Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Movie Sequels That Are Better Than The Original

• 15-07-2014 11:47pm

I'm watching Terminator 2:Judgement Day, and I love it. I'm not convinced it's a better movie than Terminator, but it doesn't look as dated so I'm saying its better anyway. Naked Arnie demanding the biker clothes, boots and motorcycle, is only surpassed by cyborg Arnie about to be smelted.

Other movies that are better than the original in the series are, in my humble opinion:

Silence Of The Lambs - Fava beans and a nice chianti, sniff, sniff, sniff...
    Adams Family Values - Joan Cusack as the homicidal gold-digging nanny!
    Toy Story 2 - Just because
    Spiderman 2 - One of the best baddies ever
    Waynes World 2 - Jurassic Park spoof
    The Godfather Part 2 - Fredo and Michael in the boat. Thats what happens when you take sides against the Family, Fredo.

Contentious sequels I haven't decided on:

Aliens. It's not even the same genre as the classic sci-fi horror that was Alien, but it's a great sci-fi action movie. Can't make up my mind on whether or not its actually better though.
    The Bourne Supremacy. I love action movies and this just seemed faster and more actiony than the first. Must watch both again.
    Iron Man 2. Same as The Bourne Supremacy, faster and more actiony than the first. The first wasted valuable explosion time on setting up the context.

Sequels that should never have been made:

Kingdom of The Crystal Skull, Tron Legacy, Blues Brothers 2000, Home Alone 2, Transformers 2, Jurassic Park 3, and the Matrix sequels.

So AH, what sequels do you think improve on the first?
    What sequels are you undecided about?
    What sequels should never have been made?

I haven't forgotten LLTR, Star Wars or Star Trek, but I'm not a fan of any of those franchises and I'm not really qualified to comment since I don't like any of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

You forgot The Dark Knight. Sort yourself out, woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Back To The Future II IMO!

Now I adore the first one, but I just prefer the second one that little bit.

KeithM89 wrote: »
    You forgot The Dark Knight. Sort yourself out, woman.

Should have included that franchise in the footnote. I won't comment on the ones I've no interest in and don't enjoy anyway, in the interests of fairness. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Austin Powers 2.

Magaggie wrote: »
    Back To The Future II IMO!

Now I adore the first one, but I just prefer the second one that little bit.

Now I forgot about that, but it'd be in my contentious list. I love it, but I'm not sure I love it more than the first one. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover54

A sequel that should never have been made?

'The Two Jakes'

X Men 2.

Austin Powers 2.

Nay
    X Men 2.

Yea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Madness of King George IV

The first three were sh*te - so bad that you can't even find copies of them around any more. But the fourth one is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Everyone has different opinions on the matter... But the one solid opinion everyone seems to share is that:

- Terminator 2
    - Aliens
    - The Dark Knight

are better than the originals.

Everyone has different opinions on the matter... But the one solid opinion everyone seems to share is that:

- Terminator 2
    - Aliens
    - The Dark Knight

I'm torn on Aliens.

Torn in two.

- Terminator 2
    - Aliens
    - The Dark Knight

And The Godfather II.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

American Pie 2

And The Godfather II.

That's one of those universal truths, it's just brilliant on a whole new level of brilliant.

Must watch that again soon.

And The Godfather II.

I ... I've never seen the second :o

- Terminator 2

Not necessarily.

I ... I've never seen the second :o

Watch it now.

No, really. Now. Go on. Now.

Prefer Terminator. I really like T2 though. Not sure the two are even that comparable either - different budgets, different eras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cactuspaw

Lord of the rings: the two towers.
    Now, some would refer to all of lord of the rings movies as one film.

I'm considering my position on Indiana Jones and The Temple of Doom.

I love Raiders Of The Lost Ark, but I like the Shanghai nightclub opener of Temple more than I like the Mongolian pub opener of the first. Another for the contentious list.

Candie wrote: »
    Watch it now.

No, really. Now. Go on. Now.

