Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What age did you start drinking alcohol?

• 27-06-2014 8:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭pqdvdplayer

Should be interesting to see the results of this survey.

What age did you start drinking alcohol? 329 votes

12 or below
    14% 48 votes
    7% 25 votes
    7% 25 votes
    12% 40 votes
    15% 52 votes
    13% 43 votes
    12% 42 votes
    Older than 18
    8% 27 votes
    Never
    8% 27 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Should be interesting to see the results of this survey.

When did you start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    When did you start?

When did you become a mod?

When did you start back seating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭pqdvdplayer

When did you start?

That really doesn't concern you. How dare you ask a stranger about such personal details on an online forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

My granaunt gave me a small drop of Baileys when I was 12. I use to take a sip here and there but didn't really start drinking til I was 18. Don't really have much interest in it now, was never a big thing for me.... :-/

Edit: Which option to I pick? :confused:

When did you start back seating?

I have a little power here if you're looking for some

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

When I was 13, used to drink 4 cans of cider for a fiver in the field, the good old days :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Oooooooooh bitchy.

Meow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Had first taste drink prob bout 12 or 13 year old.
    But when I was 16 and on holidays with my parents my dad told me to grab a bear from fridge and have a drink with him on the balcony.
    Told me the way to treat drink as to not abuse it or take the pi55 with it.
    Appreciate it a lot more because had me first drink with me dad instead of sitting in a poxy field with me mates and drinking Dutch.

I have a little power here if you're looking for some

Powers Whiskey?

Nah, bit early for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

13/14 I started slowly.

I remember an older friend asking me could I hold much, meaning in what quantity could I drink, I thought he ment in what I could carry, so I said about three six packs,18 bottles. He was impressed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

That really doesn't concern you. How dare you ask a stranger about such personal details on an online forum.

Good way to get people to vote in your poll.

Well spotted sir. I don't know what I'd do without people like you on the internet to point out the obvious at any opportunity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

I was expecting a poo post Arthur. I has the disappoint. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I had a few mouthfulls of Guinness when we were out making hay I was around 6 then. Really kicked off when I was 15 because my older brother who is 3 years olderwas out the whole time so I looked older never had any bother getting served.
    I have drank most weekends without fail since and for 15 years or so most Monday, and Thursday nights and maybe a few cans on the other nights if I didnt wander out.
    Found out a month ago that my brother who I looked up to didnt drink until he was 24, the ba5t@r0

Well spotted sir. I don't know what I'd do without people like you on the internet to point out the obvious at any opportunity.

You are very welcome. Nice to know that I have been if assistance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

When I was 15, I got a Saturday job in a shop. It paid £2.50 for the day!

For that you could get a pack of smokes and 5 or 6 pints of Light and Bitter (Light and Bitter was good - it always felt like you knew what you were talking about) and then maybe a kebab on the way home.

Happy Days :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭larrlin24

Drank for the first time when I was 14, but got drunk for the first time when I was 15 going on 16. Went crazy drinking nearly every weekend until I was about 19 and now at 22 I haven't drank in nearly two years. Not really interested in it any more.

I was expecting a poo post Arthur. I has the disappoint. :(

Well I **** myself the first time i got langered - does that count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭HomelessMidge

I was 12 the first time getting drunk.
    Then when I was 13 it was the odd time like Easter and such.
    I'd say at 14 I was drinking at least 2 to 3 times a month.
    15 I started smoking hash and would have been drinking most weekends.
    16 I was doing different drugs and drinking almost every weekend.
    17 I kinda calmed down and just smoked weed and drank the odd weekend, maybe once a month.
    I'm 22 now and haven't drank since new years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Maleficent

Experimented at 14. Still do.

OP, cough up the personal info or the thread and the pretty poll gets it.

You get away with it this time OP, this time.

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Does gripe water as a baby count?

Am I the only one the intentionally voted inaccurately? Sorry, OP :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

20 or 21. Though I did take a few sips of a Guinness when I was 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

When I was 13, Stag was the Drink of choice of young Rapscallions, if you've ever tasted Stag you'll know that it was impossible to drink much more than 3 - 4 longnecks, feckin poxy stuff

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

Had first taste drink prob bout 12 or 13 year old.
    But when I was 16 and on holidays with my parents my dad told me to grab a bear from fridge and have a drink with him on the balcony.
    Told me the way to treat drink as to not abuse it or take the pi55 with it.
    Appreciate it a lot more because had me first drink with me dad instead of sitting in a poxy field with me mates and drinking Dutch.

At least there were no bears in the fields, your dad sounds pretty irresponsible, keeping wildlife in the fridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,426 ✭✭✭✭josip

Kept the pledge until 3 days shy of my 18th birthday I decided it would be rebellious to break it with 3 pints of Smithwicks in Madigans of Rathmines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,008 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

First sip-8, my aunt thought it would be funny to give me a sip of her Malibu and pineapple, took a sip and puked in the glass.

First drink-11, same aunt (bitch). Came into Dan Lowries in mosney parched, she handed me a smithwicks shandy, downed it in one.

First time drunk. 15 at a gaffe party. No real story there.

Highlight of it all is still walking into a pub with my granddad the day after my 18th and having my first legal drink with him.

Powers Whiskey?

Nah, bit early for me.

Even on a Friday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,756 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

First sip would have been 11 i think.
    First time drunk was 13 older mates 15th birthday in a field 3 cans and i was hammered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭9bred4

Started proper drinking at 17!

Side note, some of ye are really bitchy on this. Relax the flaps lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Around 4 :eek: myself and my siblings decided it would be a good idea to try some whiskey :eek: luckily enough the mother caught us before we drank too much :) After that about 7 or 8 tasted Guinness. Started drinking pints around 17 didn't try pints of Guinness until 23 and didn't look back.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,769 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

I've no excuse, in vino veratis, on my posts to boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭9bred4

Manach wrote: »

I'm gonna be stealing that Latin phrase thanks :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Early teenage years, my neighbour started after his holy communion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Reiketsu

When I was 14 my parents let me drink in the house. At the same age I used to go to a friends and be honest about the fact I was going to be having a few drinks. My parents were okay about it because I never came home really steaming and I never lied about where I was or what I was doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

13. In Mosney. We swiped the drink, a full bottle of Pernod and a few bottles of sparkling table wine, from a nordie birds chalet.
    Me, her, and my mate and 2 brothers all got hammered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

12. Me and 2 mates used to chip in for a flagon of Old Somerset and a couple of cans of Scrumpy Jack. My brother's mate would get them for us, and we'd drink them down in my shed on a Saturday afternoon.
    Good old times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Manach wrote: »

veratis ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2lru4dJ4J6g

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

17. I spent a year or two of doing a decent amount of drinking, but the novelty has worn off.

I'd enjoy a cold cider with dinner, but few and far between.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Drank Baileys when I was 3 or 4, asked for milk and my incompetent father decided to give me Baileys.

But I don't drink now nor smoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Started on Celebration Cream when I was about 8. Moved on to Alter wine as an Alter boy and G&Ts in my late teens. Now mostly Burgundy, Merlot, Brandy or White Rum based cocktails.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

When I was 14.
    Drank half a bottle of cheapo red wine up in Tick-Knock on the Wicklow Mountains.
    Every couple of weeks after that, I'd be at a house party getting locked on four cans of Budweiser :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

15, vodka or cider. All went downhill from there.

9bred4 wrote: »
    I'm gonna be stealing that Latin phrase thanks :D

Check the spelling first though.

(Not meant as grammar natzi post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

15 if you don't count that time I quaffed a whole set of mini licqueur's in my uncles house because of the pretty colours they were!