Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€4500 with two choices in mind. Would love feedback.

• 09-07-2014 11:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,692 ✭✭✭

Mini Cooper (2004)
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mini-cooper/7110289

Opel Astra (2006)
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/opel-astra-diesel/7270120?sv=1

I had my heart completely set on the mini for a while. Long NCT, low mileage, and a nice colour. Rang the seller today, who was a lovely older gentleman, and told him we could arrange a meet for next week at some stage and that I would get back to him. I asked if he'd mind me getting a mechanic to take a look and he said he would actually really appreciate me doing that, as he's a private seller and doesn't want anything coming back to him. Sounds good to me. Then I stumbled on this Astra ad today.. It's two years younger, with a more economical engine size.. Also NCTd until 2016. The only thing setting off Alarm bells in my head is that the mileage isn't listed anywhere on the Astra ad.

This will be the first car I'm purchasing myself. I'm still on a provisional but there's no reason I shouldn't pass my test when I go for it. I realise that probably makes me sound young but I'm 22, not that it matters. Just wanted to clear that up.

Like I said, I think my heart is set on the Mini but the Astra probably makes more sense. Any thoughts or experiences are appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Can you manage insurance on the mini?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,692 ✭✭✭Danger781

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Can you manage insurance on the mini?

Haven't gotten a quote on the Astra, but the mini was manageable. 1300 on my own, or 1100 with the Father as a named driver.

Edit : On a provisional license

Not being funny, but have you worked what % of your income you'll spend on car loan (if applicable) insurance, maintainance, petrol etc?

You don't want to be basically working for your car.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Not being funny, but have you worked what % of your income you'll spend on car loan (if applicable) insurance, maintainance, petrol etc?

You don't want to be basically working for your car.

I worked out the cost of a loan, insurance, and tax and that worked out at 10% of my yearly earnings pre tax. Seems reasonable enough to me, or am I dreaming? That doesn't include petrol or maintenence..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I think the Astra looks shyte (and tired) and those early Mini's aren't built as well as you'd think.

I'd avoid both.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I think the Astra looks shyte (and tired) and those early Mini's aren't built as well as you'd think.

I'd avoid both.

Can you elaborate on the Astra? As for the mini I haven't heard many complaints about them personally. Any personal experiences or stories you've heard?

Danger781 wrote: »
    Can you elaborate on the Astra?
    It's modified, no mileage listed, small diesel engine in a large car with a less than unmodified look (ok the owner might be very mechanically sympathetic but first impressions suggest otherwise to me), tacky alloys, not standard stereo and dirty seats.

There's far better for the money and good Astra's are ten a penny.
    As for the mini I haven't heard many complaints about them personally.

Gearboxes, electrics, fit and finish of the interior aren't great on the earlier ones. Engines are hardy though. Depending on your budget they're not a cheap car to run despite their size (petrol, tax, insurance). Parts are expensive too and at that age it'll need maintenance. Can a 2004 have a 2 year NCT also?

I think with 4500 to spend you can do a lot better.

It's modified, no mileage listed, small diesel engine in a large car with a less than unmodified look (ok the owner might be very mechanically sympathetic but first impressions suggest otherwise to me), tacky alloys, not standard stereo and dirty seats.

There's far better for the money and good Astra's are ten a penny.

Gearboxes, electrics, fit and finish of the interior aren't great on the earlier ones. Engines are hardy though. Depending on your budget they're not a cheap car to run despite their size (petrol, tax, insurance). Parts are expensive too and at that age it'll need maintenance. Can a 2004 have a 2 year NCT also?

I think with 4500 to spend you can do a lot better.

Yeah the inside of the Astra didn't look nice at all. I did like the small modifications though. I felt it gave the car a bit of personality but I guess that's not always a good thing either.

