Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 *mod warning linked in OP 26/07*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

NukaCola wrote: »
    Can anyone begrudge him a move to Barca for a huge fee?

I personally cant. I'll be upset he's gone only because he won us games to be honest. I wont miss him as a person or anything. The whole pushing for a move to Arsenal snapped me back to reality. He is a professional footballer who wants and deserves to play for who ever he thinks are the best for him. It might suit him not to be the main man at a club. Or he may regret it. We seem to get the best out of our "star" strikers. Thats beside the point anyway.

Torres to Chelsea seemed far far worse at the time.

It was... Suarez going to Barca is a dream move for him, we get a chunk of change (and hopefully Sanchez) and he gets to play at one of the few clubs bigger than us

Torres moving was to a rival and felt like a betrayal at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

Some lads on here would want to get a grip- getting 'emotionally attached to players' - and getting upset when they leave... how old are you guys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,099 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

deeks wrote: »
    I just don't understand all the comments here basically knocking the club for selling Suarez. The way I see it is as follows:

- Suarez wanted to leave last summer
    - The Club played a blinder to keep him here and in return Suarez got a water tight release clause entered in his new contract
    - If reports are to be believed, the release clause was approx. 70 - 80 million for foreign clubs and 100 million for domestic rivals
    - A foreign club, Barcelona, will apparently meet his release clause despite his further biting incident

Can't see how anyone can blame the club / owners / manager here. As long as the release clause is met there's nothing they can do really. Whilst I hate to see him go, it's made slightly easier to take knowing he was going to miss a quarter of the season anyway and possibly more with injuries etc. The only way I will hold the club responsible is if they leave him go on the cheap - which I don't see happening.
    I agree, I don't think anyone can blame the club here.

If you look at how this has played out, then the timeline of events from last Summer now makes perfect sense.

1. Suarez agitates for a move, making public his interest.
    2. Arsenal submit bids, eventually meeting a release clause.
    3. We tell Suarez he is going nowhere, especially at only £40M to a rival like Arsenal.
    4. Suarez's favourite destinations (Real, Barca) barely show any interest.
    5. Suarez's only option is to sign a new contract but is promised if Barca/Real come calling next year and meet a release clause, he will be allowed to go.

I think the key in all this was that Suarez himself probably wasn't that pushed on a move to Arsenal. More likely that Barca/Real were his targets, and that if he played his way into their thought (which he has clearly done) - then we could not stop him from leaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,480 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Dickerty wrote: »
    Sorry, I meant Bayern not Barca twice!

Arsenal are not a bigger draw than us, not are United IMO, not this year at least.
    And Milan are shot completely, don't have either the money or the prospects...

Jesus, lets not get to carreid away after one season!

Obv I recognise UTD and Milan have no CL this season but they are still a massive draw. Easily comparable to us imo.

Arsenal, imo, are easily a bigger draw.

Bigger staudium, more than a decade or so of CL football, one of the most proven managers in the world, not about to lose Suarez. etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

noodler wrote: »
    Jesus, lets not get to carreid away after one season!

Obv I recognise UTD and Milan have no CL this season but they are still a massive draw. Easily comparable to us imo.

Arsenal, imo, are easily a bigger draw.

Bigger staudium, more than a decade or so of CL football, one of the most proven managers in the world, not about to lose Suarez. etc etc.

Location is the biggest thing going for Arsenal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,608 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

NukaCola wrote: »
    Can anyone begrudge him a move to Barca for a huge fee?

I personally cant. I'll be upset he's gone only because he won us games to be honest. I wont miss him as a person or anything. The pushing for a move to Arsenal snapped me back to reality. He is a professional footballer who wants and deserves to play for who ever he thinks are the best for him. It might suit him not to be the main man at a club. Or he may regret it. We seem to get the best out of our "star" strikers. Thats beside the point anyway.

Torres to Chelsea seemed far far worse at the time.

