Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 *mod warning linked in OP 26/07*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

tomaussie wrote: »
    What a truly weird way to look at it.

So why not value him at 11 and pay them 4 ?

If they were so broke them why not play hard ball and offer as little as possible ?

I understand what you're saying but it makes zero sense to me in terms of business.

The player was in demand at the time and we wanted him. Other clubs would have signed him for 10+

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭tomaussie

T-K-O wrote: »
    The player was in demand at the time and we wanted him. Other clubs would have signed him for 10+

Worth 10+ but we paid 18.

Don't care how this is sliced but those are the facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Who knows what they were thinking but we didn't get him for 4 million for good reason. IMO 15 would have been a fair price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Some people may go over the top on criticism on Johnson but surely everyone can agree that he should be replaced.

Personally I'm happy enough to see him run out his contract here but I think most people are looking at his contribution to the team and his massive wages and see that Johnson is just not value for money anymore which i agree with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Aye but we're seemingly a rare breed so I won't gather too many thanks! Dissing Johnno is the way to accrue the big numbers!

Not true. I dissed him in 3 separate posts above and didn't get a single 'thank'.

Now I have to go to work practically in tears and feeling like a loser :(

Gonna be a long day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Speaking of Glen Johnson. He is 30 today.

Just don't buy him a cake and we are sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,648 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

What a truly weird way to look at it.

So why not value him at 11 and pay them 4 ?

If they were so broke them why not play hard ball and offer as little as possible ?

I understand what you're saying but it makes zero sense to me in terms of business.

Why would Pourtsmouth take that deal? Would make no sense. They could have sold him to anyone for 11.

Ok, so lets put it this way. After our deal was concluded, we were out 18 million pounds. If we had instead gone and bought any other full back in the world for 11 million, how much would we have been out afterwards? 18 million pounds. That 7 from Portsmouth was dead. Whether we bought from them or anyone else, that 7 mllion was never ever coming into Liverpools bank account. By actually doing a deal with them, it favoured both sides accounts. They get to legally write off the debt, we technically have an 18 million pound asset (players count as financial assets just the same as buildings etc, so we falsely increased the value of the club by 7 million, and removed bad debt), and of course got the player we wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Why would Pourtsmouth take that deal? Would make no sense. They could have sold him to anyone for 11.

Ok, so lets put it this way. After our deal was concluded, we were out 18 million pounds. If we had instead gone and bought any other full back in the world for 11 million, how much would we have been out afterwards? 18 million pounds. That 7 from Portsmouth was dead. Whether we bought from them or anyone else, that 7 mllion was never ever coming into Liverpools bank account. By actually doing a deal with them, it favoured both sides accounts. They get to legally write off the debt, we technically have an 18 million pound asset (players count as financial assets just the same as buildings etc, so we falsely increased the value of the club by 7 million, and removed bad debt), and of course got the player we wanted.

So Liverpool actually made money from the Johnson deal. Interesting, didn't know that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭tomaussie

I would still leave that business deal reflecting that I'd done business with a Machiavellian or Nelson Muntz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭dogbert27

~Rebel~ wrote: »

Enough of this black and white economic facts mumbo jumbo, you need to be discussing this emotionally man, EMOTIONALLY!!! :D

To my recollection Chelsea were sniffing around too about buying him back which drove the price up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

NukaCola wrote: »
    Some people may go over the top on criticism on Johnson but surely everyone can agree that he should be replaced.

Personally I'm happy enough to see him run out his contract here but I think most people are looking at his contribution to the team and his massive wages and see that Johnson is just not value for money anymore which i agree with.

I'm really worried that Rodgers thinks Johnson is a great defender and the first choice left back for the next few seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,867 ✭✭✭✭8-10

I was very happy when we signed Glen Johnson. Was very composed on the ball as a youngster at West Ham then Chelsea and pushed on his attacking game by the time he left Portsmouth. To be honest the only thing he's lacked in his career has been consistency, injuries don't help. I think he was a good defender up to a season and a half ago, and think he's still decent. Unfortunately his wages are being used as a stick to beat him with. Couldn't care less to be honest, he's worth having in the squad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭Underpaid Mike

Marca saying this morning we have taken Manquillo on load for 2 years with an option to buy

http://www.marca.com/2014/07/23/futbol/equipos/atletico/1406095294.html

Its a pity because that means Johnson unlikely to be replaced this season

Also looks like the Moreno bid is still very much alive
    Sevilla have refused to budge on their £20m valuation of Moreno. Liverpool’s £16m bid remains on the table. #LFC (Andy Hunter)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭Sappy404

From @LFCZA

BtNktoFCUAAsgrg.png:large

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭BenEadir

Marca saying this morning we have taken Manquillo on load for 2 years with an option to buy

http://www.marca.com/2014/07/23/futbol/equipos/atletico/1406095294.html

Its a pity because that means Johnson unlikely to be replaced this season

I think this deal is a very sensible one. It puts pressure on Johnson to perform this season. Lot's of guys in the last year of their contract throw a strop if they aren't offered another mega bucks contract and end up doing the minimum possible/protecting themselves whilst they concentrate on trying to get a deal elsewhere. Having a hungry young RB understudy will prevent the club being held hostage by Johnson. If Johnson plays well and earns a new contract at wages reflective of his age/form it's a win win for everyone but if he's not happy with the contract offered by the club or loses form we have a back up who will hopefully grab his chance with both hands and if he performs we have an option to buy at a sensible price.

A great deal all round.

Ben

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Can't actually believe people are defending Johnson. Johnson wouldn't even defend Johnson because Johnson can't fcuking defend!

He used to be good going forward, used to be alright defensively but this season alone he's been absolute muck in every game bar maybe 2 at most where he was average. Maybe Inwas watching different games to ye but every time I saw him he seemed to give away the ball high up the pitch, get caught out of position and looked liked he just didn't give a single fcuk.

I wouldn't have him in the squad if he was paying us to play him, and that's no exaggeration. He's gone to cole/downing/Moses levels of hate for me, where I actually can't bear to look at him strolling around the place anymore.

And I usually give anyone who plays for us all the time in the world to get it right but Johnson just boils my blood after the season he's had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

hefferboi wrote: »
    Can't actually believe people are defending Johnson. Johnson wouldn't even defend Johnson because Johnson can't fcuking defend!

He used to be good going forward, used to be alright defensively but this season alone he's been absolute muck in every game bar maybe 2 at most where he was average. Maybe Inwas watching different games to ye but every time I saw him he seemed to give away the ball high up the pitch, get caught out of position and looked liked he just didn't give a single fcuk.

I wouldn't have him in the squad if he was paying us to play him, and that's no exaggeration. He's gone to cole/downing/Moses levels of hate for me, where I actually can't bear to look at him strolling around the place anymore.

And I usually give anyone who plays for us all the time in the world to get it right but Johnson just boils my blood after the season he's had.
    Ah now jaysus. :eek:

Johnson has been frustrating, but the main reason he's been so is because he has shown in brief periods that he clearly still has what it takes to play at this level and play well.

Whereas with the likes of Cole, the chap not only didn't give a bollix, I'd question if he even had any ability left to contribute at this level. Moses, also didn't give a crap and well, was crap anyway.

Never really had a problem with Downing, he eventually knuckled down, he just wasn't good enough in the end.

