Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 169th conviction was the deal breaker

• 03-07-2014 2:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭

How do you get caught and convicted for 168 offences and are still allowed on the streets... Mad!

From RTE

A man, who drove a stolen van deliberately at a stationary garda motorcyclist following a high-speed chase through Cork city has been sentenced to 12 years in prison.
    John Paul O'Driscoll, who has 168 previous convictions, had pleaded guilty to 17 charges including burglary, reckless endangerment and aggravated damage.
    His passenger, Damien Fitzgerald, received a four-year sentence for burglary and for allowing himself to be carried in a stolen vehicle.
    Cork Circuit Criminal Court was told that the incident has had a very traumatic effect on Garda Michael Twomey, and that only time will tell if he will be able to continue his career with the Garda Traffic Corps.
    Judge Seán Ó Donnabháin described the high-speed chase from one side of Cork city to the other on Good Friday this year as manic, mindless and phenomenally dangerous and "absolutely at the higher end of the scale of offences".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Because;

Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Lucky it wasn't 170z he'd have gotten the chair for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Getting caught 169 times? Give up crime man, you're sh*t at it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Tsk....they could have given him a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

I wonder how old this cretin is. Only seems to be RTE carrying the story so there's not much background info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

The Irish justice system has sympathy for the criminal.

We hear all the time about criminals with multiple convictions out and about and then they commit an even more serious crime and as usual we all wonder why the person was not locked away after all the previous crimes.

The justice system gives sentences that allow freedom to people when they should be in for life, Larry Murphy I am thinking of you...

This is no surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

I'll see your 169 and raise you 460 convictions - http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/woman-with-460-convictions-jailed-for-pulling-clumps-from-head-of-female-garda-30402108.html

These recidivists should just be put down. All they do is take, in every sence of the word, and contribute absolutely nothing to society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Considering the actual number of crime ratio to being caught is at least 5 to 1, probably more like 10 to 1 this fella alone has something like a thousand crimes to his name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Mankyspuds wrote: »
    A man, who drove a stolen van deliberately at a stationary garda motorcyclist

The lowest of the low, what a complete scumbag.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Our "justice" system is just fantastic isn't it?

Triple digits before they decide to put him away for any decent length of time and he'll probably only serve a fraction of it anyway.

We better throw thousands upon thousands of euro worth of social workers and welfare freebies at him to make sure the poor petal doesn't have a tough life after he gets out.

People like this are irredeemable and pointless. Bring them around the back of the courthouse, put one behind their ear and burn the waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Once you hit the 100th conviction, a spinal snip should be enacted. Ya can't beat a bit of paralysis to stop a criminal in their track.

Sure it'll cost the state disability payments and probably a free wheelchair every now and again, but cheaper than jail time and going through the courts over and over yet not as harsh as the death penalty as mentionsed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

**** that, once your convictions for crimes against other people are in the double-digits it's swift bat to the back of the head and a shallow grave time imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

ronnie3585 wrote: »

Multiple convictions, multiple legal aid hand outs, its the legal industry doing business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭galwayredgirl

Mankyspuds wrote: »
    How do you get caught and convicted for 168 offences and are still allowed on the streets... Mad!

From RTE

A man, who drove a stolen van deliberately at a stationary garda motorcyclist following a high-speed chase through Cork city has been sentenced to 12 years in prison.
    John Paul O'Driscoll, who has 168 previous convictions, had pleaded guilty to 17 charges including burglary, reckless endangerment and aggravated damage.
    His passenger, Damien Fitzgerald, received a four-year sentence for burglary and for allowing himself to be carried in a stolen vehicle.
    Cork Circuit Criminal Court was told that the incident has had a very traumatic effect on Garda Michael Twomey, and that only time will tell if he will be able to continue his career with the Garda Traffic Corps.
    Judge Seán Ó Donnabháin described the high-speed chase from one side of Cork city to the other on Good Friday this year as manic, mindless and phenomenally dangerous and "absolutely at the higher end of the scale of offences".

8 years actually - dont they automatically get a 1/3 off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I'm actually not surprised anymore when I hear news about our justice system.
    Just laugh at it, pointless getting mad at something we can't change no matter how much we'd like to :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I can't understand why we aren't putting ankle tags on these career criminals who rack up 50+ convictions. They already tag criminals in the UK for a few years after release and it works wonders at keeping the crime rate down. A criminal isn't going to commit crime if the State have a device attached to their ankle placing them at the scene of the crime.

It's that's simple but absolutely none of our politicians are talking about tagging these habitual criminals who will just go on to mug more people, burgle more homes and create more heartache for the many many victims of their crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

So that will be 185 in four years when he is out again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dar100

Our "justice" system is just fantastic isn't it?

Triple digits before they decide to put him away for any decent length of time and he'll probably only serve a fraction of it anyway.

We better throw thousands upon thousands of euro worth of social workers and welfare freebies at him to make sure the poor petal doesn't have a tough life after he gets out.

People like this are irredeemable and pointless. Bring them around the back of the courthouse, put one behind their ear and burn the waste.

You mean commit a crime by shooting him:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

I wonder how old this cretin is. Only seems to be RTE carrying the story so there's not much background info.

27 according to RTE news. 169 convictions, I'm not gonna even work out the maths, depressing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Yeah, I saw this and wondered if 170 was the magic number. Mad stuff. How do you amass 169 and not end up in clinkey.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

...for good behaviour?

This guy doesn't know what good behaviour means!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

In some states in america they have a 3 strike system . If you commit three offences you're in for life, no ifs ands or buts, they really take no crap.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

In some states in america they have a 3 strike system . If you commit three offences you're in for life, no ifs ands or buts, they really take no crap.

That's 3 serious crimes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

That's 3 serious crimes!

Not always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭thomasm

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    I'll see your 169 and raise you 460 convictions - http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/woman-with-460-convictions-jailed-for-pulling-clumps-from-head-of-female-garda-30402108.html

These recidivists should just be put down. All they do is take, in every sence of the word, and contribute absolutely nothing to society.

460 convictions !! What the f@ck is wrong with this country. There has to be a point before this where society says your free time is up forever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

That's 3 serious crimes!
    Not always. I vaguely remember one guy getting life in prison. His third offence was stealing a slice of pizza or something.

Too bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

We should send lowlifes like this to a secluded island, establish a new Australia if you will - as they seem very precious about taking the runt of litter these days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Just saw a pic of this winner on breakingnews.

You could pick him out as garbage from 100ft away. At least he seems to have worn his best tracksuit to court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithi1970

..and I dont believe that that system has actually worked in california..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Three-strikes_law#cite_note-22

that said, the prisons should be emptied of those convicted of non payment of fines and of crimes not against the person or property, and have the violent offenders banged up.

my 2 cents...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

Judges should be elected in this country. Tied in with the local elections or general elections - to minimize cost.
    Would argue the same for Police chief
    That would force this issue to be resolved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Id say he only got 12 years cause it was a garda he hit. Surprised half of it wasn't suspended. If he hit me or you he would probably still be walking the streets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Here's a mad mad idea. I know some judges arent the most intelligent people. I've met them at various law balls in UCD and some of them aren't the full shilling but for the love of christ can we stop putting people who don't pay small fines in jail and put people like these in jail.

Reading crap like that makes you wonder why we don't have something like America's 3 strikes. Now I'm aware of all the problems surrounding the 3 strikes policy but if we even had a 20 strikes on then we could lock up a lot of the scum who are out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Slunk wrote: »
    Id say he only got 12 years cause it was a garda he hit. Surprised half of it wasn't suspended. If he hit me or you he would probably still be walking the streets

Both sentences will be greatly reduced on appeal! 12 years will probable end up being 12 months with the driving ban reduced to 3 or 4 years.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,600 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

biko wrote: »
    Considering the actual number of crime ratio to being caught is at least 5 to 1, probably more like 10 to 1 this fella alone has something like a thousand crimes to his name.
    Actually he pleaded guilty to 17 charges on this one conviction so you might want to check the sums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Kev2Dee

Take a chase in anything.....

but realistically....bring back capital punishment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Enough to make any human from Gurrier Na Brathair to Monte Notte bristle with pride, biy!

That's what too much Murphys, Drisheen and Barry's Tea does.

Reopen SPIKE for the Judiciary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭jamezy

Maybe we should consider the 3 strike thing like they do in America. Maybe private run prisons too. Not the state sponsored Hilton jails we have now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭wilford

Ah sure wasn't he a lovely lad who got mixed in with the wrong crowd,sure didn't he go to mass every Sunday without fail,3 strike rule and less of the holiday camp regeime in our prison's is the only way,but sure that'll never happen,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭InReality

I saw the 460 convictions a few days ago. Wonder is there a world record she could have a go at ?

I'd be fierce pissed off If was a guard putting up with that. Complete waste of time bringing her in and out of courts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

10th offence and you should be on your way to the citizen re-education camp.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

wilford wrote: »
    Ah sure wasn't he a lovely lad who got mixed in with the wrong crowd,sure didn't he go to mass every Sunday without fail,3 strike rule and less of the holiday camp regeime in our prison's is the only way,but sure that'll never happen,

He's also very good to his mother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Time to colonise Rockall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Plazaman wrote: »
    Once you hit the 100th conviction, a spinal snip should be enacted. Ya can't beat a bit of paralysis to stop a criminal in their track.

Sure it'll cost the state disability payments and probably a free wheelchair every now and again, but cheaper than jail time and going through the courts over and over yet not as harsh as the death penalty as mentionsed.

Don't be so sure.....

de brudder is a Guard and he was telling me a story recently of how they arrested a wheelchair bound dealer - he'd lost the lower parts of both legs to a circulatory disease caused by his injecting but was still trundling around in his HSE-supplied wheelchair dealing.....

.......apparently he thought the Guards would never stop and search someone in a wheelchair - even if they were a well known dealer seen frequenting with known users!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Ineedaname

Slunk wrote: »

He was going to get 2 years suspended until swore at the judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

This was on joe duffy show,
    people who don,t pay fines ,go to prison,
    they might spend 1 or 2 days there ,
    OR be let out after a few hours.
    They need the cells for serious criminals ,
    eg burglars ,drug dealers etc
    IT s a waste of time and money sending people to prison for non payment of fines.
    WE have a limited amount of cell space .
    A life sentence here, is like 10 years in jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Judge Sean O Donnabhain said he had been willing to suspend the final two years of the sentence before the accused swore at him from the dock.

A bright young man he is.....

Never mind the 169 previous, swear at a judge and get 2 years.
    Not that i am against those 2 years but i would like to see a pest with 169 previous to be locked up a little while longer than 12 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

inforfun wrote: »
    A bright young man he is.....

Never mind the 169 previous, swear at a judge and get 2 years.
    Not that i am against those 2 years but i would like to see a pest with 169 previous to be locked up a little while longer than 12 years.

The thing I find funny about that is the 17 convictions he is tried for including robbery, reckless endangerment and aggravated damage are worth 10 years. Swearing at a judge is worth 2 years.

I wonder if spitting at a judge is the equivalent of murdering a couple of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

This isn't going to change until we start housing recidivist criminals in areas in which judges also live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

The thing I find funny about that is the 17 convictions he is tried for including robbery, reckless endangerment and aggravated damage are worth 10 years. Swearing at a judge is worth 2 years.

I wonder if spitting at a judge is the equivalent of murdering a couple of people.

God help the poor people who work in shops or coffee shops near the courts, serve them a bad cappuccino and it'll be a decade in the 'Joy for ya!!