Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday july cup day

• 12-07-2014 1:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭

Unless aidankkk posts im prob avoiding but why is Sole Power 12/1. Awesome speed when asked so why the big price for an extra furlong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭BQQ

Deco99 wrote: »
    Unless aidankkk posts im prob avoiding but why is Sole Power 12/1. Awesome speed when asked so why the big price for an extra furlong?

Doubtful runner due to the soft ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Plus he's a much better horse over 5 furlongs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

fancies smaih, Louis the Louis, noble gift, hot streak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Taking the father out to Dundalk to watch a horse he's interested in. If anyone's got any info give me a shout through here or PM! Would be nice going back to Galway with at least one winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Paddy is ducking Slade Power big time, and taking a right view on the O'Brien horse at 7's. They ducked Slade Power at Royal Ascot as well. Must get some of that 5-2 for myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭carman2011

Deco99 wrote: »

Cause he needs lighting fast ground and 5f.
    I'd be surprised if he places today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

1.25 Ascot

Savoy Showgirl 4/1

Surely Savoy Showgirl must take a truck of beating today. A full sister to Richard Hannon's lightly raced twice Group 3 placed Pausanias (retired now), Savoy Showgirl built on a promising debut (behind the reopposing Juventas;5lb better off) with a really likeable victory over 6f at Haydock back in May in soft ground. Under Willam Buick, Savoy Showgirl was always in the front line and having looked headed 1f out she battled back gamely to score by 3/4L in a race that has worked out very well. The slightly unlucky debutant runner up Malabar has since come out and ran a blinder in the Albanny Stakes at Royal Ascot when a fast finishing 4th whilst the 4th home (also making debut) has since won a Maiden in nice style. Additionally the 3rd and 5th have both run with a lot of credit in defeat subsequently and it looks some very decent form. For her efforts, I think a mark of 77 definitely underestimates Michael Bell's filly who enters Nursery company for the first time and the excellent apprentice Louis Steward takes a very handy 5lb off her back as well. Although her win came on soft, Savoy Showgirl seems to handle the quick conditions she is likely to tackle today just fine and her brother seem to enjoy quick ground so I have no worries in that department. She's also stepped up to 7f today which looks like it will suit massively judged on her two career runs and Pausanias did all his racing over 7f/8f and the extra distance looks sure to suit on breeding as well. With the yard in flying form, I really think its going to take a very well handicapped horse to beat Savoy Showgirl if making natural improvement and I've had a sizeable bet at 4s.

I would be very keen on 1.55 Ascot Discussiontofollow 10/1 if it wasn't for the draw in stall 1. A progressive an unexposed sprinter, this 4 year old was definitely unlucky when 3rd in the Paddy Power Scurry in the Curragh 2 weeks ago (winner won again since) and a 3lb rise seems very fair to me. The drop to the minimum trip today could be the making of Mike Murphy's gelding as he has a superb cruising speed and he'll love the quick ground. As shown at Royal Ascot and Yesterday, there seems to be a definite bias for high numbers in the sprints which would make this fella's draw potentially the worst in the field (there is a lot of pace low though). I've no doubt that Discussiontofollow has a lot more to come in this game and hopefully his stall is not the difference between defeat and victory today.

It's going to take an absolutely herculean effort for Educate 25/1 to win the John Smiths Cup today under top weight of 9-10 and a mark of 112 and I can't advise anyone to back him. The positives are he carries weight very well, I think York's long straight is absolutely ideal for him and he should get a fast pace to aim at which should be ideal but the last 5 winners of this have carried 8-11 less than 9 stone and its an astronomical task facing him today. I really hope they just drop Educate close to stone last and have him try pick off horse from the back of the field but I really think the absolute best he can achieve today is a place. I bloody hope I'm wrong though and I will be absolutely over the moon if he can win this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Slade Power Slade Power Slade Power @ 7/2

Unlike the mighty Sole Power, the ground wont be an issue whatsoever for him (may even suit him better). I thought he was probably worth a bit more for his Ascot win as he travelled almost too well into it and hit the front way too soon.

I also like Hot Streak ew @ 10/1. Whatever the trainer might say, I think this horse is much better for softer ground and seems to travel and pick up in it easier than most. He was a fine 3rd in the Kings Stand and I think he'll have a live chance today.

If the ground dries out I think Noozhoh Canarias will take a serious amount of catching. Otherwise I'd be heavily in the Slade Power camp.

I'd also be very wary of taking Due Diligence's 2nd at Royal Ascot literally. There was a huge bias for the stand side all week and it was pretty much the only race at the meeting over the straight course where most runners favoured the far side. As such, Due Diligence getting as close as he did may be hugely flattering. Time will tell but wouldn't go near him at any price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Interesting runner for me today is LIEUTENANT KAFFEE in the 2.40 Newmarket

Unbeaten in 2 starts but now upped in class. It's a gamble as we really don't know how good this horse is but the fact he has been put in this sort of race leads me to believe they think he has a chance and at 8/1 Im willing to part with a few quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Catllwilldo in the first in Dundalk, highly fancied by the trainer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭droidman123

I can't believe Richard fahy hasn't got even one runner in the john smiths gold cup today.can't remember the last time that happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,476 ✭✭✭shmeee

I've got word for this a number of times this year, and with Strategic Heights form looking good also, you'd have to slide to Catwilldo in the weights, 15lb in favour today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

shmeee wrote: »
    I've got word for this a number of times this year, and with Strategic Heights form looking good also, you'd have to slide to Catwilldo in the weights, 15lb in favour today.

Seriously shrewd man is garvan, taking the 4/1 with powers while its there.

