Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will you go to dole office to have your photo taken ?

• 22-06-2014 12:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭

If you are not getting a social welfare payment, will you attend your appointment at your local dole office to have your photo taken for the public services card ? The public services card cant be used as id because it doesn't have your dob printed on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Oh yeah, defo hun. #nofilter #nomakeup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

If you are not getting a social welfare payment, will you attend your appointment at your local dole office to have your photo taken for the public services card ? The public services card cant be used as id because it doesn't have your dob printed on it.

come round - ive got a bag of frozen pea’s in the freezer. we;ll catch up and #puttheworldtoorights xoxox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

I'm going to get two of them, one for ordinary everyday use and another one for special occasions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

What why would you need a dole card if you aren't on the dole?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭Cork_chick_94

The plan is to give them to everyone over 18

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

No why would i do that

Let me take a selfie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

What's the point of unusable ID cards?!

I wouldn't have an issue with an ID card like all continental European countries have. They're very useful for proving your ID, securing transactions, preventing fraud etc.

What I would have a huge issue with is the continental style requirement to carry it at all times. In Belgium for example it's illegal to be more than 200 metres from your home without ID on you. While it's rarely enforced, it can be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

It'll be just like 1984, except with less jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Putin

Don't worry OP, I have everyone's photo on file. And there's no need to PM me since I have all your details

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

The whole not putting your DOB on it just so they can continue to milk people for a few quid on those stupid garda age cards is a perfect example of the idiocy of the people we put in power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Wouldn't it just be easier to tattoo a barcode on everyone's foreheads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

I won't go meself, I'll get someone else to do it for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭Tardful Slakerly II

Seaneh wrote: »
    The whole not putting your DOB on it just so they can continue to milk people for a few quid on those stupid garda age cards is a perfect example of the idiocy of the people we put in power.

Nobody actually gets them, do they? A provisional license is easily gotten and is far more useful, and accepted, even if you don't drive. I've never seen the point of them and I've never been anywhere that would ask for a garda id card over a license or passport, I've seen the opposite though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I already have one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

It'll be just like 1984, except with less jobs.

INGSOC had better TV channels though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brembo26

--LOS-- wrote: »
    I already have one

Me too, they haven't a whole lot of use in fairness unless social welfare is being claimed by the person holding the card.

I'd have thought with all these cuts they would only issue them to people who will be using them instead of giving them to everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I will as long as they take my good side. bolick naked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

brembo26 wrote: »
    Me too, they haven't a whole lot of use in fairness unless social welfare is being claimed by the person holding the card.

I'd have thought with all these cuts they would only issue them to people who will be using them instead of giving them to everyone.

I was using mine at the time :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

An id thats not an id.

Utter stupidity.

Invitation only btw

http://www.welfare.ie/en/Pages/Public-Services-Card_holder.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brembo26

I was using mine at the time :P

Im currently using mine :(
    An id thats not an id.

Utter stupidity.

Invitation only btw

http://www.welfare.ie/en/Pages/Publi...rd_holder.aspx

So according to the link its just for new applicants and people who are currently claiming. Not for everyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Gonna quit my job to get one if it's free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

brembo26 wrote: »
    Im currently using mine :(

So according to the link its just for new applicants and people who are currently claiming. Not for everyone?

Ah but it's by invitation only :confused:

A bit like Russia?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

catallus wrote: »
    Wouldn't it just be easier to tattoo a barcode on everyone's foreheads?

You'd then need a skin graft if your identity gets stolen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I don't know where my dole office is so.

cloud493 wrote: »
    I don't know where my dole office is so.

It'll be written on your invitation ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

I have never set foot in a dole office in over 30 years and touch wood I shall never have to set foot inside the door of one. Of course paying taxes for 30 years certainly entitles me to money from there more than most of the dossers and lay abouts who use the place weekly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

I have never set foot in a dole office in over 30 years and touch wood I shall never have to set foot inside the door of one. Of course paying taxes for 30 years certainly entitles me to money from there more than most of the dossers and lay abouts who use the place weekly.
    Dude that's like totally not how taxes work.

It's like this. You give up nearly half your income and the government decides how to spend it. And you're not entitled to shít.

What a great system.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Iwasfrozen wrote: »

It's like this. You give up nearly half your income and the government decides how to spend it. And you're not entitled to shít.

What a great system.

That is what I get for working with in the system the last 30 years I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

SpaceTime wrote: »
    What's the point of unusable ID cards?!

I wouldn't have an issue with an ID card like all continental European countries have. They're very useful for proving your ID, securing transactions, preventing fraud etc.

