Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Animal Rescue Worker" pleads guilty to Animal Cruelty - wants the dogs back

• 14-07-2014 7:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭

:mad:

This is a very shocking story, especially coming from a so-called animal rescue centre. What in jaysus happened that it ended up in that state of affairs, with the dogs starved and with no water, and with a carcass rotting in their kennels?

Is this operation still going?

Why was she fined only 250 euro and why is her getting those dogs back (or being allowed to have any animal in her care for that matter) even being discussed at the moment?

When are we going to take animal cruelty seriously as a crime in this country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    :mad:

This is a very shocking story, especially coming from a so-called animal rescue centre. What in jaysus happened that it ended up in that state of affairs, with the dogs starved and with no water, and with a carcass rotting in their kennels?

Is this operation still going?

Why was she fined only 250 euro and why is her getting those dogs back (or being allowed to have any animal in her care for that matter) even being discussed at the moment?

When are we going to take animal cruelty seriously as a crime in this country?

I suppose banning hunting and greyhound racing would be a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

A €250 fine? So roughly €30 per neglected dog? Wow, what a deterrent :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

magentis wrote: »

Arent you the one who wants to poison cats?
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=91248318

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

Myrddin wrote: »
    A €250 fine? So roughly €30 per neglected dog? Wow, what a deterrent :rolleyes:

She was prosecuted under the 1911 animal welfare act not the recent one. I'm not going to say any more on the whole thing cos its too bloody upsetting as I'm sat here with my two rescue pooches getting cuddles on the sofa.

Nope never said i wanted to poison cats,what i did say was feral cats should be treated as vermin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

There is a huge thread on this elsewhere

dharma200 wrote: »
    There is a huge thread on this elsewhere

Its in animal and pet issues but it has a different charter to AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,662 ✭✭✭Milly33

Oh dear what a nasty woman.. I wonder was she gathering dogs to sell on or something seems odd to have only one or two breeds she should have got jail time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

A former Boardsie too. Shocking stuff. The pics are very upsetting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭bobrawn20

Vojera wrote: »
    A former Boardsie too. Shocking stuff. The pics are very upsetting.

How do you know that?

bobrawn20 wrote: »
    How do you know that?

Common knowledge in the other forum - animal and pet issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭REPTILEDAN88

bobrawn20 wrote: »
    How do you know that?
    She used to post on the animal forum with the user name EGAR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Some of the comments on fb are gas. One guy in particular white knighting that "she loves animals and would never mistreat them" etcet c:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

You're nothing but a cúnt of a human being if you chose to poison animals, especially for no logical reason.

"Cats causing untold property damage"

Jesus fúck me, that's retarded

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    Last lad I boxed, which was over a year ago now, was some cocky wanker getting thick at a lad for "looking like a fagg*t", someone pointed out that I was gay, so he turned and started laughing and telling loads of really crap gay jokes and slagging me, but in a dickish way. I laughed along until he got close enough then I decked him and broke his nose. The miserable little creature cowered away straight after that.

Delighted I put the cúnt in his place.

Last time I got punched was when I was fighting at 16.

At least i dont spout b0ll0cks about being a hard man when im on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Chance The Rapper

Yeah that's much worse than poisoning animals. :rolleyes: Prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Milly33 wrote: »
    Oh dear what a nasty woman.. I wonder was she gathering dogs to sell on or something seems odd to have only one or two breeds she should have got jail time

Well I'd hope nobody would buy dogs in that state. I'd hope the Guards don't let her have the dogs back.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Tiercel Dave

She wasn't selling them, looking at the evidence etc she is an animal hoarder with a god complex. This means she has a mental illness and will never acknowledge she was in the wrong. A very sad day for bull breeds.. Egar was one of the only rescues that would take dogs with dog to dog aggression, pit bulls often display this and most rescues will immediately pts as they are so difficult to re home.. She has screwed over all bull breeds in the country. Her friends and supporters need to get her help.

Last Activity: 18-07-2012

Ah I see if you scroll down to the visitor messages on the profile theres one from someone whos called magentas
    Theres a coincidence!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

Jeez that's quite the rescue operation alright..

They'd have been better off being shot ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Jeez that's quite the rescue operation alright..

They'd have been better off being shot ffs.

If they can't be rehomed, and she is entitled to get them back (mind-boggling how she might), it would be better for them to be put down. :(

Listen I'm not defending her or anything, I am sickened, but 3000 animals have gone through egar In The last 15 years... I'd say the majority, unlike these poor unfortunates, were rehomed and cared for... I'm not defending her atall, but just seems like, well, unbelievable really and heartbreaking. There is a very informative blog online if you google her full name , then Lennox then blog.... Fascinating reading.. Almost like some sort of mad novel of I intrigue, conspiracy and nastiness.... Multiple aliases deceit and collusion.... Crazy stuff

Ah I see if you scroll down to the visitor messages on the profile theres one from someone whos called magentas
    Theres a coincidence!!!!!

your username is there too:pac:

Oh and learn to spell when you go back to school in september.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

Muise... wrote: »
    If they can't be rehomed, and she is entitled to get them back (mind-boggling how she might), it would be better for them to be put down. :(

Pretty sickening if she does...

