Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cabinet approves measures for TV licence crackdown

• 08-07-2014 4:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭

So

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/cabinet-approves-measures-for-tv-licence-crackdown-1.1859135

We do not have a TV licence, but do have Sky, and watch this on our 24" LCD Monitor.

Remind me why I need to get a licence?
    “We suspect some people are happily paying out €30, €40, €60-plus a month to access cable or satellite services but aren’t prepared to pony up the 13 euro for the TV licence,” a spokesman for Minister for Communications Pat Rabbitte said.

I am paying for SKY, so that I do not have to watch RTE...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

I would happily pay it if they agreed to kill off Tubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Just sold my TV :D, can't wait for the visit from the inspector so he can be told where to f*ck off to !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

People are willing to pay for other services because they want them and see it as worth the money. People willing to pay more for a better service, what a shock.
    Are they estimating actual evasion or is it just the usual they say they don't have a TV so must be lying?
    Nice to see UPC stand up to this kind of crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

So

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/cabinet-approves-measures-for-tv-licence-crackdown-1.1859135

We do not have a TV licence, but do have Sky, and watch this on our 24" LCD Monitor.

Remind me why I need to get a licence?

Because you have equipment which meets the legal definition of a TV set. A TV set doesn't have to be a single device, it can be a combination of devices.
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2009/en/act/pub/0018/sec0140.html#sec140
    “ television set ” means any electronic apparatus capable of receiving and
    exhibiting television broadcasting services broadcast for general reception
    (whether or not its use for that purpose is dependent on the use of anything
    else in conjunction with it) and any software or assembly comprising such
    apparatus and other apparatus;

Replace the 24" with a small screen with an area of not more than 160 square cm and you'll be exempt. You'll get used to squinting at a 6" screen.
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2009/en/si/0319.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

What happened to the broadcast tax idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,952 ✭✭✭Markcheese

I've a Telly. No Ariel/ dish or cable. I don't watch tv via broadband , and no tv licence. Tv is used to watch DVDs on .
    Eventualy I'll get an ariel and licence (when the kids are a bit older) .
    But at the moment am I breaking the law ? I have a Telly capable of receiving a broadcast signal, but not until I get an Ariel...
    Anyhow sky/ UPC crack down won't affect me 'cos I don't subscribe...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

They still have that in the pipeline (of shit ideas). This is just another way they can get money to keep paying vastly inflated salaries for the government's broadcasting mouthpiece...I mean RTE.

Fair play to UPC for standing up to them. This would breach privacy laws and the Data Protection Act anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

The TV license is some pile of shít.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

To be fair... I can't stand RTE.

I'm also grateful UPC respect the Data privacy policy as that would be my data an Post would be accessing.

Also, What the hell is RTE? That should be subscription based.. would like to see how many people would pay for an RTE Subscription..

This should be a poll! AH loves Polls!

Nemeses wrote: »
    To be fair... I can't stand RTE.

I'm also grateful UPC respect the Data privacy policy as that would be my data an Post would be accessing.

Also, What the hell is RTE? That should be subscription based.. would like to see how many people would pay for an RTE Subscription..

This should be a poll! AH loves Polls!

I watch the Sunday Game and the World Cup on RTÉ, that's it, and the World Cup only comes along once every four years. And they still fúcking spam me with ads on their websites even though they have the TV license!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,952 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Either the broadcast tax is a bit further away than next year, or you make almost everyone pay the current charge (that most people pay anyhow) and there'll be less grumbling when they swap to a broadcast tax cos people are already paying same amount ...
    If the government have any sense they'll make the broadcast tax less than the Tv licence (in an effort to win brownie points) because they'll be collecting more due to less evasion !!

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

......why don't we get rid of RTÉ? Wouldn't that save us even more money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

I quite like RTE, occasionally anyway. I don't mind the fact that we have a state funded television/radio service.

It is retarded that I need an expensive piece of paper to keep little old men (inspectors) at bay though. It seems to me that it's just adding another unnecessary layer of bureaucracy to running it. Kinda like needing to buy a little round bit of paper to prevent making up sh1t excuses to gardai at checkpoints :pac:

tl;dr: feck off rabbitte

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

You can watch all the BBC's, Ch4's, ITV's & countless other decent channels gratis.

