Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

self diagnosis.

• 12-06-2014 6:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭

I know of people who diagnosed themselves with disorders and others who diagnosed their child with disorders.

Any1 else know of people who have done this and what do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

It's stupid and potentially harmful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I've diagnosed my dog with a bad case of wanting to be peoples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

This is the internet. You could find a million tests on google telling you you're diabetic or schizophrenic or whatever. You can't be surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Still have to go to a doctor presumably?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

My aunt does it all the time, but she has Munchausen's so we expect it :pac:

A few of my friends do it. I don't see the point. If I'm sick and unsure what's wrong, I pay a professional to fix me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Yahoo Answers is my primary doctor. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

cloud493 wrote: »
    This is the internet. You could find a million tests on google telling you you're diabetic or schizophrenic or whatever. You can't be surprised.

According to Google, I'm dead three times already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I diagnosed myself with severe amnesia.

And severe amnesia.

I also diagnosed myself with severe amnesia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm a self-diagnosed sex bomb

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

RayM wrote: »
    I diagnosed myself with severe amnesia.

And severe amnesia.

I also diagnosed myself with severe amnesia.

No way, I think you're grand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Bad case of longus-schlongus here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

I gave up on that practice after every thing said I'd either have cancer or would be expecting an imminent heart attack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Zed Bank

I use to use WebMD but no matter the symptoms you always end up being diagnosed with cancer.

Some times it is a coping mechanism, if someone does no want to a acknowledge to themselves that have depression or some other mental health issue( although deep down they have some insight in to themselves ).... So they diagnose themselves with some thing that straddles the medical/psychiatric, conditions such as fibromyalgia or adrenal fatigue, its important that its something medical but cant really be pined down, it fulfils a need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

A couple of weeks ago, I felt a bit like... I don't know... a dog on a motorway.

I diagnosed myself as being in danger of getting run down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

The problem with many conditions and diseases is that many of them have non-specific symptoms, such as "tiredness" or "back pain". Given how ubiquitous symptoms like these are, it means Mr. Joe Soap can pretty much find a strong match for any disease or "potential diseases". For these people, it's more satisfying to have an extreme answer to the question of "what's wrong with me?" rather than having no answer at all, or still further, not asking the question unnecessarily in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I was once hospitalised due to a severe case of premature ejaculation.

I discharged myself after after a few mins though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

My mother in law is notorious for it. She tried it when my son was born saying he all sorts of illness's and ailments. It didnt take me long to nip that in the bud and I came down down on her like a ton of bricks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

mariaalice wrote: »
    Some times it is a coping mechanism, if someone does no want to a acknowledge to themselves that have depression or some other mental health issue( although deep down they have some insight in to themselves ).... So they diagnose themselves with some thing that straddles the medical/psychiatric, conditions such as fibromyalgia or adrenal fatigue, its important that its something medical but cant really be pined down, it fulfils a need.

Fibromyalgia is a physical disorder. It's frequently associated with certain psychiatric disorders, but in itself is not one. Lots of people have it without having any psychiatric problems, and many more develop psychiatric problems (depression, anxiety etc.) because of living in chronic pain and being treated like it's all in their head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Splendour

mariaalice wrote: »

I hope you never suffer from either of these conditions and have people presume it's all in your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

All of the answers made e smile but mariaalice and wretched domain gave me pause for thought. I dd n0t take it that mariaalic was trying to discredit fibro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If you think you may have aids it could be true.
    Get tested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I took a test online and it said I was pregnant but not with twins. You would assume they would ask for my gender so they could have ruled it out due to me being a male.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

The worst problem with self diagnosis is that you get medical students' disease

Splendour wrote: »
    I hope you never suffer from either of these conditions and have people presume it's all in your head.

I did not say it was all in their head. I do know someone who diagnosed herself as having arthritis( among many other conditions) after extensive tests she was told she did not have arthritis, she then said she had fibromyalgia again she got extensive tests and was told she did not have it, but told every one she did, lot of other stuff went on and she then decided as she was going for a medical she did not want to be known to have it and so on, in the end she keep going to different doctors and get prescribed all sorts but mostly for depression and pain killers which she say are so strong its what they give for cancer, she says she does not have depression but is currently saying she has arthritis, she is a nice person and this has been going on for years. If any doctor tries to talk to her about any of this she changes doctors.

So do ye know anyone who has diagnosed themself with something in particular? I know it's not hard to look up symptoms online 'cause you don't want to bug your GP or don't have time or funds to visit your G.P and you could end up matchingthe symptoms for Ebola or Lassa Fever or something when you ony have a bad 'flu!. I am thinking along the lines of a disorder more than an illness.

I do- know more than one person who self diagnosed a disorder.. (I guess that much's obvious or I wouldn't be posting about it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

cloud493 wrote: »

nahuh, self diagnosing on 't internet you'll inevitably end up with some form of cancer, it'll always be cancer (occasionally combined with haemorrhagic rift valley fever) either way you're going to die.

In short.....leave it to the professionals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭larrlin24

It's called Health Anxiety/Hypochondria. I have general anxiety but when I'm really stressed, I get out of control symptoms and diagnose myself with everything under the sun. I spend all my free time googling my symptoms and obsessing over them. I wouldn't wish this disorder on my worst enemy. Not sure you should really be judging people for it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I know of people who diagnosed themselves with disorders and others who diagnosed their child with disorders.

