Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cavan people -- stingy?

• 18-07-2014 4:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,485 ✭✭✭✭

I have met and worked with many Cavan people over many years and I have to say that personally I have never found any of them stingy. I believe the whole thing to be a myth. Anyone know how this myth started or do you believe it and find it to be true?

I go to many sporting events with a few of them and rather than standing back when drinks are to be bought these lads are first to the counter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Niall Tobin used to base a lot of his standup on Cavan people being stingy, maybe he made it popular. :pac:

I suppose every county would have some stereotype attached to it, Offaly and inbreeding for eg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,387 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Never heard that before...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Joe Duffy..

Whatever about being stingy, it's one of the most horrific accents in the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

So they aren't aw tight as ducks arses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,485 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

So they aren't aw tight as ducks arses?

On the contrary they're very sound (the ones i met anyway) and they're a very witty bunch too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

I have had plenty of personal experience of their stinginess, Lets just say they don't believe in tipping. Same for French people in my experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Whatever about being stingy, it's one of the most horrific accents in the country.

Which one? Like anywhere else there is more than one. I'd say probably a dozen.

Prob all hawific to your ears though, roysh??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭Dave0301

What did the Cavan pedophile say to the child?

"Jaysus, go easy on that candy will ya!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭ChippingSodbury

Apparently Niall Toibin's wife was from Cavan so he just picked on them

But I've heard even the crows bring packed lunches when flying over Cavan...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

youtube! wrote: »
    I have had plenty of personal experience of their stinginess, Lets just say they don't believe in tipping. Same for French people in my experience.

I would say all Cavan people are as stingey as all French people. Your astute observation is humbling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

I would say all Cavan people are as stingey as all French people. Your astute observation is humbling.

as i stated in my experience, i am sure not all of them are but i have yet to meet one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Thread hit a nerve Duck's Hoop? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭tonyka

This is a funny thread... but true..lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Joe Duffy..

Cops were called to a pub in Cavan last night.

Someone broke into a fiver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Never seen much truth in this either, bit of a myth imo.

I've a few Cavan customers, certainly never found any misers great payers too.

Monaghan is where all the tight hoors are if you ask me. Wouldn't spend Christmas with their families.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I imagine there'll be a big uptake of the pay as you go electricity in Cavan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

youtube! wrote: »

Expect not and you shall not be disappointed :) if your job depends on tips which I doubt people might have some sympathy for you.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Expect not and you shall not be disappointed :) if your job depends on tips which I doubt people might have some sympathy for you.

It could also denote poor service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

My absolute favourite Cavan Person story is true. Catherina Mckiernan the great international athlete phoned up an ESB shop and asked them to measure a cooker. When the shop assistant told her the measurements he asked her if it would fit in her kitchen. She said she didn't want to know if would fit in the kitchen but wanted to check it would fit her trailer. There was a race on the next day and the cooker was the 1st prize...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Never seen much truth in this either, bit of a myth imo.

I've a few Cavan customers, certainly never found any misers great payers too.

Monaghan is where all the tight hoors are if you ask me. Wouldn't spend Christmas with their families.

I always reckoned money must be scarce in Monaghan, if only because they're all so good at hiding it. I've a monaghan mate who would straighten nails if it saved him a euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

Cavan man returns home to find his house burgled,he calls the local garda who duly arrives and inspects the carnage.

" Well Shamie, what did they steal" he asks

" Ah sure there was feck all in the house worth stealing Garda" replies Shamie "but the feckers trashed me house,I had a pot of stew on the fire and one of the bastards went and sh*t in it...........I had to throw half of it out"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 IronicNic

If it wasn't for two Cavan men fighting over a penny copper wire wouldn't have being invented.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Ahh Cavan. Sure wasn't copper wire invented in Cavan?

By 2 natives fighting over a penny!:pac:

Ah fcuk it. Too slow.

pablo128 wrote: »
    Ahh Cavan. Sure wasn't copper wire invented in Cavan?

By 2 natives fighting over a penny!:pac:

Ah fcuk it. Too slow.

Ha too slow, what county are ya from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,986 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It's a lovely accent. (NSFW).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Seen a guy from Cavan dropping a two euro coin one day and when he bent down to pick it up, it hit him on the back of the neck.

Thanks Billy.:p

louth is much worse

South Louth is bad. In North Louth we have a lovely accent altogether :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

I'm a dirty jackeen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭therambler

I know a lad from Cavan who tries so hard to go against the frugal Cavan stereotype that we make fun of him for... that he's always first to buy a round on a night out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 IronicNic

Must be from Co. WickSlow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

I only ever knew one person from Cavan, ex-housemate. Did she live up to the stereotype?

Well she was the reason the stereotype exists!

Had my big TV in the sitting room which she removed and replaced with her small portable tv as the smaller tv would not use as much electricity! I **** you not!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

It could also denote poor service.

Not to derail, but the tipping stereotypes are accurate, regardless of service. I say this from 15 years experience. (It doesn't bother me either, I do grand :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

I only ever knew one person from Cavan, ex-housemate. Did she live up to the stereotype?

Had my big TV in the sitting room which she removed and replaced with her small portable tv as the smaller tv would not use as much electricity! I **** you not!!

Pfft, amateur! A real Cavan person would have left the big TV & instead come up with a crafty argument as to why she shouldn't pay her full share of the bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,068 ✭✭✭Hitchens

fella from Cavan I worked with could peel an orange in his pocket :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

the story I used to hear was the Cavan person would eat their meals out of a chest of drawers, so they could close it in a hurry if anyone called to the house, so they wouldn't have to offer them anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Hitchens wrote: »
    fella from Cavan I worked with could peel an orange in his pocket :)

Or eat his dinner out of a drawer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭demakinz

The place where I'm working for the summer charge 40cent for a cup of hot water for tea if you bring your own tea bag. A guy I work with from Cavan wasnt aware of this and would not pay the 40cent instead he put the hot water in a styrofoam bowl and drank his tea out of it to save himself 40cent. I wouldn't class all Cavan people as stingy i haven't met them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,068 ✭✭✭Hitchens

demakinz wrote: »
    The place where I'm working for the summer charge 40cent for a cup of hot water for tea if you bring your own tea bag. A guy I work with from Cavan wasnt aware of this and would not pay the 40cent instead he put the hot water in a styrofoam bowl and drank his tea out of it to save himself 40cent. I wouldn't class all Cavan people as stingy i haven't met them all.
    must be a Cavan man you're working for as well :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭demakinz

Hitchens wrote: »
    must be a Cavan man you're working for as well :D

Its a big multinational and its for cent to use the cups from the canteen. its the same in most places with big canteens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭ArtyC

I lived with a Cavan cheapskate .... This is true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

I visited a Cavan man in his house & he was in the middle of stripping the wallpaper off the living room walls.

'Redecorating?' I asked.

'No, I'm moving.' he replied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,986 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

A Cavan man had a dog for sale. A Dubliner offered him €50 but an American offered him €100. He sold it to the Dubliner.

He reckoned the dog would easily find it's way home from Dublin but it would never be able to swin the Atlantic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Dave0301 wrote: »
    What did the Cavan pedophile say to the child?

"Jaysus, go easy on that candy will ya!"

Wrong.

He said "Have you any sweets?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Only with the good looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭TAFKAlawhec

A Cavan man is watching Mass on the television on a Sunday morning, when the collection plate started to be passed around he changed the channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

A cavan man came home from work early one day. He saw a plumber's van outside the house.

"Jaysus, I hope she's havin' an affair."