No one is forcing you to subscribe to Sky tbf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Odd they never tell RTE to go to a sub model as they provide such a good schedule of programing and would have no problem not getting state subvention... oh wait it’s an internet tax next. And it's a laugh that we pay multiple times for RTE as Upc and them have to pay RTE to broadcast there content...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

+1 on the subscription.

as for your question
    The associated opinion poll recorded agree:disagree percentages of 54:29 for the statement "Public Broadcasting should be financed by the licence fee."[33] Respondents were asked what level of monthly fee they would be prepared to pay to receive RTÉ if subscription access were hypothetically to replace the licence fee: the annualised mean and median household figures were €180 and €252.60, compared to the then licence fee of €150, with those who frequently watched RTÉ programs most willing to pay

If they are going to force us to subscribe against our will then at least include it in normal taxation so the cost to the individual will be less as the ludicrous admin costs and knock on effects are done away with. e.g. how much advertising revenue is lost due to wasting time with ads about paying the fee?

People already pay for loads of services they do not use, but don't go about evading tax to get it back.

They reckon 99% of households are liable, so why not charge them all, like they include say foothpath costs in general taxation, rather than going around inspecting if people own shoes or not -and not being able to do a thing if some smartarse answers the door with no shoes and can simply say he never uses footpaths and so is not chipping in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

Markcheese wrote: »
    But at the moment am I breaking the law ?
    Yes, unfortunately. I would gladly, remove the tuner from my TV if it meant I was able to avoid the license and still use it as a monitor, but even then the view they take is that it could be fixed and therefore you still owe them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

I've a Telly. No Ariel/ dish or cable. I don't watch tv via broadband , and no tv licence. Tv is used to watch DVDs on .
    But at the moment am I breaking the law ? I have a Telly capable of receiving a broadcast signal, but not until I get an Ariel...

Chromecast and Netflix combined with your smartphone, computer or tablet. Haven't watched live TV in ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭Daith

Chromecast and Netflix combined with your smartphone, computer or tablet. Haven't watched live TV in ages.

Until the broadcast charge comes in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Benteke

If upc gave my details away I would stop my subscription straight away and I'm sure I'm not the only one, Their must be some law in place to stop them, It just goes to show if people were given a choice to pay for rte or not then rte would close their doors tomorrow morning the majority want out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭V.W.L 11

I can see the spongers going to disability allowance just to get the free tv licence if the crackdown happens :rolleyes:

In 2007 Fine Gael wanted the licence scrapped (not just renamed to broadcast charge :rolleyes:) and to be in general taxation. Dunno what happened with this plan, probably deemed far too sensible so a non-runner from the start.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/licence-fee-system-should-be-scrapped-26332130.html
    Fine Gael made the call just days after RTE received a €2 licence fee hike which will kick-in on January 1, 2008, pushing the fee up to €160.

The party's communications spokesman, Simon Coveney, said people are being forced to pay for the estimated 16pc of households that are not willing to pay the licence fee.

The current system is similar to the car insurance system, whereby people who pay insurance "must pay for those who do not", he added.

Instead of the current intrusive and inefficient system of collecting money to finance public service broadcasting, the Government could finance it through general taxation, Mr Coveney said.

This modern system would prevent a situation in the future where people who watch television through a broadband connection would be able to escape the licence fee.

Up to 16pc of households do not pay the licence fee, he said.
    - See more at: http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/licence-fee-system-should-be-scrapped-26332130.html#sthash.Yhkq0Ilf.dpuf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

If a person lives very close to a radio transmitter, they can hear this radio station from their central heating radiators in the home, so I'd assume they could use this as an excuse for this person to pay a TV license fee. They'll find some way I'm sure.
    Telecommunications Are any residents hearing increased noise from the radio transmitter? We have had trouble in the past but luckily haven't heard anything for a year or more. Suddenly on Saturday February 19th the noise was back and louder than ever… I spoke to the BBC at Brookmans Park today and they were very sympathetic but could offer no solutions. They know what it is like as they can hear the same sounds in their garage playing from the radiator. The most common place for the noise to come from is radiators, although people have reported sounds from microwaves etc. ... In the past we have experienced Radio Sunrise which is a station for the Asian Community and the music was quite distinctive. This time there is more talking and he thinks it is more likely to be Talk Sport.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Last chance money grab before the broadcast charge is brought in.

