Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Bus driver, "I'll run you over".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭blobbie

Bye bye job and good enough for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Regardless of the bus driver, whytf do you keep going when you see the bus closing in on you? Just brake and let him do whatever the hell he wants to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

That's what I'd be doing, be it in a car or bike, slow down and let them on with it, probably a rush of blood to his head.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

ThisRegard wrote: »
    That's what I'd be doing, be it in a car or bike, slow down and let them on with it, probably a rush of blood to his head.

Looking at your man's other videos it seems like he is prepared to risk his life in order to tell drivers they are in the wrong (and get a good video).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭cheerspal

The cyclist should have slowed down. The bus driver should not have veered in. Even if I was in that cycle lane I would never go on the inside of a moving bus. That is just asking for trouble

Amazing how many close shaves this cyclist has. I do about 200km a week and never have any issues like he does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

AstraMonti wrote: »
    Regardless of the bus driver, whytf do you keep going when you see the bus closing in on you? Just brake and let him do whatever the hell he wants to do.

Tend to agree with this. We all have to share the road, and that particular stretch is busy with all sorts of movements.

The cyclist was looking for trouble, and he might find it some day.

I say this as a cyclist myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

From a motorcyclist to a cyclist, you lads have more balls than us !!

That sort of carry on is what put me off cycling.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Didn't sound like there was necessarily intent. More of a "I'll run you over by accident."
    Still, it's crap driving with so many cyclists about, and I don't see how following the rules of the road is "asking for trouble".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

Shameful driving by the bus driver.
    The cyclist is cycling along in the cycle lane, has a bus driver veer into him and yet the cyclist is to blame?!

He probably could have slowed down, but this stance of 'good enough for him' is kind of sickening.
    He was just cycling along in the cycle lane.

I was in Vauxhall, London at the wknd and passed the spot where another cyclist was killed a few hours earlier that day.
    I told my brother and his first reaction was 'Well, you should see some of the stunts cyclists pull'.
    A fkn truck had just run over the cyclist and yet the blame within a millisecond was on the cyclist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭spyderski

The guy is looking for trouble, no point being "dead right". He should have braked when he saw the bus veering in on him; that said, the driver is typical Dublin Bus standard and in the wrong. If the driver had just apologised for his mistake, the cyclist would have come across as the tosser in this video.

Also, why does a cycling evangelist refer to a "mandatory cycle lane"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I think there were two of them in it.
    The bus was clearly veering into the cycle Lane before the cyclist even got to the rear of the bus and for self preservation purposes it would have been wise hold back behind him for a couple of seconds.
    Car drivers have to give way in similar circumstances daily and just because you are in the right doesn't give you right to create an accident.
    I think the bus driver here initially was telling the cyclist that he would get knocked down if he continues cycling into closing wedges but foolishly got into a heated debate where he stupidly made a threat to the cyclist.

Maybe the bus was avoiding another cyclist overtaking him!?

We know how dangerous it is to cycle in any city. Why take risks going on the inside of a moving vehicle that weighs about 15 tonnes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Ugh, being in the right won't stop you dying. Cyclists are squishy, cycle defensively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

Two people encountered each other on Dublin's North Quays when they both made a mistake. The one who put himself in the position to become a victim decides to take the opportunity to play the victim even further. Of course the bus driver should not have come into the lane, but going into that tight space along the inside of a bus on a stretch where they stop frequently is lunacy (speaking as someone who commutes into work using the same road). Unless the bus is stationary and I am filtering, I will only overtake them on the right.

Having said that, the driver's attitude left a lot to be desired, and he could have apologised for entering the lane while also explaining to the cyclist that what he did was silly/dangerous. Instead he came out with what could be construed as a threat (I'm not convinced it was, but that's not really relevant) and fanned the flames.

I also can't help but notice the irony of the "staying alive at 1.5" mantra the cyclist included, despite putting himself into a space on the inside of a bus which was barely that! Also, is mandatory in the context of cycle lanes still a valid term since cyclists are no longer obliged to use them? Or perhaps it still distinguishes those delineated by a solid line rather than dashed that other road users are mandated not to enter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

cheerspal wrote: »
    Why take risks going on the inside of a moving vehicle that weighs about 15 tonnes!
    So he can add to his collection of outraged videos on youtube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

We know how dangerous it is to cycle in any city. Why take risks going on the inside of a moving vehicle that weighs about 15 tonnes!

