Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE Dinosaurs

• 19-06-2014 7:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭

I can hear my neighbor watching the World Cup next door and I can hear the same voices doing analysis from when I left primary school over 15 years ago. I don't have a TV to confirm it but it sounds like:

Bill O'Herlihy, aged 75, born in 1938.

John Giles, aged 73, born in 1940.

Eamonn Dunphy, aged 68, born at the end of the Second World War.

What in the name of Jaysus are these people doing on television? What is so special about this generation of old farts that they hang in there way past retirement.

RTE is full of them. If I wanted to listen to people like this, I would go to a nursing home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Still prefer them to the BBC's crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭burstbuckle

Agree with the OP,they need fresh talent like marty whelan or derek davis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

All those guys retired years ago.

It's the voices of Apres Match you can hear.

We'll leave it there so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I can hear my neighbor watching the World Cup next door and I can hear the same voices doing analysis from when I left primary school over 15 years ago. I don't have a TV to confirm it but it sounds like:

What in the name of Jaysus are these people doing on television? What is so special about this generation of old farts that they hang in there way past retirement.

RTE is full of them. If I wanted to listen to people like this, I would go to a nursing home.

Bill is retiring after this tournament, and watching Eamonn, John, and Liam, are nearly worth the Licence fee alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

They need a knowledgeable footballer like Linda Martin on the panel - sure didn't he do wonders for the Irish team in the 80's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Stop stealing your Neighbour's sounds and get your own Television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Joe Duffy..

I suggest you insulate your walls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

If you don't have a tv to watch the coverage then your opinion is prob based on ageism and not worth much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

These are the exception to the rule.Wouldn't miss Dunphy much though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Steppenwolfe

I saw the OP shaping up to write this post. He looked like he was F*****g dreading it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

:(:(:(

DO NOT MAKE A THREAD WITH "DINOSAUR" IN TITLE IF NOT ABOUT ACTUAL DINOS

/rant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Being over 70 myself I resent resemble those remarks!!

No seriously, I absolutely agree with you. They are well past their best. The same applies for many of them in the newsroom.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2 i_slunk_in

all of them ( not just bill ) need to be put out to grass

they are so long there , they have grown smug and complacent in their roles , giles ( who is a legend i accept ) not only doesnt know many of the teams in the tournament , he almost scoffs at the idea that he should - might

richard sadlier and kenny cunningham are always on their game , prefer darragh maloney to o herrlihy as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

They're phoning it in Bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

i_slunk_in wrote: »
    all of them ( not just bill ) need to be put out to grass

they are so long there , they have grown smug and complacent in their roles , giles ( who is a legend i accept ) not only doesnt know many of the teams in the tournament , he almost scoffs at the idea that he should - might

richard sadlier and kenny cunningham are always on their game , prefer darragh maloney to o herrlihy as well

Kenny is terrible

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2 i_slunk_in

Suas11 wrote: »
    Kenny is terrible

i think the old team are terrible , brady is the dourest man ever to walk the earth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Lol, I was thinking earlier today how RTE really needs to get some fresh blood. Some younger people with personality to shape it up. Just do a complete rehaul of the whole station, and get rid of the older lot because they're boring as f*ck.

Personally I think Ireland should have new chat show and base it off American shows like Conan or Jimmy Fallon's chat shows. A talk show, with some humor involved and a bit of banter. A comedian would be the best choice to host but I'm not sure what Irish comedian could pull it off. Personally I'm not a big fan of Irish comedians. But that's just my thoughts anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Best panel ever, love Eamo :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

You certainly complain like an auld wan, OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Eh, you said you don't have a TV so it's hardly a problem for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I love the grumpies! The last thing we want is irish pundits turning in to something like the british have. Keep all three of them....and lets mourn the retirement of Bill.

The three grumpies give an honest assessment of what they see and think. The bbc and itv lads just give the same old safe sound bites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Lol, I was thinking earlier today how RTE really needs to get some fresh blood. Some younger people with personality to shape it up. Just do a complete rehaul of the whole station, and get rid of the older lot because they're boring as f*ck.

Personally I think Ireland should have new chat show and base it off American shows like Conan or Jimmy Fallon's chat shows. A talk show, with some humor involved and a bit of banter. A comedian would be the best choice to host but I'm not sure what Irish comedian could pull it off. Personally I'm not a big fan of Irish comedians. But that's just my thoughts anyway.

Tried that with Craig Doyle and Lucy Kennedy before - they had their own shows- was painful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

:rolleyes: your point so is there crap coz there old:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

I love the grumpies! The last thing we want is irish pundits turning in to something like the british have. Keep all three of them....and lets mourn the retirement of Bill.

The three grumpies give an honest assessment of what they see and think. The bbc and itv lads just give the same old safe sound bites.