If I am buying the Mini I'll very likely use motorcheck.ie to scope the car out for me so that should give me a good indication of what to expect in terms of maintenance, at least in the early days. I realise it's expensive to run but it should probably do 30 - 35 mpg from what I've heard? Not the worst numbers by any means.

Yeah the inside of the Astra didn't look nice at all. I did like the small modifications though. I felt it gave the car a bit of personality but I guess that's not always a good thing either.

It's personal taste but I'd be looking for any indication a car was mistreated. I'm old fashioned that way.
    If I am buying the Mini I'll very likely use motorcheck.ie to scope the car out for me so that should give me a good indication of what to expect in terms of maintenance,
    Motorcheck is great for crash history and finance but it won't help at all for maintenance. You need a competent mechanic to look the car over fully.
    I realise it's expensive to run but it should probably do 30 - 35 mpg from what I've heard? Not the worst numbers by any means.

There is much more to running costs that MPG. I'd much prefer get a late MK1 1.6 Focus than a Mini.

It's personal taste but I'd be looking for any indication a car was mistreated. I'm old fashioned that way.

Motorcheck is great for crash history and finance but it won't help at all for maintenance. You need a competent mechanic to look the car over fully.

There is much more to running costs that MPG. I'd much prefer get a late MK1 1.6 Focus than a Mini.

I meant paying for the full package (€199) to send someone out, get a full 101 point report, and a recommendation of what needs to be done etc

Not sure if the mechanic I know would be willing to travel to look at the car. Might be able to arrange something with the seller but he did tell me it's not currently insured so I'd be concerned about driving it. Although I guess my Dad could transfer his insurance while we're in possession of the car..

I meant paying for the full package (€199) to send someone out, get a full 101 point report, and a recommendation of what needs to be done etc

Not sure if the mechanic I know would be willing to travel to look at the car. Might be able to arrange something with the seller but he did tell me it's not currently insured so I'd be concerned about driving it. Although I guess my Dad could transfer his insurance while we're in possession of the car..

Have you asked the seller why they aren't currently driving the car..............it would be worth knowing.

The ad said change of plans but yeah it only rang bells in my head once I was off the phone and repeated what he said to my Dad. The gentleman on the phone put my mind at ease though when he said he'd love for me to get a mechanic to give it a once over. Surely if there was issues he'd be saying the opposite.

Surely if there was issues he'd be saying the opposite.
    It put your mind at ease him saying it didn't it..........for the majority of people that's enough not to bother with a mechanic.

If it's the car you want then go ahead but be warned it's may not live up to expectations.

It put your mind at ease him saying it didn't it..........for the majority of people that's enough not to bother with a mechanic.

If it's the car you want then go ahead but be warned it's may not live up to expectations.

Yeah it all seems so promising it's hard not to get a small bit excited! But yes, I realise it can all go south very quickly. Thanks for your help, but for now I'm still set on the mini. I'll update this thread when I know more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Bit of an odd list really considering both are from different ends of the spectrum with different pros and cons to each other.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Bit of an odd list really considering both are from different ends of the spectrum with different pros and cons to each other.

Aye,

Maybe tell us what you want in a car OP and what you're overall budget is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

There are much better and more satisfying cars then both of these OP. My mother wanted a Mini for years and when she got around to buying, she changed her mind after viewing and test driving a few of them.

Plenty of lads on here could suggest better alternatives.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 52 ✭✭samantha fortune

'Astra dont break down'

Claudia Schiffer wouldn't lie.

propaganda-claudia-schiffer-citroen-xsara.jpg

I'm not looking for anything in particular from a car, just something I can feel happy to look out the window at and think "Yeah, that's mine". So essentially I'm being completely shallow and basing my purchase primarily on looks.

I've gone through an array of wanting various cars from a Civic, Golf, Coupe, Polo, Mini, Astra, Corolla.. You get the picture. The Mini's are the only car that have always been on top.

I don't want to go more than 4500 but if need be I could stretch to 5000.

