Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

neighbourhood committee looking for donations....

• 07-07-2014 12:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

moved into a house there last week, (renting, not bought).

Received a letter from the neighbourhood community, asking for €25 to maintain the area. I had only moved in the day before it arrived.

Two days later, a guy knocked on the door. He asked why we hadn't sent in our response with a cheque / cash donation.

I told him I just moved in, and I've never heard of collections like this. He told me that everyone in the estate pays each year, and it's taken as an unofficial requirement for living in the area.

Called the landlord and estate agent and they both said it's pretty common.

??? Felt like telling him to fúck off in a very un-polite manner.

Has anyone ever seen this before? I'm not paying €25 to keep the estate clean. I clean my house, keep my garden looking well, wash my car often and I don't let my dogs out to shít on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

about 7 cent per day over the course of a year.

They should be ashamed of themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

sh*t in an envelope and give it to them. It's the only reasonable thing to do in this situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Its really protection money they are looking for if you don't play ball things will be made very unpleasant for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

You're starting out well after two days anyway!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

There's one I in Community.

OP you seem sound. Hope you fit in well there and make many new friends.

OR

just like alot of this country youll be one of the ones that doesnt speak to your neighbours and just grunt at them every now and then.

Is there a large common green area or something? What exactly is it going on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Two days later, a guy knocked on the door. He asked why we hadn't sent in our response with a cheque / cash donation.

I told him I just moved in, and I've never heard of collections like this. He told me that everyone in the estate pays each year, and it's taken as an unofficial requirement for living in the area.

Both these things would worry me. Clearly, there is no such thing as an "unofficial requireent for living in the area." Also, to follow a letter less than a week after sending it with a knock on the door is silly.

We donate to ad-hoc collections for the village "maintenance fund" - they sort out the play-ground, etc and we know who these people are.

I'd suggest you tell him, "Look, we just moved in, we know no-one or nothing about the area. Please call back in a month's time, then we'll know where we're at and will probably contribute like everyone else."

In the meantime you can figure out from neighbours, etc, if they're just chancers. Although €25 sounds fine if there is genuinely a bit of up-keep to be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Thats very common and 25 Euro is cheap. What are you complaining about?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

moved into a house there last week, (renting, not bought).

Received a letter from the neighbourhood community, asking for €25 to maintain the area. I had only moved in the day before it arrived.

Called the landlord and estate agent and they both said it's pretty common.

??? Felt like telling him to fúck off in a very un-polite manner.

Has anyone ever seen this before? I'm not paying €25 to keep the estate clean. I clean my house, keep my garden looking well, wash my car often and I don't let my dogs out to shít on the street.

25 Euro a year to keep an estate clean, where you could be locked into management fees of thousands that end up being the source of politicking, misuse and general cack.

Los Lobos wrote: »
    You're starting out well after two days anyway!!

It's civic mindedness like that which made our state the haven it is today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

There's a large green area directly across the road from the house. The county council clean it as from what I've found out, the group that built the estate jumped ship a few years ago and abandoned their contractual duties to maintain the estate for what ever time they have to.

I don't deny that it's cheap, however I earn a low wage, my gf earns a low wage, my outgoings are high due to college, I have a 10 year old son and I have bills.

I would be lucky to have €25 euro in my wallet at the end of a week. I would rather save it or bring my son somewhere on the weekend than hand it over to a community who seem very rude in asking for money.

But it might mean that your son gets to play in a nice clean estate for 52 weeks a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

If you are unsure then ask who their contact with the local county council is.
    There are estate management committees in most areas, they work with the county council, it is set up by residents and the money goes towards painting walls, cutting grass verges, equipment for collecting litter and plants. It is pretty common and giving a hand with their voluntary work around the estate in the evening and weekends is a good way to get to know your new neighbors.
    If 25 quid is something you can't stretch to having just moved in say that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

OP, if you're renting it's the landlord that should be paying. I've paid it in the past as a landlord (or specifically as his gardener and the neighbour/committee member spotted me and approached)

The next time he calls give him the landlords contact details. Also, ask the landlord if you pay it can you deduct it from the rent.

(That being said I'm not paying it in my own place until I get an apology from the "collector" after the abuse he threw at a family member a few years ago. I have said that to the people who have subsequently called, and the neighbours also)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

I don't let my dogs out to shít on the street.

glad to know that dogs ****ting on the street is only 25 quid in your estate. in my estate, theres a sign saying its like 300 quid or something.

There's a large green area directly across the road from the house. The county council clean it as from what I've found out, the group that built the estate jumped ship a few years ago and abandoned their contractual duties to maintain the estate for what ever time they have to.

I don't deny that it's cheap, however I earn a low wage, my gf earns a low wage, my outgoings are high due to college, I have a 10 year old son and I have bills.

You said it was a yearly fee.