The Data Protection Act? Ah, we'll just change bits and pieces here and there....

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Last chance money grab before the broadcast charge is brought in.

The Data Protection Act? Ah, we'll just change bits and pieces here and there....

Thought the DPA only worked 1 way, Can we have the minutes of the banking deal ? or any of that other stuff ? nope. But you can have our details to make us pay a tax... Same like loads of stuff here, Can we have legislation brought through so you cant receive multiple pensions as a public servant No ? But you can have legislation to take money directly out of your wages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

I would say so, they covered that angle when they put in this clause
    whether or not its use for that purpose is dependent on the use of anything else in conjunction with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Ok, correcting myself as I did spot this:
    Section 8(b) "required for the purpose of preventing, detecting or investigating offences, apprehending or prosecuting offenders or assessing or collecting any tax, duty or other moneys owed or payable to the State, a local authority or a health board, in any case in which the application of those restrictions would be likely to prejudice any of the matters aforesaid"

Ok, correcting myself as I did spot this:

There must be more to it than that. TV licence inspectors would take names from that already instead of the highly effective calling to peoples houses and reading labels on the bins.

Or like a lot of government departments the right hand knows not what the left does. And don't even know they could just do that.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 6,099 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

slimjimmc wrote: »
    I would say so, they covered that angle when they put in this clause

As a foreigner, I find it a bit weird that I have to pay a TV license just for having a TV set.
    I don't watch TV (don't have an antenna, not using Sky or anything equivalent), I am only using it for DVDs and Play Station.

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Borderline Festival, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland

Irish Aris wrote: »
    As a foreigner, I find it a bit weird that I have to pay a TV license just for having a TV set.
    I don't watch TV (don't have an antenna, not using Sky or anything equivalent), I am only using it for DVDs and Play Station.

It's a tax to keep some people in a lifestyle they are accustomed to. Even though they get paid way more than someone on CNN or equivalent.

rubadub wrote: »
    +1 on the subscription.

They reckon 99% of households are liable..

Maybe so, however I'm 99% sure the Government has burdened us with tax and other excessive blame the gov motives etc ramble ramble ramble

If its subscription based, Then a TV can be finally free from the clutches of the license.

A TV set can then live in harmony along with my couch, my lamp, the PC etc.
    The TV won't fear for its life when the doorbell rings.

Point is, A TV can be used for other uses other than OTA broadcasts.

Such as my Xbox.

Irish Aris wrote: »
    So how do they determine if you have to pay in your country? or does you country have a licence?

I would have thought many of them would have a similar setup to here, which is trying to avoid the loophole of people just saying they don't use it.

2 Television licences around the world
    2.1 Europe
    2.1.1 Albania
    2.1.2 Austria
    2.1.3 Belgium (Walloon Region and Brussels Region)
    2.1.4 Bosnia and Herzegovina
    2.1.5 Croatia
    2.1.6 Czech Republic
    2.1.7 Denmark
    2.1.8 Finland
    2.1.9 France
    2.1.10 Germany
    2.1.11 Greece
    2.1.12 Ireland
    2.1.13 Italy
    2.1.14 Macedonia
    2.1.15 Montenegro
    2.1.16 Norway
    2.1.17 Poland
    2.1.18 Romania
    2.1.19 Serbia
    2.1.20 Slovakia
    2.1.21 Slovenia
    2.1.22 Sweden
    2.1.23 Switzerland
    2.1.24 Turkey
    2.1.25 United Kingdom
    2.2 Asia
    2.2.1 Israel
    2.2.2 Japan
    2.2.3 Republic of Korea
    2.2.4 Pakistan
    2.3 Africa
    2.3.1 Ghana
    2.3.2 Mauritius
    2.3.3 Namibia
    2.3.4 South Africa

3 Countries where the TV licence has been abolished
    3.1 Australia
    3.2 Belgium (Flemish region)
    3.3 Cyprus
    3.4 Finland
    3.5 Gibraltar
    3.6 Hungary
    3.7 Iceland
    3.8 India
    3.9 Malaysia
    3.10 Malta
    3.11 Netherlands
    3.12 New Zealand
    3.13 Portugal
    3.14 Singapore