Might be a tad bit of a problem... :o
    I have never watched the first all the way through. lol.
    Like i've practually seen it all over various times... lol.

I'm considering my position on Indiana Jones and The Temple of Doom.

I love Raiders Of The Lost Ark, but I like the Shanghai nightclub opener of Temple more than I like the Mongolian pub opener of the first. Another for the contentious list.

I used prefer 'Temple of Doom' but then I saw the two of them in succession and 'Raiders..' is about a thousand times better.

Might be a tad bit of a problem... :o
    I have never watched the first all the way through. lol.
    Like i've practually seen it all over various times... lol.

There is no punishment that could be enough. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭tastyt

Rocky 4. Dragooooooo!!!!

What about remakes and pornographic parodies? I thought Schindler's Fist was miles better (read: erotic) than the original.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭tastyt

What about remakes and pornographic parodies? I thought Schindler's Fist was miles better (read: erotic) than the original.

Yes I must say I enjoyed in Diana Jones more so than Harrison Ford's flick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

It's a sequel in chronological time anyway.

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade. This was always my favourite as a teenager/kid and I still it's the best example of an adventure movie. The best ending to a trilogy ever when they blast out of that canyon captured with low camera shots into the sunset.

The Last Crusade was indeed the best of the trilogy (who cares about the 4th :p )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Well they are making sharknado 2 I think . So after watching sharknado tonight I can tell the sequel will be far better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

The Raid 2

Setting goes from a corridor to an entire city. Meatier plot, better cinematography, wider image, a plethora of amazing characters, hammers, knives, baseball bats, guns and the most fantastic car chase in recent memory. What's not to love really?

Just watch:

Prefer Terminator. I really like T2 though. Not sure the two are even that comparable either - different budgets, different eras.

Absolutely agree, I'm of the opinion James Cameron never made a better film than this, he combined so many genres in this one. I watched T2 first, and then I bought the DVD to this and the sheer ****ing dread/eeriness of scenes like this had me in awe.
    I like both of them because they both are about different things/ideas but in the same universe, continuning storyline.

Good luck doing this in the Terminator or any mainstream franchise nowadays.

Schindler's Fist was miles better (read: erotic) than the original.

It was okay, but it's no Big Trouble in Little Vagina or Romeo in Juliet.

Yeh some very, very intense scenes in Terminator. A dystopian nightmare, even comprising Horror elements, is how I'd classify it.

Whereas T2 even has comedy elements - Arnie out-McBains McBain at times in it. :pac:
    T2 entertained the sh-t out of me though, and there are some bloody intense moments too (like when she has the dream sitting at the table outside the desert family's home; and when the T2 arrives in the psychiatric hospital and she thinks it's still a killer cyborg). Linda Hamilton is bloody brilliant - whatever happened to her...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

They should never have made taken 2, the first one was brilliant for what it was, I really enjoyed it, the second was a pointless, annoying, watered down version.

Monsters University, Monsters Inc. is one of my favourite films, I adore it, it makes me laugh and come close to tears every time I watch it. Now I know University was technically a prequel but they shouldn't have made it. A grand kids film but for me it had none of the ingredients that made Inc. so wonderful.

Also all the sequels to all the super hero movies, it seems like there is a new super hero movie out every month and its really grating on me. Who dafuq is keeping up with all these?

The Hangover sequels also should never have been made, the first movie was good, but seriously why do they have to cash in every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Three Colors White.

osarusan wrote: »
    Three Colors White.

I love the Trois Couleurs trilogy :)

Just thought of Before Sunset, not sure if I prefer it ot Before Sunrise, but it's close.

My favorite of the trilogy. Love how it all takes place in real time and how it's only like 75 minutes. Not a false note in the whole film. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    They should never have made taken 2, the first one was brilliant for what it was, I really enjoyed it, the second was a pointless, annoying, watered down version.
    Completely agree and now they're making Taken 3. Can they at least re-cast the daughter? She is really annoying in it.