Any1 else know of people who have done this and what do you think?
    Harsh response:

People who self diagnose tend not to diagnose disorders. They diagnose excuses.

endacl wrote: »
    Harsh response:

I'd imagine it wouldn't be an overly popular opinion.
    But there may be more truth to it than a lot of people would like to admit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

wexie wrote: »
    I'd imagine it wouldn't be an overly popular opinion.
    But there may be more truth to it than a lot of people would like to admit.
    While there has been a rise in the diagnosis of ADHD, for example, we've seen a corresponding decline in the diagnosis of BOLD.

It's glandular :D

Harsh response:

I don't think its that it just they want to weave a more acceptable explanation/story for what they are suffering from and in their mind a psychical illness is more acceptable than haveing a mental health issue its ironic because they are only adding to the stigma themselves by the way they behave.

When you have experience o eople with a disorder and experience of people faking a disorder to excuse their bad behaviour and thus tarnishing the image of the people who genuinely have the disorder (and who are incapable of behaving in such a manner ) you will not think it is harsh. when fake diagnoses are brandished as excuses for behaviours inconsistent with the genuine disorder everyone who works with people with the disorder is insulted and all efforts to raise awareness are effectively spat upon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭ElizaT33

Yeah - running backwards from it all the time ...!:D

larrlin24 wrote: »
    It's called Health Anxiety/Hypochondria. I have general anxiety but when I'm really stressed, I get out of control symptoms and diagnose myself with everything under the sun. I spend all my free time googling my symptoms and obsessing over them. I wouldn't wish this disorder on my worst enemy. Not sure you should really be judging people for it..

Nobody is judging hypochondriacs like you who have their own distinct disorder. I have a hypochondriac friend and i make sure not to expose her to health related stuff that might affect her. The post is about self diagnosis and people sometimes choose to do that to suit their own ends. Not sure you should be judging people who question that behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

The worst problem with self diagnosis is that you get medical students' disease

I got that!
    Thought I had MS at one stage. It was just fatigue from stress of exams. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

So do ye know anyone who has diagnosed themself with something in particular? I know it's not hard to look up symptoms online 'cause you don't want to bug your GP or don't have time or funds to visit your G.P and you could end up matchingthe symptoms for Ebola or Lassa Fever or something when you ony have a bad 'flu!. I am thinking along the lines of a disorder more than an illness.

I do- know more than one person who self diagnosed a disorder.. (I guess that much's obvious or I wouldn't be posting about it)

I diagnosed myself with two things, one later confirmed by GP, the other I mentioned to my mum who said "oh yes, that's what you were diagnosed with years ago".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

I heard you have a short fuse.

In fairrness some things are obvious. My daughter was diagnosed with Asthma two years after she started wheezing and many bottles of liquid Ventolin and huried dashes to the a and e department later. I went to the g.p and tod the G.P my daughter has asthma. He readily agreed that she is asthmatc. She presented as asthmatic and had been treated as such until then and the diagnosis was only given when I verbally brught it up.

Similarly you know if you are depressed oranxious you dont need a doctors confiration of this to know how you feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭35cent

It's stupid. I always seem to have cancer when I do that so I stopped. I have family members that are doctors so I don't even need to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I diagnosed myself with narcissistic personality disorder at one point. I really thought that was me at that point (I was about 20), and it was, but then I grew up a bit more and moved away from what I'd originally considered to be the key factors.

Later, I diagnosed myself with bipolar disorder. I have had pretty severe bouts of depression and I've had equally inexplicable bouts of mania but the more I've researched it, the more I think I'm overstating the changes and I don't think I really have it, just some other type of depression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I diagnosed myself with a blocked hydrocephalus shunt as the cause of my excruciating headaches from 2005-2007. I did this only after extensive research, while pretty much the entire medical community told me it was stress, diet, exercise, migraine, muscular, allergies, you name it but it absolutely 100% definitely had nothing to do with my shunt.

Lost consciousness around Christmas 2007 and was finally brought in for a CT scan, lo and behold the feckin' thing was blocked and thus my brain was being crushed by water pressure. For almost two feckin' years.

Since then I have had literally no time for the "see a doctor" sentiment any time medical questions come up. I figured out what was wrong with me beyond reasonable doubt within about five months and I suffered horribly (many days I couldn't even get out of bed because of the blinding headache) because the medical community was too f*clong arrogant to consider the possibility that they might have been wrong.

Been self diagnosing and self treating most problems as a result for years, and it's seved me amazingly well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I never self diagnose. Searching online helps you prepare for the worst though. I had a sore ankle which according to Google was actually a skull fracture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭obplayer

Chap I used to work with as a computer programmer (Cobol; anyone remember it?), kept coming in wheezing and coughing. We all said 'GO TO THE DOCTOR!'. No he said, he had a home medical manual and knew what the problem was. A couple of days later his wife phoned to say he had been taken to hospital with a collapsed lung. It was pneumonia. I then found myself saying something truly nasty and horrible....'I hope he can read a Cobol manual better than a medical one.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

I self diagnose regularly and my doc just agrees without question........psoriasis is acting up - steroid cream. Sleep not happening - sleeping tablets. Getting very anxious - vallium. Mind you, I've been dealing with all that crap for years and by now my doc just takes my word for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Youtube and a good woman saved me from having a life-long disability after being given a dumbass diagnosis from a dumbass doctor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

Karl....Fixed your face for you did she?;)