Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UP TO DATE READERS ONLY *SERIOUSLY* Who would be your draw the line?

• 03-06-2014 7:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭

Which character's death, if any, would stop you reading A Song of Ice and Fire?

Edit: I was going to put a poll but if you hover over the link to the thread the first couple of entries show I think.

Which character's death would be the final straw for you? 134 votes

Nobody. I would continue to read them
    0% 0 votes
    Tyrion
    48% 65 votes
    Dany
    26% 35 votes
    Jon (For real)
    2% 3 votes
    Arya
    6% 9 votes
    Sansa
    5% 8 votes
    Bran
    2% 3 votes
    Cercie
    0% 1 vote
    Jamie
    0% 0 votes
    Varys
    1% 2 votes
    Littlefinger
    2% 4 votes
    The Dragons
    0% 0 votes
    Jorah
    2% 3 votes
    John Connington
    0% 1 vote
    Another
    0% 0 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Not G.R

Edit: I was going to put a poll but if you hover over the link to the thread the first couple of entries show I think.

Arya... she's the only one Im rooting for now. Jon too if he survived.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,530 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I'll finish the series regardless of who get's killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Mickeroo wrote: »
    I'll finish the series regardless of who get's killed.

This, that horrible gut wrenching feeling you get when Ned or Robb are killed is all part of it, and shows how well written it is. If I didn't care about any of the deaths I would have given up on it by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Mac B

Turtyturd wrote: »
    This, that horrible gut wrenching feeling you get when Ned or Robb are killed is all part of it, and shows how well written it is. If I didn't care about any of the deaths I would have given up on it by now.

I agree, I'll read on regardless but I'll be gutted if either Tyrion or Arya are killed. Is a reflection of how well it's written, getting so involved with the characters that I mourn the loss of the main ones to date but NEED to read on to discovery what horror is ahead for the next likeable before they get killed too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

No real main POV character has been killed bar Ned really. I think he loves Tyrion too much to kill him. Can see Arya hopefully going out in a blaze of glory at some stage, I'd like her to kill Ramsay but think he'll be dead before she's back. Robb wasn't that big a character from the perspective that all the other Starks bar Rickon get POV so Robb was only really there as a plot forwarding device rather than overly important from a character basis imo. Catelyn is back too so the main Targ, the 3 Lannisters (as far as we know) aren't dead, all the Starks bar Ned and in theory Jon but he's obviously coming back are all still alive.

Clearly there are characters who Martin loves who he wants to continue writing. Jaime is someone who's death I would hate to see more than anyone I think. Stannis is the next to go I think, he's lived longer than I thought given how early his brothers bit the dust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭TheGlass

I don't think I'll stop if anyone gets killed. Not a massive fan of Dany but if she got killed before making it to Westeros it would be a bit stupid. What would annoy me more about the series is if every just starts getting resurrected and coming back as a half zombie/half human. The deaths start to lose their impact if they're only temporary, and are worse if they dull the character and make them a zombie, less than who they were previously

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

All men must die!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

I trust George to tell a great story either way do I don't care who dies. I'm there til the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

George RR Martin's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

George RR Martin's.

Ba dum tish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Will finish the series regardless but I'm more worried about convoluted plots amounting to nothing than characters dying. Wouldn't be too happy if Davos/Rickon, Doran, Euron, Aegon, LF, Varys & Illyrio etc. had no part in the end game and it just boiled down to Jon vs Dany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭Daith

Well Bran is one of my faves but he's probably going to end up living a long life as a tree.

I'm fully expecting most of my fave characters to die. Oberyn's death is a stark reminder that living for vengeance leads to death so I doubt Arya will last.

The thing I'm never expecting ASoIaF to actually end. Whatever happens in the "last" book, the situations that our characters find themselves in, I'll just want to read more. Unless everyone dies of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭desultory

Arya, which I suspect he'll do soon. Loves to kill characters off just for shock value IMO. No real reasoning behind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I'm not attached to any one character that I'd stop reading, I do have my favourites, stannis being one but I fully expect him to die, I'm actually surprised he lasted this long.

desultory wrote: »
    Arya, which I suspect he'll do soon. Loves to kill characters off just for shock value IMO. No real reasoning behind it.

Well he might but there's a reason behind them though. Robb wasn't even a POV character!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,183 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

I would still finsih the series as you may not know what would happen. However for the poll I put down Tyrion as I had to put down 1 but especially now I look forward to Tyrion, Arya, Jon chapters all the same. I like the Reek/Ramsay chapters but I fully expect them to end sooner than later eg middle of next book

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭desultory

Daith wrote: »
    Well he might but there's a reason behind them though. Robb wasn't even a POV character!

I find it odd that the most loveable characters die. Only someone who's doing it for shock value will do that, I'd like to see Dany die just because so far she's done feck all. Her story seems to be getting going in the books, sure, but I can see the series diverging.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,530 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I find it odd that the most loveable characters die. Only someone who's doing it for shock value will do that, I'd like to see Dany die just because so far she's done feck all. Her story seems to be getting going in the books, sure, but I can see the series diverging.

But he never kills main pov characters, just makes them look dead at the end of a chapter or book only for them to survive. Oberyn and Robb were fairly minor characters really.He's not all that unpredictable. Ned being the exception of course. I suppose he has license to change it up at any time though.

I find it odd that the most loveable characters die. Only someone who's doing it for shock value will do that.

Robb was loveable?

Are you saying that the series will take the boring route through her story? I highly doubt that. She'll be taking a shite in front of Khal Pono by the end of S5 without a doubt. They'll just concentrate on other stories instead of boring us to death with everything that was in the book.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

George RR Martin's.

