Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway Thread 2014

• 14-07-2014 10:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭

Seeing as there has been some debate discussion surrounding the merits or otherwise of starting a Galway thread, I've decided to bite the bullet and set one up.... It's not all that far away, really....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

My in laws lived in galway near the race course so for 7 years i went down each august... a couple of decent wins but mostly just handing my money over :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭irish_major

Cannot wait for this, living and working in ballybrit. Off for the week too, beautiful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

I have never been down there for the racing and am at a stag, coming home the day before it starts. Thinking of heading down the Friday and/or the Saturday. Surely it's better fun nowadays, now that the Celtic Tiger nonsense has passed? Can you actually get a pint without queuing for an hour and stepping over people vomiting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭nuckeythompson

Only go there on the piss , the racing in most cases cannot be taken seriously. With the exception of a couple of races its a mickey mouse meeting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Buy the Racing Post, read the big Weld feature, job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭ComplyOrDie

Great spot in general, as you said you just need to follow a few of welds (not them all), and then of cource you always get a few sc##bags, if only I got my hands on these lads Sma#k, ba@g, B#om :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Great spot in general, as you said you just need to follow a few of welds (not them all), and then of cource you always get a few sc##bags, if only I got my hands on these lads Sma#k, ba@g, B#om :D

That video is pretty much the reason why I and I'd say many others avoid going to Ballybrit(and many other meetings)that week. Full of young lads in cheap suits getting drunk and acting the gob****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

I've been going for the last few years, usually for 2 days out of Monday, Tuesday and Friday. I couldn't stand the madness of the other midweek days as 83% of my reasoning for going now would be to have a few pints myself in a reasonably fun & fairly different environment.

My first year there was a hectic rollercoaster when I walked away on the Monday night with a nice 4 figure profit after everything turning to gold for me but yet I managed to end the week down.:confused: I've since learned a thing or two about not spewing my money away again.:o

I like Galway and have friends living there who I generally only get to see once or twice a year so I enjoy the week once the gob****ery in town can be avoided but I've never seen anything too bad at Ballybrit that would put me off going again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

jimjamcos wrote: »
    Buy the Racing Post, read the big Weld feature, job done.

That's a sure way to the poor house. I'm sure everyone recalls his preview before the festival a couple of years ago on atr and syndicated paper columns. Much weaker team than other yrs, would only target the big two racers (plate\hurdle), if he won a couple of maidens with that he'd be happy. He proceeded to lose the hurlde and plate by wide margins but won 17 races that week from a total of 51 run. Yes, 1\3rd of the races, yep, he trained the winner. Phenomenol. But also not what you would have expected reading the paper. Back him blindly or don't have a bet with one of his horses in the race. Its a week of great fun but the punting is very difficult.

Hopefully the thread will point us to a few winners. Will be watching fennis moll tomorrow at Killarney with a view to later in the month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭bellybuster12

I used to go to Galway every year for about 10 years(2002-2012). Enjoyed the first few years as there was a great buzz, crowds, atmosphere as i had never been to a large festival. The last few years was just out of habit and had cut back to the mon/tue/wed. It just bugged me that 95% of people had no clue about racing or cared either, only went to 2 ladies days as it has to be the most annoying day ever.

Btw i know this is what galway is all about, peoples holidays, lads on the lash looking for a bit of skirt, the girls on ladies day providing that skirt:), it's a social event with a 4/5 decent races throughout the week. It's also a hugh week for galway itself in economic terms as it is for the racing industry.

People might find this hard to believe but i went to Cheltenham for the first time last march(mon-thurs) and it worked out cheaper. So i have decided my only trip back to galway festival is if i have an interest/share in a horse running there.

Hopefully we can bang in a few winners there, and i think a galway thread is a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

BumperD wrote: »
    That's a sure way to the poor house. I'm sure everyone recalls his preview before the festival a couple of years ago on atr and syndicated paper columns. Much weaker team than other yrs, would only target the big two racers (plate\hurdle), if he won a couple of maidens with that he'd be happy. He proceeded to lose the hurlde and plate by wide margins but won 17 races that week from a total of 51 run. Yes, 1\3rd of the races, yep, he trained the winner. Phenomenol. But also not what you would have expected reading the paper. Back him blindly or don't have a bet with one of his horses in the race. Its a week of great fun but the punting is very difficult.