At the start of the video you do see a cyclist overtaking the bus. Continuing to cycle up the inside of a bus as it's pulling in on top of you is real Darwin-award type behaviour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

That's what I thought. Right at the start of the video you can see a cyclist overtaking the bus on the outside, bus driver drifted left for that cyclist and the camera guy kept pedaling when he saw the bus encroaching on the cycle lane. Regardless of the rules of the road your better off stopping when it the right than ending up under a bus. The person making that video has bad road craft and the worst thing is that with the way that they cycle they will eventually become a statistic.

The irony is that at the end of the video he wants 1.5m clearance for overtaking yet cuts through stopped traffic at a bit of pace with barely a handle bar distance between the vehicles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,735 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    Didn't sound like there was necessarily intent. More of a "I'll run you over by accident."
    Still, it's crap driving with so many cyclists about, and I don't see how following the rules of the road is "asking for trouble".

This to be honest.

Think it was more of a warning than a threat.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Yep Dublin Bus driver clearly in the wrong, he should not have pulled in across the cyclist.

However, there is no chance in hell I would continue up the inside of a bus veering into me. It has happened to me, i hang back, then have a word with the driver (if i catch up! I take a few secs to gather myself).

It all seems needlessly antagonistic. Why go up to the driver twice? He is not getting the response he wants so why keep going up and provoking it? Take the reg and report it.
    I don't think the bus driver meant he was actively going to run the cyclist over, probably annoyed at the cyclist's behaviour although he was in the wrong.

Bus driver wrong and dangerous. Cyclist could have taken a safer way of dealing with it. There aren't 'mandatory' cycle lanes anymore. Going up to the driver twice? I know the blood is up but after the first exchange what kind of reaction did he think he was going to get? It's just so pointlessly antagonistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

"I'm a bus driver on my own. Stop harassing me"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭d9oiu2wk07blr5

The bus driver was in the wrong, but that cyclist really needs to take a hard look at his own behaviour which not only amounts to road rage but is outright dangerous cos he'll end up in a box with that sort of carry-on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

"I'll run you over" is never right!

Disgraceful driving and a disgraceful representative of Dublin Bus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭spyderski

This might not be popular, but the best solution to this kind of problem is to get rid of bike lanes where they are unsuitable.

The bike lane in this instance encourages undertaking, when there is no room for error from either drivers or cyclists. In fairness to the bus driver, he also has feck all room to his right. If there was no bike lane, cyclists would have to overtake safely, same as all other traffic. As it is, the bus drivers are complaining about cyclists undertaking in the bike lane, while moaning when others DON'T use the bike lane.

Cycle lanes like this one only serve to create the impression in drivers heads that cyclists are not "traffic" but are rather some nuisance which reduces their already congested space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭manafana

to defend some, like anything there are bad and good bus drivers, I had great interaction with a bus driver on navan road other day who couldn't have been more careful and appreciated my awareness of his bus too.

end of day ride like anything could end up in your way and hopefully avoid incidents.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

drumswan wrote: »
    So he can add to his collection of outraged videos on youtube

Exactly. This looks very much like an idiot getting all righteous on another idiot.

You want to report him to the guards? Fine, you have a point. But what's the moaning and the youtubing about? Self-righteous twat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭DaithiMC

MB Lacey wrote: »
    Shameful driving by the bus driver.
    The cyclist is cycling along in the cycle lane, has a bus driver veer into him and yet the cyclist is to blame?!

He probably could have slowed down, but this stance of 'good enough for him' is kind of sickening.
    He was just cycling along in the cycle lane.

I don't agree with this at all, nor do I share the view that any previous poster has taken a "good enough for him" attitude. At the start of the video the cyclist is BEHIND the bus, he's not simply "cycling along in the cycle lane" he is making a conscious decision to undertake a bus on a multi-lane road with no apparent assessment to the risk that anything in front or to the right of the bus driver could cause him to move left.

I regularly squirm at the sight of cyclists going up the inside of large vehicles having stopped myself behind them - I now have an involuntary reaction of shouting "Don't go up there" when I see it. Maybe I am overly cautious but, in my opinion, this is video evidence of bad cycling behaviour as much as you may think it is of bad driving in the bus driver's part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

mickdw wrote: »
    I think the bus driver here initially was telling the cyclist that he would get knocked down if he continues cycling into closing wedges but foolishly got into a heated debate where he stupidly made a threat to the cyclist.

