Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Do You Look For In The Opposite Sex? Are You Fussy?

• 14-07-2014 9:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,435 ✭✭✭Trebor176

I don't know if a similar topic has been covered already, but I'll give this a bash.

When it comes to a lady, I'm not too fussed about the perfect body (but, that's a bonus). A few pounds extra is grand, but not too much. I am more a face person. If she has an attractive face, she's got my attention. Of course, a good, pleasant personality is a must. If she's bubbly and chatty, then it's a bonus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

A pulse. I can overlook a lack of one, when desperate enough, however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

What do I look for?

Arse and tits usually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Onions in their handbags is a must.

After that not too fussy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Face>Legs=Ass>T*ts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

intelligence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Intelligence and great sense of humour. If she's smart and makes me laugh, then everything else becomes a lot less important.

Bluethaw wrote: »
    Nice body, smooth skin, healthy hair, beautiful smile, triangular thigh gap, funny, kind, interesting.

oh yeah, and adjectives. Intelligence and adjectives. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

A heartbeat and a fanny. The ability to do a good fry up is a bonus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Bluethaw wrote: »
    Nice body, smooth skin, healthy hair, beautiful smile, triangular thigh gap, funny, kind, interesting.

Class :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Dignity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Road frontage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Sense of humor, nice eyes, upfront honesty, knows her own mind, no bull****.. and curves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Sandwiches.

Makes me go weak at the knees and gives me tummy butterflies.

That's not too much to ask is it? :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Physically? I've come to the conclusion I do have a "type" alright, but that varies for people all over the place, so it's of little import save to the individual.

Personality? Much more "fussy" I am. *Yoda voice*. Integrity. Loyalty. Self awareness. Intelligence. The capacity to love, rather than the capacity to be loved. All too often confused in my humble. That lot would be a given for me and rarer to find IME.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

Moist.

I'm guessing most of you are single or are in very unhappy relationships?

Single people deserve road frontage too you know

*sob*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Physically I like dark hair and eyes, prefer skinnier lads (not chubby, not muscly) and love beards. That's all just preference though and applies more to casual relationships, for anything serious looks are in no way as important as personality.

Personality wise I tend to go for quieter, shyer guys. Having something going on upstairs is pretty much a deal breaker and a good sense of humour is pretty important too (because frankly I'm hilarious and I don't want to waste my A material on someone who won't appreciate it :p).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I wouldn't say I am fussy at all. I tend to find something attractive or endearing in most people.

The quality that draws me to people is a sense of humour though. My boyfriend gets away with murder because he makes me laugh more than anyone I have ever known.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭bitemeluis

Accent, woman with northern or scottish accent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

An intelligent and funny f'ucker.
    You're guessing this based on...?

I like nice guys. Laid back is good too. I like it when a guy cares about something, like just a hobby or whatever, but enough that when he talks about it he's pretty animated and clearly cares about it.

Body language is pretty important to me too. I can feel quite nervous around people (as far as I know, it doesn't show, but it takes effort to act normally when I feel uncomfortable), so it's nice to come across someone who puts me at ease, who seems open and accepting etc.

Looks wise, I couldn't pick out a characteristic that I'd look for in the opposite sex.

wow -my perfect woman
    I like nice guys. Laid back is good too. I like it when a guy cares about something, like just a hobby or whatever, but enough that when he talks about it he's pretty animated and clearly cares about it.

Football - can watch and talk about it for hours

Body language is pretty important to me too. I can feel quite nervous around people (as far as I know, it doesn't show, but it takes effort to act normally when I feel uncomfortable), so it's nice to come across someone who puts me at ease, who seems open and accepting etc.

Vertical, watching football on the couch
    Looks wise, I couldn't pick out a characteristic that I'd look for in the opposite sex.

thats pretty useful, given that I've been eating and watching football on the couch for the last 20 years

ElleEm wrote: »
    I wouldn't say I am fussy at all. I tend to find something attractive or endearing in most people.

The quality that draws me to people is a sense of humour though. My boyfriend gets away with murder because he makes me laugh more than anyone I have ever known.

And that makes you a very attractive and endearing person too.

Kind and smart. That's about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Muise... wrote: »
    And that makes you a very attractive and endearing person too.

Aw thanks!

I thought it made me a whore ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭auldgranny

Respectful. I love that in a man.
    Rarer than you would think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Makes me go weak at the knees and gives me tummy butterflies.

That's not too much to ask is it? :D

Basically someone who can tickle you so hard you feel sick and your entire body ceases to function? Jees that's anyone... I'm calling sluh here :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Ears , she just have ears .Ive a job lot of 600 pairs of ear rings Im trying to unload , so Christmas presents , birthday presents etc are sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭creolebelle

I can overlook a lot of things if he's super rich.
    JK. Looks don't matter that much to me.
    A man's eyes are Important. They have to be magnetic. I also like men with very masculine auras. He should be educated and catholic

Here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

A fine strapping Protestant woman. That'll do nicely.

