Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any point reporting this? struck by an object tonight in town.

• 26-06-2014 1:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭

Hi all

Not sure if this is the right place to post this so mods feel free to move if necessary.

In the last hour I was walking down a street in my local town, I was about to cross the road but noticed a car driving fairly fast in my direction so I went back to the footpath, as it passed me slowly, I got struck in the face with some object, I'd say a small stone, I'm not injured but it hurt for a good 20 minutes, as it hit me with considerable force in my cheek and tooth.

In my shock I didn't look around for it on the ground. My first instinct was to note the car type and reg which I did. I entered a nearby take away and stood my ground to see if they'd drive back, which they did twice after, doing laps of the town I suspect, so I am 100% sure of the reg and did a reg check on it and it's the type of car I seen, and have noted time, exact location etc.

I'd say the object was thrown by the rear passenger on the driver's side as both driver's side windows were open. From seeing the car the other 2 times I seen the driver was a young male, late teens/early 20s but wouldn't be able to pick him out in crowd.

I'd be more worried if this sort of thing was to be repeated to another person, it could have easily struck me in the eye and wouldn't wish that on anyone else causing injury.

So my question is, is there any point in reporting this to Gardai?

Can anything be done, e.g. a fine ?

or is it just my word against their's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,625 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

You probably should have reported it instantly, but definitely report it. Like definitely.

A guy in the UK got his license taken off him and got brought before a criminal court for splashing pedestrians from puddles and putting it up on youtube, It was considered assault. This is way more serious in my books.

Sorry to hear about it btw OP, I've been hit before in a reasonably not serious but still painful way, and it really makes you feel kind of angry and upset at the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Report it. You've nothing to lose, and it might have been captured on cctv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭shineon23

I was thinking I should have but I drove by the local station and it looked shut, (after 1am.)

I'm still not convinced that anything would become of it, but again I wouldn't like it to happen to anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭amkin25

I'd say report it too,you have the reg so it would be worth reporting with the info to go with it.

Could it be a pellet gun u got hit with i'm not up on them to be honest,but dunno how someone would generate enough force just throwing a small object from a car,could it be some type of air gun maybe ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭shineon23

It could well be, but having not saw it I honestly do not know.

Have seen people throw stones long distances without any huge effort in the past though.

I'd imagine a pellet would have left some sort of mark though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Most likely a bb gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

Obviously report it, for Jaysus' sake, especially if you have the reg.

Are we really that apathetic as a nation now that people won't even bother picking up the phone to report a violent crime?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭amkin25

Obviously report it, for Jaysus' sake, especially if you have the reg.

Are we really that apathetic as a nation now that people won't even bother picking up the phone to report a violent crime?

Since he has the reg i would say report it,but i could understand someone not bothering,even if they murder you here they only get a couple of years.

So stopping short of gbh or murder there isn't much will be done,wouldn't blame the guards,just the whole system,cutbacks haven't helped either.

Thought that story in the paper today was surreal where they stabbed the german kid,and the judge gives them 6 years,but he tops it all off at the end by saying that it will affect their job prospects being known as killers,who are these judges or what planet are they from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Had a similar experience here in Carlow a few years ago when a car drove by and someone threw an egg out at me, luckily it missed and hit a doorway beside me. From the force it hit the door if it had hit my face I could easily have been blinded. I rang the Garda station expecting to be laughed at but it was taken quite seriously and they were very happy with the description and partial registration I was able to give. Someone was arrested later that night for no insurance or tax or licence and the guy told me there was quite a few large empty egg trays in the car. The fool was driving around the town for a few days doing drive by eggings. Some people really should be sterilised for the good of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Had a similar experience here in Carlow a few years ago when a car drove by and someone threw an egg out at me, luckily it missed and hit a doorway beside me. From the force it hit the door if it had hit my face I could easily have been blinded.............

near one
    Ann Doody had to have her left eyeball removed two years after an egg was thrown at her by a passenger in a passing car as she walked with friends near her home, the High Court heard.