When I start seeing things like this in my price range I start dreaming... http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/7087209

Have to admit, I'd also be at the back of the queue to take a look at that Astra. The tow bar alone sends shivers...

The Mini on the other hand, whilst not my cup of tea by any stretch of the imagination, could be decent if you want a Mini, and it checks out. Definitely get it to a mechanic (bring the car to a mechanic, don't bring a mechanic to the car - get it up on a ramp in a garage where a mechanic is comfortable and 'at home', without anyone staring him out of it or trying to shtie-talk him to distract him).

But that goes for any and every car.

Also, remember, the seller is selling the car. Although many people are genuine in what they're saying, you can't really trust them as they want, more than anything else, your cash in their hand. So just keep your wits about you and give it a good thorough test drive at various speeds etc. (this is all common sense, I know).

(is it just me or do the passenger and driver seat seem to have different patterns though? Could be just my eyes?)

Personally speaking, I will travel for a car. I recently bought a Peugeot 407 in Limerick. I live in Drogheda. So it was quite a trek, but it was the best i felt i could find in my budget and that suited my taste (aesthetically).

With that said, personally, if I were you, I'd consider the day out to Meath to take a look at this one:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mini-cooper-mini-cooper-high-spec-model/7162640

I like the black and the much more stylish leather interior makes it really, really nice, to me. But that's just me and my opinion. Everyone's different of course (and I'm fond of black cars and leather seats). It has a better looking steering wheel, a sunroof (which is nice, though I personally don't care for sunroofs. I view them as just another electrical problem waiting to happen). It's also coming from a dealer, rather than privately, so that'd be a bit of peace of mind, I suppose.

If you haggled hard and made them put it through the NCT when it's due (cos it's a fairly short NCT) I reckon you'd be onto a winner. Considering the asking price is only €300 more.

But again, that's just me and what I'd do. I realise a lot of people like the convenience of buying locally.

Found a lovely Golf as well...
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/7280244

Have to admit, I'd also be at the back of the queue to take a look at that Astra. The tow bar alone sends shivers...

The Mini on the other hand, whilst not my cup of tea by any stretch of the imagination, could be decent if you want a Mini, and it checks out. Definitely get it to a mechanic (bring the car to a mechanic, don't bring a mechanic to the car - get it up on a ramp in a garage where a mechanic is comfortable and 'at home', without anyone staring him out of it or trying to shtie-talk him to distract him).

But that goes for any and every car.

Also, remember, the seller is selling the car. Although many people are genuine in what they're saying, you can't really trust them as they want, more than anything else, your cash in their hand. So just keep your wits about you and give it a good thorough test drive at various speeds etc. (this is all common sense, I know).

(is it just me or do the passenger and driver seat seem to have different patterns though? Could be just my eyes?)

Personally speaking, I will travel for a car. I recently bought a Peugeot 407 in Limerick. I live in Drogheda. So it was quite a trek, but it was the best i felt i could find in my budget and that suited my taste (aesthetically).

With that said, personally, if I were you, I'd consider the day out to Meath to take a look at this one:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mini-cooper-mini-cooper-high-spec-model/7162640

I like the black and the much more stylish leather interior makes it really, really nice, to me. But that's just me and my opinion. Everyone's different of course (and I'm fond of black cars and leather seats). It has a better looking steering wheel, a sunroof (which is nice, though I personally don't care for sunroofs. I view them as just another electrical problem waiting to happen). It's also coming from a dealer, rather than privately, so that'd be a bit of peace of mind, I suppose.

If you haggled hard and made them put it through the NCT when it's due (cos it's a fairly short NCT) I reckon you'd be onto a winner. Considering the asking price is only €300 more.

But again, that's just me and what I'd do. I realise a lot of people like the convenience of buying locally.

Oh my God the interior of that car is so so nice.. I absolutely love it! Fecking load of miles though! 112k? Am I wrong to be worried about that?