TBH, I don't think Johnson's problem is lack of trying or care, I just think for whatever reason his head just isn't in it far too often unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Sappy404 wrote: »
    From @LFCZA

BtNktoFCUAAsgrg.png:large

Sort of reminds me of myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,738 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

K-9 wrote: »
    Time to update the sig, stuck through Suarez through and through, even a couple of pms saying it was terrible behaviour having him as my sig and me a politics mod!
    You should photoshop a sig containing Jimmy Saville force feeding a goose to produce Foie Gras whilst next to Rolf Harris who's using the flag of Isreal as a wobble board. Might get a better reception.

lk8Hc5Cl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,673 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Still expecting Moreno to go through, Liverpool playing the waiting game. We will cave and offer £18m and Sevilla will accept. I just wish we hurried up, we can have nearly 10 new players by the close of the window, the longer they have to gel the quicker we hit the ground running this season.

We still need that one world class/top class forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭gafferino

10380201_10152703913802573_3073557104904234409_o.jpg

10575245_10152703914062573_3721939492840826049_o.jpg

10562612_10152703914542573_6820129173169673484_o.jpg

10484497_10152703914912573_6876186223656371946_n.jpg?oh=e8e0ae89eebd3ece0b99d6d67a7b6152&oe=544452D1&__gda__=1414780590_4611e7af68a63f8296732e4efc35006b

10485210_10152703915552573_6161521515034396181_o.jpg

10344419_10152703915582573_5665767424366753947_o.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭0028673

I was a fan of Glen Johnson but I have lost patience with the lad. The reason I give him grief is that he has a ton of ability and for whatever reason his form has nose dived these past 18 months. When every player was buzzing last season he was sloppy in everything he did. I think Rodgers said he was playing through an injury so I was trying to give the guy the benefit of the doubt but his performances have been consistently poor for too long. Might be wrong here but he was immense against United in Anfield, I would love to see him in good form again but we need legitimate competition if he can't raise his game.

I know nothing about Manquillo but he is young and very inexperienced and unlikely to challenge Johnson for a starting place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

Liverpool looking at even more attack minded players for RB/LB.

No sign of a true DM on the horizon

Sahko/ Agger/ Skrtel are sure going to earn their money next season :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭ratracer

Ah now jaysus. :eek:

Johnson has been frustrating, but the main reason he's been so is because he has shown in brief periods that he clearly still has what it takes to play at this level and play well.

TBH, I don't think Johnson's problem is lack of trying or care, I just think for whatever reason his head just isn't in it far too often unfortunately.

^^^^ This is the reason why GlenJo should not be allowed play in the first team. For all his ( on the wane) ability, he appears to not give a fcuk when he loses the ball. Either he doesn't have the pace or more worryingly the interest to track back. Some of his decision making in the last season was muck, schoolboys would have been better at times.

Yes, he played well for us initially, but for the last two seasons he has been very poor. Whether it gets blamed on not being fully fit, being played out of position or whatever, he should be only a third choice back up until his contract runs out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

gafferino wrote: »
    10485210_10152703915552573_6161521515034396181_o.jpg

"Have you seen that gif? Ye'er all in the background, and I'm out in front twisting my nipples like this"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,402 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

The moment Lucas found out he's going on loan to Napoli.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

johnson is gash. That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭Sappy404

I think Johnson gets more criticism than he deserves as a result of his stature (England's first-choice RB) and the fact that he's earning a small fortune. His reputation as a defender has suffered greatly because he's encouraged to make runs from deep and is often 'missing' when moves break down and we get counter-attacked, and when he makes mistakes they tend to be on the obvious, glaring side, and are easily picked up on, leading to the myth that he can't defend.

He's often naive and makes too many wrong decisions when in advanced positions but he's still more than decent on his day. Anyone who thinks a 20yo with 5 league starts for Atletico is immediately going to be an improvement on him will be disappointed, but I do think the competition will be good for Johnson. If he reaches a point near his best we'll see a marked improvement in the defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭Underpaid Mike

lk8Hc5Cl.jpg

This is the greatest post in the history of all web forums
    Well played sir, well fúcking played!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭brevity

I don't think Johnson suits the way we play any more as we don't have someone like Masch or Lucas covering the RB when he goes forward.