Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Everyday trolling

• 26-06-2014 6:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Trolling doesn't just exist on the internet it seems - it's all around us! Today it was my bus driver.

Full fare to Blessington from town is €4.20 but because there's never inspectors on the bus the odd person says Terenure or whatever, pays €2.65 and keeps the head down knowing the driver doesn't care/will forget and they'll get to Blessington for that.

So about a kilometre outside Tallaght just as it's getting rural and there's no shops or whatever around he gets on the intercom and says "ladies and gentlemen can you have your tickets ready as there's inspectors getting on the bus three stops from now".

Naturally at the next stop there's a mass exodus of all the people who'd under paid the fare, all thinking they're escaping the €50 fine. We get the three stops down the road and there's not a ****ing inspector in sight, driver made it up knowing all the people with no tickets would get out in the middle of nowhere thinking they were criminal masterminds.

Can't see his face from here but I imagine there's an evil grin spread across the full width of it, king of a man!

Any instances of everyday trolling spring to mind, AH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

That's brilliant:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

The HSE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

They should Just pay the fcuking full fare to begin with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Just pay the fcuking full fare to begin with, or am I missing something?

There's no fooling you, sure there's not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Trolling doesn't just exist on the internet it seems - it's all around us! Today it was my bus driver.

Full fare to Blessington from town is €4.20 but because there's never inspectors on the bus the odd person says Terenure or whatever, pays €2.65 and keeps the head down knowing the driver doesn't care/will forget and they'll get to Blessington for that.

So about a kilometre outside Tallaght just as it's getting rural and there's no shops or whatever around he gets on the intercom and says "ladies and gentlemen can you have your tickets ready as there's inspectors getting on the bus three stops from now".

Naturally at the next stop there's a mass exodus of all the people who'd under paid the fare, all thinking they're escaping the €50 fine. We get the three stops down the road and there's not a ****ing inspector in sight, driver made it up knowing all the people with no tickets would get out in the middle of nowhere thinking they were criminal masterminds.

Can't see his face from here but I imagine there's an evil grin spread across the full width of it, king of a man!

Any instances of everyday trolling spring to mind, AH?
    Is that trolling?

Whenever someone at work is fitting a hitch, there are two rules to be adhered to.
    1: NEVER line up all the nuts, bolts, washers ect on the ground to see what you have because the next Mechanic passing will deliver a world cup toe-bang thatll send 90% of your collection into the depths of Bermuda, I guarantee it.
    2: Keep an eye on said collection, wherever you put it. They love nothing more than stealing a nut or four and watching you attack everyone because youve spent most of the day struggling to get to the point where you need them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Politicians, rte, senior civil servants, heads of charities earning a couple of hundred grand, the Iona crowd, necks like a jockeys bollix on the lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

That's not trolling, it's called comeuppance.

Is that trolling?

In its purest form. Its what Trolling should be. Not the dickheadry we see all around us thats just about being deliberately stupid/nasty for the sake of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

Thats fantastic, fair play to him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

There's no fooling you, sure there's not?

I'm driving the bus.

**honks horn**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

I troll people on the motorway all the time. Just yesterday on the way home some dizzy bitch who was behind me kept going into the driving lane trying to undertake me even though there was traffic all the way up in the over taking lane.
    I'd let her think she was going to make it past then I'd speed up just enough to close the gap again.
    I don't know where she thought she was gonna go because it was rush hour and the road was chock a block as usual. It kept me entertained all the way home anyway!
    It's the little things...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭HeyArnold320

I troll people on the motorway all the time. Just yesterday on the way home some dizzy bitch who was behind me kept going into the driving lane trying to undertake me even though there was traffic all the way up in the over taking lane.
    I'd let her think she was going to make it past then I'd speed up just enough to close the gap again.
    I don't know where she thought she was gonna go because it was rush hour and the road was chock a block as usual. It kept me entertained all the way home anyway!
    It's the little things...

The Driving lane? As opposed to the bobsleigh Lane?

Sounds like entertaining games alright, both of you speeding up and slowing down in chock a block traffic..

The Driving lane? As opposed to the bobsleigh Lane?

Sounds like entertaining games alright, both of you speeding up and slowing down in chock a block traffic..

Yes, the the driving lane, as opposed to the overtaking lane. Can you follow that?
    As for speeding up and down, we're talking very subtle amounts here, it wasn't a rage fueled incident by any stretch.
    I can't stand impatient fools on the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭ArtyM

The thing I never understood is what exactly Trolling, Trolling, Trolling has to do with Rawhide?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Not sure if these are legitimate trolling:

I like thwarting people, for example while queuing to get on a Luas or DART or something, when I see someone 'nip in' / skip the queue I go out of my way to block him or get in ahead of him or step on his heel etc.