Was tongue in check, wouldn't touch Galway with a bargepole. Find it next to impossible to weigh up the majority of races given the time of year, riches on offer for horses held back and Welds overall prohibitive dominance. Elliot's Bayan could be interesting in the Hurdle mind

jimjamcos wrote: »
    Was tongue in check, wouldn't touch Galway with a bargepole. Find it next to impossible to weigh up the majority of races given the time of year, riches on offer for horses held back and Welds overall prohibitive dominance. Elliot's Bayan could be interesting in the Hurdle mind

Sorry my sarcasm radar was down for maintenance, I should have known better from you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Andalucia

with the fantastic year Weld has had so far, its hard to believe he will have any horses left for Galway,but he will. He's banging in winners day after day, some real nice types too. He'll have some even nicer types put by with Galway in mind, so he'll have a great week I'm sure.

Plate and Hurdle should be priced up by wkend - interesting to see how many JP plots are lined up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭STADEdeLUC

Hate Galway, People pissed drunk might seem snobbish but i cant stand the langers that go there thinking there some sort of betting god. The racing is bang average and Dermot Weld's bank account gets larger every year. Cant' stand the whole thing with Weld either, fair enough he has some good types but then you see some average horse of his with no form being a 3/1 jolly, the mind boggles! Best watched at home listening to Ted Walsh

BumperD wrote: »
    Hopefully the thread will point us to a few winners. Will be watching fennis moll tomorrow at Killarney with a view to later in the month.

Non runner yesterday, runs tonight 7:45_pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Galway always leaves a sour taste in my mouth, might have something to do with it being Weld and Smullen circle jerk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭dicky dunne

Andalucia wrote: »
    with the fantastic year Weld has had so far, its hard to believe he will have any horses left for Galway,but he will. He's banging in winners day after day, some real nice types too. He'll have some even nicer types put by with Galway in mind, so he'll have a great week I'm sure.

Plate and Hurdle should be priced up by wkend - interesting to see how many JP plots are lined up

Stockton's Wing wins the hurdle anyway :cool:

had a lovely run on the flat behind Bayan last week to tune him up for it alright

surprising how decent a jumps sire that Jeremy is, hardly what he was bred for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Stockton's Wing wins the hurdle anyway :cool:

If Pique Sous turns up on proper good ground he'd take some beating.

Missunited doesnt run anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Missunited doesnt run anyway

Why not? Thought the plan was definitely for her to try and win it again.

rossom wrote: »
    Why not? Thought the plan was definitely for her to try and win it again.

Owners wishes, i've no doubt shed have won it again tbh.
    He wants to keep her to the flat, I think he was sweet talked on taking her to galway last year but not to be this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Owners wishes, i've no doubt shed have won it again tbh.
    He wants to keep her to the flat, I think he was sweet talked on taking her to galway last year but not to be this year

That's fair enough. Clearly going to make a fine broodmare and would be devastating if they lost her over jumps. More money and prestige to be gained on the flat from that perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Pity about Missunited, had been looking outward to seeing her, and was actually thinking of making the trip to Galway to see her. Not going to go, now. I've not been to Galway since I was 14. Used to go pretty regularly till then, bit it kept getting worse and worse, and all the drinker annoyed me no end. See much more from the comfort of my couch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Ian Whelan

Un Beau Roman looks sure to run. Very unlucky last night and looks like a really good summer chaser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Ian Whelan wrote: »
    Un Beau Roman looks sure to run. Very unlucky last night and looks like a really good summer chaser.

Was sickened for the horse the other night. Was cruising to an impressive victory until the last fence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

Quick Jack looks an interesting one in the hurdle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭R0UF

Paddy Power should be ashamed of the odds they have put up for the big two races. Before you know the going, weight, jockey or even whether the horse will even run they have put up betting to 230%+
    I know they can't bet too hard as it is money back if balloted out, but overall it is an embarrassing effort from them.