No. If the car drives fine, holds up to a mechanical inspection and has at least some service history, thats perfectly reasonable miles for a 2004 car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

112k miles on a 10 year car is not high. Even less so if its kms (it doesnt specify).

I might give 'em a call tomorrow to see if we can arrange a viewing, and discuss the NCT situation. Should I tell them I want the NCT done before I buy? Or just bring it to a mechanic and have the 6 month warranty as backup in case something goes wrong?

I would yes.

An honest garage should have no issue doing that i'd have thought.

Moneymaker wrote: »
    I would yes.

An honest garage should have no issue doing that i'd have thought.

But since the NCT has months left, can they book it before that? I've never had to arrange it myself so I've no clue :o

3 months in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭ofcork

Nct on the mini should be up next year 2015 as would only have got 1 year being tested this year.

I might give 'em a call tomorrow to see if we can arrange a viewing, and discuss the NCT situation. Should I tell them I want the NCT done before I buy? Or just bring it to a mechanic and have the 6 month warranty as backup in case something goes wrong?

Friend of mine bought a car there recently (last 2-3 weeks) and the NCT is due in... February, I think.

And they agreed that they'd put the car through the NCT for her.

Worst case scenario it'd mean another day out to meath, but im sure if you got them to agree to that, you could just NCT it yourself and if it fails, get in touch with them to fix any issues. And if it passes, dont bother contacting them and continue on with a smile on your face?

Friend of mine bought a car there recently (last 2-3 weeks) and the NCT is due in... February, I think.

And they agreed that they'd put the car through the NCT for her.

Worst case scenario it'd mean another day out to meath, but im sure if you got them to agree to that, you could just NCT it yourself and if it fails, get in touch with them to fix any issues. And if it passes, dont bother contacting them and continue on with a smile on your face?

Guess that could work. Had a talk with my Dad about going to Meath and he thinks it's a bit far. Might be able to convince the girlfriend about a weekend away to Meath instead.. :pac:

Did your friend visit a mechanic in the local area with the car?

Slightly related tangent, I'm still on my L plates (Sigh.. Need to book my test and get rid of 'em). I'm also a named driver under my Dads policy. How would it work with regards to me test driving it?
    - Do I need to put up L plates while I'm testing driving / Driving back to Cork?
    - Insurance? I'm a named driver on my Dads policy. Do I just ring them and say I'm test driving a car? Would it affect my Dads car while I'm testing it?
    - After I buy it do I need to purchase a policy over the phone or something before heading home? Or is there some sort of temporary cover?

Just did a full check with motorcheck.ie
    • Car was imported from the UK in 2008 but seems to be the same owner since
    • Tax is up in two weeks so that's €514 extra
    • NCT due November 26th

The thought of paying nearly €5000 + tax isn't appealing. At all.

Price estimation from them:
    rSPXwL4.png

Well, just to say it, it's very rare you'll buy a car with much in the way of Tax on it. Most cars you buy will generally have tax due either already, or in the coming month.

I'm guessing it was imported cos it's a higher spec car (or maybe it's not. I don't know anything about Minis, or importing from the UK, But generally i hear of people doing it cos they can get a better spec car for the same money as a lower spec one in Ireland?).

I wouldn't be overly bothered with getting a mechanic to check out a car that I was buying off a dealer, so long as the dealer looked fairly genuine (ie; not a chap with a shed at the side of his house). For peace of mind a local mechanic will probably cost the same as the money you just spent on that motor check.

What you want to focus more on, is a decent warranty. Something thats a bit thorough (but at the same time, realistic).

Relatedly, don't Motorcheck a car that you're looking to buy off a dealer. Dealers will, 9 times out of 10, motorcheck it for you, if it means getting it out the door. Only bother with a motor check after you've asked the dealer (and they said no), or when buying privately.

