Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Please welcome mike_ie to F&F

• 10-07-2014 9:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭

Good morning all, or afternoon, evening etc for those appearing later:D

Will everyone please welcome mike_ie to the Moderator team here at Farming & Forestry (along with Beekeeping, Forestry, Sheep and Smallholding)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

Congrats Mike and good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

TheBody wrote: »
    Congrats Mike and good luck!

Thanks - I might need it... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Great to have you here mike_ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Wheelinone

mike_ie wrote: »
    Thanks - I might need it... :D

There's no might about it mike. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I dunno mike. I'm going to wait a while to see how we get on before I welcome you..... it's the way it's gotta be. I'm suspicious of new people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

more mods than contributors soon :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

There's more yellow and red cards around here than in the World Cup. Why is the farming forum moderated differently than other forums on boards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭on the river

Another mod.

At least it's reliable mike.

Mike have you any knowledge on farming matters?

tanko wrote: »
    There's more yellow and red cards around here than in the World Cup. Why is the farming forum moderated differently than other forums on boards?

Things have changed drastically in this forum tanko.

I agree why is there so many mods?

Only two a year ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Welcome mike. Have you a background in farming?

I dunno mike. I'm going to wait a while to see how we get on before I welcome you..... it's the way it's gotta be. I'm suspicious of new people
    more mods than contributors soon frown.png

Fair enough - all I can say to that is I hope I get the chance to prove my worth.

Another mod.

At least it's reliable mike.

Mike have you any knowledge on farming matters?

Grew up most of my life on a farm (livestock) in Galway, have worked on some of the big cattle stations in Australia. Back on the family farm again after 8 years overseas, and realistically the person taking it over in the future will more than likely be me. That being said, I'm far from being an expert, I'm still catching up wit things and lurk in F&F fairly regularly to get help and advice. So rest assured I'll have more questions for you lads than you will have for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

do the old Mods get a golden handshake when they leave?

why do the old Mods almost always close up there account when they leave?

Why arent the members asked who they would like to be a mod?

I could be wrong on this but were yourself or oldree contributors to farming and forestry before becoming mods ? who appointed ye?

mike_ie wrote: »
    Fair enough - all I can say to that is I hope I get the chance to prove my worth.

Grew up most of my life on a farm (livestock) in Galway, have worked on some of the big cattle stations in Australia. Back on the family farm again after 8 years overseas, and realistically the person taking it over in the future will more than likely be me. That being said, I'm far from being an expert, I'm still catching up wit things and lurk in F&F fairly regularly to get help and advice. So rest assured I'll have more questions for you lads than you will have for me.

Don't worry Mike you are very welcome. Hope you learn alot

I appreciate it. There's a lot of expertise floating round these parts - would be foolish of me not to tap into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

There should be a sarcasm emoticon for a lot of my posts.....
    Welcome mike. May the coloured cards flow freely

Whoops - my bad :D Thanks for the welcome :D
    May the coloured cards flow freely

I hope not!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

He means birthday cards! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Mike, you're very welcome and all the best. It can get hot and heavy at times, generally gets sorted among ourselves, so go handy with the cards would be my request

Why do we need so many Mods?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Welcome mike. May the coloured cards flow freely

Yes, I like the idea of a sarcasm emoticon. It's an affliction really, gets me in more trouble than laughs I'm afraid! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Welcome on board mike and I hope you enjoy it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

We must have done something wrong in the past

Reggie. wrote: »
    We must have done something wrong in the past

Ya Something!

do the old Mods get a golden handshake when they leave?

why do the old Mods almost always close up there account when they leave?

Why arent the members asked who they would like to be a mod?

I don't think it's the other mods that appoint any new mods. That's left up to the head boys in administration I believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Reggie for Mod

sure he knows it all :p

I could be wrong on this but were yourself or oldree contributors to farming and forestry before becoming mods ? who appointed ye?

silence is deafening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Lads, please. I don't want this turning into anything more than a thread welcoming a new mod in place of one that left.

If you have any questions/discussion wanted about mod actions, there is a dispute forum where you may talk about it.

But it is not allowed on the forums.

Reggie for Mod

sure he knows it all :p

Keep it up you :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

silence is deafening

The first rule of being a boards moderator: You do not talk about being a boards moderator.

The second rule of being a boards moderator: You do not talk about being a boards moderator.

Where the sarcasm emoticon??

towzer2010 wrote: »
    The first rule of being a boards moderator: You do not talk about being a boards moderator.

The second rule of being a boards moderator: You do not talk about being a boards moderator.

Where the sarcasm emoticon??

Watching fight club are we

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

First of all, and most importantly, welcome Mike your knowledge and experience will be welcome.

Secondly, I'm disappointed that a welcome thread should be dragged off-topic by venting.

Let's get back on track.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

Watching fight club are we

Ya. How did you know?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭Charliebull

welcome mike, pity ur from galway, enough then there eejits here already

i agree 2 years ago we had 2 mods and the place was a mad house, now its like a morge and full of mods

BTW who the fcuk is niamh.ie

welcome mike, pity ur from galway, enough then there eejits here already

i agree 2 years ago we had 2 mods and the place was a mad house, now its like a morge and full of mods

BTW who the fcuk is niamh.ie
    One of the people from the head office or a rep for a company like esb or something I believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭Charliebull

One of the people from the head office or a rep for a company like esb or something I believe

why reggie, you are well informed were you a mod in a previous life;)

there is a few ex cons (sorry mods) floating about:D

anyway we are hogging mikes party, sorry mike and welcome again, watch out for that "genghis cant" lad

why reggie, you are well informed were you a mod in a previous life;)

there is a few ex cons (sorry mods) floating about:D

anyway we are hogging mikes party, sorry mike and welcome again, watch out for that "genghis cant" lad

Its known as situational awareness ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,840 ✭✭✭Dav

Hello all.

First of all, welcome mike_ie :)

This forum is moderated less stringently than a lot of our forums - you may not realise that because you don't spend time on other parts of the site, but believe me, it is very much how this forum operates. The reasons for this are because you're generally speaking a good bunch and don't cause any trouble and long may that continue.

Making decisions about who should enforce policy based on popularity contests is a disaster, this is why we don't do it. We (the Admins of the site along with the Category Mods and the local Mods) pick people who have a level head and who have an interest in the topic at hand. These suggestions come from the Mods and CMods primarily as they have far more "local" knowledge of their given communities than the Admins do.

It is really unfortunate that Rovi left, he closed his account all of a sudden and without talking to anyone and to be honest, he left us somewhat in the lurch. He's always been a fantastic mod here and across other parts of the site and so if you happen to be reading Rovi, thank you very much for all you've done, I wish you'd given us an opportunity to have a chat before you closed your account though.

Also, if someone has a username of "Boards.ie: Niamh" then maybe there's a distinct possibility that they work here? :D Niamh is my colleague on the Community team here in the office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Welcome mike if your like a good ref we won't notice you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

Welcome mike from a fellow Galway man. You might want to bring a length of wavin for some of these lads. Alot of their social interaction involves only meeting the milkman and can go a bit wild at times on here :-) The beef and sheep lads are very well rounded individuals though.

Best of luck.

munkus wrote: »
    Welcome mike from a fellow Galway man. You might want to bring a length of wavin for some of these lads. Alot of their social interaction involves only meeting the milkman and can go a bit wild at times on here :-) The beef and sheep lads are very well rounded individuals though.

Best of luck.

munkus wrote: »
    Welcome mike from a fellow Galway man. You might want to bring a length of wavin for some of these lads.

Needn't worry - I come prepared.... ;)

Big%20New%20Cattle%20Prod.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Good luck mike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Is there money following this mods crack or what, how many mods have we now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Welcome to the jungle ! Great tune. So apt. The best of good luck to ya! :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Welcome on board(s) :D Mike, hope we won't keep you too busy.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,456 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Welcome Mike and best of luck. I hope to get a feel for you over time.
    Now don't get excited - I said feel for you not a feel of you ;)

Base price wrote: »
    Welcome Mike and best of luck. I hope to get a feel for you over time.
    Now don't get excited - I said feel for you not a feel of you ;)

Getting a lads hopes up like that.... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,205 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Things have changed drastically in this forum tanko.

I agree why is there so many mods?

Only two a year ago
    think its better having more than 2 mods, at least that way if there is an issue there is more of a chance of a mod being around to deal with it before it gets out of control, anyway welcome mike.ie and good luck to rovi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Howya Mike, I've been looking at the Brooks thread on After Hours, shor we are a bunch of Choir boys here, compared to some of the hair-trigger lunatics over there...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Howya Mike, I've been looking at the Brooks thread on After Hours, shor we are a bunch of Choir boys here, compared to some of the hair-trigger lunatics over there...............

Your completely under-selling us there :pac: