Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Felines

• 29-06-2014 10:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭

They're just so cute, furry little ears, body and appendages. They're always cool, like little furry wiseguys, they're cold blooded killers one minute and all about a packet of 'dreamies' treats the next.

No conscience but still can show such emotion and loyalty to their owner once you gain their trust. Such a dignified beast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,860 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Hideous creatures that hold knowing, and in some owners cases', unknowing, contempt for our species.

Never turn your back on a cat. They'll shaft you every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

I think this forum would be able to answer your query most appropriately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

I've never met a cat I didn't like......barbequed, absolutely delish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Make no mistake about it. Give them half a chance and they'll kill you and everyone you love.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

Cats > life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The stupidest cat is cleverer than the smartest dog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

They're always your best friend as soon as they hear the can opener.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

That little chirpy sound they make to greet you - half-mew, half-purr, like a 1980's telephone. That is the sound of happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭ArtyM

McDermotX wrote: »

Never turn your back on a cat. They'll shaft you every time.

I think you are mixing up Cats and Cellmates.

A dog thinks: Hey, those people I live with feed me, love me, provide me with a nice warm, dry house, pet me, and take good care of me.....They must be gods!

A cat thinks: Hey, these people I live with feed me, love me, provide me with a nice warm, dry house, pet me, and take good care of me...I must be a god.

I've yet to see a cat pull a baby out of a burning house or tell framer Browne that that some young lad fell down the well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

If I was stuck out in the mountains freezing to death, injured and lost, a clever cat wouldn't be much use to me. Cats aren't much use to blind people either! Plus dogs can drive cars, not fecking curl up under one waiting to get splatted!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

At least cats share their food with you - the amount of mice and birds that have been deposited on the front door mat every morning.

I've yet to see a cat pull a baby out of a burning house or tell framer Browne that that some young lad fell down the well.

My dog used to love having a cold bath on a hot day in an unused wheelie bin....I have yet to find a cat who will hold still long enough for me to dunk the fckr underneath!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

K-9 wrote: »
    If I was stuck out in the mountains freezing to death, injured and lost, a clever cat wouldn't be much use to me. Cats aren't much use to blind people either! Plus dogs can drive cars, not fecking curl up under one waiting to get splatted!

Did ye not the cat that saves the boy from dog attack video that went viral about a month ago? I'd link the video but I can't post URL's as I'm a newbie. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

I once had a cat like this, as a child/teenager. :D
    It would wait at the bottom of the road when I would get of the school bus to greet me and follow me up the lane. Same time every day without fail. :D

That cat was clearly a dog in another life.

Scary thing for the kid and parent. Id say there was an interesting chat with the dog owner after that.

The barking cat is a good vid too.

That cat was clearly a dog in another life.

Scary thing for the kid and parent. Id say there was an interesting chat with the dog owner after that.

The barking cat is a good vid too.

Very scary! What if the cat wasn't there? God knows what would have happened to that poor kid! He's lucky he got away with just a bite to the leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Did ye not the cat that saves the boy from dog attack video that went viral about a month ago? I'd link the video but I can't post URL's as I'm a newbie. :(

Always an exception to the rule! Seriously, guide dogs, dogs that help people with disabilities in their day to day lives, comfort dogs used to go to old peoples homes, comfort people in hospitals after things lie the Boston bombings, dogs that can even scent cancerous cells in peoples urine. One thing dogs aren't is stupid.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,860 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

K-9 wrote: »
    Always an exception to the rule! Seriously, guide dogs, dogs that help people with disabilities in their day to day lives, comfort dogs used to go to old peoples homes, comfort people in hospitals after things lie the Boston bombings, dogs that can even scent cancerous cells in peoples urine. One thing dogs aren't is stupid.

I'm a dog lover first and foremost. I certainly won't class dogs as stupid!! I have a kitty and since I got him, I have fallen in love with him. :P He's an A1 asshole though. :pac:

Stolen.but!

They're just so cute, furry little ears, body and appendages. They're always cool, like little furry wiseguys, they're cold blooded killers one minute and all about a packet of 'dreamies' treats the next.

No conscience but still can show such emotion and loyalty to their owner once you gain their trust. Such a dignified beast.

They're not so bad after the first few dates.

McDermotX wrote: »

/dead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Furry ninjas in our midst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭Tardful Slakerly II

Cat people are narcissists - see an animal that spends a minimum of 16 hours a day sleeping and the rest licking its own asshole and call it a genius.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

If you don't love cats we can't be friends. Even my dog loves cats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Well then Micky, imma introduce you to Scarlett :D

http://www.animalleague.org/events-news/press-center/scarlett-passes-away.html

And Oscar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

I've yet to see a news report of a cat mauling a child/adult to death

Sure don't lions and tigers eat people? :-P If your domestic cat was a lot bigger I imagine you'd hear of a few cases.

If you are keeping one as a pet then you really only have yourself to blame!

Cat people are narcissists - see an animal that spends a minimum of 16 hours a day sleeping and the rest licking its own asshole and call it a genius.

What does your dog do to benefit society?

Cats eat dead people

GrayFox208 wrote: »
    Cats eat dead people

If I died I would rather my cats ate me if they had to to survive than die like idiots!

Same.

Eating a corpse isn't a sign of intelligence. Maggots will eat you as well as plenty of other creatures given a chance. If somebody I love dies am I an idiot if I don't eat them?

I know I'm projecting, but they remind me of more human personalities than dogs. Most people are self centered to an extent and I what is that I love in cats is that's fully unhinged and independent, The whole happy-happy dog struck me as bit of an eejit, where as a cat had a bit of self preservation in it. They're hilarious in their grovelment.

Love this cat vs dog diary image:

http://www.kulfoto.com/pic/0001/0035/b/812V634999.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Cats eat dead people
    As will a dog.

Eating a corpse isn't a sign of intelligence. Maggots will eat you as well as plenty of other creatures given a chance. If somebody I love dies am I an idiot if I don't eat them?

Well you can use a phone to get help, and open a fridge or press to get to food, I dont think you would need to resort to eating a person until by chance someone came into the house

That's not the point I'm making which you know but you can pretend to ignore it if you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I love cats. I think they're hilarious.

Cats eat dead people

People eat all kinds of dead animals, you're really going to judge cats? :D

--LOS-- wrote: »
    People eat all kinds of dead animals, you're really going to judge cats? :D

>implying I was judging

Why so serious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Cats are also good for pest control; if allowed to do their own thing they'll kill anything that moves that's smaller than itself within a square mile.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Hands up here who ever killed a cat!

*hand up*

--LOS-- wrote: »
    Why so serious

Baby I was born this way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Drug sniffing dogs, mountain rescue dogs, dogs for blind people, sheep dogs who can control and herd sheep and cows etc.

siblers wrote: »
    Drug sniffing dogs, mountain rescue dogs, dogs for blind people, sheep dogs who can control and herd sheep and cows etc.

Who says you can't train a cat to do those things?

catallus wrote: »
    Cats are also good for pest control; if allowed to do their own thing they'll kill anything that moves that's smaller than itself within a square mile.

There's a good doc about cats, it might have been a bbc production, essentially they fixed cameras to a bunch of neighborhood cats to do a day in the life style show. What they found was that cats were lazier and more domestic than predicted and didn't go after pests so much as you'd think.