Spot on, even Souness loves the panel

Elsewhere, Souness works with Sky Sports as a pundit, principally on coverage of the Champions League.However, he has regularly stated that he prefers working with RTE, due to their "call it like it is" approach to football

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I don't even like football, but I still enjoy watching O'Herlihy, Giles, Brady and Dunphy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

They beat the smug, terrified-of-a-bit-of-friendly-disagreement gimps on the BBC panel by a mile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

I can hear my neighbor watching the World Cup next door and I can hear the same voices doing analysis from when I left primary school over 15 years ago.
    Same analysts as when I left primary school 23 years ago! In fairness, I think Dunphy and Giles were kinda a new thing the previous year for Italia '90.

Gotta agree in finding them preferable to the new lot, who are too bland and sanitised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Nothing wrong with Gilesey - the man knows the game and his analysis is good. RTE does sports analysis well in general in fact, it's one of the few things they do quite well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Magaggie wrote: »
    Same analysts as when I left primary school 23 years ago! In fairness, I think Dunphy and Giles were kinda a new thing the previous year for Italia '90.
    I think they've been there since 1978. One of them has at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

I miss Mícháel Ó Muircheartaigh. Like the transistor beehive of the summer he was; you'd hear him buzzing out of kitchens and pubs and workplaces, open windows of cars parked by the beach and the men sitting inside with their bare feet on the dashboard, smoking Major cigarettes.

Of course, my Da said that about Mícháel O'Hehir. Sin mar atá an scéal...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 64 ✭✭Mr Viking

The news readers are as bad and have seriously no street cred and don't get me started on the weather men and women

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Eh, you said you don't have a TV so it's hardly a problem for you.

If there is one thing I hate, it's twats without TVs.

No offence, OP.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with Gilesey - the man knows the game and his analysis is good. RTE does sports analysis well in general in fact, it's one of the few things they do quite well.
    But he doesnt know anything about some of the teams, beyond the one or two players who might play in the premier league. It's an absolute joke to have him there for the preview for those games, he contributes nothing. Let someone who is willing to do a bit of homework do the pre-match and bring in Giles at half time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

There the best football pundits around and Apres Match would be **** without them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

They're great entertainment and they tell is as it is. I'd love to see Roy Keane brought in for Giles. RTE aren't PC like the British TV stations, so he'll be given plenty of freedom to express himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Young Blood

If there is one thing I hate, it's twats without TVs.

No offence, OP.

I don't take offence, internet tv saves me having to pay a TV licence to watch the aforementioned coffin dodgers.

Try UPC horizon, it's class!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

BBC the best of a bad bunch.

Old farts on RTE moaning same old rubbish all the time, you need some new faces there and clear out Brady, Dunphy and Co.

Adrian Chiles is painful too on ITV I don't think he's playing the full deck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Young Blood

jonnny68 wrote: »
    BBC the best of a bad bunch.

Old farts on RTE moaning same old rubbish all the time, you need some new faces there and clear out Brady, Dunphy and Co.

Adrian Chiles is painful too on ITV I don't think he's playing the full deck.

It takes a really backward nation to have a bunch of old farts giving after match analysis. If that was any other country they would be laughed at. But I think it's only a very small minority who are laughing at them here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Fun fact for the kidz: Linda Martin is the closest living species to the Velociraptor, mostly due to the fact that they peaked at the same era.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭obezyana

I don't take offence, internet tv saves me having to pay a TV licence to watch the aforementioned coffin dodgers.

Try UPC horizon, it's class!

Not anymore given that it's no longer a TV licence it's a Broadcasting licence that covers more than just a TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

What's wrong with it, People should work into their 70s.

Goddamit I just clicked into this thinking that there were three new pages on the dinosaur thread about dinosaurs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Mr Viking wrote: »
    news readers are as bad and have seriously no street cred

You's trippin' dawg, B-rizzle Dobson be poppin caps in asses yo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 41 Lemonandice20

There's a lot of ageist nonsense being said here. They are far more entertaining then the rest of the channels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

OP, be careful what you wish for, I hear Phil Neville will be available soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

Dunphy and Co's act is fairly tired alright, but that Darragh fella replacing Bill is as bland as they come.Looks,talks and acts like a senior civil servant.Would rather someone like Eoin McDevitt from Second Captain's be given a chance as host,but I suppose he hasn't served years (of well paid) dues in RTE like Darragh has.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

There's a lot of ageist nonsense being said here. They are far more entertaining then the rest of the channels.

Watching paint dry is far more entertaining than Sky/BBC/ITV's efforts.Would be very hard to be worse than them in fairness.

I reckon Giles, Brady, and Dunphy could talk about paint drying and it would be more interesting than BBC/ITV/SKY talking about football (especially when England are playing)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

The problem isn't specifically with the panellists, it's with the format of the RTE content. Quite simply, the show is too long. There doesn't need to be a full hour of analysis before and after every match. There's so much time to fill its inevitable that there'll be an awful lot of bollocks talked. Cut down the length of the show and the quality will improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

Okey dokey OP