and safety at work with regular audits! Just my tuppence worth!

I think the opposite myself,as farms expand famers are busier and have less time to devote to farm safety also I reckon with the poor beef and tillage prices this year spending money on farm safety is less of a priority

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

I agree but doubt there is much appetite from any group to step up to the plate and take it on.. I'd expect it would be greeted with a huge amount of cynicism from farmers.

No amount of regulation would've prevented that accident, you can't legislate for being careless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭einn32

Do any farms set aside a health and safety budget each year to improve safety. ..purchase protective clothing etc.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

just read on line the details of the little chap in Offaly rip

son told me he was mowing a reseeded field for a fellow when the owners wife & 2 smallish children arrived in the jeep

as first the kids kept their distance but then started following the mower and rolling in the fresh swarth getting nearer each turn

he stopped & told the wife they would have to stay well back or else he was pulling out , got a growl and grunt but she took them away

when he was turning a corner a stone flew and put a nice dent in the door of the jeep , no comments passed by anyone

rangler1 wrote: »
    No amount of regulation would've prevented that accident, you can't legislate for being careless

I'm not going to comment in individual incidents... But in other industries I've worked in the position is taken that "every accident is preventable". We truly need to change the notion that "accidents will happen", its a defeatist attitude and closes one's mind down to new ideas and new ways of thinking about work.

I once changed maintenance jobs, similar enough roles but the second organisation had a proper safety culture where accidents were not accepted as inevitable.. I went from three hospital visits in one year (stitches and nearly loosing eyesight from using a grinder) to nothing more than a lightly bruised hand over 5 years.

I just don't accept the argument that nothing can be done...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

I'm not going to comment in individual incidents... But in other industries I've worked in the position is taken that "every accident is preventable". We truly need to change the notion that "accidents will happen", its a defeatist attitude and closes one's mind down to new ideas and new ways of thinking about work.

I once changed maintenance jobs, similar enough roles but the second organisation had a proper safety culture where accidents were not accepted as inevitable.. I went from three hospital visits in one year (stitches and nearly loosing eyesight from using a grinder) to nothing more than a lightly bruised hand over 5 years.

I just don't accept the argument that nothing can be done...

Even Gay byrne said last week on the radio about road safety, that there's some things that you can't legislate for.
    I know of one farmer that had 4 serious enough farm accidents before he got killed

rangler1 wrote: »
    Even Gay byrne said last week on the radio about road safety, that there's some things that you can't legislate for.
    I know of one farmer that had 4 serious enough farm accidents before he got killed

Of course you can't legislate for everything, that's a bizarre notion. and personally I wouldn't be basing anything on what Gaybo has to say..

What we need to be looking at is developing a safety culture where no matter what the job being done safety is prioritized in the mind of the workers, then you don't need to legislate for everything as the guys at the coalface are looking out for potentially dangerous situations wherever and whenever they occur.. I know people think this is wishy-washy stuff but it works and other industries have made huge strides towards eliminating deaths and reducing injuries..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dzer2

There are a lot more factors at play now then ever before attached to safety on the farm.

A lot are preventable by decent safety procedures and keeping machines and tractors in good order. But deaths due to these type of accidents have reduced over the yrs.
    A lot of farmers OHs are now working of the farm this leaves the farmer trying to farm and baby sit and child mind all at the one time. Then throw in bad weather poor prices for products a row with the old lad a sick animal its no wonder that kids that can walk and get around is left on his todd.
    There are 5 wonderful kids here from 12 down to 2. All want to help on the farm every day. The older lads can drive and are capable I have spent a lot of money making sure brakes and habd brake works all shafts are covered with new chains on them every yr.(due to a near thing with myself yrs ago).
    I always spend a season explaining and showing them how machinery works the dangers and absolute no no with each machine, before they are allowed to operate it. Golden rule is never shout to the driver always get into his line of vision to get his attention. It doesnt matter who the driver is.

The next lad is now looking to drive so this yr he will be allowed steer the tractor with me on board to instruct and stop the tractor if necessary.
    I have being left with all 5 quite a few times this season. Nothing gets done while that happens just cant chance it.

All in all its a tough job made tougher by financial pressures family circumstances and the nature of the business.

God help anyone that has to go through what those families have in the last few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 tinaturnerfan

Well done DZER2 and very best of luck in the future to you and all your family - as you have pointed out 'Supervision of all children is the answer' to keeping them safe on a Farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭hurling_lad

I think it's time to face up to the fact that there is little or no place for a young child on a farm.

Personally, my children (5 & 7) are only allowed on the farm once every few weeks and even then only when I don't have any jobs to do apart from minding them and there is no work going on in the yard. Bringing them over so seldom means that they are not in the habit of it. Our house is across the road from the yard which also probably helps keep the kids away.

This is hugely different to the way that I was brought up or to the way I might do things if I had free rein, but my wife insists on it (she has her own reasons for doing so) and every time I hear another sad story I can't help but think that she's right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

Just read this thread and there are a lot of good points.

i cringe every time i read about a child in particular losing there life on the farm. It is much worse this year.
    cant help but think if it happened here, i would never get over it.
    it is nearly enough to make you wonder about farming as there are risks no matter how careful you think you are.

one second with your guard down could be very costly.
    that's why i would urge this thread to just be careful when commenting on carelessness etc. I am sure any family affected are going over and over the incidents in their heads without us suggesting anything.

please god, we wont have any more tragedies this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

Something that might be useful.

is there one thing that worries you on your own farm safety wise.

for me, its the yard is too near the house and no lock on slatted tank manhole. That's being fixed this weekend....

