Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What kind of parents piss you off?

• 19-07-2014 12:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭certifiedcrepe

I was reading the "Kids playing outside - how late is generally considered reasonable" thread and it got me thinking about one of my neighbours.

A neighbour of mine has a 4 year old son. He is allowed out at all hours, just last night I was driving home after midnight and he was riding his bike up and down the road, it was near impossible to see him. His parents were nowhere to be seen. I'm not one to get involved but if anything happened him it would've been on my conscience so I knocked on his house and his mother answered and said "oh he'll be fine thanks he knows not to go near any cars on the road" and then went on to tell me I'll make a great mother because I'm so observant. Really?!

The same boy is always riding his bike on the main road outside the estate. About a month back two cars crashed on the main road as one was swerving to try and not hit the boy, as he cycled out to the middle of the road and stopped for a moment to tie his shoes. Thankfully no one was hurt. Many people have complained but the parents don't seem to give a ****.

So AH, what kind of parents piss you off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

The type with children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

The ones that post constant photos of their offspring on Facebook, swiftly followed by other parents who post ****e like 'omg shez gorjus huni x x x' under them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

The oblivious ones who let their mewling rats turn round in their seats and watch me eat in a restaurant.

Fcuk off child, and pick up your bad eating habits off someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

I have friends who freak out if their children even leave a toy out of place. Their house is like a mansion and the kids have all the toys in the world but can't play with them.

My ex used to have a friend who gave her daughter dozal every night to get the child to sleep. From 7 pm the poor kid was drugged so mammy could watch her soaps n have her wine. If that didn't work the poor child b bf were sent for a drive. Ffs sedating the child every frakking night !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 and other disasters

The ones who criticise each other's parenting, in front of the kids. 'Don't give him those...what did I say about giving him those...can you do anything right?....stop giving in to him...'. Especially when the kids are old enough to understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭Falthyron

The kind of parents who use their children as trophies to bring meaning to their own lives. You may think your child is wonderful, gorgeous, amazing, special, unique, and whatever else, but nobody else truly thinks that about your child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

The ones that bring their kids with them to the pub at 10 at night and give you dirty looks because your conversation is so inappropriate for the kids.

Swear to god some mother actually thought it was alright to do

Falthyron wrote: »
    The kind of parents who use their children as trophies to bring meaning to their own lives. You may think your child is wonderful, gorgeous, amazing, special, unique, and whatever else, but nobody else truly thinks that about your child.

See that's all horseshít and all, but as long as it's not plastered 5 inches thick on Facebook where it's in my face, I don't really care or pay attention to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,651 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Parents who give their children awful names like Fuinneog,Lettuce or Natasha....
    Cruelty beyond belief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I'm going to need a lot of popcorn for this :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭auldgranny

Mine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

The ones who think their kids are great when really they're the same as any other child - boring, smelly and stupid. Nobody cares about what your child did or said. Your child is a baby who looks like any other baby so showing a picture of it is pointless. I literally do not want to see your child unless he has some weird hybrid disfigurement. Eg. Shark/person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,980 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    The ones that bring their kids with them to the pub at 10 at night and give you dirty looks because your conversation is so inappropriate for the kids.

How is that even allowed by the pub owner seeing a kids have to be out of the place by 9pm?

I was reading the "Kids playing outside - how late is generally considered reasonable" thread and it got me thinking about one of my neighbours.

A neighbour of mine has a 4 year old son. He is allowed out at all hours, just last night I was driving home after midnight and he was riding his bike up and down the road, it was near impossible to see him. His parents were nowhere to be seen. I'm not one to get involved but if anything happened him it would've been on my conscience so I knocked on his house and his mother answered and said "oh he'll be fine thanks he knows not to go near any cars on the road" and then went on to tell me I'll make a great mother because I'm so observant. Really?!

She did well having you knock kindly on the door. Id have called the police, over and over if I had to, till they got there. A four year old out after midnight , alone in the dark??
    She should have gotten a kitten, instead of pregnant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

The same boy is always riding his bike on the main road outside the estate. About a month back two cars crashed on the main road as one was swerving to try and not hit the boy, as he cycled out to the middle of the road and stopped for a moment to tie his shoes. Thankfully no one was hurt. Many people have complained but the parents don't seem to give a ****.