There was no threat, all the driver was saying is if you do stupid things like you just done then you will get run over, not I'm going to hunt you down and kill you. He was basically stating the obvious that if it comes down to collision, the cyclist is unlikely to come off best. The driver seemed ok to me, the cyclist a seemed a bit of an asshole, with a chip on his shoulder to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

Why on earth would you undertake a bus on a stretch of the quays when it could be pulling in to let passengers board and alight. Whilst cycle lanes are there to provide safety and segregate cycle traffic from other road users they don't mean that you can cycle like a d1ck.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

This has been spun.

There was no threat from the driver...more of an observation that the cyclist will get run over if he keeps cycling like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭stop

<speculation> Did the bus veer to it's left because of the cyclist in red passing between the bus & the traffic lane?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

stop wrote: »
    <speculation> Did the bus veer to it's left because of the cyclist in red passing between the bus & the traffic lane?

I think that cyclist had already passed, I imagine he was merging over for the stop at the next lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

gadetra wrote: »
    Yep Dublin Bus driver clearly in the wrong, he should not have pulled in across the cyclist.

However, there is no chance in hell I would continue up the inside of a bus veering into me. It has happened to me, i hang back, then have a word with the driver (if i catch up! I take a few secs to gather myself).

It all seems needlessly antagonistic. Why go up to the driver twice? He is not getting the response he wants so why keep going up and provoking it? Take the reg and report it.
    I don't think the bus driver meant he was actively going to run the cyclist over, probably annoyed at the cyclist's behaviour although he was in the wrong.

Bus driver wrong and dangerous. Cyclist could have taken a safer way of dealing with it. There aren't 'mandatory' cycle lanes anymore. Going up to the driver twice? I know the blood is up but after the first exchange what kind of reaction did he think he was going to get? It's just so pointlessly antagonistic.
    He didn't pull across in front of him as he was veering in the cyclist increased his speed to dramatize the situation then foolishly veers across in front of the moving bus to complain to the driver.

MB Lacey wrote: »

I don't think anyone was implying that it was good enough, just an opinion of what they would have done in that case. I know I've been squeezed enough times through no fault of my own just to mellow and sit back a while.

Although on second viewing it doesn't look like he decided to go through the gap after the driver started to encroach on him, it appears he was already along side when the driver started to pull on to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

DaithiMC wrote: »
    I don't agree with this at all, nor do I share the view that any previous poster has taken a "good enough for him" attitude. At the start of the video the cyclist is BEHIND the bus, he's not simply "cycling along in the cycle lane" he is making a conscious decision to undertake a bus on a multi-lane road with no apparent assessment to the risk that anything in front or to the right of the bus driver could cause him to move left.

I regularly squirm at the sight of cyclists going up the inside of large vehicles having stopped myself behind them - I now have an involuntary reaction of shouting "Don't go up there" when I see it. Maybe I am overly cautious but, in my opinion, this is video evidence of bad cycling behaviour as much as you may think it is of bad driving in the bus driver's part.

Fair enough, maybe I'm still seeing red over my brother's 'the cyclist was probably to blame' comment to the death of the cyclist the other morning.
    Walking past the scene upset me a lot and so did my brother's reaction, so maybe I'm jumping on anything here blaming the cyclist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭zurbfoundation

"I'm a bus driver on my own. Stop harassing me"

is this the same cyclist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭stop

CramCycle wrote: »
    I think that cyclist had already passed, I imagine he was merging over for the stop at the next lights.

Fair enough.

Although the driver didn't actually pull in to the stop, I didn't notice anyone getting off in the video, just trying to figure out why he was veering (and eventually indicating) left.

The stop in question was discussed in a C&T thread a few years back as a H&S issue for <some> DB drivers.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Although on second viewing it doesn't look like he decided to go through the gap after the driver started to encroach on him, it appears he was already along side when the driver started to pull on to him.
    TBF, unless your there it can be a hard call to make. The correct choice for the cyclists on seeing the driver pull in is to slam on the brakes and yell, maybe jump on the pavement but that said, its happened to me in the past and I have done what he has done and put the hammer down and squeezed through. Completely wrong but sometimes the fight or flight response overcome rational thinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

blobbie wrote: »
    Bye bye job and good enough for him

I, for one, welcome our new lycra clad overlords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Reaction to the cyclist a bit harsh here.

The bus is clearly outside the bus lane when he cycles alongside it.

The bus clearly drives into the bus lane while the cyclist is beside it. We can see that there was no signal that he was going to drive into the cycle lane. We can also see that its a continous white line and the bus driver has no business being there.

