Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Qatar's World Cup, The shocking truth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,425 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

14500234353_b1a0793172_o.jpg

And this is the sort of environment that they are working in. I'm still amazed that following comments from Brazil about the temperature, how on earth can anyone consider playing football in Qatar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

smurfjed wrote: »

And this is the sort of environment that they are working in. I'm still amazed that following comments from Brazil about the temperature, how on earth can anyone consider playing football in Qatar?

Yeah don't mind the slaves they have building the stadiums and dying left right and centre, think about the poor footballers that'll have to play there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

They will have to move it for player and spectator health and safety

this could be fifas way of changing all leagues to summer football with international tournaments held in november and everyone getting a winter break

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Synopsis for those with a 1GB cap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its hot in the summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dissed doc

Like the Olympics there is a sociopolitical reason why these decisions get made, mostly the "soft power" influence of global media spotlights on a society that would otherwise be inaccessible to democratic cultures.

The goal with international sport, like football, formula 1, the olympics etc., is that is creates a cultural commonality which would otherwise not exist. THe process of advancing beyond feudalism and slavery - endemic in arabic cultures (not necessarily an Islamic feature) - takes decades or multiple generations. For the next few years the spotlight is on them, to some extent, and that is better than not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Yeah don't mind the slaves...
    smurfjed wrote: »

And this is the sort of environment that they are working in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭B_Rabbit

Synopsis for those with a 1GB cap?
    mike65 wrote: »
    Its hot in the summer.

Actually no, it's about the systematic enslavement and abuse of migrant workers in Qatar

dissed doc wrote: »
    Like the Olympics there is a sociopolitical reason why these decisions get made, mostly the "soft power" influence of global media spotlights on a society that would otherwise be inaccessible to democratic cultures.

The goal with international sport, like football, formula 1, the olympics etc., is that is creates a cultural commonality which would otherwise not exist. THe process of advancing beyond feudalism and slavery - endemic in arabic cultures (not necessarily an Islamic feature) - takes decades or multiple generations. For the next few years the spotlight is on them, to some extent, and that is better than not.

The World Cup in is Qatar for economic/financial reasons! Massive contracts, big brown envelopes. Likewise, South Africa, Brazil and Russia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I'd like to see the Khaleesi burn that place to the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭fran17

shock and horror!!! so the runner up in the bid for the 2022 world cup,the good old usa,have got a sniff that there's a small chance that the tournament bid could be re-examined.so the American tv network espn produce a documentary to magnify the situation.call me a cynic but come on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭B_Rabbit

fran17 wrote: »
    shock and horror!!! so the runner up in the bid for the 2022 world cup,the good old usa,have got a sniff that there's a small chance that the tournament bid could be re-examined.so the American tv network espn produce a documentary to magnify the situation.call me a cynic but come on...

Are they making it up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Hi Sepp, welcome to boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Umadbrah?

What? Are they making this **** up?

So much for FIFA fair play...Oh it's illegal to be gay in this country why not let them host the WORLD Cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

, think about the poor footballers that'll have to play there...

Qatar players can die too.

Look at Hendrix.

keith16 wrote: »

It was edited.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

It was edited.

The post you and I both quoted was as is before it was edited.

In any case why shouldn't any consideration be given to the athletes? Sport may ultimately be trivial, but the footballers are human too.

In fact, this tournament is only good for FIFAs pockets and is bad news for everyone else concerned.

Qatar is a malevolent state that is truly operating in the dark ages.

Man City supporters are comfortable with all this no doubt ;)

keith16 wrote: »
    The post you and I both quoted was as is before it was edited.

In any case why shouldn't any consideration be given to the athletes? Sport may ultimately be trivial, but the footballers are human too.

In fact, this tournament is only good for FIFAs pockets and is bad news for everyone else concerned.

Qatar is a malevolent state that is truly operating in the dark ages.

I must've read it wrong, hungover t'fuck. And I completely agree.

