Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

5 year milk glut

• 11-07-2014 4:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭

http://www.agriland.ie/news/goldman-sachs-predicting-5-year-milk-glut/

If as predicted we are entering a half decade of international over supply then
    things surely cannot look good for anyone who has borrowed heavily for expansion or even new entrants. Imagine 5 years of milk prices of 20 cent a litre and throw in a year like 2012 and the prospects are troubling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

royalmeath wrote: »
    http://www.agriland.ie/news/goldman-sachs-predicting-5-year-milk-glut/

If as predicted we are entering a half decade of international over supply then
    things surely cannot look good for anyone who has borrowed heavily for expansion or even new entrants. Imagine 5 years of milk prices of 20 cent a litre and throw in a year like 2012 and the prospects are troubling.

What did farmers get in 2009? That was the bad one wasnt it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

i averaged 27.7 cpl, as i said earlier in the week, we survived it.... wouldnt want another one like it. The problem would be where there where 2 dire years in a row

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Did anyone ever come across a survey of the cost of produceing milk internationaly not the milk price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

there was a lot on the brink of getting out of dairying at the time....as I remember...it was after 2 years of bad enough weather at the time....with only mediocore enough prices in 2008.....no mind the crash in the general econmy and the complete lack of credit

its some change in five years that's for sure....what will it be like in five more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

Let's not get carried away. Reality is that it was one poor (not bad!) year in circa 30. FFS!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

It was easy to buy quota in 09. And rolled barley was 130 a ton.

It was the weather that year that fcuked me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

2 billion litres would be sorted by an increase in consumption in China amounting to around 4 cent/week for your average Chinese consumer. If that's what the glut amounts to we'll be grand. Sounds like a copy editor was stuck for a headline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

mf240 wrote: »
    It was easy to buy quota in 09. And rolled barley was 130 a ton.

It was the weather that year that fcuked me!!

+1 had to buy in bales in July in 09' was a wet year for us anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

sheebadog wrote: »
    Let's not get carried away. Reality is that it was one poor (not bad!) year in circa 30. FFS!!!

Correct, 07 was the best I remember as price rose but inputs stayed low in 08 we had a high price but a massive jump in energy 09 was a low price with high energy prices. I think what did more damage was all the grant building done in 08-9 and the repayments kicked.

There were people hit with a perfect storm of credit crunch, payments they under budgeted for, low price, high inputs, a low milk price and a wet back end.

That'll fcuk yer year up no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

2 billion litres would be sorted by an increase in consumption in China amounting to around 4 cent/week for your average Chinese consumer. If that's what the glut amounts to we'll be grand. Sounds like a copy editor was stuck for a headline.

It's funny how you can totally dismiss it without a second thought!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭whitebriar

Sounds like a copy editor was stuck for a headline.
    Do ya know what,that's exactly what it is,predicting output for 2 years never mind 5 years is laughable,I stopped reading at that point

It's funny how you can totally dismiss it without a second thought!

Follow the money. What plays have goldman sachs made in dairy futures or dairy processors recently? Do you really think they published a note like this out of the goodness of their hearts?

The "glut" they are predicting amounts to around 0.3 of a percent of current production. Hands up everybody who'd take Ireland being 0.3 of a percent over quota pn the first of April next year if they were offered it today.

Actually the more I think about it the more I dismiss it. 0.3 of a percent is so small that it would be well within the margin of error for a six month prediction never mind to say one for the next five years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Tbh I think this is just scare mongering by NZ.
    They know there is going to be a lot more competition in the market post 2015 and they want to have as much as they can them selves.
    I remember reading an article on agriland a few weeks ago about fonterra and the man they interviewed was asking the question how come they aren't turning more profit or the same profit compared to Friesland Campania. They are as big as them as regards milk pool but are not turning near the amount if profit they should.

Makes ye think

Follow the money. What plays have goldman sachs made in dairy futures or dairy processors recently? Do you really think they published a note like this out of the goodness of their hearts?

The "glut" they are predicting amounts to around .3 of a percent of current production. Hands up everybody who'd take Ireland being .3 of a percent over quota pn the first of April next year if they were offered it today.

Excellent Free. Follow the money.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭conor t

whitebriar wrote: »
    Do ya know what,that's exactly what it is,predicting output for 2 years never mind 5 years is laughable,I stopped reading at that point

Ye,3 or 4 months is the most you can look forward really if your to have some degree of accuracy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

too many variables involved to predict agri markets more than anything, with weather, livestock, demand, disease, famine or over supply etc etc

all we can do is be optimistic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Correct, 07 was the best I remember as price rose but inputs stayed low in 08 we had a high price but a massive jump in energy 09 was a low price with high energy prices. I think what did more damage was all the grant building done in 08-9 and the repayments kicked.

Plus the 40,40,20 grant payment delay due to the pig feed scandal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Cow Porter wrote: »
    too many variables involved to predict agri markets more than anything, with weather, livestock, demand, disease, famine or over supply etc etc

all we can do is be optimistic :)

Let's not be over optimistic, cow numbers and dairy AI usage are a fair indicator of future production, and we all now where they're going at the moment. Plus it could take v little to upset the whole thing as we saw with the Chinese babies/melamine scare in 09, in which we were powerless. Lots of rumours circulating recently about connections between johnes, milk and and a human disease which I don't even want to put in print. If that was to raise it's ugly head it could have a catastrophic effect on all of us and our markets. I'm not scaremongering, and I hope I'm wrong, but there's a lot us expanding with no insurance against another hiccup like 09, so let's proceed with caution!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Goldman Sachs are the people who brought us junk bonds and subprime mortgage bonds amongst other creative financial products, take what they say with a pinch of salt. I'd put more emphasis on what the research team in Rabobank say. In fact if your worried about the milk market over the next few years then go and buy shares in the the big dairy co's like Nestle, Danone etc or the Tesco's because as we know even though the price to the farmer falls the price in the supermarkets doesn't so people along the supply chain will make greater profits and share price will reflect this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭MiloDublin

Where did the oversupply prediction come from? As the middle classes in China and India switch from tea to lattes/cappuchinos the demand for milk has soared, a market the New Zealanders have opened up.

There may well be an oversupply and a drop in prices but theres not a hope in hell of it lasting five years. 18 to 24 months would be about as long as it would take for things to realign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Make no decisions based on info from anyone with vested interest. Analyse and stress test your own budgets is how I'd do it. Play with the average prices for the year and see can you build surplus at good price and absorb a bad price. No investment from cash flow and only on what's necessary not handy

Jeez lads ye wouldn't know a bad run if it bit ye in the leg.
    Cheer up for Chrissakes it might never happen !!!!

mf240 wrote: »
    There may well be an oversupply and a drop in prices but theres not a hope in hell of it lasting five years. 18 to 24 months would be about as long as it would take for things to realign.

18 to 24 months of a bad milk price would have serious implications for a lot of lads!

Jeez lads ye wouldn't know a bad run if it bit ye in the leg.
    Cheer up for Chrissakes it might never happen !!!!

If u wouldn't even consider selling a field of wholecrop for €800 an acre, ur not doing too bad either!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

keep going wrote: »
    Did anyone ever come across a survey of the cost of produceing milk internationaly not the milk price

OwUFQmWrEonfHuNwjp-j.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭Coonagh

Make no decisions based on info from anyone with vested interest. Analyse and stress test your own budgets is how I'd do it. Play with the average prices for the year and see can you build surplus at good price and absorb a bad price. No investment from cash flow and only on what's necessary not handy

This is the absolute best advice on this subject, too many producers regardless of what sector they are in are too preoccupied with forces outside of their control, focusing on controlling what's inside your farm gate is the best way to handle market volatility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Why is France such an expensive place to produce milk, it's similar to Saudi Arabia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

tanko wrote: »
    Why is France such an expensive place to produce milk, it's similar to Saudi Arabia.

Unions.......

No point asking me, it costs me 42cpl to produce! :)

Because french farmers wont work 100 hrs a week for peanuts, and hired labour is expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Excellent advice too many of us are too worried about things that happen outside our farm gate whilst not controlling what we can,our cows,grass,solids,breeding etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

No point asking me, it costs me 42cpl to produce! :)

Can you say how much you're getting paid for it at the moment?