Other simple examples - half a dozen free seats on the Luas / Dart, one seat with someone's bag on it, I will politely ask the person to move the bag and sit there.

Plus thanking the person that doesn't hold the door for you.

Walking on footpath and someone coming in the opposite direction, I'll make some room for the person, but don't want to appear a walk over, so will generally move half way over, won't completely get out of the way, so if the person doesn't do the same we will collide.

Someone walking fast, I'll walk faster and overtake, knowing that I've pissed the person off.

I also like to live dangerously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭southcentralts

arriving at the ground floor the elevator announced our arrival, so I said thank you and watched as the woman next to me also thanked the inanimate object, got a very *I hope you die from aids* look from her as she left the elevator.

Wierdo's trolling for funzies - 1
    random victim - 0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

I don't know if you'd call this trolling per se. When the traffic lights are red and the green man comes on to cross the road and I see a cyclist coming who I think will break the light, I stand still, right in their path until the orange light comes on and then I move.

I've done this 3 times and derive a lot of satisfaction from it. I cannot stand cyclists who do not obey traffic lights. It's a pet hate of mine. If you're going to use the road, obey the rules ffs. Fair play to the ones who do!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I've been teaching de Eeeengleeesh to adult Spaniards for about 5 years. I've heard every possible opinion, fact and anecdote about the country a million times over and the first two years it was grand but now I have to basically feign interest to keep them talking a lot of the time.

If I'm feeling particularly frisky, I like to stir things up a bit depending on the political persuasion/football team alligiance of the students with things like, "General Franco wasn't THAT bad, was he?" (I'd have had students agree with that one) or "I'd love to see a Spanish republic in place of the monarch" or "Spanish food is alright. French food is better" (which might be the most insulting to them) or "Real Madrid football fans are only fair weather fans. Athletico are the REAL fans and they deserved to win the champions league for that alone".

I eventually explain to them my true feelings(some of the above I agree with) but it's great for getting them all fired up and talking, which makes for a more interesting class and the opportunity to sit back and leave them to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

I took the car to work this morning and the guy in front went through a red light incredibly late.

Two short bursts from the full beam and hopefully he'll be wondering when the fine will be delivered through his door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I press the button at every pedestrian crossing regardless of if I'm crossing or not. Problem?

razorblunt wrote: »
    I press the button at every pedestrian crossing regardless of if I'm crossing or not. Problem?

Oh dear god I dont think I've ever felt such burning hatred. My ears are literally bleeding.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

As a regular indulger in the type of fare-evading shenanigans outlined in the OP, I must say that bus driver is an absolute legend :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Dfmnoc

i often pull up behind people at red light and if they look like there day dreaming, playing with there phone or the radio, ill beep the horn. usually ends up with them lifting their leg off the clutch and cutting out when they realize the lights still red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

In its purest form. Its what Trolling should be. Not the dickheadry we see all around us thats just about being deliberately stupid/nasty for the sake of it.

I always thought it was more along the lines of drawing people into ridiculous arguments and the likes. The obvious stuff being Nazi stuff. "Trolling is a art" and all that nonsense.

Nah, Its an art of catching people out and joking about. This video, for example will provide a textbook explanation of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

razorblunt wrote: »

Nah, Its an art of catching people out and joking about. This video, for example will provide a textbook explanation of it.

Rickrolling? Really RM? For shame.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I've been teaching de Eeeengleeesh to adult Spaniards for about 5 years. I've heard every possible opinion, fact and anecdote about the country a million times over and the first two years it was grand but now I have to basically feign interest to keep them talking a lot of the time.

If I'm feeling particularly frisky, I like to stir things up a bit depending on the political persuasion/football team alligiance of the students with things like, "General Franco wasn't THAT bad, was he?" (I'd have had students agree with that one) or "I'd love to see a Spanish republic in place of the monarch" or "Spanish food is alright. French food is better" (which might be the most insulting to them) or "Real Madrid football fans are only fair weather fans. Athletico are the REAL fans and they deserved to win the champions league for that alone".

I eventually explain to them my true feelings(some of the above I agree with) but it's great for getting them all fired up and talking, which makes for a more interesting class and the opportunity to sit back and leave them to it.

Tell them ETA were right. Not before you've a new job lined up though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Dfmnoc wrote: »
    i often pull up behind people at red light and if they look like there day dreaming, playing with there phone or the radio, ill beep the horn. usually ends up with them lifting their leg off the clutch and cutting out when they realize the lights still red

Funny but dangerous?