The money you just spend on the Motorcheck would have got you to Meath :p

In relation to the test drive, my comment on this will upset anyone that has a high horse, but just go and test drive it. The chances of you crashing a car in a ten minute test drive are fairly unlikely. If you buy, ring the insurance company and get temporary cover to get it home. I've done this a few times in the past and never been charged for short term/temporary coverage on a different car. Just explain what's happening.

On the drive home, I wouldn't be fussed with L plates or anything like that. in the unlikely event a Garda does pull you, you've a fairly legitimate reason for not having L plates on, anyway. Then when you get home, if you're anything like I was, you'll spend an hour putting them on, making sure they're straight, equal distance from the edges, no bubbles or creases.. haha :P

As I say, everyone's different, but you can travel across ireland in 3-4 hours. That's why I don't mind travelling for a car. I'd hate to miss out on something cos I didn't want to bother driving 3-4 hours (and the drive home will fly past as you'll be in your new car, and you'll be delighted with yourself).

When I went to Limerick for my 407, I left Drogheda at 2pm, and was back here at around 11pm. But it was a fun day out. Nice drive back in the new car, too. Got to see a town i otherwise wouldn't have really likely ever been in, stopped for food, etc. it's a day out, pretty much. I enjoyed it. (but again, everyone's different).

Keep in mind, also, you'll be haggling a bit on price. You won't pay the asking price for the Mini (or any car). No one ever does.

Thanks for the response! The Motorcheck was kind of a spur of the moment idea when I was doubting the idea of travelling up for it. At the very least it kind of put my mind at ease knowing there was nothing standing out as being off. Does seem like a bit of a waste of money when I could've asked the dealer nearly everything on the report... Ah well

As for the dealer, I looked him up on Google maps. He's based behind a petrol station with nothing but fields in either direction. Seems like a fairly random place for a petrol station but I didn't travel down the road either. Simply because he's not a main dealer I'm probably going to get a mechanic to look at it all the same.

I reckon I'll ring the insurance company before going up just to find out what my options are and to get a proper quote. Hopefully there won't be any issues. As you said I'll only be in the car for about 20 or something testing it but I don't think it's worth the risk if it can be avoided at all.

As for the L plates, I assume I'd get some sort of receipt on the day to prove I just bought the car. In the event I was stopped I'd assume I'd be okay since I can prove I just bought it. However there would be also be the fact I'd be driving on my own.. Pretty much a double whammy! Unless we bus up and I drive home. Hmm.

I'm going to ring the dealer on Monday. I want everything organised if I am to head up. What should I be asking him? (Sorry if this seems silly but it's my first car purchase!)

What kind of price do ye reckon I should aim for considering the tax is pretty much out, and I want the NCT done.

On a side note, I might be viewing the original mini I posted this Wednesday. He rang me yesterday and asked if I was still interested. Said I might as well view it. I can get a feel for what a Mini is like. Again, any advice here on what I should be asking him would be appreciated.

- Do I need to put up L plates while I'm testing driving / Driving back to Cork?

Yes, of course.
    - Insurance? I'm a named driver on my Dads policy. Do I just ring them and say I'm test driving a car? Would it affect my Dads car while I'm testing it?

Your fathers policy will not cover you to drive this car. If the seller does not have open driving on the policy (and chances are even if they do it wont cover you as a learner) then you will not be able to legally drive this car on a public road unless the seller is prepared to add you as a named driver to their policy.
    - After I buy it do I need to purchase a policy over the phone or something before heading home? Or is there some sort of temporary cover?

Get a quote in advance, and if you are planning on buying the car then you ring up and say that you want the cover to start at 12pm on whatever date. Arrange to collect the car to coincide with the cover starting. Alternatively, you can ring the insurer when you are collecting the car and arrange for the cover to start from that point.

In relation to the test drive, my comment on this will upset anyone that has a high horse, but just go and test drive it. The chances of you crashing a car in a ten minute test drive are fairly unlikely. If you buy, ring the insurance company and get temporary cover to get it home. I've done this a few times in the past and never been charged for short term/temporary coverage on a different car. Just explain what's happening.

