Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you have stopped them?

• 06-06-2014 12:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭

I was walking through my small country town today and spotted two lads 14-16 just finishing taking a light off a locked bike and making off with it.

I was about to say something along the lines of. .. Here lads, leave it be!.... and hope they'd move along rather than taking up an issue with me....but as I was crossing the road to them my mind played through the scenario of these lads families - without knowing them personally, they are part of certain families in the town - making my family's life a living hell (wife, child)

So I took the cowardly way out and said nothing, hung around for a couple of minutes to see if the owner returned (to tell him what happened if he wished to pursue it) and then went on my way. I had by then decided that I wouldn't contact the guards as I may need to go to court etc which could end up with similar repercussions.

I'm feeling quite embarrassed now thinking back on it as I would generally stand up for myself or others. I would still like to think if it had been any other young lads I'd have said something but it has got me also thinking in terms of how I'd act with this crowd if it was a much more serious issue.

So would you just act without thinking it through?
    Would you think it through as I did and say nothing (value of bike light vs safety of family) ?
    Would you realise the consequences and still go ahead with action (say something / take them on in court)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Was it a motor bike or bicycle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭johnny_adidas

Bicycle - mini led clip on light

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

OP I doubt if you'd end up in court. Its still not too late to ring the guards.
    I would.

Chucken wrote: »
    Its still not too late to ring the guards.
    I would.

Seriously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

You should make an anonymous phone call to the guards about it

Seriously?

Seriously.

Seriously.

It was only a mini led clip on light, prob a lidl fisher price toy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Doesn't matter, it's still someone else's property, regardless of the price.

I have no idea what that is but if its important enough for the OP to start a thread on it, its important enough to take seriously.

Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭dpofloinn

That's not the point, the value of the item is of no consequence. It is the principle of the matter

I think that's what has me still awake though. The same crowd could lift some young fellas bike or be in a house right now.
    But on the other hand they might not even get punished/ be doing the same thing tomorrow regardless

Doesn't matter though, it's still someone's property, regardless of the price.
    I have no idea what that is but if its important enough for the OP to start a thread on it, its important enough to take seriously.

Seriously.

I am sending a snapchat to the local guard to get on the case, i cant believe i overlooked the seriousness of the matter.

I think that's what has me still awake though. The same crowd could lift some young fellas bike or be in a house right now.
    But on the other hand they might not even get punished/ be doing the same thing tomorrow regardless

You should have stopped the crime as you had the chance to, no good doing a post mortem on it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭dpofloinn

I am sending a snapchat to the local guard to get on the case, i cant believe i overlooked the seriousness of the matter.

What constitutes a theft worth reporting in your opinion ? Theft is theft no matter if was a penny sweet or a million quid

dpofloinn wrote: »
    What constitutes a theft worth reporting in your opinion ? Theft is theft no matter if was a penny sweet or a million quid

A front and back light.

You should have stopped the crime as you had the chance to, no good doing a post mortem on it now.

I see your point that it's too late for what ifs now but I do see certain value in discussing it/getting opinions, otherwise how else do we learn for the future?

I might just call the station in the morning to see if anyone reported a stolen light (maybe they got both ;-) ) . There are enough cameras in the area for them to catch the culprits if they wished to pursue it.

I guess the original question still stands though

I see your point that it's too late for what ifs now but I do see certain value in discussing it/getting opinions, otherwise how else do we learn for the future?

Pick up the phone and tell the guards what you saw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Op,
    the biggest mistake of all this is posting it here. People will get back with "ahh, fecking hell op. did you piss your pants?" or "ffs! ring the cops at least if you aren't going to be a man!" etc etc. Basically insults in the following posts. But I am sure some nice wording better than my examples will be at play.

But on the surface, what you did was wrong. You could have stopped them or whatever. But the reality is so many Tom, Dick and Harry's in this world would have done the same thing... Keep your head down. Who wants the possible hassle. Etc.

So my honest advice to you is to get some salt... alot of it ... when you read this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

OP, while I would always try to help others and hate theft of any kind, having been on the receiving end of anti-social behaviour sometimes self preservation has to come first, if these people are already hassling you and your family maybe it was for the best that you didn't say or do anything.

The problem with these families and there is at least one in pretty much every town/village up and down the country is that they tip toe on the line most of the time, only crossing it when they think they can get away with it. Despite there being legislation for anti-social behaviour orders they just are not being handed out.

Op,
    the biggest mistake of all this is posting it here. People will get back with "ahh, fecking hell op. did you piss your pants?" or "ffs! ring the cops at least if you aren't going to be a man!" etc etc. Basically insults in the following posts. But I am sure some nice wording better than my examples will be at play.

But on the surface, what you did was wrong. You could have stopped them or whatever. But the reality is so many Tom, Dick and Harry's in this world would have done the same thing... Keep your head down. Who wants the possible hassle. Etc.

So my honest advice to you is to get some salt... alot of it ... when you read this thread.

True, probably would've got more from this if I'd left out the personal experience and focused on whether people would act and deal with repercussions or just walk on

I might just call the station in the morning to see if anyone reported a stolen light (maybe they got both ;-) ) . There are enough cameras in the area for them to catch the culprits if they wished to pursue it.

I guess the original question still stands though

What do you expect the guards to do? brind in csi miami and Haratio Caine dust down for finger prints and scan for suspects on his iphone 6.
    There is thousands upon thousands of euros of machinery and tools being stolen off farms all over the country every day and the guards can do fcuk all about it. Put that into perspective to a 5 euro light from lidl and think about it.

What do you expect the guards to do? brind in csi miami and Haratio Caine dust down for finger prints and scan for suspects on his iphone 6.
    There is thousands upon thousands of euros of machinery and tools being stolen off farms all over the country every day and the guards can do fcuk all about it. Put that into perspective to a 5 euro light from lidl and think about it.

So in that case, you see said machinery being stolen, you could report it or try scare them off but know there could be issues afterward. Would you?

People have reported these thefts, the thieves have stolen property from locked premises, a thief will stop at nothing to get access. Thief's have killed watch dogs to get control of premises.
    If i was you i would have stopped that crime, with the greatest respect there is nothing you can do now, the horse has bolted, its game over ball burst.

Seriously?
    A front and back light.
    If i was you i would have stopped that crime, with the greatest respect there is nothing you can do now,

But yet you choose to take the pee until it was something you were interested in was mentioned.

What did i say i was interested in?

Machinery and Tools.

I only gave that as an example, cars, phones, wallets, get stolen every day of the week. Am i now interested in all these things after mentioning these?

Most people are.

So is a D4 yuppy interested in hearing that some farmers machinery has been stolen in the sticks or vice versa of the farmer hearing that the yuppys phone got stolen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭obplayer

I was walking through my small country town today and spotted two lads 14-16 just finishing taking a light off a locked bike and making off with it.

I was about to say something along the lines of. .. Here lads, leave it be!.... and hope they'd move along rather than taking up an issue with me....but as I was crossing the road to them my mind played through the scenario of these lads families - without knowing them personally, they are part of certain families in the town - making my family's life a living hell (wife, child)

So I took the cowardly way out and said nothing, hung around for a couple of minutes to see if the owner returned (to tell him what happened if he wished to pursue it) and then went on my way. I had by then decided that I wouldn't contact the guards as I may need to go to court etc which could end up with similar repercussions.

I'm feeling quite embarrassed now thinking back on it as I would generally stand up for myself or others. I would still like to think if it had been any other young lads I'd have said something but it has got me also thinking in terms of how I'd act with this crowd if it was a much more serious issue.

So would you just act without thinking it through?
    Would you think it through as I did and say nothing (value of bike light vs safety of family) ?
    Would you realise the consequences and still go ahead with action (say something / take them on in court)

Phone the Guards but otherwise don't get involved. If they lash at you and you defend yourself you will be the one in trouble. But phone the Guards.

So is a D4 yuppy interested in hearing that some farmers machinery has been stolen in the sticks or vice versa of the farmer hearing that the yuppys phone got stolen?

I really have no idea. :confused:
    What does that have to do with the thread? You deemed it an unimportant theft (by your 'funny quips') The point is that ALL theft is theft...would you do something about it or not?

I really have no idea. :confused:
    What does that have to do with the thread? You deemed it an unimportant theft (by your 'funny quips') The point is that ALL theft is theft...would you do something about it or not?

Im only replying to your posts, you made the claim of me interested in a certain crime, stick by your posts now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Im only replying to your posts, you made the claim of me interested in a certain crime, stick by your posts now.

I'm amazed at how badly you have come off in only three pages. Are you consciously trying to look stupid?

Kirby wrote: »
    I'm amazed at how badly you have come off in only three pages. Are you consciously trying to look stupid?

Tell me how i am stupid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

I would but I'm starting to feel sorry for you. As your signature says, I recognise that life must be truly tough for you.

Kirby wrote: »
    I would but I'm starting to feel sorry for you. As your signature says, I recognise that life must be truly tough for you.

Are you seriously taking my signature for real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

OP I had an incident the other week where a neighbor apparently drunk decided that midnight in a crowded neighborhood was the time and place to fire his handgun off his porch for jollies.

Two options: leave the loon alone, or call the cops. I could go talk to the neighbor but eh, we have a gun involved, probably alcohol, and then he'd know which neighbor. Pass. Calling the cops I was able to keep anonymity intact. And go to bed. A handgun isn't terribly loud, but it is somewhat distracting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

Meow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

I'd have said 'Ah would you stop the lights'.