So I dont see the cyclists behaviour being dangerous to himself. He could have pulled over but the bus was clearly slowing down, so instead he cycled ahead of it. He was put in a tight position by the bus moving in, I dont see how its his fault.

Bottom line is:

Bus driver pulls into cycle lane that he was not entitled to go into, without signalling and presumably without looking in the mirror.

Cyclist posts the video on YouTube.....and the cyclist is a crank?

Thats not how you raise driver awareness.

Thats how you feed media trolls who think Cyclists are always and everywhere in the wrong.

As for the video, I dont think the driver is threatening the cyclist. However he wasnt apologising profusely either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

Cyclist might have been a bit kamikaze but the driver should be banned from driving public transport vehicle for what he said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Reaction to the cyclist a bit harsh here.

The bus is clearly outside the bus lane when he cycles alongside it.

The bus clearly cyclies into the bus lane while the cyclist is beside it.

So I dont see the cyclists behaviour being dangerous to himself. He could have pulled over but the bus was clearly slowing down, so instead he cycled ahead of it. He was put in a tight position by the bus moving in, I dont see how its his fault.

Bottom line is:

Bus driver pulls into cycle lane that he was not entitled to go into, and presumably without looking in the mirror.

Cyclist posts the video on YouTube.....and the cyclist is a crank?

Thats not how you raise driver awareness.

Thats how you feed media trolls who think Cyclists are always and everywhere in the wrong.

As for the video, I dont think the driver is threatening the cyclist. However he wasnt apologising profusely either.

He's a crank because 98% of his YouTube uploads are of cars nearly hitting him. He obviously knows where and how to create a situation for himself to play the victim and then upload the video to Facebook.

He's a member of a cycling club too. He's one of the types of gob****e that gives cyclists a bad name. Most cyclists want to get to B without getting in a situation, and will take the safer line and give way to busses and cars.

I really hope the bus driver doesn't lose his job here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

I agree with Tombo. While the guy is certainly looking for more chips for his shoulder the bus driver still changed lane without prior indication and without ensuring it was safe to do so. If he didn't realise he was turning into a cycle lane and didn't check for cyclists then he is 100% in the wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭JosDel

I've stopped using that route from the park into town, Find it one on the most dangerous cycle path route around, Dont know how many time I've nearly been clipped by busses, I use the luas line now, again another dangerous route, but the lesser of both evils...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,161 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Driving/cycling and walking along the City quays is v stressful, bus's, taxi's, vans, private cars all competing for limited space... getting yourself into situations like this, with a camera on board, waiting for something like this to happen doesn't help anyone. And unfortunately as well intentioned at this guy is, he comes across as a crank on a bike...

Right so the bus driver didn't behave in an exemplary manner, though at the same time the guy on the bike could have reacted by slowing down and letting the rather large bus get ahead..
    The cycle lane won't offer you much protection when you're lying in the hospital..
    Though I have been beeped and f**ed out of it by a taxi driver once cos i dared to stray outside of the painted lines!

https://twitter.com/liamdesign_com/status/473922509432057856

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

kona wrote: »
    He's a crank because 98% of his YouTube uploads are of cars nearly hitting him. He obviously knows where and how to create a situation for himself to play the victim and then upload the video to Facebook.

He's a member of a cycling club too. He's one of the types of gob****e that gives cyclists a bad name. Most cyclists want to get to B without getting in a situation, and will take the safer line and give way to busses and cars.

I really hope the bus driver doesn't lose his job here.

He didnt 'create' the situation in the video.

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    I dont see how its his fault.

It's not what people are saying though, more so that (and as Cramcycle said, it's not always possible to be sure given camera angles etc) the cyclist could have cycled a bit more defensively and maybe taken himself out of the danger he was put in by the bus driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭laraghrider

spyderski wrote: »
    This might not be popular, but the best solution to this kind of problem is to get rid of bike lanes where they are unsuitable.

I don't think this is an unpopular opinion at all in fact I think you'll find the vast majority of cyclists will agree. There is a stretch of road that I use on the N81 and to be honest it's baffling. I saw a cyclist argue with a lorry driver because he was in the cycle lane but if you look at it with the cycle lane taking up the left hand portion of the lane there is hardly enough room for a car to stay in between the lines let alone anything else.

Cycle lanes for the sake of cycle lanes on roads that are unsuitable is ridiculous and can actually lead to more incidents than they are supposed to prevent.