Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Belfast child has 'Kill All Taigs' written on her forehead

• 13-07-2014 12:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭

A rather shocking image emerged on social media earlier. It can be seen here. It's of a young girl in Northern Ireland (her age is hard to determine, but she's presumably younger then 10) with the letters KAT written on her forehead in red, white and blue, the colours of the British flag, presumably by her parents or carers.

KAT, for those who don't know, is an acronym for the old loyalist slogan Kill All Taigs (Kill All Catholics).

Will social services be able to intervene in this case? Surely if British social services are willing to remove a child from their foster parents simply for being UKIP members, they can act here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Christ that Deborah's a mad yoke altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭flemishgael

A rather shocking image emerged on social media earlier. It can be seen here. It's of a young girl in Northern Ireland (her age is hard to determine, but she's presumably younger then 10) with the letters KAT written on her forehead in red, white and blue, the colours of the British flag, presumably by her parents or carers.

KAT, for those who don't know, is an acronym for the old loyalist slogan Kill All Taigs (Kill All Catholics).

Will social services be able to intervene in this case? Surely if British social services are willing to remove a child from their foster parents simply for being UKIP members, they can act here?
    We all know what will happen. Nothing.
    Unfortunately, children in the north are still being brought up like that all the time.
    Once they can walk they are dragged along to marches and whenever there is a riot (often) families go out with their children to look at it and I have seen dads giving their young sons stones to throw at the RUC or the other side.
    Children struck by rocks from the other side are being told that is what they do and that is why you should hate them.
    Very sad, but cry much reality.
    It is almost a wonder that so many of them grow up without an intense hatred.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

So she has "KAT" written on her forehead....not "Kill All Taigs"?

Fleg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

How do you know her or her parents aren't just showing their appreciation of their favourite torrent site?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Not really any worse than teaching them that the kids down the road will be going to hell because they do/don't do this/that differently to "us".

Custardpi wrote: »
    How do you know her or her parents aren't just showing their appreciation of their favourite torrent site?
    The north is like a secret society with all these abbreviations etc.
    Like TAL UDR SU etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Not really any worse than teaching them that the kids down the road will be going to hell because they do/don't do this/that differently to "us".
    But protestants go to purgatory first my mum taught me and on judgement day God might allow them into heaven after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Maybe her parents love Kick Ass Torrents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Like TAL UDR SU etc etc

I never figured why they write these, what do they mean?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Don't suppose her name is Kat then?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Like TAL UDR SU etc etc
    TIA. (This Is Armagh).

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    Don't suppose her name is Kat then?

I don't know if you're joking.. But the comments on the side of the picture would suggest that isn't the case :p

Maybe her parents love Kick Ass Torrents.

Obviously my version of that joke was too subtle for AH tastes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Honestly couldn't give a sh1ote tbh

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    TIA. (This Is Armagh).
    The Orangemen will be marching tomorrow but I hope it is the rugby men that do the walking ;)

Hope for her sake that is just written & not a tattoo....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

Is that green,white and gold bunting on the fence in the background?

Hope for her sake that is just written & not a tattoo....
    Used to date a girl in Belfast with a tattoo of a bloody cleaver and shank ill butchers under it. Her da was not impressed that she went out with a foreign catholic who is also mad into his gaelic sports :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭md23040

Its looks like Katy on her forehead and a lame internet spoof, storm in a teacup story, photo shop job, and see if it goes viral.

beano345 wrote: »
    I thought the same but then realised all is done with a yellow filter (see how the face and arms are bright yellow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Hope they have social services at their door Monday morning. Encouraging a child to hold those kind of views in a society where so many people have died at the hands of such people is an abuse of the child and repugnant on every level.
    Then putting a pic online, even on a private fb, that might potentially make that child a lightening rod for sectarian hatred...it just boggles the mind,

Hope they have social services at their door Monday morning. Encouraging a child to hold those kind of views in a society where so many people have died at the hands of such people is an abuse of the child and repugnant on every level.
    Hope so too but I have seen police offers help children put election posters onto bonfires so I doubt anything will happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

keith16 wrote: »
    So she has "KAT" written on her forehead....not "Kill All Taigs"?

Fleg.

The comments associated with the picture say it means kill all Taigs.

In fairness I knew a guy called Tadhg once. He was a prick.

Tadhg's always are

I think I might know you IRL.

Luke92 wrote: »
    The comments associated with the picture say it means kill all Taigs.

The comments aren't written on her face tho, are they?

I think I might know you IRL.