If the council clean it then I'd be asking for some specifics what they plan to do with all this money.
    If you can't afford it and have just moved in then say so and yeah it probably is up to the landlord too

ianobrien wrote: »
    OP, if you're renting it's the landlord that should be paying. I've paid it in the past as a landlord (or specifically as his gardener and the neighbour/committee member spotted me and approached)

I'm not sure it's as clear cut as that.

We rent, but we give a donation to the local village maintenance committee when it's asked. We live there and get the benefit from it.

We'll also be paying the water charges (and other utilities).

We don't pay the property tax though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I wish they did that in my area. The place is manky with litter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Your landlord should be dealing with this. Just forward on the details next time this guy calls

Nodin wrote: »
    You said it was a yearly fee.

it is a yearly fee. I said I would be lucky to have €25 euro MYSELF at the end of the week. I can't afford to be handing over ANY money to them for this reason.

I understand the need to keep the estate clean, and I would be more than happy to lend a hand by cleaning, painting or grass cutting for a few hours here and there, but I can't afford to give any money to them for this.

Just to add, I did volunteer my time, but I was quickly told that they have enough volunteers and all they need is money from the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭thomas anderson.

Same thing happened to me a few months ago. 2 women called to the door looking for €50 for grass cutting. Told them that we just moved in and would contact the landlord.

I asked before signing the lease if there were any management fees. LL said no. LL ended up paying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭adocholiday

I had a similar situation in a housing estate where I was renting before. This was a few years ago. I was there almost a year at that time and aside from a few polite greetings to the woman next door I had never spoken to any of the other neighbours. Not out of ignorance mind, just never really had contact with any of them. Anyway I get a call to the door one evening and there were 3 of the neighbours including the woman next door and they were looking for a €50 donation to the neighbourhood maintenance fund or whatever it was called. To be completely honest I was really really struggling financially at the time and simply didn't have it (but I probably wouldn't have paid it anyway) and I refused. They were not at all happy and, like with the OP, tried to force me to pay it. I told them why I couldn't but they obviously thought I was making it up.

For the next few weeks it was like living in the twilight zone! There were rubbish bags being left in the garden, complaints made to the landlord about loud parties and rats living in our garden, and the gardaí were called to investigate 'suspicious behaviour' at the house one morning at 8am! All of which were complete lies. Anyway I figured out that it had to be a result of this 'donation'. I got onto the landlord and explained the situation and he told me that they had had issues before. He said he normally paid the money himself and never bothered the tenants with it but they were obviously chancing their arm trying to get me to pay up too! He told me he would resolve it and the crap I was having all stopped after that.

These things can be very contentious OP especially in an area with a close community. It's almost unbelievable until it happens to you. I was very young and naive at the time and no way would i put up with it now, but it was very stressful and really not worth the hassle I had to endure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

a residents association/committee in estates that do a general bit of upkeep is common enough. while not all are paid into and many only look for the odd afternoon, €25 doesn't sound too bad. you were right though to make sure yer man was on the level.

however...

Sending a letter the day after you move in looking for money is showing extreme cheek. You haven't even met any of your new neighbors yet and the very first thing is them looking for money.

Then to come back only two days later asking why you haven't paid up? I'd honestly tell him to f*^k off*. Some lad out with the begging bowl before you've even settled in? It's probably just one lad who takes his position on the committee stupidly seriously and is in need of a good verbal kick in the arse. OP, a R.A. is a great way to meet your new neighbors, but you are under zero obligation to join up.

*(well i probably wouldn't, but i'd like to)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

We pay €40 a year, paid in 4 quarterly installments. It's used for the upkeep of green areas, grass cutting, flowers etc. I think there's a fun day held every year with bouncy castles, BBQ, etc, they also get a few skips a year that everyone can fire stuff into. I'm sure there's more like signs, painting and other maintenance. Seems alright to me and we don't mind paying once we see it being used properly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Suucee

This is done in my estate. Its €20 for the year. It goes towards maintaining the lawnmowers that are used by residents to cut the green etc. Alot of residents meet once a week to maintain verges, flowers and trees in the estate. I rent and have no problem paying it. Im here 5 yrs wasnt asked the first year to pay as we were new. Only paid €10 the second year as were still regarded as new but pay 20 since. I can see op's point in that they had only just moved in. And no idea what or where the money actually goes. My brother was asked for 150 in his estate (which is smaller).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

I'm pretty sure I've seen this episode of friends before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

These things can be very contentious OP especially in an area with a close community. It's almost unbelievable until it happens to you. I was very young and naive at the time and no way would i put up with it now, but it was very stressful and really not worth the hassle I had to endure

Sounds criminal tbh.

