Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Last time you got hit/hit anyone

• 12-07-2014 7:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭

Last time I got hit was by a bully outside the school gates, punched me to show off to his friends and I didn't react, just walked away.

Last time I hit someone was a fella from the same area with me during a game of football in the local park. Never like this lad and lashed out.

Both happened in 1999 and thankfully no incidents in my adult life (outside chippers, pubs etc.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

SPM1959 wrote: »
    Last time I got hit was by a bully outside the school gates, punched me to show off to his friends and I didn't react, just walked away.

Last time I hit someone was a fella from the same area with me during a game of football in the local park. Never like this lad and lashed out.

Both happened in 1999 and thankfully no incidents in my adult life (outside chippers, pubs etc.)

Thank you for that frank answer.

And my next question - what would you bring to the company?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

My brother and I used to have some really vicious fights when we were younger back in the 70's.

I got a belt from a drunk in a nightclub once and gave him one back and before I knew it there were 6 bouncers holding me back :eek: Of course I wasn't exactly sober either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

OP chill out. Go on YouTube and search for Adrian Mole growing pains Barry Kent as search terms. Good Man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

someone's Ma let me hit it.

not yours though, that would be asking for a ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Got a right wallop off my two year old earlier when I was pretending to be asleep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I've never been in a proper fist fight but one night some polish slut shoved me, so I shoved her back and was going to hit her with my shoe if **** got real. It didnt in the end, we just insulted each other for a bit and went off our seperate ways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,840 ✭✭✭Calibos

I've disarmed both a gun and knife wielding assailant trying to rob our business over the years.

Still haven't thrown a single punch in my 40 years on this earth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,818 ✭✭✭dmc17

So, outside chippers, pubs and etc. doesn't count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

my partner and i exchanged blows. it was ten years ago, it never happened again. we are still together and are very happy.

sounds weird, reading it back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

I've never been in a proper fist fight but one night some polish slut shoved me, so I shoved her back and was going to hit her with my shoe if **** got real. It didnt in the end, we just insulted each other for a bit and went off our seperate ways

Ohhhh i love watching women fight,turns me right on so it does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Are we talking just today or does the list need to go back further?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,950 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

magentis wrote: »
    Ohhhh i love watching women fight,turns me right on so it does.

I like to make cat noises when it happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

In my 70 years I have never been hit nor have hit anybody - I'm not sure if that's a good thing or quite pathetic really. :(

Mine was 6 years ago with a bouncer after he was called in to take care of a drunk guy. The bar girl pointed at him to which i happened to be in the way. He politely asked if he could have a word outside with me in which i said yes, i walked ahead when he pounced on me, i was the stronger and got the better of the situation to which the bar girl said it wasnt me it was another guy. He still wanted me out of the club in anger.
    The manager stepped in to which i pointed out that i don't drink but offered my services as a bouncer in case he needed a new one :D
    Got a free round for me and my friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭urabell

Not too long ago I found myself accosted on the steps of the General Post Office by the denizens of the inner city as I waited for a bus. Outnumbered and surrounded my options were limited, the attack was unprovoked and I had nothing to offer them. I weighed up my options, the male chauvinist pig in me saw myself surrounded by 5 assailants, 2 men and 3 women. Even at 2 v 1 my odds weren't great, if the females among them decided not to become more physical.

Then a moment of clarity, the 21st century LGBTQ ally, friend of the people emerged and my situation changed. I realised I didn't know these people. I didn't know what gender they identified as, for all I knew I was surrounded by 5 men and 0 women, or 3 otherkin and 1 man and one genderless nether spirit.

Armed with my new information I cracked the smallest one on the bridge of their (apologies for not asking what pronouns they preferred but the situation called for urgency) nose with my lead hand and barreled through them in the confusion. Didn't stop running until Stephen's Green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Archeron

My dog sneezed in my eye earlier, does that count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭millie35

In my 70 years I have never been hit nor have hit anybody - I'm not sure if that's a good thing or quite pathetic really. :(

Nothing pathetic about it you should be proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

Last lad I boxed, which was over a year ago now, was some cocky wanker getting thick at a lad for "looking like a fagg*t", someone pointed out that I was gay, so he turned and started laughing and telling loads of really crap gay jokes and slagging me, but in a dickish way. I laughed along until he got close enough then I decked him and broke his nose. The miserable little creature cowered away straight after that.

Delighted I put the cúnt in his place.

