Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

High fives and hugs

• 05-07-2014 6:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Two things that I'm noticing more and more.

I love the hugs. I even have work people who I wouldn't see that much, and we'll hug when we meet again. It's really nice and we do it 'cause we like each other. Although I wouldn't be a hug-initiator if I'm meeting a previous non-hugger, so sometimes it can feel a bit awkward - do we hug or do we not!?!

But I hate the high fives. I'll admit it - I am a shit high fiver. The auld hand/eye coordination lets me down. Just be lucky I don't poke you in the eye. And what are we high fiving for? Somebody said something funny? Just laugh FFS!

Whatcha think of high fives and hugs? I think we're definitely becoming more tactile anyway - which is a good thing. Nothing like a bit of body contact to make people get on better. Just not high fives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

What are these "hugs" you speak of?:(

Same as yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I hate hugs and high fives. Hugs are uncomfortable and high fives...no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Touching is off limits for me.

Unless off course I've paid you to **** me off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

What if its offered for free?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Leave the high fives and hugs to the yanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

What are these "hugs" you speak of?:(

Awwww. Come here you. *HUGS*!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

catallus wrote: »
    What if its offered for free?

sweet deal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I like hugs, but I think I do fistbumps more than high fives :)

sweet deal

What if it escalated into full blown riding, would you consider paying then or are you one of those guys who wants everything in writing before you unzip your pants?

Links234 wrote: »
    I like hugs, but I think I do fistbumps more than high fives :)

Ohhhh yes. Fistbumps are cool. You just can't arseways them up, and they make you feel all gangsa'-like.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

I don't mind hugging my family but I'm not hugging friends and it feels a little awkward if the friend is female, you don't want to be that close on top of their chest. Just a hand on the shoulder or handshake seems the right move. High fives aren't for me either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Many Irish people and in particular Irish men are uncomfortable with this hugging shoite that came out of nowhere in recent years. What was wrong with the auld limp handshake anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Hugs >>>> Fistbumps >>>>>> High fives >>>>>>>>>> Cheek kisses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭Deank

I love the hugs. I even have work people who I wouldn't see that much, and we'll hug when we meet again. It's really nice and we do it 'cause we like each other. Although I wouldn't be a hug-initiator if I'm meeting a previous non-hugger, so sometimes it can feel a bit awkward - do we hug or do we not!?!

But I hate the high fives. I'll admit it - I am a shit high fiver. The auld hand/eye coordination lets me down. Just be lucky I don't poke you in the eye. And what are we high fiving for? Somebody said something funny? Just laugh FFS!

Whatcha think of high fives and hugs? I think we're definitely becoming more tactile anyway - which is a good thing. Nothing like a bit of body contact to make people get on better. Just not high fives.

What happened to just shaking hands?;)

There was a guy in a place where I used to work and he'd try and rub people's bellies if he got a chance.

ollaetta wrote: »
    Many Irish people and in particular Irish men are uncomfortable with this hugging shoite that came out of nowhere in recent years. What was wrong with the auld limp handshake anyway?

It did kind of come out of nowhere. Wasn't an Irish thing at all.

I remember being given out to years ago for doing the "half hug". Ya'know - using just one arm, head turned away. Now I'm a full blown hugger with the right people. It's really, really nice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I hugz da hot weemens then laters I hi5 da broskiz :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I consider it a gross violation of my personal space and would deal with the incursion swiftly and brutally

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I am a huggy bear..don't do the high five man.

I consider it a gross violation of my personal space and would deal with the incursion swiftly and brutally

So... That's a no then. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭AulBiddy

If you look at someones elbow when you high five them you'll get a high five on point every time. :)

Ohhhh yes. Fistbumps are cool. You just can't arseways them up, and they make you feel all gangsa'-like.

This is true actually. And very, very dangerous. I "fist bumped" someone once and immediately went outside to "pop some caps" in peoples "asses". Im still not sure what it meant but I woke up in a garda station.

I'd say ya did you big...

Oh, hang on. We're in AH now... :pac:
    AulBiddy wrote: »
    If you look at someones elbow when you high five them you'll get a high five on point every time. :)

Is this true??