I can. He whinges about wanting to leave and believes that he should be allowed based on some random number in his contract. However he wilfully chooses to ignore the "don't act the bollix" clause in same contract. Biting people is not cool and he deserves to rot in the Liverpool first 11 for at least another year to atoll for his crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

Vanolder wrote: »
    Some lads on here would want to get a grip- getting 'emotionally attached to players' - and getting upset when they leave... how old are you gus?

Who's Gus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,480 ✭✭✭✭noodler

taidghbaby wrote: »
    Who's Gus?

Who knows, but whoever he is, he'd better get a grip!

dfx- wrote: »
    As a Barcelona fan, anything like £50m + Sanchez is an absolute bargain that should be snapped up at the first opportunity.
    You would say that!

I think it's Barcelona that are getting the bargain. Suarez will win the Champions League with Barcelona, the question is only how many times. Having a player who can do that is priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Ah crap!

Ah crap!
    Do we need to chip in for a name change?

JoãoCarlosTeixeiraistheman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Ah crap!

GlenJohnsonistheman?

We'll fund it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Some lads on here would want to get a grip- getting 'emotionally attached to players' - and getting upset when they leave... how old are you gus?

But it's ok to get emotionally attached to a club???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,608 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Why all the bitterness towards our players?
    Surely Eden Hazard is the man or Aguero is the man sounds better?

kfallon wrote: »
    But it's ok to get emotionally attached to a club???

As long as you're not Gus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,024 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Turtyturd wrote: »
    GlenJohnsonistheman?

We'll fund it.

With his record van gall would be a great name

Ah here now, one of the best strikers we've ever seen at the club is about to leave and you feel no emotion whatsoever? When we smashed United up last season, or when Gerrard made that slip - did you feel nothing?

Why support a football club at all then? Maybe just to play silly buggers with stats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Do we need to chip in for a name change?

JoãoCarlosTeixeiraistheman?
    Turtyturd wrote: »
    GlenJohnsonistheman?

We'll fund it.

All suggestions welcome! May go with a former legend as name change is a bit tedius now. I have lost faith in current 'false gods' Stigbjornebyeistheman or something similar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,783 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

It was... Suarez going to Barca is a dream move for him, we get a chunk of change (and hopefully Sanchez) and he gets to play at one of the few clubs bigger than us

Torres moving was to a rival and felt like a betrayal at the time.

Unless Real Madrid had come in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

All suggestions welcome! May go with a former legend as name change is a bit tedius now. I have lost faith in current 'false gods' Stigbjornebyeistheman or something similar!

Hammanistheman!

Lauridallavalleistheman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭doney84

Igorbiscanistheman ???

Hold on - Canistheman!

VictoryMosesistheman?

CissikhoSakhoistheman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,783 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Djimitraoreistheman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,621 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Ah crap!

Sanchezistheman?

#Hopefull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,630 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

We could be waiting an awful long time to have one of the top three players in the world in the team again.

I don't fault the logic of the club or the player on this:

- he's a problem child and arguable commercial liability (though I think the best thing for Liverpool's commercials is anything that wins them matches consistently) and the fee represents a profit on his time here;
    - Barcelona is one of the biggest clubs in the world and he'll reckon he has a chance to win the CL while playing for them with Messi;

But from a competitive perspective we've gone from it all being possible to slugging it out for fourth place. People won't like it but it's the reality. You can't replace that kind of production no matter how many £20 - £30m players you throw at the problem. But more importantly, you don't replace that type of tactical threat / outlet. Him just being on the pitch meant we always had a chance at creating something out of nothing. Just get him the ball to feet, watch **** happen.

Nonetheless, a wonderful three and a half years capped off by the most exciting Liverpool season in a half decade (and arguably more). He doesn't owe us much imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Hopefully we can get Origi for this season coming & not loan him. If we got Sanchez which looks unlikely. I like to see us make a big offer to try & get Barkley from Everton.

Another question if he goes, how will it impact on Sturridge? Excuse the pun, but they both fed off each other brilliantly last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

Pandaistheman