And then they drive across traffic in a snapped out of daydream panic and get run through
    Great idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Dfmnoc

bluewolf wrote: »
    And then they drive across traffic in a snapped out of daydream panic and get run through
    Great idea

well you just took the fun out of that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I had a friend who was good at spotting nervous drivers and was fond at roaring 'come on!!' at them from the side of the road. You'd get the odd one that's stop dead on the road.

catallus wrote: »
    Rickrolling? Really RM? For shame.:(

Heh heh heh heh:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Dramatik

Breath in, now breath out,
    Hands up, now hands down,
    Back up, back up,
    Tell me what you're gonna do now!

Keep trollin' trollin' trollin' trollin!
    Keep trollin' trollin' trollin' trollin'...

Dramatik wrote: »
    Breath in, now breath out,
    Hands up, now hands down,
    Back up, back up,
    Tell me what you're gonna do now!

Keep trollin' trollin' trollin' trollin!
    Keep trollin' trollin' trollin' trollin'...

If I'm singing that for the rest of the day I'm going to be very unhappy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Dramatik

If I'm singing that for the rest of the day I'm going to be very unhappy!

I'm sorry, I didn't mean to make you unhappy, I'm just a barbie girl, in a barbie world, life in plastic, it's fantastic...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

bluewolf wrote: »
    Great idea
    Maybe they could pay attention to what they're doing or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Yes, the the driving lane, as opposed to the overtaking lane. Can you follow that?
    As for speeding up and down, we're talking very subtle amounts here, it wasn't a rage fueled incident by any stretch.
    I can't stand impatient fools on the roads.

Why werent you driving in driving lane if it was empty?
    Who were you overtaking?

Personally I cant stand fools on the road either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

GreeBo wrote: »
    Who were you overtaking?
    The person in front of him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

No Pants wrote: »
    The person in front of him?

Couldn't have been overtaking if someone was able to undertake him...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Intentionally selecting the wrong answer in polls e.g. Age you started drinking etc.

Why werent you driving in driving lane if it was empty?
    Who were you overtaking?

Personally I cant stand fools on the road either.

I was behind maybe three or four cars that where travelling faster than the sporadic cars in the left lane. I don't drive up people's arses, so there was a safety gap ahead of me that the impatient woman that was behind me kept dropping into the left lane trying to undertake me to get into it.
    She was as subtle as a dog and she tried about five times to do it without success. On principle I was not gonna let her do it. My car had far more power than hers so I barely had to nudge the throttle to close the gap enough for her to realise that she was fighting a lost cause.
    For the record, I always drive in the left lane when the motorway is empty or when the traffic is moving at a pace that I like. If you're not pissing in the pot move over!

McGaggs wrote: »
    Couldn't have been overtaking if someone was able to undertake him...

Wrong, read my explanation above please. Every time she tried to undertake me she met slower traffic in the left lane and had to slow down and then get back in behind me. We've all seen and experienced it no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭kurtainsider

Brilliant craic alright until there happens to be a child crossing the road in front of them some day.

Plenty of ways to have a bit of fun with bad/ inattentive drivers on the road that don't involve the possibility of killing someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

I was behind maybe three or four cars that where travelling faster than the sporadic cars in the left lane. I don't drive up people's arses, so there was a safety gap ahead of me that the impatient woman that was behind me kept dropping into the left lane trying to undertake me to get into it.
    She was as subtle as a dog and she tried about five times to do it without success. On principle I was not gonna let her do it. My car had far more power than hers so I barely had to nudge the throttle to close the gap enough for her to realise that she was fighting a lost cause.
    For the record, I always drive in the left lane when the motorway is empty or when the traffic is moving at a pace that I like. If you're not pissing in the pot move over!

Driving in the middle lane when there are gaps in the driving Kane is wrong, end of chief.
    It's not about a pace that you like my dear, it's about the rules of the road.

Driving in the middle lane when there are gaps in the driving Kane is wrong, end of chief.
    It's not about a pace that you like my dear, it's about the rules of the road.

Did you read my post chief? It was a two lane road.
    And it is about a pace I like my dear, otherwise I wouldn't be overtaking cars in the first place now would I? Can you even drive? You sound like you haven't got a clue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

I took the car to work this morning and the guy in front went through a red light incredibly late.

Two short bursts from the full beam and hopefully he'll be wondering when the fine will be delivered through his door.
    Some dozy b1tch was half asleep the other morning, and didn't move when the light went green. I gave her a decent blast of the horn, and when she turned onto the Belgard road I powered past her. Lo and behold, she gave me the full beams as I passed her.
    How many points do I get for that, and is there a fine too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭The_Captain

Lot of spas in this thread who seem to think ignoring road safety is hilarious