Last time I got punched was when I was fighting at 16.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Mild mannered enough but I wouldn't hesitate to get sideways with someone if I felt threatened, I'd be on them like B.O on a biker. It aint nothing for me to whoop another man's ass.

:):mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭A Greedy Algorithm

A few weeks ago. I got drunk - really hammered and got some grub walking home. I was in a bad mood as England lost against Italy. I was walked past this fella about the same age as me and threw a chip at him. He asked why i did it and i attacked him - no better way to get rid of anger than a good fight.

Archeron wrote: »
    My dog sneezed in my eye earlier, does that count?
    Nah.
    Only if the dog is properly toilet trained and does a poo on the carpet you can hit him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,726 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Every week, multiple times... In my MMA gym.
    Doesn't really count, does it?

Outside of that it's been years, I'm gonna say in 2007 when a mate of mine was being messed around by a super hero security guard. We'd been skateboarding near Steven's green Shopping Centre and were told to move off, so we started on our way but no, the dick head had to try and "confiscate" my mates board and pinned him to the ground. Gave him some wallop, poor **** didn't know what hit him.

Night clubs, bars, confrontations, never ended up in a fight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

A few weeks ago. I got drunk - really hammered and got some grub walking home. I was in a bad mood as England lost against Italy. I was walked past this fella about the same age as me and threw a chip at him. He asked why i did it and i attacked him - no better way to get rid of anger than a good fight.

That's the height of scumbaggery in fairness

That's gonna get your head kicked in some day... and badly I might add.

I never start on anybody unless they start on me, or provoke me enough. People who look for a fight are utter gobshítes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭Merrion

About 25 years ago a drunk guy hit me in a Chinese (where I was working at the time) - he as being very racist and I told him I didn't appreciate it. The kitchen staff came downstairs after he'd hit me and..erm .. it didn't go to well for him from that point.

(It wasn't as artistic as a Bruce Lee film but pretty much as effective)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

Last time I got hit was maybe 10 years ago. Came out of a chipper and got jumped /destroyed by 7 people. I only know there was 7 because I was told few days later. I have no idea why and no memory of it cos I was absolutely out my mind.
    Nike footprints on my face and all haha.

The last time I hit someone was probably 7 or 8 years ago. Was in a pub and some sket from my town took my jacket. I got the jacket back minus my phone. Someone told me the skets scumbag boyfriend had my phone. I rang it a few times the next day and he eventually answered and I asked "is that john blah blah"? And the thick c*nt said yeah. I gave him 2 days to get it back to me.
    He met me in the pub to give it back. But started mouthing about it so I hit him a dig for the inconvenience...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Christmas before last the local scum bag stuck in me in the local pub, hit me with no warning, it was a fairly intense affair for a minute or 2 with me giving him a good hiding in the end,the dirty little knacker is in Limerick jail now serving time for attacking his sisters boyfriend and leaving him with 7 stitches on his face and a few broken ribs

Merrion wrote: »

(It wasn't as artistic as a Bruce Lee film but pretty much as effective)
    no need to plead for artistic license here in AH ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Last time I got hit was on Oliver Plunket St here in Cork, no better reason than being there I suppose...

Any who half dazed I picked him up and fairly forcefully put him on his back/head, when the Guards came saw the state of him (still having not gotten up) and the state of me, took my details and called me in for a Thursday evening chat, end result was them trying to issue me with an Adult Caution, didn't accept it and said I would see them in Court, have not heard back about it.

Great concept though, someone assaults you and you get a tick next to your name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,781 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Last time I got properly hit was in a boxing match about...14 years ago. He threw a left hook/uppercut and I thought I'd get my head under the punch in time. I was wrong.

It just exploded on my jaw, and I saw stars, or at least flashes of colour, blue, white and yellow. I remember panicking that I couldn't see, and wondering when my sight came back, where I would be. Would I be on the canvas with the referee counting? Would the fight be over? Would I be in hospital?

When my head did clear, his fist was just after leaving my jaw - the whole thought process had occurred in just a fraction of a second.

Last time I hit somebody 'properly' would have been in a fight about 8 months later. I landed a perfect lead overhand right and his eye swelled shut in a matter of seconds. I still remember the 'ooooooh' of the (tiny) crowd on seeing the impact and his head snap back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Elegant Elliot Offen

Some time ago now.