B_Rabbit wrote: »
    Are they making it up?

no im not saying this at all,the majority of it is probably true.but can nobody else see how the timing of this may seem just a tiny bit convenient and not to mention patronising? it really gets my goat how the usa assume they have the moral authority of the planet.take a look down the road to Bahrain or Saudi Arabia,the human rights abuses there but Qatar very much in the shade.but you don't here a whisper about those "allies".and if there wasn't any controversy about the Qatar bid and a chance the host country could be changed then this documentary would never have been made

Hi Sepp, welcome to boards

good one ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Disturbing video. It would be interesting to know how widespread the slave like conditions really are.

This trancends football and the international community should be taking Qatar and FIFA to task.

As much as I love football I want no part of any Irish team that enters a qualifying tournament for the World Cup in 2022 if Qatar are the hosts.

The entire decision to hold it there reeked of corruption since the moment Blatter opened the envelope revealing Qatar as hosts.

The whole thing stinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭comongethappy

no im not saying this at all,the majority of it is probably true.but can nobody else see how the timing of this may seem just a tiny bit convenient and not to mention patronising? it really gets my goat how the usa assume they have the moral authority of the planet.take a look down the road to Bahrain or Saudi Arabia,the human rights abuses there but Qatar very much in the shade.but you don't here a whisper about those "allies".and if there wasn't any controversy about the Qatar bid and a chance the host country could be changed then this documentary would never have been made

So if it was made by canal+ you would believe it more?
    (Even though this tragic situation has been told by countless media outlets around the world).

Tell us what media outlet you find acceptable to get past your hyper-cynicism?

the majority of it is probably true.
    It is true, the same concept has been occurring all over the Middle East since they found oil, and especially from the 70's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Thats mental!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,554 ✭✭✭tigger123

The conditions and treatment of workers in Qatar has been covered by media outlets all over the world. Its not like ESPN are breaking the story.

Think your anti American bias is getting in the way.

So if it was made by canal+ you would believe it more?
    (Even though this tragic situation has been told by countless media outlets around the world).

Tell us what media outlet you find acceptable to get past your hyper-cynicism?

canal+!!! don't get me started on the French;)
    I think to believe any media outlet 100% would be quite naïve,and im including RT and all the rest in this.media outlets control great power in society and individuals and organisations will pay vast amounts to them so as there point of view is repeated on a regular basis to the public

Everyone has been companying about Qatar since the day they were given the WC

tigger123 wrote: »
    The conditions and treatment of workers in Qatar has been covered by media outlets all over the world. Its not like ESPN are breaking the story.

Think your anti American bias is getting in the way.

I agree with all that,except the bias part.its the timing of this documentary that is patronising

canal+!!! don't get me started on the French;)
    I think to believe any media outlet 100% would be quite naïve,and im including RT and all the rest in this.media outlets control great power in society and individuals and organisations will pay vast amounts to them so as there point of view is repeated on a regular basis to the public

So, seeing as this story is just "mostly true" will you tell us where to get the 'real truth' on the Quatar tragedy?

I agree with all that,except the bias part.its the timing of this documentary that is patronising

How exactly.... What has timing got to do with it?

The timing being that the world cup is currently on....or there is something particularly cynical about the 13th of May I'm not getting?
    How in the world is a broadcast date patronising?

So, seeing as this story is just "mostly true" will you tell us where to get the 'real truth' on the Quatar tragedy?

why do you quote me on "mostly true"? I never said that:confused:
    I don't know anything about the QUATAR tradegy but to find the truth on anything you should get both points of view and make up your own opinion with the facts on hands.

why do you quote me on "mostly true"? I never said that:confused:
    I don't know anything about the QUATAR tradegy but to find the truth on anything you should get both points of view and make up your own opinion with the facts on hands.
    majority of it is probably true.

What part do you think isn't true?

How exactly.... What has timing got to do with it?

The timing being that the world cup is currently on....or there is something particularly cynical about the 13th of May I'm not getting?
    How in the world is a broadcast date patronising?