Ill make it easy for you
    unknown.gif
    25-11-2010 03:37
    magentas

hi sarah, hope you don't mind me posting the article on you in the independent?!
    great work you're doing, fair play.

My username doesn't appear on any visitor messages to her

Wow I'm such a hard man. I know, me, a gay lad capable of punching someone?It's crazy

your username is there too:pac:

Oh and learn to spell when you go back to school in september.

What did I misspell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Pedro K

Do you disagree with hunting for food?

What did I misspell?

I don't think he understands the difference between spelling and punctuation.

Erm thats not my username are ya thick or something?

Have all those shotgun blasts damaged your little brain perhaps?:rolleyes:

My username doesn't appear on any visitor messages to her[/QUOTE]

Yeah im the thick one who hasn't looked at post 23 !
    You do understand the meaning of the word coincidence or are you sniffing some of the antifreeze you want to give to cats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Why wasnt this woman given a jail sentance or community service :confused:

Yeah im the thick one who hasn't looked at post 23 !
    You do understand the meaning of the word coincidence or are you sniffing some of the antifreeze you want to give to cats?

It took you that long did it?:eek:

robertpatterson

Adverts | Friends
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Birneybau View Post
    Love the subtle homophobia on this thread. People seem to be unaware that the Eurovision is basically the gay Olympics.
    Its like jobbridge for the gay media types
    robertpatterson is online now Report Post

that was a fairly disgusting thing to say.

robertpatterson

Adverts | Friends
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Birneybau View Post
    Love the subtle homophobia on this thread. People seem to be unaware that the Eurovision is basically the gay Olympics.
    Its like jobbridge for the gay media types
    robertpatterson is online now Report Post

that was a fairly disgusting thing to say.

Bit homophobic are we Robert?
    Was that your real agenda?

Jaysis lads, will you just arrange a meeting for handbags at dawn already. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,822 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Sign the petition

And em

Sign the petition!

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

If ye can't discuss without petty sniping and abuse then there won't be any discussion of the topic at all.

Reopened on request, no more warnings will be given. Please think before you post, understanding that this is an emotive topic.

Mod.

mikeym wrote: »

Unfortunately she was prosecuted under the 1911 animal welfare act and not the recently changed legislation. We can but hope she won't ever be allowed an animal again and that her enablers stop. She needs to get mental help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

dharma200 wrote: »
    She wasn't selling them, looking at the evidence etc she is an animal hoarder with a god complex. This means she has a mental illness and will never acknowledge she was in the wrong. A very sad day for bull breeds.. Egar was one of the only rescues that would take dogs with dog to dog aggression, pit bulls often display this and most rescues will immediately pts as they are so difficult to re home.. She has screwed over all bull breeds in the country. Her friends and supporters need to get her help.

It's incredibly unfortunate - I have a rescue staffie myself and they make absolutely fantastic and well behaved companions with a little TLC and training. She's sitting beside me now wagging her tail and getting plenty of attention!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

All to common for animal "rescue" people to be nothing more than hoarders....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Decuc500

mikeym wrote: »

Because this is Ireland. We abuse and make money from animals and there is absolutely no deterrent to mistreating them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

As others have said, there seemed to be a hoarding problem with her and a constant need for validation for her work. Although minimal effort was seen on social media sites for actually rehoming any of the dogs taken into her care. She seemed more interested in letting people see she had taken in another dog more so than trying to get it back out into the public. There was also mention from a few that she was very adamant in not letting people onto the premises. No-one expects a busy shelter to be sparkling and full of high-tech facilities (my own local shelter is completely helter-skelter at the best of times, but none of the animals are emaciated :o ) so one would have to wonder what she wanted to hide by refusing so many people entry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

ShaShaBear wrote: »
    There was also mention from a few that she was very adamant in not letting people onto the premises. No-one expects a busy shelter to be sparkling and full of high-tech facilities (my own local shelter is completely helter-skelter at the best of times, but none of the animals are emaciated :o ) so one would have to wonder what she wanted to hide by refusing so many people entry.

It's really odd that this is a thing, because although I'd never actually made it down myself, she did offer to let me and a friend stay with her overnight a few years ago. Maybe it's a more recent development (as in, last 2 years) that she was SO unwelcoming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

It's really odd that this is a thing, because although I'd never actually made it down myself, she did offer to let me and a friend stay with her overnight a few years ago. Maybe it's a more recent development (as in, last 2 years) that she was SO unwelcoming?

It's quite possible that things have only recently started getting out of hand and she knows that. I'm sure, like many, she had great intentions to begin with, but it's no excuse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,529 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Decuc500 wrote: »
    Because this is Ireland. We abuse and make money from animals and there is absolutely no deterrent to mistreating them.
    As others have pointed out this all took place before the most recent legislation came into force, so she was prosecuted under the older one which doesn't allow for anything more stringent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

ShaShaBear wrote: »
    It's quite possible that things have only recently started getting out of hand and she knows that. I'm sure, like many, she had great intentions to begin with, but it's no excuse!

Absolutely, I agree.

Well, hopefully everything will work out and no more animals will be suffering by getting caught up in all this :(