Its about time that use of this phrase carried a ban on this forum...

OP do not be stupid enough to take a chance on driving a car uninsured on a public road. Chances are nothing will happen, but if they do (ie you have an accident or meet a checkpoint) then both you and the seller will find yourselves in a world of trouble; you for driving a car without insurance and them for letting you.

Honestly, my advice is pass the test first.

Then you can treat yourself to a new car.

You might have more money to spend on something more up in years by then too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Found a lovely Golf as well...

"Timing belt just done"
    They don't have timing belts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭Spipov

"Timing belt just done"
    They don't have timing belts.

some of them do. the FSI don't have timing belts, there are some 1.6 engines that have belts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Spipov wrote: »
    some of them do. the FSI don't have timing belts, there are some 1.6 engines that have belts.

That is an FSI, or at least has an FSI badge on the back. It is possible that the timing chain was changed but that would be an indication of neglect.

djimi wrote: »
    Its about time that use of this phrase carried a ban on this forum...

OP do not be stupid enough to take a chance on driving a car uninsured on a public road. Chances are nothing will happen, but if they do (ie you have an accident or meet a checkpoint) then both you and the seller will find yourselves in a world of trouble; you for driving a car without insurance and them for letting you.

Oh come on.. Nothing will happen. I've never heard of anyone being done for anything while on a test drive.

If the OP mentions he's on L's then they probably won't even let him test drive the car if they're by the book. (Most people, dealers included, won't care, though, and we know it).

Thanks for the response! The Motorcheck was kind of a spur of the moment idea when I was doubting the idea of travelling up for it. At the very least it kind of put my mind at ease knowing there was nothing standing out as being off. Does seem like a bit of a waste of money when I could've asked the dealer nearly everything on the report... Ah well

As for the dealer, I looked him up on Google maps. He's based behind a petrol station with nothing but fields in either direction. Seems like a fairly random place for a petrol station but I didn't travel down the road either. Simply because he's not a main dealer I'm probably going to get a mechanic to look at it all the same.

I reckon I'll ring the insurance company before going up just to find out what my options are and to get a proper quote. Hopefully there won't be any issues. As you said I'll only be in the car for about 20 or something testing it but I don't think it's worth the risk if it can be avoided at all.

As for the L plates, I assume I'd get some sort of receipt on the day to prove I just bought the car. In the event I was stopped I'd assume I'd be okay since I can prove I just bought it. However there would be also be the fact I'd be driving on my own.. Pretty much a double whammy! Unless we bus up and I drive home. Hmm.

I'm going to ring the dealer on Monday. I want everything organised if I am to head up. What should I be asking him? (Sorry if this seems silly but it's my first car purchase!)

What kind of price do ye reckon I should aim for considering the tax is pretty much out, and I want the NCT done.

On a side note, I might be viewing the original mini I posted this Wednesday. He rang me yesterday and asked if I was still interested. Said I might as well view it. I can get a feel for what a Mini is like. Again, any advice here on what I should be asking him would be appreciated.

Oh, if he's not a main dealer, then I'd do a bit of googling on him. There are a few indy dealers around here (drogheda) and I've heard some amazing, above-and-beyond stories about one or two of them. I've also heard about dodgier ones that are worth avoiding. Never heard of the chap in meath though.

Just make sure that if he agrees to get it through the NCT, that you get it in writing. If you don't have something in writing, then you don't have it at all.

Again, taking a more realistic approach to getting the car home, don't put up your L plates and drive on your own. Most Gardai won't care and if one does stop you, you've a credible story. But it won't happen.

If you encounter a Garda on the way home, I'll pay your tax for you! :pac:

With regards to the local Mini - that chap ringing you back means he's mad to get rid of the car. You could haggle him really hard, I'd say. Personally I'd still rather the Meath Mini, but if you could get a great deal...