The 46-year-old Dublin nurse and midwife told Mr Justice Kevin Cross she wishes it never happened.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/mother-of-three-blinded-in-one-eye-by-egg-thrown-from-car-seeks-damages-248160.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Sounds like a pellet gun. Definitely report it. It's an assault.

I think it'd actually be a difficult enough one to investigate though. Simple assault does not allow for a person to be arrested or formally questioned. And there is no power to demand a passengers name for a driver as far as I am aware. I suppose it could be investigated as a use of an offensive weapon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭NUTLEY BOY

gctest50 wrote: »
    Ann Doody had to have her left eyeball removed two years after an egg was thrown at her by a passenger in a passing car as she walked with friends near her home, the High Court heard.

The 46-year-old Dublin nurse and midwife told Mr Justice Kevin Cross she wishes it never happened.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland...es-248160.html

Sadly, the injured pedestrian lost her case against the owner / driver. See the judgment here http://www.bailii.org/ie/cases/IEHC/2013/H505.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭28064212

Is it possible this was a loose stone thrown up from the ground by the car's tires?

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,781 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

28064212 wrote: »
    Is it possible this was a loose stone thrown up from the ground by the car's tires?
    That's what I was thinking. I've nearly been hit a few times myself with loose stones and I've had to have a couple of windscreens replaced as well.

It's strange that there's no mark though, anything that hurts for 20 minutes should leave some sort of a mark. OP, is there any looseness in your teeth? If so, go to a dentist asap. Adult teeth are not supposed to be loose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭28064212

NUTLEY BOY wrote: »
    Sadly, the injured pedestrian lost her case against the owner / driver. See the judgment here http://www.bailii.org/ie/cases/IEHC/2013/H505.html
    Seems strange that she took a case against the driver, rather than the egg-thrower

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

28064212 wrote: »
    Seems strange that she took a case against the driver, rather than the egg-thrower
    Driver is responsible for the behaviour of passengers in the car.

What a bizarre judgement. They all knew that dozens of eggs were bought. They knew that they were in the car. They threw them all over the place, but for some reason this woman's case was dismissed.

I'm afraid that I don't understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

No Pants wrote: »

What a bizarre judgement. They all knew that dozens of eggs were bought. They knew that they were in the car. They threw them all over the place, but for some reason this woman's case was dismissed.

+1.

All the evidence, save for a lack of admission of intent to egg passers by, points to teenagers being stupid, vindictive, destructive and dangerous. What a horrible thing to have happened.

The driver was obviously the one sued because he was the one insured though. That much is clear without any evidence. No point suing the egg thrower, because the plaintiff would end up with very little compensation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

goz83 wrote: »
    +1.

All the evidence, save for a lack of admission of intent to egg passers by, points to teenagers being stupid, vindictive, destructive and dangerous. What a horrible thing to have happened.

The driver was obviously the one sued because he was the one insured though. That much is clear without any evidence. No point suing the egg thrower, because the plaintiff would end up with very little compensation.
    The judge seemed to think that by saying, "Ah lads, don't be egging" the driver had done all that he could, that stopping the car and asking the egger(s) to get out was unreasonable. I don't agree and if I had a passenger in my car who even looked like he was going to throw something, I'd stop so fast we'd probably both end up with whiplash.

End result remains that the woman is one eye down thanks to this bunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Trying to understand judge decisions is often a fools game.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,781 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I don't know the ins and outs of it but you'd wonder why all the occupants of the car weren't sued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,261 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

The judge seemed to think that by saying, "Ah lads, don't be egging" the driver had done all that he could, that stopping the car and asking the egger(s) to get out was unreasonable. I don't agree and if I had a passenger in my car who even looked like he was going to throw something, I'd stop so fast we'd probably both end up with whiplash.

End result remains that the woman is one eye down thanks to this bunch.

I get the impression that some of the witnesses inside of the car "forgot" to mention facts which may have had relevance to the case. Odd as it may be, they remembered a lot about egging other places where people weren't hurt and injured :rolleyes: