Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Derby

• 27-06-2014 7:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭

Does anyone know the current going at The Curragh?

Very tempted to take Australia on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

hucklebuck wrote: »
    Does anyone know the current going at The Curragh?

Very tempted to take Australia on.

O'Brien tweeted he doesnt want soft yesterday. I'd say he might not run if it goes against him.

Anyway, it was fairly wet yesterday and last night but this morning is pretty dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Can't see it being any worse than genuinely good ground.
    Forecast seems fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭STADEdeLUC

Love this meeting getting in is just so damn expensive, it'll have to be an RTE job this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Slattsy wrote: »
    Can't see it being any worse than genuinely good ground.
    Forecast seems fair.

There was tons of rain in Dublin last night, if its good or softer I will take him on.

Yeah but the ground was good to firm for about 2 weeks.

He wont run on soft i reckon (hope).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

http://www.goracing.ie/HRI/Fixtures-and-Results/Ground-Reports/

Going is still officially Good to Firm as of 08.15 this morning. Drop of rain yesterday and a couple of showers expected today but no possibility (imo) of anything softer than Good ground tomorrow. Hopefully Kingston Hill won't be pulled but (either way) you'll get a good price to lay Australia: I wouldn't advise it though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Just had buckets of rain about 15 minutes from the Curragh, still raining but it's eased off a bit.

It rained quite heavy in Dublin for about 6 hours last night, thought Curragh might have got some too.

Wont be laying Australia whatever happens but will back Kingston Hill against him.

Australia had his ideal course and ground last day so I would expect Kingston to swing it once the ground isnt too quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,926 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Over 1 million in prize money yet only 3 horses oppose Aidan O'Brien tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭bellybuster12

Over 1 million in prize money yet only 3 horses oppose Aidan O'Brien tomorrow.

And Kingston hill owned by Paul Smith would not be a total disaster for the coolmore boys as it ups the profile of mastercraftsman. Prize money for the first 8 home with 7 runners.

Kingston Hill now a doubt :pac:

😞

That was meant to be a sad smiley face.

Stupid things.

Going remains good to firm.

Decision to be made within the hour on Kingston Hill.

Awful race if he doesnt run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭FIVE2_THREE

Slattsy wrote: »
    Awful race if he doesnt run.

It's a race to just watch. Coolmore dominates. kind of like how Tyson dominated in the early 90's. not many people were willing to get in the ring with him and not many people are willing to get in the gate with Coolmore. Godolphin gave up long ago so there are no more threats emerging to challenge them. to the victor goes the spoils and they are the victors.

Out :pac:

Australia to walk past them and win.

1/10 with Paddy Power. Absolute disgrace, group 1 status should be stripped form this race if people aren't going to bother.

All runners will walkaway with at least 25k:rolleyes:. Farcical derby it's turning into.

Geoffrey Chaucher out now too.

The prizemoney for this should be 20k, it's looking like a prep race for the Guineas now.

Have to listen to more **** about Australia now, if he wins this they will be saying he is better than Sea The Stars :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,552 ✭✭✭CH3OH

I'm thinking of running myself, €12500 for completing the course and finishing 6th.

Seriously though, I think there were 50 entries listed for the race.
    Winner €725,000 2nd €237,500 3rd €112,500 4th €37,500 5th €25,000 6th €12,500

Surely 2nd €237,500 3rd €112,500 4th €37,500 is worth trying for?

CH3OH wrote: »
    I'm thinking of running myself, €12500 for completing the course and finishing 6th.

Seriously though, I think there were 50 entries listed for the race.
    Winner €725,000 2nd €237,500 3rd €112,500 4th €37,500 5th €25,000 6th €12,500

Surely 2nd €237,500 3rd €112,500 4th €37,500 is worth trying for?

1st - €725,000.00, 2nd - €250,000.00, 3rd - €125,000.00, 4th - €50,000.00, 5th - €37,500.00, 6th - €25,000.00, 7th - €12,500.00, 8th - €12,500.00

37.5k locked up :D

1/10 with Paddy Power. Absolute disgrace, group 1 status should be stripped form this race if people aren't going to bother.

I think it's utterly ridiculous to even say such a thing. Are there no more owners who aim their horses at Group 1 Derbies ? Coolmore has dominated the modern era like no other before them. its not a case of people not bothering as you say its more a case of owners not having the ammunition that Coolmore has. Khalid Abudullah has the biggest broodmare band in the sport and yet he hasn't shown. Chevley Park ? Nearchos Family ? The Aga Khan ? The Qutaris ? Any of the Maktoums ? all absent because they can't compete. its not because they don't want to compete.

It's probably time to restrict the number of entries from one yard in the race O Brien still has 3 of the 5 runners even withdrawing Chaucer on the day.

Probably time to close this thread too, the race isnt worth a discussion

It's probably time to restrict the number of entries from one yard in the race O Brien still has 3 of the 5 runners even withdrawing Chaucer on the day.

Probably time to close this thread too, the race isnt worth a discussion

You can do that but it wouldn't be the wise thing to do. if you invoke a "Coolmore Rule" limiting the amount of horses they can enter that may cost you in the end because they just may stop supporting the race at all together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

The Makhtoums could of ran either Tagroodha or Tarfasha in this. I think the former would go very close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Itziger

Geoffrey Chaucher out now too.

The prizemoney for this should be 20k, it's looking like a prep race for the Guineas now.

Have to listen to more **** about Australia now, if he wins this they will be saying he is better than Sea The Stars :rolleyes:

That would be the Syrian 3,000 Guineas, yeah?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Five in the field and one of them at 1/12.

This is not a race. It's a farce.

You can do that but it wouldn't be the wise thing to do. if you invoke a "Coolmore Rule" limiting the amount of horses they can enter that may cost you in the end because they just may stop supporting the race at all together.

I didn't say just Coolmore.

Can't see them not supporting black type races, its the same farcical nonsense from them, entering 1,000 horses at the first stage and leaving about 8 in the week before and always withdrawing some on the day.

Itziger wrote: »
    That would be the Syrian 3,000 Guineas, yeah?

Whatever you like or any English or Irish 2,000 Guineas any year of your choosing

Hardly a prep race for the Guineas if they have already took place??

I didn't say just Coolmore.

Can't see them not supporting black type races, its the same farcical nonsense from them, entering 1,000 horses at the first stage and leaving about 8 in the week before and always withdrawing some on the day.

Should they be ashamed of the amount of talent they have ? should they declare 3 and only run one to make it "fair" ? It's idiotic to believe that the most powerful stable in the world that happens to be based in Ireland wouldn't support the Irish Derby in full force. this is a business. this is not an amusement park ride where everybody gets their turn. If people what to race in Ireland your going to have to deal with Coolmore. bottom line. same thing happens in France with the Aga Khan.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Hardly a prep race for the Guineas if they have already took place??

I compared the quality of the race to a Guineas trial race, not this years Guineas trial
    it's looking like a prep race for the Guineas now.

I compared the quality of the race to a Guineas trial race, not this years Guineas trial

Thats been kind to this Derby field :D

Should they be ashamed of the amount of talent they have ? should they declare 3 and only run one to make it "fair" ? It's idiotic to believe that the most powerful stable in the world that happens to be based in Ireland wouldn't support the Irish Derby in full force. this is a business. this is not an amusement park ride where everybody gets their turn. If people what to race in Ireland your going to have to deal with Coolmore. bottom line. same thing happens in France with the Aga Khan.

We are talking about the poor quality of the race and you said they may not support the Derby, not sure where you are getting that I believe they won't support it when I clearly said the opposite.

The Aga Khan does not enter horses in the same manner as Coolmore and neither do Godolphin.

Something needs to be done as this is probably the worst Derby lineup in manys a year either here or in England. Nothing wrong with having a few in a race but it's the same **** from Coolmore in every half decent race.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Thats been kind to this Derby field :D

I am absolutely stunned by the lack of quality in it, the money is almost the same as the English one but nobody wants to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

The quality is fine, the quantity is the problem and there's not a lot that could be done about that. The English Derby type horses had Ascot to run in where the prestige and cash were high, where they weren't going to be up against the Derby Winner and his super sub stablemates plus Oxx, Weld and Bolger.

The Irish Derby lost its mojo when the French Derby turned into an extended Guineas, with the real 12f horses in France going for the Grand Prix De Paris. We're lucky that Coolmore at least make sure that the race is still won by top horses.

We are talking about the poor quality of the race and you said they may not support the Derby, not sure where you are getting that I believe they won't support it when I clearly said the opposite.

The Aga Khan does not enter horses in the same manner as Coolmore and neither do Godolphin.

Something needs to be done as this is probably the worst Derby lineup in manys a year either here or in England. Nothing wrong with having a few in a race but it's the same **** from Coolmore in every half decent race.

Sounds like you're doing a bunch of crying to me. if the Juddmontes, Godolphins and Aga Khans don't want to run then its not Coolmores fault.as I said. this is a business it's not a water park slide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Lapin wrote: »
    Five in the field and one of them at 1/12.

This is not a race. It's a farce.

It's a godsend. It's the worst ew race in living history

tryfix wrote: »
    . We're lucky that Coolmore at least make sure that the race is still won by top horses.

Exactly. Coolmore could have waited until Sandown to run Australia. Instead they chose to support the race with their best year after year. but people don't see that.people will always need something to complain about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

So people are blaming Coolmore for entering their horses in the premier race in the country that they're based in? And if they didn't enter their horses in the race, it would lose its Group 1 status, the sponsors would leave in droves, racing would suffer and Coolmore would be blamed too.

They haven't stopped anyone else from entering their horses in any race so if owners/trainers don't want to try and win decent place money, its hardly Coolmore's fault.

Sweet God, some of ye will never be happy and would blame Coolmore for global warming.

chinguetti wrote: »
    So people are blaming Coolmore for entering their horses in the premier race in the country that they're based in? And if they didn't enter their horses in the race, it would lose its Group 1 status, the sponsors would leave in droves, racing would suffer and Coolmore would be blamed too.

They haven't stopped anyone else from entering their horses in any race so if owners/trainers don't want to try and win decent place money, its hardly Coolmore's fault.

Sweet God, some of ye will never be happy and would blame Coolmore for global warming.

Couldn't have said it better myself. People complain all over boards about Coolmore but they fail see the impact they have. If you move Coolmore out of the picture. the money gets moved out of the picture. and Irish horse racing dies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Regardless of who's fault it is, we don't have to pretend it's an interesting race because it simply isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

€50000 worth of prize money was up for grabs for 6th, 7th and 8th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

They should scrap the singing bit. It's embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I like Fascinating Rock, this small field will suit his style of tracking and producing late on.
    Maybe he will like this ground too.

€50000 worth of prize money was up for grabs for 6th, 7th and 8th.
    And who would blame Coolmore for leaving that on the table ? This is a business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Impossible to get excited about this.