If I were you i'd go look, but be prepared to walk away. If nothing else, itll give you a feel for what to expect on a test drive with a different mini :)

With regards haggling, first off, dont tell the dealer you're coming from Cork. Anyone travelling that distance is leaving with a car. He'll not budge too much on price if he thinks you're mad to get the car.

Find out a rough average price for a mini off dealers in general. And work from there. If this one is priced quite competitively, then you're not gonna knock a lot off. If it's overpriced, you may knock more off, etc.

Also keep in mind that a dealer will (generally) offer a warranty, put it through NCT, etc. so they cant sell as cheaply as a private seller.

That Mini for €4950, i'd try to buy for €4500 with NCT. I probably wouldnt get that, but thats what I'd try for.

I've had three cars. Below were the asking prices and the price i paid:

2000 Ford Focus (dealer). Asking: €1150 - Paid: €950.
    2004 Toyota Rav4 (private). Asking: €5,000 - Paid: €4,350.
    2006 Peugeot 407 (private). Asking: €3,750 - Paid: €3,200.

Of course those may make no real difference to you, but that's just a vague real-world example of how I've gotten on, personally.

Oh come on.. Nothing will happen. I've never heard of anyone being done for anything while on a test drive.

So youre saying that if the OP was unlucky enough to be involved in an accident while on a test drive, or went through a Garda checkpoint, that everything would be fine because the law does not apply while you are test driving a car?

I know Im being overly anal, but its a serious offense to be caught driving uninsured. If you want to chance it then more power to you, and like you said chances are it will be fine (in so far as chances are slim that an accident will occur or that they will encounter a checkpoint). Let the OP make up their own mind though if they want to take the risk.

Don't worry I'm not going to do any stupid with regards to insurance etc. Everything will be above board. Despite the probably 1% chance of anything happening, it's not worth the amount of trouble I would be in.

I am considering leaving it off until I get my full license now, but that means no car for at least the next 10 weeks. I've already received the loan from the Credit Union so the itch to buy is there. After days of consideration a mini is still my number one choice, but I wouldn't say no to a Golf either.

Looking for a car to buy is traumatising.. :)

Coupes aren't bad either (First a mini, now a coupe.. the lads are never gonna stop calling me a hairdresser)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/06-hyundai-coupe-new-nct-until-8-16/6235566
    - Located in Cork
    - Low enough Mileage
    - NCTd for two years
    - Hate the back of it but love the front of it

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/hyundai-coupe-1-6/6936870
    - Year younger and looks nicer
    - Shorter NCT
    - More miles
    - €700 more expensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Coupes aren't bad either (First a mini, now a coupe.. the lads are never gonna stop calling me a hairdresser)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/06-hyundai-coupe-new-nct-until-8-16/6235566
    - Located in Cork
    - Low enough Mileage
    - NCTd for two years
    - Hate the back of it but love the front of it

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/hyundai-coupe-1-6/6936870
    - Year younger and looks nicer
    - Shorter NCT
    - More miles
    - €700 more expensive

Here's my advice fwiw. Start looking nationwide. There's 25 other counties beyond Cork (I know most of ye langers don't believe it, but there are :P) , you're really limiting your selection if you're looking within half an hour of home.

I'm really considering a Golf now. It makes more sense despite the fact I still love MINIs. Might view one of these tomorrow. Two below are located pretty near me but the third is in Limerick. I want to stay within Munster if possible and under 5000. This brought me less than 50 results and I picked these 3.

I like the blue one personally.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/7275881

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/6829155

Edit:
    Just spotted this one. Posted this evening.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/7311774

As long as you stick with a 1.6, Golf is a solid choice. Or a diesel.

Pass your test first though.

Provisional licence + VAG car = insane insurance premium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Lol, €5k for a 10 year old 1.4 litre Golf is just nuts.