Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour de France Stage 1 – July 5th, Leeds - Harrowgate **Unmasked Spoilers**

• 05-07-2014 9:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭

Tdf14_stage1_profile.png

Like last year, the first day will be a golden opportunity for a sprinter to wear the yellow jersey. There are three climbs to contend with, none extremely challenging. The final climb is over 60km from the finish, which should be ample time for any dropped sprinter to get back on and recover themselves.

Despite Marcel Kittel coming into this as the dominant sprinter, all eyes will naturally be on Cavendish. He will be desperate to become only the 7th Briton to wear yellow in the Tour, and on home-turf. There a good number of other sprinters who should not be ruled out, not least of which is Andre Greipel, who has probably the strongest train of all. See also Peter Sagan, Arnaud Demare, Sasha Modolo, and Alexander Kristoff.

Kittel the obvious choice for me. Although it would mean the world to Cavendish, I don't think there's any way Kittel can be matched for raw speed.

Oddschecker - Kittel 9/4, Cavendish 9/4, Greipel 9/2, Sagan 13/2, Demare 12/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭MPFG

Its Kittel for me today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,747 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

For some reason the kom points are only halfway up the climbs...not sure if theres a glitch with the cyclingnews app.

Would love to see cav win, although I think kittel or greipel will take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,100 ✭✭✭✭neris

those new tinkoff kits are very bright. wonder will cav have a strop if he doesnt win any of the three uk stages.

Dafuq is this??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭thisonetaken

What a farce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,518 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Van Summeran sticks out like a sore thumb! He's so tall!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 pauliemck

I didn't tune into Eurosport to see this. Start the racing already...

ATTACK NOW CHRIS!

Ah lads stop whinging will ye! :)

Did they have designated ppl at the front to meet and greet? Schleck maneovured his way in there!

Watch the Jensie attack !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

retalivity wrote: »
    Did they have designated ppl at the front to meet and greet? Schleck maneovured his way in there!

As a previous Tour winner he was put there

Ah lads stop whinging will ye! :)

But could they not have done that nonsense at the start-line before the race...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭mistermatthew

David miller is good craic. Bitta bants outta him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭seany15

Even at the start froome is boring

seany15 wrote: »
    Even at the start froome is boring

Froome can't help being boring

David Millar is good on commentary

And yes Jensie attacks !!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭seany15

THE JENSIE!!!

Pity you couldn't bet on voigt to attack straight away!

Much better effort by Halfords in the TV adverts. I'll never quite get over their awful showing last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

Halford's have an uphill battle, in fairness, but its a good ad.

Still wouldn't buy a Boardman.

Nico is number 37

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,783 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

loving this Yorkshire weather so far. hope it stays this way

Clever bottle carrier design for TST. Stephen Roche is probably having a coronary though.

Brx4i4tIgAA6zHA.jpg

Very impressed by the crowds and the scenery. Gutted that I couldn't make it over for the weekend.

I quite like the bottle carrier - makes the collection of bottles a lot easier for the domestiques that have to drop back to the team car. I wonder how long it will be before we see other teams adopting a similar technique...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Going from utv HD to Eurosport SD during ad breaks on utv is painful ,I don't have all HD channels but cycling in HD is impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

Wheres HarroWgate?

Are we losing ITV coverage when it switches to UTV4?

Yellow sheep :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,837 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

You would think they'd edit Impey out of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭EC1000

Wheres HarroWgate?

Are we losing ITV coverage when it switches to UTV4?

Watching on itv4 now, the whole stage is on there.... you wont miss any of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Much better effort by Halfords in the TV adverts. I'll never quite get over their awful showing last year.

It's a great ad isn't it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I want to have an ale in The White Lion Inn there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

I think the most important thing in this Tour is that no one ends up having to wear polka dot shorts.

Very excited for that 1 kom point there...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Some skills there from Brice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

EC1000 wrote: »
    Not with UPC it aint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

Cheers, was watching on tg4 and that is taking a break for the tennis

Go on the Jensie...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭EC1000

Not with UPC it aint.

Can you not tune it in manually? Watching it on freeview here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Can you not tune it in manually? Watching it on freeview here

Nope upc block all sports on itv4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

is the only live ticker on letour.fr? no sign of one on cyclingnews or elsewhere.

Magically appeared just now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭thirteen.

Jens <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭BofaDeezNuhtz

Fuggin' great crowds there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭thirteen.

Those crowds are absolutely incredible.

Brilliant crowds, well done Yorkshire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

thirteen. wrote: »
    Those crowds are absolutely incredible.
    Kudos Yorkshire, Britain :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Fuggin' great crowds there!
    Great turn out for them, surely. Spotted this on a football forum in England;

312gui1.jpg

You'd have to understand the local dialect but it is quite amusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Unreal crowds. Unfortunately, some of them don't seem any more respectful to the riders compared to their continental counterparts, what with standing in the middle of the road, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Some effort from Voigt.

Great scenes:
    BryNNlvCYAEOYg2.jpg