I'd say ya did you big...

Oh, hang on. We're in AH now... :pac:

Is this true??

Deank wrote: »

*Fistbump*

*Fistbump*

Ah hug FFS :pac:

Yeah, right. I don't know where you've been!! :pac: :pac:

*Fistbump*

Aw shiiiiieaat he come da po po! Erbody git down, foo'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I love hugs followed by a hand moving down past the equator ,if you know what I mean nudge nudge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭batistuta9

You can't?
    They go for the bump & you go for the shake. There's no recovering from that

batistuta9 wrote: »
    You can't?
    They go for the bump & you go for the shake. There's no recovering from that

Sure you can. Grab their fist and flip them over your shoulder Chuck Norris-style. You'll look cool AND you'll never have to speak to them again.

Although you may get a call from their lawyer..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I usually just go with "hello" for a greeting. I've never felt the need to hi-5 or hug anyone!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

If it's a man i nut him if he tries to hug me, if it's a woman i just grab her tits and say "this is how I hug baby "unless of course it's a member of my immediate family, except female cousins under the age of 35

I love hugs followed by a hand moving down past the equator ,if you know what I mean nudge nudge.

http://img829.imageshack.us/img829/5939/c71o.jpg

This used to be a nice thread.. :(

Yeah. Then the fire nation attacked.:(
    *Hugs*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

I'm a serial hugger, but a good fistbump makes you feel like the dogs bollocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

I don't like hugs. They are very uncomfortable and intrusive of my personal space.

Unless it's my partner, he can be in my personal space at all times. ^^.
    __
    I don't high five...ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I'm not a big hugger, that is to stay I'm not one for the casual hug. If you're hugging people all the time it pretty much takes a lot of the 'feels' away from a hug. I do love a good hug if it's warranted though, i.e for someone I haven't met in a good deal of time, being pissed with friends or hugging my nephews/niece when I see them. Other than that, forget about it.

Ah no, I wouldn't necessarily agree with that. There's the hugs with people you love and all, and that's always going to be different. But there's also hugs with people you know and like, and I would never lose the 'feels' from hugging a friend or a good acquaintance. In fact, those hugs give me even more 'feels' in their own way! Just niceness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

I'm a hugger but I only hug people I like and am comfortable with.

A guy in our office was moving to a different job and most of the ladies in the office gave him a hug when he was going. I just shook his hands. No way was that cnut deserving of a hug from me, hugs are earned and not to be given out willy nilly!

High fives aren't my thing, except when I'm running. I high five my OH when we meet each other out on runs. I also get the urge to high five other runners. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

When you are a runner, you get used to the high fives. I would hug family, friends and some ex work colleagues who come into my place of work to visit. Can be a great stress relief to get a tight hug.

Someone needs a hug…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Always watch the elbow.

This will change your life.
    /low five

blogs.howstuffworks.com/how-to-stuff/how-to-never-miss-a-high-five/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

My brother turned French (I blame the brie) while living there and does all this gay kissing on the cheek thing.

The cnut tried it with me and he got a 'don't you fcukin' dare' look and quickly corrected himself.

Not appropriate anytime, you should always stand upwind from them, garlic, cheese and lack of personal hygiene is a toxic combination.

My brother turned French (I blame the brie) while living there and does all this gay kissing on the cheek thing.

The cnut tried it with me and he got a 'don't you fcukin' dare' look and quickly corrected himself.

Not appropriate anytime, you should always stand upwind from them, garlic, cheese and lack of personal hygiene is a toxic combination.

A Glasgow kiss would sort that shít out, sorry for your troubles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

I'll hug quite a few of my close friends who I genuinely love, and rarely refuse a hug. But I see a hug as a show of love, weather that be romantic love or friendly love. I don't see the point in hugging someone who I'm not very close to. My co-ordination is also terrible when it comes to high fives, so bad that my best friend insists if I want a high five to just leave my hand in the air and he'll make contact. I'd usually opt for a fist bump, usually preceded by the words "pound it!"

Now now, mr "octopus"