As I posted in the other thread,it's the ones who keep the kids in gilded cages and don't let them be children.Childhood is meant to be fun.It's not Victorian times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I despise parents who tell their kids "You better pass your exams" and being angry when they don't.

I cannot understand this mentality. When I was doing my Junior Cert, my parents told me "Just do your best, that's all you can do".

How can a parent put that much pressure on their kids to pass an exam?
    How do you think that child feels if they fail?

I think it's shameful to do that to children who do their best but it's clearly not good enough.

I also don't like parents who swear or turn a blind eye to their child swearing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

Parents who give their children awful names like Fuinneog,Lettuce or Natasha....
    Cruelty beyond belief.

Child in my kids class called Yaris, yes after the car.

Worked with a woman who had a daughter called divinity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Jake1 wrote: »
    She should have gotten a kitten, instead of pregnant.

Are you kidding! have you seen the paperwork for getting a cat is ridiculous, its way easier to squeeze out another waste of space human.

How is that even allowed by the pub owner seeing a kids have to be out of the place by 9pm?

No idea, guess she was fairly regular and nobody said anything.

The fact that she got annoyed at us and what a typical pack of lads would talk about while getting plastered was what was so out of place. As if you have the right of way in thinking we'd censor ourselves when you come into a pub well after 9 and park your kids up beside us.

Those poor kids got an awfully graphic idea about the birds and the bees that night, tho! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

I'm going to need a lot of popcorn for this :D

Will you make me some? My microwave's fcuked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Angry_Mammarys

The 'surely my child would never misbehave!' ones... They have kids that are awful little swines, yet its everyone elses childrens fault when swinekids do something bold:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

There's two types that piss me off. Those that don't give a **** about their kids and let them run wild and then those that wrap them up in cotton wool.

The ones who don't bother trying to shut their kid up when it's screaming its head off on a bus/train/plane.
    If the child is sick or something, that's unfortunate but at least try and console it. If it's just acting like a brat, then make them behave. But don't just sit there and do nothing and expect everyone else to sit there and endure your kid's wailing. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,338 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Macavity. wrote: »
    The ones who think their kids are great when really they're the same as any other child - boring, smelly and stupid. Nobody cares about what your child did or said. Your child is a baby who looks like any other baby so showing a picture of it is pointless. I literally do not want to see your child unless he has some weird hybrid disfigurement. Eg. Shark/person.

What terrible parents. They shouldn't tell their kids they are great, they should let them know that they're boring, smelly and stupid like everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Hipster parents talking about their creative offspring and subtly lambasting "boring" career choices [solicitor / accountant / banker].

Why belittle others to make a point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭auldgranny

Cruelty beyond belief.

Natasha.......seriously :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Parents that bitch and moan about other kids yet their own kid is a little bollox

Parents that negotiate with their kids to behave instead of telling them to be behave

Parents that let their kids run wild in a pub whilst having no considerations for other punters,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,980 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The ones that come to another persons house and let their kids go into the rooms and take things out of the presses and say nothing.

Saw it happen in the home place years ago when the kid started banging a saucepan off the ground while the parents said nothing, they weren't long getting him to stop though when the mother told them they could buy a new one if he broke it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

The type who have the heating in their house on full blast all year round.."because the kids will be cold"...and then wonder why ther kids are sick all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,760 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Parents whose motivation for helping the child learn and be good at stuff is just to be 'better' than the other kids/parents.

Japan is horrible for this, especially if there are a group of kids who all have well-off parents. Maybe every country is horrible for it.

Parents who are inconsistent - one day little Johnny is great for helping his little sister on the seesaw, the next day he gets scolded for doing exactly the same thing.

What exactly is the point of this thread? Oh right, it's obviously just another chance to spout venom at kids and their parents, the most acceptable bigotry of all in AH. Its not even a discussion, just a litany of complaints and judgement.