Hows about car, I'm thinking of getting a 6 series bmw - would this make me more appealing?

Magaggie wrote: »
    An intelligent and funny f'ucker.

You're guessing this based on...?

The fairy tale requirements some people have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

I might have a shortlist of things I would like, but realistically it's bollocks. It boils down to the following complete and utter deal breakers:

He must have the ability to make me laugh.
    He must have a love of dogs.
    He must be somewhat 'together' (not 'together' would include: Partying every night, going mad with drugs, completely irregular sleep pattern, absolute disregard for his own health, inability to hold down any job at all, and no sense of personal responsibility)

Everything else I can compromise on if we have a wonderful spark and get on really well, but I'd break up with someone I had the best most wonderful spark in the world with if he didn't possess all of the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I might have a shortlist of things I would like, but realistically it's bollocks. It boils down to the following complete and utter deal breakers:

He must have the ability to make me laugh.
    He must have a love of dogs.
    He must be somewhat 'together' (not 'together' would include: Partying every night, going mad with drugs, completely irregular sleep pattern, absolute disregard for his own health, inability to hold down any job at all, and no sense of personal responsibility)

Everything else I can compromise on if we have a wonderful spark and get on really well, but I'd break up with someone I had the best most wonderful spark in the world with if he didn't possess all of the above.

Those are pretty damn important. Well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I find someone who can teach me something or make me see things differently incredibly attractive. Those people who come along and crack your world open and widen your perspective on things. Even if the relationship is a rocky road to ruination there are some people I haven't regretted having in my life because they left a worthwhile imprint, either in helping me discover something new about the world or helped me find a part of myself I didn't know was there.

I also find being able to respect someone and being able to trust their judgement very important.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Intelligence, the ability to laugh at themselves, sense of humour and respectful. Nice guys first and foremost, the whole bad boy thing holds absolutely no appeal for me, i can't undrstand the attraction of that whatsoever. Same with women, the bitch thing is an instant big fat no for me. A little bit odd, different or quirky. I'm half mad so a little outside the box-ness is kind of essential in a partner to understand me at all!
    Physical stuff is secondry, although i am in to my fitness so someone with an interest in fitness/a sport'd be great but it's not essential.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,469 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Kindness and Intelligence. I find the former in particular is a very overlooked quality when one describes an "ideal partner".

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

He should be educated and catholic

As opposed to 'Catholic'? Good choice.

Men who are catholic in their outlook are great whereas Catholics are ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,980 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Just incase my gf discovers my boards ID I'm going to say,

A great personality, stunning looks, patience and a bit of common sense. She has them all in abundance :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭my teapot is orange

He must be an adult mentally. I suppose it's related to what an earlier poster said about being together. I like someone who is in control, knows how plan and see a plan through, anticipates the consequences of their actions and the actions of others etc. I like a realist and I like someone with some sort of drive and ambition, though I don't particularly care what they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

The fairy tale requirements some people have
    Ah jeez, they're not that OTT are they?! :)

I've seen other threads like this, with big long lists, which just made me think "My ideal partner is someone who doesn't make big long lists of ideal partner traits" but I don't think this thread is anywhere as bad.
    The only particularly fairy-tale one (with the triangular thigh gap thing - basically a blow-up doll was being described) was deleted.

greenflash wrote: »
    As opposed to 'Catholic'? Good choice.

Men who are catholic in their outlook are great whereas Catholics are ****.

My mom wants me to marry a catholic man with a grad degree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

I look for what I've found in my fiance. He makes me happy by just being him. He tries to act like he's a hard man but he's a softie at the back of it. He's made me stronger emotionally than I've ever been. Before him I wanted to please everyone at the same time but now I don't do that. I know it may sound cheesy but I found him again at the exact time when I needed him the most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭NickMondo

women are ridiculous in their expectations, they all want to be smitten but the ultimate charmer and never think to themselves "what do I actually have to offer"

I'd be happy for any women who isn't bat**** crazy, doesn't talk to much and looks after herself somewhat, slightly overweight is fine but folds can't be having

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,033 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Kindness and Intelligence. I find the former in particular is a very overlooked quality when one describes an "ideal partner".

'Kindness is a strength' to quote Jermaine Jackson :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I can overlook a lot of things if he's super rich.
    JK. Looks don't matter that much to me.
    A man's eyes are Important. They have to be magnetic. I also like men with very masculine auras. He should be educated and catholic
    Why would you want someone involved in an evil and extremely dangerous cult?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

While I also consider compassion and intelligence essential, its always amusing the amount of people that will conspicuously avoid admitting they have to really fancy somebody physically too.