What I would have a huge issue with is the continental style requirement to carry it at all times. In Belgium for example it's illegal to be more than 200 metres from your home without ID on you. While it's rarely enforced, it can be.

That must have inadvertantly put an end to all the naturist camps there. Better not happen her :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭Tardful Slakerly II

Iwasfrozen wrote: »

What a great system.

Such hyperbole. You don't need roads or a health service or anything fancy like that I suppose.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 770 ✭✭✭ComputerKing

No I will not be lowering my self and going to a dole office for a useless care I have not problem going to the chemist and getting pics taken which I can send off to them but I will not be going near a dole office.

Are you afraid you might catch something :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I already have one

Me too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 770 ✭✭✭ComputerKing

Chucken wrote: »
    Are you afraid you might catch something :rolleyes:

Well no but now that you've said it I probably would.

So young to be so high and mighty :rolleyes:
    When you've finished your Junior Cert you could take a stroll up there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 83 ✭✭kaisersuzy

An id thats not an id.

Utter stupidity.

Invitation only btw

http://www.welfare.ie/en/Pages/Public-Services-Card_holder.aspx

Will they be offering coca cola and crisps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Nope, I have a driving license and a job. That'll do for now.

I was out of work for a year though a few years back and the attitude from the Welfare office was disgusting - almost calling you a lazy waster and treating you like shyte for "daring" to claim money from a fund you've been paying into for years anyway!

Not an experience I'd wish on any (genuine) person but a great example of yet another shambles in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Seaneh wrote: »

they done that so it could not be called, or used as a national identity card .

because most dont want one - so it would be a vote killer - they wont bring in a national identity card for this reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Young Blood

This is a true story.

I was called three times to get the new PPS Card with photo. I had left for Spain with the intetion of working there when I received the third letter. Becuase I didn't show up, my claim was 'suspened' even though I had no intention of coming back. Two months later I came back to visti my girlfriend while she was on holidays and decided to sign on...sure why not.

When I signed on again, I was given a lump some of about 700 euro becuase of my payment being in limbo. I was delighted naturally. :)

It was like I was reimbursed for a two month holiday.

This is a true story.

I was called three times to get the new PPS Card with photo. I had left for Spain with the intetion of working there when I received the third letter. Becuase I didn't show up, my claim was 'suspened' even though I had no intention of coming back. Two months later I came back to visti my girlfriend while she was on holidays and decided to sign on...sure why not.

When I signed on again, I was given a lump some of about 700 euro becuase of my payment being in limbo. I was delighted naturally. :)

It was like I was reimbursed for a two month holiday.

no good will come of this post

Such hyperbole. You don't need roads or a health service or anything fancy like that I suppose.

The roads are used by employed and unemployed equally so they should be paid for equally. As for healthcare employed and unemployed are equally likely to get sick but employed are more likely to have health insurance.

You were saying?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

2 questions:

1. Will they be open on the weekend?
    2. Will they send directions? I have no idea where my 'local dole office' is.

The plan is to give them to everyone over 18

Even if you are not on the scratcher?

What are you, 15? Don't look down your nose at people you little shít. You could easily find yourself in their position someday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

is there an RFID chip in them?

dj jarvis wrote: »
    no good will come of this post

Other than him being reported for welfare fraud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

They are a very good idea from the point of view of people who have to pay out the money. This requires a swipe card anyway and having a photograph on the card obviates the need to ask for other identification in suspect cases. Someone in a busy post office would pay out hundreds of payments every week, sometimes to payees with unusual names. In the absence of a photograph in some cases it would not even be possible for an Irish person to know what gender a name belongs to.

A social welfare services card with or without photograph was never intended to be an identity card. An indentity card would have to be for life presumably, a SW card might only be needed for a few months once off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

I remember I had to go to the dole office a few years back, had a meeting with one of their fine staff.

Walked into the office and saw some dodgy looking shaved head guy in runners, tracksuit pants and a hoody. Asked him was he finished his interview, told me he was giving the interview. No dress code in government buildings?

Other than him being reported for welfare fraud.

how little he must understand that most irish hacks skulk the pages of Boards , and would be happy to bring this to the attention of joan "gonna bite your cock off " burton , who will get the IP address via cort order and hunt you down like the silly little kanigit you are good sir

unless you are spoofing , then all's good ;)

dj jarvis wrote: »
    how little he must understand that most irish hacks skulk the pages of Boards , and would be happy to bring this to the attention of joan "gonna bite your cock off " burton , who will get the IP address via cort order and hunt you down like the silly little kanigit you are good sir

unless you are spoofing , then all's good ;)

So you're okay with welfare fraud and people claiming when they aren't available for work or even living in the country. Stay classy.