Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most arrogant county in modern Hibernia

• 15-06-2014 11:29am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15 NilesCrane

Who are the most arrogant people on the island?

From my experience it would be Meath men, even on GAA forums they have usernames such as Ard Rí and Royal county and what not, they don't seem to know that many High Kings were not Meath men, they came from various places like modern Donegal, Tyrone, Clare and Mayo (i think).

Next would be Donegal, I have never seen county pride like that in my life, it may as well be its own country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Pride = arrogance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

Perhaps a county that claims to be the real capital & even went so far as to issue their own passports? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭B_Rabbit

Definitely the Dubs. Every second one thinks they're a fcuking comedian, as well as the most intelligent person alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭kub

The Grab All Association love this of course, they do nicely out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

B_Rabbit wrote: »
    Definitely the Dubs. Every second one thinks they're a fcuking comedian, as well as the most intelligent person alive.

Jaysus, you could say that about any county in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭PLUG71

And so it begins:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Jaysus, you could say that about any county in Ireland.
    That may well be the case, but it's particularly true about the Dubs, they're just generally quite arrogant and some can be very annoying because of that. Reasons for such arrogance are typically unfounded too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I miss orangesoda on these kinda threads. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Nailz wrote: »
    That may well be the case, but it's particularly true about the Dubs, they're just generally quite arrogant and some can be very annoying because of that. Reasons for such arrogance are typically unfounded too.

Well being a dub, interacting with people every single day here, I dont see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,211 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Any person who calls Ireland 'hibernia'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Funny how these kind of threads are nearly always started by someone with only a few posts to their name.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Nailz wrote: »

Well, dublin does subsidise the rest of the country...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15 NilesCrane

joeguevara wrote: »
    Any person who calls Ireland 'hibernia'!

That was to make sure people include all the island

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Didn't know a county could be arrogant...
    I'd vote for that county that think it's Down with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Well being a dub, interacting with people every single day here, I dont see it.
    I'm not being smart, but that's probably because you are from Dublin.

To non-Dubs (or me, at least), Dubs come across as arrogant and quite annoying because of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭corner of hells

B_Rabbit wrote: »

With a city and county population of about 1.5 million , does that mean 750,000 are quite content not thinking they are comedians ? Or are they comedians ?

You seem opinionated , can you help us ?

caustic 1 wrote: »
    Funny how these kind of threads are nearly always started by someone with only a few posts to their name.:confused:

are you a Trivium fan by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Dubs think they're living in some major world city when you could fit the city centre into Paris or London about six times over, Dublin thinks it's also cool and cosmopolitan when in reality it's obsessed with ''knacker'' and ''quare'' spotting like the rest of the village idiot island.

Loads of Corkonians have the weird notion that everyone else has missed out by not being born one of them even though the reality is the opposite.

Plus Ulster Prod's think they're some sort of Aryan, Calvinist, Nordic master race when in reality most of them are like a cross between Rab C Nesbitt and a Jeremy Kyle show guest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Kildare or Cavan Kilkenny comes a close second

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,860 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Cork.

/end thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

NilesCrane wrote: »

Are you a re reg? Go on tell us who were ye, we won't tell honest ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

No

dd972 wrote: »
    Dubs think they're living in some major world city when you could fit the city centre into Paris or London about six times over, Dublin thinks it's also cool and cosmopolitan when in reality it's obsessed with ''knacker'' and ''quare'' spotting like the rest of the village idiot island.

Loads of Corkonians have the weird notion that everyone else has missed out by not being born one of them even though the reality is the opposite.

Plus Ulster Prod's think they're some sort of Aryan, Calvinist, Nordic master race when in reality most of them are like a cross between Rab C Nesbitt and a Jeremy Kyle show guest.

I'm not too fond of Dublin, it goes from one extreme to the next, tracksuit wearing hoolies to pretentious little twerps, there is no middle ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭PLUG71

Bitter vibes here!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

kub wrote: »
    The Grab All Association love this of course, they do nicely out of it.

Love what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Hootanany wrote: »

So Kilkenny come 3rd then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

It's just the posturing that comes from rivalry in GAA. It's pretty harmless.

Thought this line was funny though:
    "For somebody from Carlow to be lecturing Cork on hurling is akin to Jedward telling Pavarotti how to sing."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Hootanany wrote: »

Kilkenny people are far from arrogant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Cork....and most Ulster counties.

Dublin - but only parts of it - namely large chunks south of the city centre out as far as Wicklow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Strange post.

Maphisto wrote: »
    Are you a re reg? Go on tell us who were ye, we won't tell honest ;)

wind your neck in Maphisto my good friend

Rasheed wrote: »
    Love what?

Intercounty rivlary.

KKkitty wrote: »
    Kilkenny people are far from arrogant.

Not sure about that......:)

I was arranging a training visit to a company in Kilkenny once and they asked if they could change the date I'd allocated because it was the Tuesday after the All-Ireland Hurling Final Weekend......this was in April :)

Even though they did go on to win it that year, it was still pretty arrogant to be arranging the celebrations before a sliotar had been hit in anger.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

You can just say Ireland. It's the name of the island. Also, crap OP. Thought Fraser would have instilled more class in you to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Zed Bank

All of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭iomega

CORK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

kub wrote: »
    Intercounty rivlary.

Oh right. Ah it's harmless banter to most. Some go too far occasionally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,985 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Jawgap wrote: »
    Not sure about that......:)
    it was still pretty arrogant to be arranging the celebrations before a sliotar had been hit in anger.......

in fairness though, it might be considered by some to be arrogant, but at the same time, they can back it up.

i.e. don't ever plan too much with Kilkenny folk for early September..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I'm not too fond of Dublin, it goes from one extreme to the next, tracksuit wearing hoolies to pretentious little twerps, there is no middle ground.

As opposed to every muck spreading bogman culchie on the island

One couldn't possibly be engaging in such a thread as this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭MacBizzle

wind your neck in Maphisto my good friend

You're Orangesoda aren't you!?!? :D:D:D

Answering the question: It's definitely us down in Cork, or those Kilkenny hurling c*nts. Thinking about it now it's probably those Kilkenny hurling c*nts, at least we've more than our hurling to be proud of :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭auldgranny

Did you hear about the Cork man with severe inferiority complex?
    He thought everyone else was as good as him.

Cork, all day every day. Nobody comes close.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭MacBizzle

auldgranny wrote: »

You love us really :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Wordless

Much of a muchness. Seriously the country isn't that big for us to be really different from each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭auldgranny

MacBizzle wrote: »
    You love us really :)

Actually ya :)

Wordless wrote: »
    Much of a muchness. Seriously the country isn't that big for us to be really different from each other.

The most sensible post so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

Wordless wrote: »

Spoken like a true kildare man :)
    I jest!

auldgranny wrote: »

In fairness, Cork people are well balanced.........they have a chip on each shoulder......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,211 ✭✭✭joeguevara

As opposed to saying....mmmmm. ....Ireland! Ffs