I doubt it, sure everyone hates Tadhg's

Except for Tadhg's themselves but I'm sure deep down a part of them hate themselves for being called such a name :pac:

Wait now for some Tadhg to come along and report us...... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

The comments aren't written on her face tho, are they?

Yes it's all circumstantial. Case dismissed. It's obvious what it means. What next a white supremist argues his swastika is a doodle and KKK is a triple K and K is his favourite letter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

FFS do we have to do this feckin post every four weeks... sigh
    Some people like tayto and some people like king...... wait what ....Tadhg's jaysus that's much too serious for AH

HurtLocker wrote: »
    Yes it's all circumstantial. Case dismissed. It's obvious what it means. What next a white supremist argues his swastika is a doodle and KKK is a triple K and K is his favourite letter.

I'm not arguing what it means. But that is simply not what is written on her face.

stmol32 wrote: »
    Some people like tayto and some people like king...... wait what ....Tadhg's jaysus that's much too serious for AH

I'm sorry that I offended you..... Tadhg

stmol32 wrote: »

We're growing up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

I'm not arguing what it means. But that is simply not what is written on her face.
    Amazing display of cognitive dissonance there. I now wonder what PIRA/UVF/INLA/etc on all those murals up north might really have meant.

I actually think the photo looks shopped, but it wouldn't surprise me either way if it was real.

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Amazing display of cognitive dissonance there. I now wonder what PIRA/UVF/INLA/etc on all those murals up north might really have meant.

PIRA
    INLA
    UVF

What's wrong with people expressing their appreciation of quality packaging, their interest in nuclear issues or their fond memories of a sun holiday? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Bad jokes, ain't the world full of them.

Something in the air today, I was pacing the floor all morning. I had a touch of orange disorder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Jimoslimos wrote: »

I actually think the photo looks shopped, but it wouldn't surprise me either way if it was real.

Yeah, her face looks a bit blocky, I'm calling foul.

But in all seriousness it looks like a fairly obvious y on it, making Katy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Nah, "Kill all *anyone*" on a kid's forehead really really is worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭Bepolite

At least it's not Welcome to Jamaica Have a Nice Day or Wendy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 tyrone90

Taig was an old Irish name like Patrick is now, very common in the past apparently.

A friend of mines family are called the 'Taig O'Neills' as common surnames have nicknames in rural areas dating back 300 odd years I would imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

anyone remember the Holy Cross primary school debacle where catholic kid's quickest route to school was through a loyalist estate, and each morning the kids were subjected to a bile-filled assault by loyalist residents etc.

That story broke on the 9th of Sept 2001. News-teams from all the networks were present to film this daily demonstration which ended up becoming quite violent.

Then in the middle of all, 9/11 happened... and it totally dominated the news headlines for weeks after. But on the 12th of September, there was one other headline on Sky News... the loyalist numb-skulls were out shouting abuse at the kids walking to school again.

I remember thinking to myself, those people live in such a toxic little bubble. If 9/11 wasn't enough to make them realise how petty they were being, nothing ever will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

Mary McAleese said that some children were being brought up to hate Catholics, a simple statement of fact. Yet people seemed more worried about her saying this than the evident truth of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

anyone remember the Holy Cross primary school debacle where catholic kid's quickest route to school was through a loyalist estate, and each morning the kids were subjected to a bile-filled assault by loyalist residents etc.

That story broke on the 9th of Sept 2001. News-teams from all the networks were present to film this daily demonstration which ended up becoming quite violent.

Then in the middle of all, 9/11 happened... and it totally dominated the news headlines for weeks after. But on the 12th of September, there was one other headline on Sky News... the loyalist numb-skulls were out shouting abuse at the kids walking to school again.

I remember thinking to myself, those people live in such a toxic little bubble. If 9/11 wasn't enough to make them realise how petty they were being, nothing ever will.
    That was probably one of the most disgusting historic moments in recent irish history. 12 weeks it went on i think. How any adult could yell such hate young children like that :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Hate to be a pedant, but Misleading thread title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

beano345 wrote: »

looks like it

its probably SF'ers doing this to demonize the other side

(which is the purpose of this thread and other threads of this type)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

fryup wrote: »
    looks like it

its probably SF'ers doing this to demonize the other side

(which is the purpose of this thread and other threads of this type)

Nobody needs to demonize these people, they do better job of it themselves than anyone else could ever do.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

ardmacha wrote: »
    Mary McAleese said that some children were being brought up to hate Catholics, a simple statement of fact. Yet people seemed more worried about her saying this than the evident truth of it.

If Goody two shoes says it then it must be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

maybe it said kik kat ? her favourite nestle chocolate #hatersgunnahate