JP has a quarter of the entries in the Plate, safe to say Plan A won't be winning or even running after the wkend, hard to see Wise Old Owl winning it on his second run back after a long absence

Haven't looked at the weights yet, but reckon Rum and Butter is the one, goes on any ground, JJ horses flying

For the Hurdle, between Pique Sous or Bayan, hardly original I know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Jayo11780

Plate - Golden Wonder 16/1
    Hurdle - Rawnaq 18/1

E/W double.... that is all:D

Also look out for horse of Tom Cleary's called 'Truly delightful' runs on Wednesday/Thursday in 1m handicap.. won well in Ballinrobe prep on Monday evening!

I'll be there the 7 days as I have been for years, can't wait for it now serious excitement building :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,933 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Loads of declarations for the minor races out today. Will be keeping a close eye on Tony Martin.

I got one tip for his horses last year, Ted veale. I lost a right lump on him. He had 9 other winners and not one tip for any of them from my source. Frustrating to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Michael2107

Any one know how much admission is for Wednesday and Thursday?

E30 both days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

I'll be there the 7 days as I have been for years, can't wait for it now serious excitement building :D.

Glutton for punishment!!

Anyone know when the bookies go NRNB for the plate and the hurdle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭dicky dunne

Pique Sous a NR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭unitedrover

Pique Sous a NR

Pity..hope no one got burned antepost on him. Shows you can never expect too much with horses. They had a target of the Hurdle and then the Ebor( presumably after winning the galway hurdle or going close) and now is going to miss both.

Gives my fancy Bayan a better chance I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

What's the Wednesday like? Losing my Galway-virginity but can only go up the Wednesday. Last minute job so I'm pretty sure we'll be sleeping in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,933 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

andyman wrote: »
    What's the Wednesday like? Losing my Galway-virginity but can only go up the Wednesday. Last minute job so I'm pretty sure we'll be sleeping in the car.
    Wednesday is worth it for the Plate alone and this year's Plate looks like it will be a cracker. If you're looking to do some socializing in the city afterwards, then from Wednesday on, the night life picks up a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

Wednesday is worth it for the Plate alone and this year's Plate looks like it will be a cracker. If you're looking to do some socializing in the city afterwards, then from Wednesday on, the night life picks up a bit.

Indeed. Be warned though its the 2nd busiest day and you will be queuing for everything. Be sure to stop at the ATM beforehand ive seen 30+ minutes queues regularly. Enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 WinnerLAD

Andyman - i managed to get a room on laterooms. com last niht in Corrib village for €20 per night thurs n fri. Cheap student acclm but better than the car (as i was going to sleep in the car also!).. Id check it iut. Think ill be in an apt with some randomers but i dont really care
    andyman wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

If you're willing to try a little further outside the town, there should be a few B&Bs that may have some space or last minute cancellations. Always worth a try - I did it in the past and it worked out ok. Tho if you're looking for the social side, it's not always going to work. I stayed in those Corrib accom years ago, when they were pretty new. Not bad as student accom goes. Did you try the Salthill Hotel?

Andalucia wrote: »
    JP has a quarter of the entries in the Plate, safe to say Plan A won't be winning or even running after the wkend, hard to see Wise Old Owl winning it on his second run back after a long absence

Haven't looked at the weights yet, but reckon Rum and Butter is the one, goes on any ground, JJ horses flying

For the Hurdle, between Pique Sous or Bayan, hardly original I know

I actually fancy wise old owl for tomorrows plate. Recon Kiely has him primed for this race

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Absolutely buzzing for tomorrow. Got a nice cheque from ye olde tax man for tax I'm owed which sorts me out beautifully.

We managed to find a place. One of the wimmins we work with has a self-catering house and said we can crash for the night. Ideal.

Standard price of a pint during race week in the City?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭dilinja1

I actually fancy wise old owl for tomorrows plate. Recon Kiely has him primed for this race

Pricewise pick

so thats the price gone

Depends on what your drinking. Guinness costs about €4, Larger €5, micro brewery €6+. Deviations can apply from establishment to establishment.