An e/w bet to nothing for me @ 5s. AW form speaks for itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭razorhead

Edgar Balthazar - 6.40 Hamilton - suppose to be a machine!!!
    Felmah - 3.40 ascot

and Rannaq 4.30 Dundalkfor a treble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Just heard Darley have bought Slade Power to stand at Rathangan Stud..

Id love to know how much that cost them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭nuckeythompson

All eyes are on Slade power but I think 16/1 is too big a price for Sole POwer e/w
    Sole Power for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,908 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Above The Law 10-1 ew 2.10
    I like this off this weight.

Estidhkaar 3-1 2.40

Cougar Mountain 40-1 ew 3.50
    Well liked horse, yard expect a big show.

Le Chelie 5-1 ew 3.55

Looks a tight contest but I'll follow ew @ 5\1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

rossom wrote: »
    1.25 Ascot

Savoy Showgirl 4/1

Surely Savoy Showgirl must take a truck of beating today. A full sister to Richard Hannon's lightly raced twice Group 3 placed Pausanias (retired now), Savoy Showgirl built on a promising debut (behind the reopposing Juventas;5lb better off) with a really likeable victory over 6f at Haydock back in May in soft ground. Under Willam Buick, Savoy Showgirl was always in the front line and having looked headed 1f out she battled back gamely to score by 3/4L in a race that has worked out very well. The slightly unlucky debutant runner up Malabar has since come out and ran a blinder in the Albanny Stakes at Royal Ascot when a fast finishing 4th whilst the 4th home (also making debut) has since won a Maiden in nice style. Additionally the 3rd and 5th have both run with a lot of credit in defeat subsequently and it looks some very decent form. For her efforts, I think a mark of 77 definitely underestimates Michael Bell's filly who enters Nursery company for the first time and the excellent apprentice Louis Steward takes a very handy 5lb off her back as well. Although her win came on soft, Savoy Showgirl seems to handle the quick conditions she is likely to tackle today just fine and her brother seem to enjoy quick ground so I have no worries in that department. She's also stepped up to 7f today which looks like it will suit massively judged on her two career runs and Pausanias did all his racing over 7f/8f and the extra distance looks sure to suit on breeding as well. With the yard in flying form, I really think its going to take a very well handicapped horse to beat Savoy Showgirl if making natural improvement and I've had a sizeable bet at 4s.

Drifted to 6s as well, great stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭FrKurtFahrt

1.25 Ascot

Savoy Showgirl 4/1

Dediddledebop! Thanking you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Yep, the late drift put me off. Raging now. Well done again Rossom

1.25 Ascot

Savoy Showgirl 4/1

What a ****ing drift! Hopefully a few had some nice bets on as I was very confident with her. Would have genuinely backed her at 2s!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭langer91

Great shout Rossom thank you

The first at York is one for the E/W market but I'm a big fan of Dusky Queen. Moore on board too for a Fahey horse at York. Reckon they both fancy her

Should point out she's twice won here over 7 and lto (again at York) she looked like she needed the mile.

Cheers lads. Glad a couple were on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

andyman wrote: »
    Yep, the late drift put me off. Raging now. Well done again Rossom

same here :o

great picking, wont be waiting for prices next time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

I was quite taken by Cougar Mountain the last day on his debut. Obviously a huge step up and completely different conditions but I'm willing to give him an ew chance at such a big price 40/1. Doubt O'Brien brought him over for the day trip! Think this July Cup could turn out to be another boil over same as the time Mayson won it.

Was B Fifty Two tipped in the other thread not too long ago?

Runs in the next at Ascot in 5. 25/1 currently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,123 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

The kid put up absolutely so the last day he was backed 14's into 4's so obviously well fancied. He never went a yard that day so maybe something was up with him he is running in the 3.15 and with PP money back if 2nd or 3rd if anybody is interested.

Have had a small ew on speed hawk here at Ascot.

andyman wrote: »
    Was B Fifty Two tipped in the other thread not too long ago?

Runs in the next at Ascot in 5. 25/1 currently

Sure was
    june 28 and bolted up

small bet ew after seeing it

Milly's Gift and B Fifty Two e/w for me

It's going to be one of those days...

wow

well done again rossom

Your coming into a bit of form rossom.

Of course I lost to a rossom fancied horse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭sdoc13

Legend rossom. Didn't follow on the first but had been waiting for this one since u first flagged it up when it was a nr. Great ride as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Too easy for Rossom. You should take up quantum mechanics or something more challenging to you :D

I would be very keen on 1.55 Ascot Discussiontofollow 10/1 if it wasn't for the draw in stall 1. A progressive an unexposed sprinter, this 4 year old was definitely unlucky when 3rd in the Paddy Power Scurry in the Curragh 2 weeks ago (winner won again since) and a 3lb rise seems very fair to me. The drop to the minimum trip today could be the making of Mike Murphy's gelding as he has a superb cruising speed and he'll love the quick ground. As shown at Royal Ascot and Yesterday, there seems to be a definite bias for high numbers in the sprints which would make this fella's draw potentially the worst in the field (there is a lot of pace low though). I've no doubt that Discussiontofollow has a lot more to come in this game and hopefully his stall is not the difference between defeat and victory today.

I would have had a much bigger bet had the draw not been a doubt but absolutely chuffed for Mike Murphy. He has a serious cruising speed and Pattern Company beckons!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Well done Rossom, serious stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Sliderman

ROSSOM is KING..............great tipping..........thanks for your write up's..........deadly is a poor superlative..........Educate will probably win now to round off the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭DANNY2014

Nice one rossom..,

Anyone see catwilldo?

Never mentioned on radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,908 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Anyone see catwilldo?

Never in it. Never made much of the ideal draw.
    No challenge to get in the mix

Anyone see catwilldo?

I hope he was a non runner...

Anyone see catwilldo?

broke well, fell back and gave up the rail and fell behind
    pulled on outside for effort 2 out but was never going