1.qatar wins right to host world cup 2022
    2.usa are runner up bid
    3.questions arise about how bid was won and talk about winner being changed
    4.usa sports company make documentary to magnify problems surrounding Qatar football and releases as momentum grows for change of host

will a diagram help:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Sure what is a documentary going to accomplish? The Irish still flock to Dubai in spite of the documentaries about the treatment of worker slaves there. People tend to get hot under the collar online but don't translate their horror and disgust into action in the real world.

Please do!

Though I'm not too sure you know what 'patronising' means in this context

Your explanation isn't one that shows the May 13th broadcast date as being patronising.

Was Panorama "patronising" when they broadcast a very similar programme in 2010?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

2.usa are runner up bid
    4.usa sports company make documentary to magnify problems surrounding Qatar football and releases as momentum grows for change of host

sense would help.
    These questions of the bid were around ever since Qatar won the bid. Countless countries media outlets have done similar pieces like this.
    The timing of this documentary is because the world cup is currently on! In the USA soccer isn't that popular so while there is hype around the world cup, it makes sense to show it now. Better now than during the superbowl playoffs.

Either way, if you know anything about FIFA, they are so stubborn that if your theory was correct, they would rather have it in an ocean than in a country that screwed them over.
    They wouldn't make a decision of moving host nations during the world cup or before some major investigation was done. FIFA know about all this and more than likely won't do anything

Fran17, this isn't a new problem, as i said it has existed in the Middle East since they found oil, as for Qatar, look at this Human Rights Watch report from 2012

http://www.hrw.org/sites/default/files/reports/qatar0612webwcover_0.pdf
    The Irish still flock to Dubai in spite of the documentaries about the treatment of worker slaves there
    Very true, just look at the passenger loads on Emirates and Etihad from Dublin.

2.usa are runner up bid

But why would Qatar get it in the first place?

1. They treat their immigrant workers terribly
    2. It's illegal to be gay in the country
    3. Alcohol is illegal in the country
    4. Women must be covered up head to toe when in public and it's anti-football
    5. Do they even have a football team? They have no interest in football
    etc etc etc

From the above alone it's sounds like a nightmare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Jaysus, thats grim. Everyone knows that FIFA are a corrupt organisation but this is pretty abhhorent to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Reckless Abandonment

The scenes in Nepal where shot really well.. as far as workers rights are concerned most of the middle east is the same, even Europeans are treated as second class citizens.

Are they? I know a few lads who are gone over to Dubai. They are on great wages and it's tax free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

Umadbrah? wrote: »
    Are they? I know a few lads who are gone over to Dubai. They are on great wages and it's tax free

From speaking to those who have worked there, the locals are first class citizens. Europeans and American expats are second class citizens. Migrant workers from third world countries are barely considered human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,554 ✭✭✭tigger123

Jesus Christ that's grim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

The only thing that may work is a well organised and targeted boycott of those companies sponsoring FIFA and the World Cup.
    At the end of the day, money talks, and if these big companies saw a threat and eventually sales decline, you can be sure action would happen.
    I think Sony have already come out saying they're concerned at the recent revelations.
    It'll be interesting to see if this develops.

But why would Qatar get it in the first place?

1. They treat their immigrant workers terribly
    2. It's illegal to be gay in the country
    3. Alcohol is illegal in the country
    4. Women must be covered up head to toe when in public and it's anti-football
    5. Do they even have a football team? They have no interest in football
    etc etc etc

From the above alone it's sounds like a nightmare

your right all these things are true,im not here to defend Qatar at all.but on the other hand they are a sovereign country so they make there own laws for there citizens as any nation does.if and when change comes then they decide no?
    if a person can not see the link between the timing of this documentary,the usa being runner up in the bid and the western media hyping the possibility of a change of host country then one chooses not too imho

Did you miss my post with the link to a Human Rights Watch report from 2012? Or are you choosing not to?

if a person can not see the link between the timing of this documentary,the usa being runner up in the bid and the western media hyping the possibility of a change of host country then one chooses not too imho

If one sees some sort of imagined link then one chooses to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Bafucin

It is illegal for migrant workers to actually leave the country unless they have permission from the employer.

Employers take their passports. They are infact slaves.