Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The biggest lies you've told your parents (as an adult) ?

• 06-06-2014 1:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭

What is the biggest lie you've told your parents as an adult?

I don't really lie to them anymore but there is a big one about myself that I've been keeping from them for a few months that I feel bad about but it's for their own good, it doesn't affect them in any way but they'd be annoyed if they found out. It's akin to them lying to me about Santa for nine years :pac:

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

You first.

That I'm straight

there extremely religious and homophobic so I'm not telling them noting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Of course I won't throw you in a home Dad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Probably that I'm feeling grand when I'm not. I don't like them worrying about me. Other than that, I conveniently leave out some details about my life they don't need to know, which is not lying as such.

I was an awful liar when I was a kid/teenager though.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

No Mammy, I'm grand. I don't need any money.

*Fastens bailing twine around black bag pants*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭BBJBIG

What stains - I blew me Nose with the bed sheet ...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

"I only paid X for that insert frivolous object here".

(Where x = half of actual price.)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

I've no idea where Tiddles has got to?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

My washing machine is broken:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Yogosan

I'm adopted.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭flutered

girls never tell their mums everything, never have, never will.

Aglomerado wrote: »
    " insert frivolous object here".

I'm getting this printed on knickers for the girlfriends birthday.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I'm getting this printed on knickers for the girlfriends birthday.

Feck I knew when I posted it that there was a double entendre in there! (Fnarr!)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Glebee

It was only low alcohol beer....

• Registered Users Posts: 17,517 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

No, I've never taken drugs. Sure, look at me. I'm healthy, have a good job and exercise regularly. Couldn't do all that on drugs now, could I?

Aglomerado wrote: »
    Feck I knew when I posted it that there was a double entendre in there! (Fnarr!)

I think that counts as a quadruple!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

Probably that I'm feeling grand when I'm not. I don't like them worrying about me. Other than that, I conveniently leave out some details about my life they don't need to know, which is not lying as such.

I was an awful liar when I was a kid/teenager though.

This right here, theres this funny cold war between parents and adult kids about medical stuff where they leave out anything too worrysome!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,248 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Separate Rooms. Of course!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

No, I've never taken drugs. Sure, look at me. I'm healthy, have a good job and exercise regularly. Couldn't do all that on drugs now, could I?

ha ha.. I've been dragged into a discussion a few times on so and so and their filthy drug habit. As usual I chime in saying "and he is such a nice lad, terrible shame......"

frequently it's about a relative i socialise a bit with and I play down my involvement with him. terrible I know.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Smoked for ten years, 'the house smells like smoke because my friends smoke'. Maybe she knew, but she never let on if she did.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Direct lies? Not really. Lies of omission? Manifold.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭flutered

i would never have sex on a first date, never mind after getting pulled in a pub.

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭qwertyabcd

that I didn't smoke, the smell of smoke was because all the girls I worked with smoked, I quit smoking a month later anyway

I go sparingly on the outright lies but I'm generous with omissions (usually).

Recently there was the 'Mum, I can't drive up for X's wedding tomorrow, I've a sprained ankle and I've to keep it elevated. No, no, I'm grand, I can manage by myself. No, I didn't fall because I was drinking, I just twisted it out of the blue. No, it's been x-rayed, theres no fracture. No, it's not in plaster. No, what's tubigrip?... Besides, I hit my head and I have a headache. No, my pupils are the same size. No, no, I didn't black out...'

'Alright, I'll be there before dinner :('

The moral of the story is never tell a health lie to an MD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

My parents never told me the word "fart" until I was about ten. :o We used to say windy-woo. :P

For some reason my Mum didn't like the word "fart", hahahaha. Windy woo. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭Sinister Pigeon

"You are my parents."

My parents never told me the word "fart" until I was about ten. :o We used to say windy-woo. :P

For some reason my Mum didn't like the word "fart", hahahaha. Windy woo. :D

I think that's adorable :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I never speed. I'm a safe driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

imitation wrote: »
    This right here, theres this funny cold war between parents and adult kids about medical stuff where they leave out anything too worrysome!

I was talking more about being down in the dumps or not feeling fantastic mentally but yeah, same thing I suppose. I've never had serious physical medical problems, thank jaysus. I think I'd actually tell my dad and step-merm if I did tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cactuspaw

That I've never smoked, I'd say they have a fair idea.