It was 1981 if I remember correctly.
    Myself and a rasta friend named Eddie were in Brixton when word got round that there were goings on in an part of Brixton known as electric avenue.
    I was against going but Eddie insisted we go there and take it higher.
    Deep in his heart he a warrior.

The last time for hitting and being hit for me came more recently than I care to remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Elegant Elliot Offen

Mild mannered enough but I wouldn't hesitate to get sideways with someone if I felt threatened, I'd be on them like B.O on a biker. It aint nothing for me to whoop another man's ass.

:):mad:

Word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

I got hit in town (Dublin city centre ) one night.
    I won't go into details except to say it was completly my doing and fault.

But what was funny was I was knocked out cold and when I came round I woke up an looked up and there was a round of concerned faces looking down on me like what you see in films!!

A few minutes ago. I don't get angry a lot but sometimes when things build up I hit myself (hard enough to hurt, not so hard as to leave a visible mark) to try calm down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

My son hits me. Frequently. He is 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Last time I hit someone was about a year ago when some little b@stard was acting the bollix at my house. I went out and hit him a fairly decent box in the eye. He hasn't been back.

Last time I was hit was this evening, when my 5 year old daughter gave me an unannounced boot in the shin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

I got jumped on holidays about 3 weeks ago. Ended up battered, was fairly bad. All healed now tho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Some lad swung the most random and unexpected loaf at my mate outside a shop in town one night. He missed. I didn't.

Miss him that is, it wasn't a game of "who can loaf my mate the best".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 302 ✭✭JonKelleher

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    Last lad I boxed, which was over a year ago now, was some cocky wanker getting thick at a lad for "looking like a fagg*t", someone pointed out that I was gay, so he turned and started laughing and telling loads of really crap gay jokes and slagging me, but in a dickish way. I laughed along until he got close enough then I decked him and broke his nose. The miserable little creature cowered away straight after that.

Delighted I put the cúnt in his place.

Last time I got punched was when I was fighting at 16.

Great story, needs more dragons though.

Believe what you want, it happened.

It's common enough to hear and see shít like that around. I'm happy he'll never do it again my company at least.

That's the one and only time I've broken anything on anybody. I was damn pleased tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 302 ✭✭JonKelleher

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    Believe what you want, it happened.

It's common enough to hear and see shít like that around. I'm happy he'll never do it again my company at least.

That's the one and only time I've broken anything on anybody. I was damn pleased tbh.

Yeah, you're a real tough guy. What a big man you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

last time i hit someone was paddys day 2003
    he was threatening my mate a taxi driver and he'd pressed the button on the radio so we'd know what was happening

last time i got hit was in 1995 when i realised that a fight with an english man 15 years older than you isn't about talking for a few minutes till we decide its on; its hey you, who me? bang

Yeah, you're a real tough guy. What a big man you are.

I don't claim to be, and I don't seek out fights. But if I've spent years in a gym, it's gonna help me in a fight.

Plus the fact that I haven't met a loud racist or homophobic person who wasn't a complete pussy when it came down to someone challenging him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,084 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I've never hit anyone.

I got nutted by a cowardly scumbag cúnt in a nightclub when I was 21, he broke my nose and runs off, then a bouncer (the local "hard man" ) sees me covered in blood and nearly breaks my arm throwing me out.

Unfortunately this was before CCTV in clubs, nowadays I'd have both of them up on assault charges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Not pathetic really, but not even at school?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Oh well least it was for a good reason :rolleyes:

I'm sure you'll make a lovely adult one day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

The last time I got hit was when I was married to my ex-husband back in the mid-eighties.

I belted him back ..... had enough of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

What was the biggest ass whoopin you ever took?

I remember I was savagely beaten in Hayes Thurles in 2006, had an orbit fracture, broken jaw, soft tissue damage in both arms and broken ribs. (I was brought down to ground and kicked)

That was the worst I ever got, my mother didn't even beat me that badly. All started over an innocent wisecrack and a pack of cigarettes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,115 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Last year of school - it wasn't in Ireland, but was the equivalent of Sixth Year, around the time I turned 17. This other guy just started hating me and tried to bully me, and I had no idea why. I hadn't done anything to him specifically, but he was being egged-on by his friend. My mind was elsewhere, I thought I'd left that kind of crap behind years earlier.

It came to a head in a class, in front of a teacher. He hit me in the ribs, and I just walloped him in the face, breaking his nose. He ran out with blood everywhere, and the teacher (a former military guy) said ... nothing.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray