Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would Boards be like without mods?

• 29-06-2014 1:22am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭

Scary, I can imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

GrayFox208 wrote: »
    Scary, I can imagine.

4chan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I wouldn't be scared now, it's only a website!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Scary, I can imagine.
    A place where you know, topical and slightly controversial things could be discussed without being immediately shut down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

It's already very scary and offensive with Mods, without them it would be Lord of the flies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Dr. Zaius Dr. Zaius!

Probably a lot of nudie pics floating around......

......not that I'm complaining! :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

mods are needed someplaces. the rugby and soccer forums would both disintegrate with munster-leinster and man utd-liverpool fans respectively. i don't know which would be worse. probably soccer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

mods are needed someplaces. the rugby and soccer forums would both disintegrate with munster-leinster and man utd-liverpool fans respectively. i don't know which would be worse. probably soccer.

It'd be fun for a day or two to watch the gob****es go at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Tumbleweed. We'd all have gotten fed up with the trolls and left and the trolls would have gotten fed up with no one left to troll.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

In all seriousness it would go back to being all fields.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

It would be like a prison without prison guards :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Or a bakery with no social media presence...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

overrun by Rockers ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

"Build it and they will come"

What one guy said to another guy who was thinking of starting a porn cinema.

What was the question again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Consider this, what would soccer be like without referees? Most players grow up playing small games in the park with jumpers for goalposts and a mutually accepted set of rules. If a foul is committed, both sides accept it's a free kick. Any disputes are settled by a mutually agreed coin-toss. This all happens in perfect harmony as if it didn't, the person who owned the ball would just go home. If referees never existed, I believe this would continue into senior level.

Similarly, I believe without mods, boards would become self-moderating. Members would draw up mutually accepted rules and any troll-like comments or actions would be ignored, meaning trolls have no incentive to troll and eventually get bored.

As for soccer and rugby completely collapsing as another poster mentioned, these two forums are notoriously strictly moderated, especially soccer. Without mod action, I predict that the only way to stop petty arguments would be for all team threads to become private, with members being able to democratically decide to remove anyone they feel are using their membership for trolling. A public soccer forum would continue to exist subject to the same assumptions as above.

The one flaw in my theory is that, despite the assumptions that all troll actions would be ignored, the site could become littered with rubbish which couldn't be removed briskly as mods do, but only by democratic vote which would be very cumbersome.

thelad95 wrote: »
    Consider this, what would soccer be like without referees? Most players grow up playing small games in the park with jumpers for goalposts and a mutually accepted set of rules. If a foul is committed, both sides accept it's a free kick. Any disputes are settled by a mutually agreed coin-toss. This all happens in perfect harmony as if it didn't, the person who owned the ball would just go home. If referees never existed, I believe this would continue into senior level.

Similarly, I believe without mods, boards would become self-moderating. Members would draw up mutually accepted rules and any troll-like comments or actions would be ignored, meaning trolls have no incentive to troll and eventually get bored.

As for soccer and rugby completely collapsing as another poster mentioned, these two forums are notoriously strictly moderated, especially soccer. Without mod action, I predict that the only way to stop petty arguments would be for all team threads to become private, with members being able to democratically decide to remove anyone they feel are using their membership for trolling. A public soccer forum would continue to exist subject to the same assumptions as above.

The one flaw in my theory is that, despite the assumptions that all troll actions would be ignored, the site could become littered with rubbish which couldn't be removed briskly as mods do, but only by democratic vote which would be very cumbersome.

If members were deleting threads they would be mods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Your theory is flawed. It would only work on a small local scale and not on a grand scale. Comparing 8 lads who know each other to a place with at least a billion anonymous peoples is crazy, proper mental, like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

If members were deleting threads they would be mods

There is no hierarchy in membership, everyone is at an equal level and can choose to become part of the utopian democracy or be unceremoniously booted out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The comments section after a youtube video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

OUTLANDAAAA!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭obplayer

Check YouTube comments to give an idea of what un-modded boards can be like. The seventh circle of hell.
    Be grateful for these people who tell us off and keep us in line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,414 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I believe on the game "Counter Strike" there was a "special" place for those who were banned where they could enjoy games with others who were banned - namely unsecure games.

Not a pretty place I am led to believe. Hackers and nobs have freedom there so real games are not possible.

A dark and depressing place to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I'm sure we'd all be very civilized with our new found freedom, getting along with each other and posting appropriately.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10 im blue daba dee

It would be total anarchy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Thread: Reasons why I like Kittens & Puppies

First few posts:
    "Puppies / Kittens are cewl"

About 10 posts in:
    "The sheeple are too asleep to see what the elite are really doing to them, drinking too much fluoridated tap water to let the bankers get away with everything! WAKE UP!!"

About 20 posts in:
    "Well, you may think of it like that but when (and I might as well say it since the thread is already Godwinned) Hitler had already stepped up his plans when the Soviets....."

About 80 posts in:
    "If Muslims want to come over here they better respect my culture and adapt or else they can giiiiiiit out!!"

About 120 posts in and 2 years after the last post:
    "I had a poodle once, it pooed in my shoe."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

The one flaw in my theory
    You flatter yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Years ago there was a channel 4 discussion forum. It was professionally run and moderated and had discussions on time team and grand designs. Then came big brother; the hordes arrived and the rules were invented on the fly . At the end of it we created a not channel 4 forums forum and soon after the channel 4 forums were closed down.
    So our new forum was an experiment in anarchy and for a while it was good
    We were u moderated and expected each other to play nice but soon sh t escalated and chaos reigned. A break away group was formed who communicated by windows messenger and we formed a new forum and moderated by a school dinner lady from Sussex ( not kidding) .
    Channel 4 forums was the biggest forum in the uk there are now about 60'of us on our forum and we mainly communicate through Facebook if the truth be told
    All because we felt we would be better off Unmoderated

http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1022282

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Drunker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,090 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Click Shutdown and you have the general idea.

tl/dr 404

Not your ornery onager

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

The spammers, shills and advertisers would kill it dead before the trolls even got a chance to post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Well, there would be 2000 less rules to remember as we wouldn't have separate rules/charters for every forum & sub-forum.

You wouldn't get infractions for quoting other people or god-forbid, chatting with other people on this social media site.

You'd get a lot more great offers on male enhancement products!

I'm not seeing any negatives here.
    :P

Well, there would be 2000 less rules to remember as we wouldn't have separate rules/charters for every forum & sub-forum.

You wouldn't get infractions for quoting other people or god-forbid, chatting with other people on this social media site.

You'd get a lot more great offers on male enhancement products!

I'm not seeing any negatives here.
    :P

There are plenty of places you can get offers on male enhancement products, if you need them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

There are plenty of places you can get offers on male enhancement products, if you need them :)

Stop shilling your sideline missy!

I can't help it if I make men's penises grow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Tigger wrote: »
    Years ago there was a channel 4 discussion forum. It was professionally run and moderated and had discussions on time team and grand designs. Then came big brother; the hordes arrived and the rules were invented on the fly . At the end of it we created a not channel 4 forums forum and soon after the channel 4 forums were closed down.
    So our new forum was an experiment in anarchy and for a while it was good
    We were u moderated and expected each other to play nice but soon sh t escalated and chaos reigned. A break away group was formed who communicated by windows messenger and we formed a new forum and moderated by a school dinner lady from Sussex ( not kidding) .
    Channel 4 forums was the biggest forum in the uk there are now about 60'of us on our forum and we mainly communicate through Facebook if the truth be told
    All because we felt we would be better off Unmoderated

http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1022282

OK - but One and a Quarter Million posts?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭LowOdour

If boards.IE could not get sued Or have legal action taken against it for something posted on it, would it be as heavily moderated as it is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

I'm sure we'd all be very civilized with our new found freedom, getting along with each other and posting appropriately.

Speak for yourself. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

LowOdour wrote: »
    If boards.IE could not get sued Or have legal action taken against it for something posted on it, would it be as heavily moderated as it is?

If it really was heavily moderated you'ld be banned for saying it was heavily moderated.

Hmm ....where's that report button.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

It would be chaos, but as the Joker said, "the great thing about chaos is... its fair."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Anything would go including,racist,begrudgingly,selfish,one sided political opinions and no doubt have free for all with the insults.

For the most part I like the way it is now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

obplayer wrote: »
    Check YouTube comments to give an idea of what un-modded boards can be like. The seventh circle of hell.
    Be grateful for these people who tell us off and keep us in line.

Boards has a lot of intelligent people, YouTube comments are a shower of twats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

More impartial and less cliquey in certain small forums , e.g , the athletics and running forum

Please don't use this thread to criticise other forums. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

It would be a bit like Mad Max. Perhaps Mel would make an appearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭fran17

it would quickly deteriorate in a farce.but on the flip side we would loose the one or two agenda driven mods so every cloud;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Something like this, as it spirals out of control.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

The comments section after a youtube video.

I hate youtube comments with a fiery passion. :mad: Dickheads being dickheads. :mad:

'Oh my gawd, I hate this song. Is this supposed to be talent? I liked this song before it was cool, now it's so overplayed. Blah blah blah'
    Why the fcuk did you look the song up in the first place you fcuktard? :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

It would be a bit like Mad Max. Perhaps Mel would make an appearance.
    There is a Thunderdome link on boards listing but it is now closed.
    Aunt Entity would be that Moderator on boards. :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

What would Boards be like without mods?