Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's your favourite ridiculous moment on Irish Television?

• 18-06-2014 8:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭

Just started thinking about this after Dunphy last night.. I can't post links but remember the guy on The Late Late abusing Pat Kenny a few years ago, the "you piece of shít" fella? I just laugh every time I see that :D

What's yours? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭winter soldier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Annie Murphy and Gay Byrne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

The man who fell on the ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

That fcukin turkey on eurovision ( yes I know it was on a lot of stations but il never get over it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭MacBizzle

The man who fell on the ice.

Yes, I've never seen something that made me so happy since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,915 ✭✭✭✭Eeden

Aarrghh!!. Does anyone remember audience members being invited to do "singing requests" on the Late Late Show way back when??!! :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

In before Linda Martin on the Late Late!

Eeden wrote: »
    Aarrghh!!. Does anyone remember audience members being invited to do "singing requests" on the Late Late Show way back when??!! :mad::mad::mad:

I probably wasn't born when that was going on.

Feel old? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

DoozerT6 wrote: »
    In before Linda Martin on the Late Late!

Saturday Night Show you mean? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,915 ✭✭✭✭Eeden

MacBizzle wrote: »
    I probably wasn't born when that was going on.

Feel old? :)

Yeah! Thanks a mill!! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

MacBizzle wrote: »
    Saturday Night Show you mean? :p

Ah well in fairness it's easy to confuse Tubs with the other fella ... :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Kenny like a military historian:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭wotswattage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

This is pretty bizarre stuff....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,660 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

That was fcuking hilarious.

Yamanoto wrote: »
    This is pretty bizarre stuff....

would not trust her to put a sticking plaster on a cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

So it's just the Den and the late late then is it?
    Anyway heres mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,562 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Flynn telling us all how hard it is to live on a Dail salary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭wotswattage

Jez the late late is featuring heavily here!

This guy is brilliant, especially his finale:pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

I know it's not Irish TV, but I used to get early on Saturday morning to watch SM:TV Live in the late 90's, the whole show would have me in stitches and it was SO NOT patronising and would take the piss unremorsely out of the children calling in with retarded answers. You wouldn't get away with it nowadays.

My much older teenage cousins and my parents would even watch it, it was even better than the cartoons they'd intersperse the main show with. Ridiculously entertaining A great, great trio.

(I can't stand Ant and Dec now though)

Much better than the Den.

Highlights include:

"That papergirl is getting tougher, took seven punches to get it off her this time." I'm convinced this show was meant for grown ups yet they somehow managed to market it as a kids' show to earn more money.

I mean what under 8 year old would understand Friends, never mind a parody of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

Pat Kenny ripping up the Toy Show tickets!

Jez the late late is featuring heavily here!

This guy is brilliant, especially his finale:pac::pac::pac:

I thought that was great!! Michael flatly based his whole career on yer man's dancing!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 72 ✭✭ewinslet

Any of Aengus Mac Grianna's stellar performances on the RTE News. If only the mods would let me post a youtube link...

Padraig Flynn's appearance on the Late Late would be right up there aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Pat Kenny asking a child if he was going to black up because he wanted to go dancing in New York.

Pat Kenny thinking an irate male caller was a woman.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yGZbpHmxBgY&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Pat Kenny asking Michael Caine if his father still thought acting was not a good profession, with Caine replying that his father was long dead.

Pat Kenny not knowing who Jerry Seinfeld was and giving him a cheap Superman toy.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nk1EOcFv3s8&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Pat Kenny forgetting Patricia Cornwell's name on his first Late Late Show.

Pat Kenny jumping like a terrified idiot.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iQc07e8ihK8&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Pat Kenny

Pat Kenny

Pat Kenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,928 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

When Mylie rode the one on the bales in Glenroe.

Well holy god :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I hope the guy who fell on ice never has to buy a pint again,he's dragged us through some dark times, the fact it's on the news is even better.