No, I've no kids. I just don't mind them co-existing with me and think most parents try their best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,740 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Ones who thinks its fine for their little darlings to jump on seats in restaurants and gawk in my face when I'm trying to eat. Or jump on seats on planes and repeatedly kick the seat infront of them and not able to control them when they scream/cry in confined, public spaces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Parents who are not MILFs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Dislike the parents who have their kids involved in a different after school activity every day of the week. And look down their nose at me cos I have to work full time and am not free in the afternoons to ship my kid all around the county and that he has to go to a childminder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Just irresponsible parents in general. Driving down the motorway, kids not strapped in, head hanging out window. Car should be crushed in such incidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

biko wrote: »
    Parents who are not MILFs.

But only one has MILF potential... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

Indignant parents who won't hear a word of complaint about their child; marches down to the school anytime a teacher gives out to them; argues with anyone who objects to their bad behaviour; and gets up on their high horse if a neighbour tells them off for making noise or trampling on the flower bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭mockingjay

The ones that think they have Einstein.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Parents who dont control their children around animals. My dog is ok with children but she doesnt like it when something is running and screaming towards her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Parents who interfere in the lives and relationships of their adult children. It's like they can't let go, kids grow up, you can't protect them forever, they have to learn to accept that.

Candie wrote: »
    What exactly is the point of this thread? Oh right, it's obviously just another chance to spout venom at kids and their parents, the most acceptable bigotry of all in AH. Its not even a discussion, just a litany of complaints and judgement.

No, I've no kids. I just don't mind them co-existing with me and think most parents try their best.
    That's the most subjective thing ever on AH.

How many threads have Catholics saying that about their religion, or woman saying that about the threads on fat girls?

It's an appropriate thread. Many parents are gobshítes that in turn raise other gobshítes. It's not a problem until they cross your path, then they become insufferable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

I'd call social services. He's going to get himself killed, or have someone else killed. Parents are idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

And the parents who feed their child rubbish all day and have them turned into little ****es. And use the "ah he doesn't know what he's saying hes only a chap"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭ElvisChrist6

The ones who don't bother trying to shut their kid up when it's screaming its head off on a bus/train/plane.
    If the child is sick or something, that's unfortunate but at least try and console it. If it's just acting like a brat, then make them behave. But don't just sit there and do nothing and expect everyone else to sit there and endure your kid's wailing. :mad:

In fairness to them, that really depends on why the kid is wailing. I don't know a lot of the time why it's happening, but there are a lot of situations where to do whatever will stop them crying will make them into even bigger spoiled bollockses. I don't really mind this one, because sometimes there's nothing that can be done without compromising the parenting. And if they're just being bold, then telling them to shut up crying won't really do much with some kids. Some children are persistant little fucks and won't respond to that and giving in might just give you different reasons to be giving out about them in future!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

Parents that are quite posh and go to lovely restaurants and drive expensive cars yet have their kids looking like pauper's.

Parents that cycle with their kids on the bike. Seen one mother who was wearing a helmet but neglected to give the child (1-2) any protection. I had to say something to that one! Her reply was he doesn't like the helmet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

The kind that have kids for the attention of it all rather than for the loving and nurturing of another human being.

Basically the people who get pregnant for the attention. You know the type. Facebook parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

_Redzer_ wrote: »

That's illegal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,860 ✭✭✭shootermacg

You need to report this ASAP. Think of the poor kid, if that kid dies, its as much on you as his useless parents.

I feel really sorry for kids that don't even get a start in life, no funding, no guidance, no chance for that little beggar, it's tragic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Miss.Mayhem

I hate the type of parents that spoil their children by giving them everything they want and see their kids through rose-tinted glasses so they think their kids can't do a single thing wrong so their kids grow up to be little monsters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭NSAman

Where do I start?

You know yummy mummy who says "Tarquin, stop that mummy said stop" Tarquin the little bollix is throwing food at the people at the next table, eventually dad at next table lets a roar at Tarquin who starts crying and mummy gets upset with the people covered in food... Typical useless mother should have Tarquin under control... If he was mine he would have a red arse...

Parents who think that their kids do no wrong. Who use shops as playgrounds.

Parents who think their kids are gods and so intelligent compared to everyone elses.

Parents who think their kids are so beautiful, when they would crack a mirror.

Parents who have little time for their kids.

Parents who are so involved in their adult kids lives that they ruin marriages,,,ahem