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure I've seen this episode of friends before

yes yes, but my name's not Ross and I don't live in 3B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

No doubt all residents want to live in a pleasant and well cared for environment, but it's natural too that renters in particular may be less inclined to buy into community initiatives & suchlike. I'd pass the request on to your landlord OP, but make it known to the person collecting that you'd be happy to get stuck in if there's a clean up planned over the coming months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

bluewolf wrote: »
    If the council clean it then I'd be asking for some specifics what they plan to do with all this money.
    If you can't afford it and have just moved in then say so and yeah it probably is up to the landlord too

the county councils have cut back hugely the amount work work they are doing in estates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭A2LUE42

But it might mean that your son gets to play in a nice clean estate for 52 weeks a year.

Much better to leave it in a state and not bother getting the grass cut or the weeks killed. Or just let everyone else pay your share too.

In reality, your landlord should be footing this bill. It is more in their interest that this is paid than yours. If the area gets very messy looking, it would impact their ability to keep the rent at the level it is at and not go down.

I am on a committee that tries to organise something similar, as the Council have no involvement and even after the 'taking in charge' process will never maintain the public grass areas. It will eventually lead to a mandatory clause in new developments where a management company has to be in place, if people continue to ignore their civic responsibilities.

In our area we have been able to reduce the suggested donation/charge for the year to €20 this year, as we hoped that more people would pay a smaller amount, it was €40 last year. But it hasn't really encouraged anyone new to pay. Some people just expect others to do their share and pay for it. It is a thankless task trying to organise something like this and the only alternative is to just let it all go to pot.

Let the grass and weeds grow and allow people to dump rubbish in the long grass and have the place be full of vermin. Some people will just whine and complain no matter what is done. The alternative would be that they actually do something about it themselves.. well they couldn't do that.. they have bills to pay.. children to mind.. jobs to do .. 101 other reasons that they use to justify their decision.

The fact that the people going door to door to collect money, meet contractors, organise the events, lodge the money into the bank, produce yearly accounts, hold open residents meetings where everyone is invited all have similar time and fiscal constraints seems lost on a lot of people.

Just to clarify, the money we collect is for the contractor hired to do the grass cutting and weed spraying. Other activities like organised clean up days, tree planting and the like are normally paid for by getting grants or being part of things like national tree week, the one million trees project, national clean up and similar efforts. The people giving their time and effort is priceless and they also pay whatever the yearly contribution, as they want to live in a well maintained area and do so for their own good and that of their neighbors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Recondite49

ianobrien wrote: »

The next time he calls give him the landlords contact details. Also, ask the landlord if you pay it can you deduct it from the rent.

(That being said I'm not paying it in my own place until I get an apology from the "collector" after the abuse he threw at a family member a few years ago. I have said that to the people who have subsequently called, and the neighbours also)

I think Ian is right OP, this should be paid by the landlord. They own the property and therefore have a vested interest in the community.

I went down this road before with my own Landlady and even when the property management company specifically said that they couldn't chase me over it, she still expected me to pay. I moved out in the end, too much hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I wouldn't just hand over money to someone claiming to be from a community group, I wouldn't mind paying it but surely the landlord would have told you it exists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I am commenting from the other side. our Estate is not taken in charge and has a lot of grass, grass verges, etc. The total cost of the landscaping contract equates out to about 9k a year, and that divides up to approx. 100 per house. Residents can pay whatever way they like but the money needs to be there by april as someone needs to sign the contract for the work.

I helped the Residents Association do a door knock and it really opened my eyes. The abuse some people think it's ok to dish out! the guys were out collecting on a Friday evening, in the freezing cold of January having come home from their full time jobs and were given dogs abuse from some people who treated them like Counsellors and Councillors !!! Nicest one though was a lovely little old lady who chased out after them with a box of sweets and a lovely hand written card to say thank you for the efforts in keeping the estate clean.

Residents get their issues with builder, council, neighbourhood watch etc dealt with for a subscription of 100 per year.

As always, there are some that pay and some that don't. I pay, I was thinking of not paying, given that some who said they cant afford it have gotten work done on their houses and been on foreign holidays. Then are some houses (both lost jobs) who just see it as part of their bills and are putting aside 2 per week because they are proud people and believe in paying their way. The RA told them to pay whenever they have it and not to worry (but these people will not have it and insist in paying their way) I guess its down to a persons own pride in themselves and pride in their home.

I pay because I appreciate the work done on my behalf by these people and I pay because I live in a nice well kept area and that is why I bought my house there.

It's kind of like buying a car, don't buy a Mercedez if you can only afford to service a Micra.

I do think your landlord should be paying though unless it is part of your contract. also think he was a bit quick off the mark.

But in fairness, I don't believe anyone cant afford 25 A year! Which is 47p a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

It's very poor form to turn up at a strangers door a day or so after they move in asking for money. Tbh, if it were me I wouldn't have given him a cent. The OP has no idea who the guy is. As another poster said, tell the guy to come back in a month when you've a better idea if you'll be staying or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I doubt the council are doing much, if anything. Just because the developer jumped ship does not automatically mean the council have taken over the estate. The fees are likely for landscaping and grass cutting from a private company hired by the residents association.

