Chucken wrote: » Its still not too late to ring the guards. I would.
Sir Arthur Daley wrote: » Seriously?
Chucken wrote: » Seriously.
Sir Arthur Daley wrote: » It was only a mini led clip on light, prob a lidl fisher price toy.
Lucifer MorningStar wrote: » Doesn't matter though, it's still someone's property, regardless of the price.
Chucken wrote: » I have no idea what that is but if its important enough for the OP to start a thread on it, its important enough to take seriously. Seriously.
johnny_adidas wrote: » I think that's what has me still awake though. The same crowd could lift some young fellas bike or be in a house right now. But on the other hand they might not even get punished/ be doing the same thing tomorrow regardless
Sir Arthur Daley wrote: » I am sending a snapchat to the local guard to get on the case, i cant believe i overlooked the seriousness of the matter.
dpofloinn wrote: » What constitutes a theft worth reporting in your opinion ? Theft is theft no matter if was a penny sweet or a million quid
Sir Arthur Daley wrote: » You should have stopped the crime as you had the chance to, no good doing a post mortem on it now.
johnny_adidas wrote: » I see your point that it's too late for what ifs now but I do see certain value in discussing it/getting opinions, otherwise how else do we learn for the future?
B.A._Baracus wrote: » Op, the biggest mistake of all this is posting it here. People will get back with "ahh, fecking hell op. did you piss your pants?" or "ffs! ring the cops at least if you aren't going to be a man!" etc etc. Basically insults in the following posts. But I am sure some nice wording better than my examples will be at play. But on the surface, what you did was wrong. You could have stopped them or whatever. But the reality is so many Tom, Dick and Harry's in this world would have done the same thing... Keep your head down. Who wants the possible hassle. Etc. So my honest advice to you is to get some salt... alot of it ... when you read this thread.
johnny_adidas wrote: » I see your point that it's too late for what ifs now but I do see certain value in discussing it/getting opinions, otherwise how else do we learn for the future? I might just call the station in the morning to see if anyone reported a stolen light (maybe they got both ;-) ) . There are enough cameras in the area for them to catch the culprits if they wished to pursue it. I guess the original question still stands though
Sir Arthur Daley wrote: » What do you expect the guards to do? brind in csi miami and Haratio Caine dust down for finger prints and scan for suspects on his iphone 6. There is thousands upon thousands of euros of machinery and tools being stolen off farms all over the country every day and the guards can do fcuk all about it. Put that into perspective to a 5 euro light from lidl and think about it.
johnny_adidas wrote: » So in that case, you see said machinery being stolen, you could report it or try scare them off but know there could be issues afterward. Would you?
Sir Arthur Daley wrote: » A front and back light.
Sir Arthur Daley wrote: » If i was you i would have stopped that crime, with the greatest respect there is nothing you can do now,
Chucken wrote: » But yet you choose to take the pee until it was something you were interested in was mentioned.
Sir Arthur Daley wrote: » What did i say i was interested in?
Chucken wrote: » Machinery and Tools.
Sir Arthur Daley wrote: » I only gave that as an example, cars, phones, wallets, get stolen every day of the week. Am i now interested in all these things after mentioning these?
Chucken wrote: » Most people are.
johnny_adidas wrote: » I was walking through my small country town today and spotted two lads 14-16 just finishing taking a light off a locked bike and making off with it. I was about to say something along the lines of. .. Here lads, leave it be!.... and hope they'd move along rather than taking up an issue with me....but as I was crossing the road to them my mind played through the scenario of these lads families - without knowing them personally, they are part of certain families in the town - making my family's life a living hell (wife, child) So I took the cowardly way out and said nothing, hung around for a couple of minutes to see if the owner returned (to tell him what happened if he wished to pursue it) and then went on my way. I had by then decided that I wouldn't contact the guards as I may need to go to court etc which could end up with similar repercussions. I'm feeling quite embarrassed now thinking back on it as I would generally stand up for myself or others. I would still like to think if it had been any other young lads I'd have said something but it has got me also thinking in terms of how I'd act with this crowd if it was a much more serious issue. So would you just act without thinking it through? Would you think it through as I did and say nothing (value of bike light vs safety of family) ? Would you realise the consequences and still go ahead with action (say something / take them on in court)