Those late night shows on tv3 with their stupid "guess the number", you'd think the presenters would have a bit of respect for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

This for me hasn't been topped. It had it all, a squirming Fianna Fail TD, a squirming Pat Kenny being confronted with the uncomfortable truth, a squirming woman in the chair next to the contributor who in herself is so typical of middle Ireland when someone dares to speak up, the cringe-worthy break the tension joke by Pat to alleviate an audience crippled by the wish to cheer the contributor but just couldn't bring themselves to, but most of all the semi coherent nutter in the pineapple check shirt who makes very valid points only to be shorn by his crippling inner self doubt and borderline psychotic inner monologue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,537 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Aidric wrote: »

This for me hasn't been topped. It had it all, a squirming Fianna Fail TD, a squirming Pat Kenny being confronted with the uncomfortable truth, a squirming woman in the chair next to the contributor who in herself is so typical of middle Ireland when someone dares to speak up, the cringe-worthy break the tension joke by Pat to alleviate an audience crippled by the wish to cheer the contributor but just couldn't bring themselves to, but most of all the semi coherent nutter in the pineapple check shirt who makes very valid points only to be shorn by his crippling inner self doubt and borderline psychotic inner monologue.

Thats brilliant,if memory serves me right, that bloke was the same fella round the late 90's , early 2000's, use to do a soapbox debate in henry street,giving out about the government and bertie ahern

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

I'm in stitches at the woman next to him. God love her, she's absolutely mortified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Anyone mention Aengus Mac Grianna's "WHAT?!" yet?

So bloody funny.

"Now I'm off to go sue an old woman for a field" :D

Absolute legend.

Yer man is a ****ing legend :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,660 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Turns out Pat was actually worth what he was getting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,997 ✭✭✭Degag

Gaybo putting condoms onto bananas would have to be pretty high up there....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

I love how Kenny keeps popping up in this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Degag wrote: »
    Gaybo putting condoms onto bananas would have to be pretty high up there....

For real!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

Thats brilliant,if memory serves me right, that bloke was the same fella round the late 90's , early 2000's, use to do a soapbox debate in henry street,giving out about the government and bertie ahern

Debating on the street? Nobody tell him about Boards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

Here he is on Grafton street:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Possibly the worlds least graceful proposal courtesy of RTE Today Show.Add to this bucket of cringe the fact that after this fiasco they were offered a free night in a five star hotel and dinner there after the show. She was delighted.
    He responded with "We can't, my mother's having an engagement party in the house, we have to be there at 6".

Hopefully they're blissfully happy now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,997 ✭✭✭Degag

KungPao wrote: »
    For real!?

Well, don't think he put them on himself but there was a guest who did.

Caused absolute uproar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Possibly the worlds least graceful proposal courtesy of RTE Today Show.Add to this bucket of cringe the fact that after this fiasco they were offered a free night in a five star hotel and dinner there after the show. She was delighted.
    He responded with "We can't, my mother's having an engagement party in the house, we have to be there at 6".

Hopefully they're blissfully happy now.

"Get out yer finger" :D That whole thing was so cringe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Anytime Louis Walsh gets airtime! He is getting younger and more like peter pan every day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭interlocked

Well, it could be the night on the Late Late that Gay had to take off his trousers before the producer would agree for the programme to go off the air.

Bur more probably,the night on the show that a stocious Ollie Reed did press ups over a prostate Susan George and er, kept forgetting to press up, He then took off his shirt and proceeded to do a handstand on the back of a kitchen chair.

They had to bring him back the following Saturday to apologise.....

Now THAT was entertainment,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

On the Irish version of Who Wants To Be A Millionaire the contestant used his 50/50. He still didn't know the answer so he asked the audience. Loads of audience members (something like 20%) voted for the two answers that had been removed. I didn't know it was even possible to vote for an answer that had been removed.

Years ago on the Late Late Show, Ike Turner was being interviewed. He was talking about having sex with a woman in her forties when he was twelve. Pat Kenny said something like "so you were sexually abused?". Ike Turner replied "we just called it fun back then". The audience started laughing and then changed their minds and sounded shocked instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

Skip to 30 seconds.
    Then withdraw