• Administrators Posts: 54,420 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Definitely the landlord's responsibility.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

It's probably just them collecting voluntarily to put down flower beds or some other landscaping improvements. Just say no if you don't want to give it

They probably thought you owned the house. They're usually busybody types but if the place looks nicer I guess leave them to it

As ever you have to marvel at trivial things that annoy people so much. Is it not exhausting to care so much about these things

Going back ten years, the local Tenancy Association actually sent me a letter to ask why my apartment wasn't represented at their last meeting.

I sent an e-mail saying it would probably be best to speak to the Landlord. They told me I was welcome to come. It was being held at a local hotel and I was free that particular evening (can never figure what to do on Thursdays), so off I toddled.

Upon arrival, one of the first orders of business was to read out a long list of people who hadn't paid their protection money and surprise surprise the name of my apartment was there. I repeated what I said previously in that I thought this should be paid by my Landlord - they said that was between me and him and in essence I should fork up and try and get it back off him later but "The Association" required payment or else there'd be a fine for late settlement.

With my usual diplomatic aplomb, I stood up slowly and took two Apples from the fruit bowl on the table, popped a complimentary mint in my mouth and went home. Never heard from them again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭thomas anderson.

Isnt this what the property tax was for though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Im currently having the same issue with my estate. Around 15 houses and they want 50E every 3 months to cut a lawn that not even 40ft wide and 15 feet long

its like the mafia. I wouldnt mind but their kids use it as their own back yard,leaving all their toys there.

Specialun wrote: »
    Im currently having the same issue with my estate. Around 15 houses and they want 50E every 3 months to cut a lawn that not even 40ft wide and 15 feet long

its like the mafia. I wouldnt mind but their kids use it as their own back yard,leaving all their toys there.

Seems very expensive. Definitely only for grass cutting?

I'd happily come round and trim that lawn for 750 quid every few months. I'll knock 250 euro off the price actually - do you a good deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Isnt this what the property tax was for though?

Upkeep of private estates? Don't think so.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

So this is a common practice is it? They must collect thousands in big estates. If you want your area so tidy and clean, do it without begging for money. Why is it always about money?

Gardeners generally don't work for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

awec wrote: »
    Gardeners generally don't work for free.

Is it not the locals doing it themselves?

Most likely hiring someone in to do the communal areas (i.e. the bits that don't belong to any specific house / aren't anyone's garden).

A resident could do it though I don't see why they would be expected to do it for free. Maybe they could organise a rota for doing it but I imagine it's easiest just to collect money and pay for it to be done.

anewme wrote: »
    I am commenting from the other side. our Estate is not taken in charge and has a lot of grass, grass verges, etc. The total cost of the landscaping contract equates out to about 9k a year, and that divides up to approx. 100 per house. Residents can pay whatever way they like but the money needs to be there by april as someone needs to sign the contract for the work.

I helped the Residents Association do a door knock and it really opened my eyes. The abuse some people think it's ok to dish out! the guys were out collecting on a Friday evening, in the freezing cold of January having come home from their full time jobs and were given dogs abuse from some people who treated them like Counsellors and Councillors !!! Nicest one though was a lovely little old lady who chased out after them with a box of sweets and a lovely hand written card to say thank you for the efforts in keeping the estate clean.

Residents get their issues with builder, council, neighbourhood watch etc dealt with for a subscription of 100 per year.

As always, there are some that pay and some that don't. I pay, I was thinking of not paying, given that some who said they cant afford it have gotten work done on their houses and been on foreign holidays. Then are some houses (both lost jobs) who just see it as part of their bills and are putting aside 2 per week because they are proud people and believe in paying their way. The RA told them to pay whenever they have it and not to worry (but these people will not have it and insist in paying their way) I guess its down to a persons own pride in themselves and pride in their home.

I pay because I appreciate the work done on my behalf by these people and I pay because I live in a nice well kept area and that is why I bought my house there.

It's kind of like buying a car, don't buy a Mercedez if you can only afford to service a Micra.

I do think your landlord should be paying though unless it is part of your contract. also think he was a bit quick off the mark.

But in fairness, I don't believe anyone cant afford 25 A year! Which is 47p a week.

I still think these kind of expenses should be met by home owners - I lived in a good deal of houses for less than a year so wouldn't have been able to enjoy fully the amount I'd paid.

In addition to this I don't know about the rest of you but I've frequently been down to my last 47pence and lower - every month I do a budget plan and all the money is earmarked down to the last Euro.

I certainly wouldn't be horrible to anyone who came a-knocking, I'd just tell them to speak to the Landlord as I don't own the property.