4 Countries that never had a television or broadcasting licence
    4.1 Europe
    4.1.1 Andorra
    4.1.2 Estonia
    4.1.3 Liechtenstein
    4.1.4 Luxembourg
    4.1.5 Monaco
    4.1.6 Spain
    4.2 North America
    4.2.1 Canada
    4.2.2 United States
    4.3 Asia
    4.3.1 China (mainland)
    4.3.2 Hong Kong
    4.3.3 Iran
    4.3.4 Vietnam
    4.3.5 Philippines
    4.4 Africa
    4.4.1 Nigeria

Maybe so, however I'm 99% sure the Government has burdened us with tax and other excessive blame the gov motives etc ramble ramble ramble

If its subscription based, Then a TV can be finally free from the clutches of the license.
    I am 100% for the subscription, I am just saying if they do insist on a forced subscription then FFS don't add insult to injury and charge us well over what it should have been. The "household" thing is also totally unfair, I know of 5 professionals sharing a house, all with their own tvs in each room and other tvs, paying the same as a single person stuggling to get by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

God that reads like a parody piece. What a smug a*sehole.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 6,099 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

So how do they determine if you have to pay in your country? or does you country have a licence?

I would have thought many of them would have a similar setup to here, which is trying to avoid the loophole of people just saying they don't use it.

2 Television licences around the world
    2.1 Europe
    2.1.1 Albania
    2.1.2 Austria
    2.1.3 Belgium (Walloon Region and Brussels Region)
    2.1.4 Bosnia and Herzegovina
    2.1.5 Croatia
    2.1.6 Czech Republic
    2.1.7 Denmark
    2.1.8 Finland
    2.1.9 France
    2.1.10 Germany
    2.1.11 Greece
    2.1.12 Ireland
    2.1.13 Italy
    2.1.14 Macedonia
    2.1.15 Montenegro
    2.1.16 Norway
    2.1.17 Poland
    2.1.18 Romania
    2.1.19 Serbia
    2.1.20 Slovakia
    2.1.21 Slovenia
    2.1.22 Sweden
    2.1.23 Switzerland
    2.1.24 Turkey
    2.1.25 United Kingdom
    2.2 Asia
    2.2.1 Israel
    2.2.2 Japan
    2.2.3 Republic of Korea
    2.2.4 Pakistan
    2.3 Africa
    2.3.1 Ghana
    2.3.2 Mauritius
    2.3.3 Namibia
    2.3.4 South Africa

3 Countries where the TV licence has been abolished
    3.1 Australia
    3.2 Belgium (Flemish region)
    3.3 Cyprus
    3.4 Finland
    3.5 Gibraltar
    3.6 Hungary
    3.7 Iceland
    3.8 India
    3.9 Malaysia
    3.10 Malta
    3.11 Netherlands
    3.12 New Zealand
    3.13 Portugal
    3.14 Singapore

4 Countries that never had a television or broadcasting licence
    4.1 Europe
    4.1.1 Andorra
    4.1.2 Estonia
    4.1.3 Liechtenstein
    4.1.4 Luxembourg
    4.1.5 Monaco
    4.1.6 Spain
    4.2 North America
    4.2.1 Canada
    4.2.2 United States
    4.3 Asia
    4.3.1 China (mainland)
    4.3.2 Hong Kong
    4.3.3 Iran
    4.3.4 Vietnam
    4.3.5 Philippines
    4.4 Africa
    4.4.1 Nigeria

I am 100% for the subscription, I am just saying if they do insist on a forced subscription then FFS don't add insult to injury and charge us well over what it should have been. The "household" thing is also totally unfair, I know of 5 professionals sharing a house, all with their own tvs in each room and other tvs, paying the same as a single person stuggling to get by.

In Greece we pay a fee (as part of the electricity bill) for the national broadcaster. Come to think about it, you are right, end result is the same (if you don't have a TV, you still have to pay), I guess it is only how it is called that buffles me.

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Borderline Festival, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Where is my rte one hd? Where the fcuk is it?