37 cpl + vat.
    Guaranteed 39 for August and sept. After that who knows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

conor t wrote: »
    Ye,3 or 4 months is the most you can look forward really if your to have some degree of accuracy
    so anyone hazard a guess at the next 3-4 months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭stretch film

whelan2 wrote: »
    so anyone hazard a guess at the next 3-4 months?

Not with any great degree of certainty no. Glanbia were planning a further 3 cent cut , prob over 2 mths, and already the market has stabilised/turned.

37 cpl + vat.
    Guaranteed 39 for August and sept. After that who knows?

I take it ALL costs are included in the 42 c/l ie. Your salary and all repayments on loans etc unlike the profit monitor here.

Wages.
    6 salaries but it skews the process as dairy is not the primary enterprise.

Wages.
    6 salaries but it skews the process as dairy is not the primary enterprise.

Do I take it all developments of the business are done through finance. Whats paying better than dairy and is it simply because its a more efficient use of expensive labour.

OwUFQmWrEonfHuNwjp-j.jpg

Probaly about right .most seem to think this article shows the folly of expansion whereas I think it shows the importance of keeping the system low cost, not all expansion has to be high borrowings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭sandydan

from fellows who worked on farms there for a while costs vary according to area to area some area like Ireland other parts have to cope with severe drought during summer months,and harvested crops fed for periods.one chap on farm where hay is main crop said other swift variation in weather pattern apply locally in other areas ,at start of summer hay making weather can change swiftly and housing is suddenly a requirement with hay then wrapped as haylage,cows housed for couple of days and out again, these are some of extremes but it costs. must say though French farmers are vocal at best of time and not afraid to take to highways to fight their cause,
    wages cant be major issue there ,2 of those i spoke to were getting around €200 + cabin to sleep in ,bought own food outside working times, same as if working in pubs or shops.

sandydan wrote: »
    from fellows who worked on farms there for a while costs vary according to area to area some area like Ireland other parts have to cope with severe drought during summer months,and harvested crops fed for periods.one chap on farm where hay is main crop said other swift variation in weather pattern apply locally in other areas ,at start of summer hay making weather can change swiftly and housing is suddenly a requirement with hay then wrapped as haylage,cows housed for couple of days and out again, these are some of extremes but it costs. must say though French farmers are vocal at best of time and not afraid to take to highways to fight their cause,
    wages cant be major issue there ,2 of those i spoke to were getting around €200 + cabin to sleep in ,bought own food outside working times, same as if working in pubs or shops.

"Qualified" farm workers are €35k to €50k/ annum. Multiply by two for real cost(prsi etc).
    Include nine weeks of paid holidays!

Who's the boss ?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭EamonKilkenny

"Qualified" farm workers are €35k to €50k/ annum. Multiply by two for real cost(prsi etc).
    Include nine weeks of paid holidays!

Who's the boss ?????

Only nine weeks!! That's ridiculous, how do you manage their holidays. Can u make them take it off peak or can they choose when they want?

3 weeks when I want.
    6 weeks when they want.

I hate the "them and us" shyte.
    No I in team and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭EamonKilkenny

3 weeks when I want.
    6 weeks when they want.

I hate the "them and us" shyte.
    No I in team and all that.

That's a lot of paid leave, but if they are giving their all otherwise you can't ask for much more. Regarding any paid labour, you're right, they should also be working "with" you, not "for" you. It makes a big difference moral wise I think.

Just realised it's not dairy farming general and I am gone off topic, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

More bad news Dairy lads.....and Lassie
    http://www.agriland.ie/news/milk-production-minus-cow/

More bad news Dairy lads.....and Lassie
    http://www.agriland.ie/news/milk-production-minus-cow/

For sale 94 well bred fr cows, apply to keep going c/oboards.ie.genuine sale, owner changing his system of farming to something with better prospects but he hasnt figured that out yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Crossakiel

Maybe you dairy guys should be considering beef!!

http://www.agriland.ie/news/dairy-volatility-hit-3-4-months/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

keep going wrote: »
    For sale 94 well bred fr cows, apply to keep going c/oboards.ie.genuine sale, owner changing his system of farming to something with better prospects but he hasnt figured that out yet

For sale. 141 MF 5610. 300+ hrs. Selling due to being scared of milk price.
    Trade ins considered