Shrek 2 is as good as the original. Shrek 3 bored me and I fell asleep and haven't watching if fully yet :o

How to Train Your Dragon 2 was really good also!

Good Will Wolf Creek.

After finally getting out of Boston to travel to California, that wreck of car won't bring him all the way....with hiiiiiiiilarious consequences!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,608 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

TECHNICALLY the original Star Wars trilogy is a sequel, and thus far better than the prequel trilogy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Loved The Bride of Frankenstein which was made a few years after the original, which I didn't like all that much.

Seen both when I was around ten the night of a wake. All the adults were in the pub and left all the kids to watch both of 'em.

Course, they all brought us back peanuts and Cavan Cola when Bride of Frankenstein was on, so that might have something to do with why I liked it better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

I've always thought that the second Bridget Jones movie was better then the first. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

Other movies that are better than the original in the series are, in my humble opinion:

Silence Of The Lambs - Fava beans and a nice chianti, sniff, sniff, sniff...
    [/SIZE]

I'm not sure how this falls into the sequel category, I'd contend with that opinion. It's a very strange one...to me at least.

Silence of the Lambs was the first of that series, although not in the series of books.
    Yes, the film Manhunter with Brian Cox was made before Silence of the Lambs, but that story is based off Red Dragon....which was made with Anthony Hopkins (the same Lecter as Silence of the Lambs)....after Silence of the Lambs...so if they're the same film...is it a different 'universe' so to speak ?

*****Same story basically******

1. Manhunter (Cox) *******
    2. Silence of the Lambs (Hopkins)
    3. Red Dragon (Hopkins) ******
    4. Hannibal(Hopkins)

Or maybe I'm wrong......

I'd never say Back to the Future 2 is better than 1, in any way, 3 is better than 2, but not the original.

-Bourne Supremacy
    -Godfather 2
    -Superman 2
    -Die Hard with a Vengeance
    -American Pie 2
    -Hellyboy 2
    -Evil Dead : Army of Darkness
    -Gremlins 2
    -For a few dollars more /good bad ugly...I dunno if these are true films independent of themselves or if they're canon
    -Some Harry Potters, not the greatest films..but they definitely got better as they went along
    -Mad max 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

The Empire Strikes Back.
    Hellboy 2.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Silence Of The Lambs - Fava beans and a nice chianti, sniff, sniff, sniff..]
    Manhunter was far better , better music, believable Hannibal, freakier baddie and yer man from CSI

AnonoBoy wrote: »

The first three were sh*te - so bad that you can't even find copies of them around any more. But the fourth one is great.
    Has anyone seen Henry IV ?

Loved The Bride of Frankenstein which was made a few years after the original, which I didn't like all that much.

Seen both when I was around ten the night of a wake. All the adults were in the pub and left all the kids to watch both of 'em.

Course, they all brought us back peanuts and Cavan Cola when Bride of Frankenstein was on, so that might have something to do with why I liked it better.
    I'm sure you've seen Young Frankenstein.
    But if you haven't you really , really need to see it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

AnonoBoy wrote: »

It was The Madness of King George III. Get the regnal numbers of your Hanoverian monarchs right! Jaysus, AH has gone to the dogs of late.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭snaphook

The Bourne Ultimatum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Ghostbusters II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Going for what hasn't been mentioned yet:
    • Batman Returns - [Perfectly done by Tim Burton for the Gothic approach]
    • Desperado - [awesome shooting scenes, especially with that Campa and Quino duo (LINK)]
    • Evil Dead 2 - [Absolutely surprised no one's mentioned this!!]
    • For A Few Dollars More // The Good, The Bad, And the Ugly - [Absolute classic Western films]
    • Gremlins 2 - [that suave talking Gremlin, then the tranny.... XD ]
    • Hot Shots! Part Deux - [Chicken Arrow, just because]
    • Mad Max 2: The Road Warrior - [More Action than the original!]