I'm already paying for it. Why can't I watch it? I have Sky, I'm not paying for more equipment to watch a channel I already pay for and have equipment to watch it on. :mad:

Indeed, I agree.
    However I disagree on the figure. I mean, for example if the Forced subscription is €160 per household and there are 1,576,409 Active households(Taken from 2008, No current data..)
    Then, presumably RTE receive the majority of the funds. That's a cool €252,225,440 a year..

Seriously, How much bloody money does RTE need...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

Indeed, I agree.
    However I disagree on the figure. I mean, for example if the Forced subscription is €160 per household and there are 1,576,409 Active households(Taken from 2008, No current data..)
    Then, presumably RTE receive the majority of the funds. That's a cool €252,225,440 a year..

Seriously, How much bloody money does RTE need...

More apparantly, as it also has ads up the wazoo. Shouldnt the TV license remove the need for ads, even just during shows and films like the BBC does in the UK since its partially state funded (or so I assume).

How much bloody money does RTE need...
    exactly, I remember seeing Ben Dunne being interviewed on TV3, he was saying he was amazed at the difference between TV3 and RTE, amazed at the needless squandering of money on RTE compared to TV3, think he was going on about teams of makeup artists & hair dressers etc.

On TV3 in the morning you will see one of the presenters doing the weather, another doing the sport. What do RTE do? oh we must get a team of fully qualified meterologists to point at a map and tell us to expect rain and pay them a full graduates salary, not only that but after a few years they are probably on a ridiculous earner as they are "established".

The seem to be of the mind "if we don't spend it all then they might make cuts, so lets squander like fuck"
    Gunmonkey wrote: »
    Shouldnt the TV license remove the need for ads, even just during shows and films like the BBC does in the UK since its partially state funded (or so I assume).
    The UK have far more "subscription fees", people always go on about ads, if there were no ads the fee would have to increase a whole lot more. Lots of countries with TV licences have ads, I think the BBC is one of the rarer ones without added income.

Also if you claim never to watch RTE you should really be screaming for MORE ads to be shown, so your fee could be less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I pay for Netflix - a voluntary service that provides me with great content.
    I don't pay the TV license because it's a pile of rubbish.

I sold my TV and purchased a large LCD monitor. I don't have any device capable of receiving/displaying a television signal. I spent a lot of extra money to comply with a b.s. law that, from what I hear, they'll be migrating to a household charge so they can continue to hassle me.

Thankfully though, I have every confidence in their inability to collect. So I won't pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

UCDVet wrote: »
    I pay for Netflix - a voluntary service that provides me with great content.
    I don't pay the TV license because it's a pile of rubbish.

I sold my TV and purchased a large LCD monitor. I don't have any device capable of receiving/displaying a television signal. I spent a lot of extra money to comply with a b.s. law that, from what I hear, they'll be migrating to a household charge so they can continue to hassle me.

Thankfully though, I have every confidence in their inability to collect. So I won't pay.

If your household, business or institution possesses a television or equipment capable of receiving a television signal,(using an aerial, satellite dish, cable or other means)(i.e. an LCD Monitor) you are required by law to have a television licence.

I am assuming that the new more up to date law coming in will no longer refer to the TV Signal and change it to any digital/analogue content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Nice little parting gift from the arrogant windbag Rabbit who will sail off with his fat pension tomorrow

2 of the biggest muppets in government are Patrick Rabbitte and Phillip Hogan,between them off the top of my head they have brought in property tax,water charges and this new sh1te for the tv licence,yet both look set to be booted out of cabinet tomorrow,corruption isn't the word :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Irish people: want everything, will pay for nothing.

not quite everybody but if I name the certain section of society who do expect it all I will be hammered by the mods :pac:

I dont want RTE and Im paying for it anyway because they are too incompetent to manage their money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

I don't want Rte. I don't watch it. I don't have a licence. My apartment is code entry only. No inspectors getting in here!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Think of it as an Aristocrat tax instead. It allows the beautiful people to pose and show off their "talents" and less beautiful types to explain how we are wrong in running society. Hence, as of course being a law, is beyond debate as being a good.

Only those without a TV licence need worry. The vast majority will continue to pay their way, as always. Love it or loathe it, we need a National Broadcaster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

Only those without a TV licence need worry. The vast majority will continue to pay their way, as always. Love it or loathe it, we need a National Broadcaster.

But why do we need to fund it?
    Surely they get let's of money from the ads they show every 15 minutes.