TUBBY wrote: »
    Something that might be useful.

is there one thing that worries you on your own farm safety wise.

for me, its the yard is too near the house and no lock on slatted tank manhole. That's being fixed this weekend....
    we have a secure garden out the front of house and back door has a yale lock that i curse every time i open it as 2 hands are needed to open it, kids can not open it from inside,even the 13 year old. This means they can not get out around the yard without an adult letting them. Milk lorry comes at 3am which is great as no worrying where they are. While accidents happen and we all do what we can to prevent them there are some things that happen that no one has any control over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

einn32 wrote: »
    Do any farms set aside a health and safety budget each year to improve safety. ..purchase protective clothing etc.?

not a budget in place at home, but I have all my safety gear in one place, and am never short of it.

and that's in the workshop with the tools, so its never far away when needed. If im doing any work away from the shed, I load the wheelbarrow with the tools and I have them with me also.

re machinery, theres nothing modern about, so its behind the times. 1 battery between a few units and its usually removed after use, so starting anything is out of the question without hardship! I'm working through tractors and trailers doing lights brakes, etc. the best safety task I did last year was adding a horn to the digger. the father always stands too close to the swing area. even marking it out with the bucked didn't keep him back!
    yard has gates all around, its nieces and nephews I have to keep out of there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

2 years ago the group that won the innovation competion for discussion groups had a very good idea.the gist of it is that when the group comes to your farm they list any safety issues they see on your farm.then its up to you to do something about it but the group coming around again helps to put a deadline on things and fresh eyes see things you dont, plus discussing it every month keeps it in each members head when they go home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

jt65 wrote: »
    just read on line the details of the little chap in Offaly rip

son told me he was mowing a reseeded field for a fellow when the owners wife & 2 smallish children arrived in the jeep

as first the kids kept their distance but then started following the mower and rolling in the fresh swarth getting nearer each turn

he stopped & told the wife they would have to stay well back or else he was pulling out , got a growl and grunt but she took them away

when he was turning a corner a stone flew and put a nice dent in the door of the jeep , no comments passed by anyone

I spent a few years working with a contractor and if a young lad appeared in the field I used to put him sitting on the passenger seat in the tractor with me. It was the safest place for them to be.

Dead right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

I can see your point. At least he's in a safer place and you know where he is but I'd still prefer not to have a passenger.
    There is one farm we go into at silage time and there's 3 kids that are foisted on us. Either that or they jump up themselves while we're stopped opening gates etc. We become a child minding service as well. Wife at home in kitchen and himself spends most of the time sitting in car watching us. If a tractor has an accident while they're up on it who becomes responsible then? As far as I'm concerned safety boils down to having the correct attitude when doing a job, a healthy dose of cop on, and ascertaining what could be the worst case scenario when at a job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

I can see your point. At least he's in a safer place and you know where he is but I'd still prefer not to have a passenger.
    There is one farm we go into at silage time and there's 3 kids that are foisted on us. Either that or they jump up themselves while we're stopped opening gates etc. We become a child minding service as well. Wife at home in kitchen and himself spends most of the time sitting in car watching us. If a tractor has an accident while they're up on it who becomes responsible then? As far as I'm concerned safety boils down to having the correct attitude when doing a job, a healthy dose of cop on, and ascertaining what could be the worst case scenario when at a job.

Fair point, I'm a lot more comfortable knowing where they are than constantly looking around trying to watch them though. Young lads will be young lads and they love to see the big tractors and machinery flying around the fields, it's the parents responsibility to keep them under control but I think they are getting to close the easiest thing to do is just sit them in the passenger seat. At least I know I won't drive over them while they are there. Some auld fellas are a lot more of a liability anyway, used to do a good bit of scrub mulching with a digger mounted mulcher and it would send debris and stones flying all over the place and you would be gone hoarse from telling people to move away from it, some people just doing see the danger/accident waiting to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Lying in hospital bed here on a Saturday (4G on the phone is v good) very lucky lad to be alive ... Rolled Teleporter .. 5 inch gash to back of head and some vertebrate fractures to back and compression on part of spine but I'll live to tell the tale !! Took an awful hammering in the cab but I held tight to steering and pushed myself back into seat once I know she had committed to going over !

Split second and she went over .. Had legs slightly up as needed to be mobile as unloading truck .. Be careful lads /ladies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Big Cheese

So many horror stories. Very sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

Bodacious wrote: »
    Lying in hospital bed here on a Saturday (4G on the phone is v good) very lucky lad to be alive ... Rolled Teleporter .. 5 inch gash to back of head and some vertebrate fractures to back and compression on part of spine but I'll live to tell the tale !! Took an awful hammering in the cab but I held tight to steering and pushed myself back into seat once I know she had committed to going over !

Split second and she went over .. Had legs slightly up as needed to be mobile as unloading truck .. Be careful lads /ladies

Jebus Bod. Some shock I'd say. Hope ya make a full recovery.