That or the untimely death of 5starpool would be the only thing stopping me finishing the series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Marcus Antonius

Voted Tyrion as he is my favourite character by a mile but being realistic I'd probably begrudgingly finish them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭DM addict

It may be an odd choice, but I voted for Varys. He seems capable of keeping himself alive and the realm going. If he dies, Westeros is doomed.

On a personal note, I would be sad at Arya's death. It would be crazy to have her die after surviving so much and changing and developing so much as a character. BUT that is what GRRM likes to do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Hodor crushing Hot Pie's skull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I'd be sorry to see Arya, Tyrion, Samwell or (book) Jon die but I can't see any of them being killed off before the very end (and in a blaze of glory).

The only things that'd stop me finishing the series are it's non-completion or my death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

I'd keep reading regardless but I would not like Jon or Arya to die. I don't think Arya will have a huge effect on the story overall but will have a part to play in her own way.

GRRM has confirmed that Howland Reed will turn up at some stage. I'd imagine that will be in some sort of contact with Jon regarding the Tower of Joy, so Jon should survive what happened in the last book.

I'm hoping that a Stark sits in Winterfell at the end in a positive way - not Sansa married to Littlefinger or something like that. Jon Stark? Doubtful if it would be Arya. Rickon the Wild Wolf?

I also think that Tyrion will die, unless Dany really takes to him and he does some amazing stuff that helps her to take the throne. Once all the stories are finished, what could he have left? Lord of Casterly Rock? Doesn't seem to fit.

I'm fairly convinced that Rickon will be the Stark in Winterfell come the end of a "A Dream of Spring".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Too many people expecting Jon Snow to come back. I have a feeling he won't be back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭celica00

I would keep reading even tho it would make me sad to see Dany go.
    Somehow she became my favorite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

tbh I've given up caring, he can kill who he wants just stop throwing in new characters
    to take their place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Littlefinger or Varys I'd miss the most, just because it would close off a lot of potential possibilities considering how devious he is. All the actual plotting so far stems from these two mainly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭Kunkka

Daith wrote: »
    Robb was loveable?

Not in the books to be honest. The show paints him in a totally different picture imho. I've done a re-read recently and didn't realize how little time he is involved in the books.

If Jaime was to die I'd be pissed off. I love a bit of redemption and he's showing that in abundance. For all that to be a waste of time would piss me off.

Jaime will die gloriously. It just seems so certain that he'll die to save Brienne or something similar...

Sleepy wrote: »
    Jaime will die gloriously. It just seems so certain that he'll die to save Brienne or something similar...

Indeed he probably will to redeem his honor but not until the end.... in my opinion.

Sleepy wrote: »

And then be brought back to life again as a shadow of himself :mad:

Riamfada wrote: »
    Too many people expecting Jon Snow to come back. I have a feeling he won't be back.

He will. Someone asked GRRM something assuming he was dead and he replied "Oh you think he's dead, do you?"

Also another interview I was reading (this was after ADWD came out) he was asked something like of "how do you plan the arcs of every character". He replied along the lines of "I always knew what Neds arc was, and what Jon's will be" or something.

Can't remember the exact wording but he's definitely not gone. I'd go as far as to say the story is based completely around him and Dany - Ice and Fire.

Yeah GRRM definitely let slip that Jon isn't completely gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I think the Ramsey story needs some conclusion before Jon is finished. Personally I want him to hand Reek his masters head before he puts him out of his misery. I know it's not going to happen because Martin is set on redeeming Reek.

I just want a direwolf to eat Walder Frey. Except he'll probably die while having sex with some young girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,812 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

What a poll..it has Jon Connington but not Stannis:pac:

Stannis and Jon would be where I draw the line...for caring anyway...I'd read them but my heart wouldn't be in it. I could stand the loss of one of them I suppose but not both.

I could handle Stannis going if Jon somehow becomes king, other than that I don't care who gets the IT...the other claimants...Euron, Dany, Aegon, Tommen..they would all be as bad as each other in their own way.

In fact I'd snap if Stannis dies. I'd hunt George down

I'd say Stannis is certain to die. We all know he won't sit the throne at the end and he never gives up so it's the only logical conclusion.

As much as I like Stannis I fear his role in ASOIAF was to introduce us to the lord of light and the concept of Azor Ahai - and to get Jon Snow and melisandre to meet. Now that we know Jon is Azor Ahai Stannis has pretty much run his course.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Did I not put Stannis there? Ah. Meant to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

I'd say Stannis is certain to die. We all know he won't sit the throne at the end and he never gives up so it's the only logical conclusion.

As much as I like Stannis I fear his role in ASOIAF was to introduce us to the lord of light and the concept of Azor Ahai - and to get Jon Snow and melisandre to meet. Now that we know Jon is Azor Ahai Stannis has pretty much run his course.

:(

We do?
    Actually wher d they talk about Azor Ahai as i must have missed it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Tyrion first with a toss up between Varys and Littlefinger, would be pissed if Arya dies too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭NickD

I am genuinely concerned that George will be the next to die. I read an article where his agent has given the release date for WoW as Summer 2015, but so far she has only seen 184 pages of it. He is a damn slow writer. He is also not a young (or small) man. Is there a plan in place in case he dies? Has he writen the outline for the rest of the stories? Why is he being allowed to go to interviews and do appearances when the book isn't finished? Is someone monitoring his blood sugar?

NickD wrote: »
    I am genuinely concerned that George will be the next to die. I read an article where his agent has given the release date for WoW as Summer 2015, but so far she has only seen 184 pages of it. He is a damn slow writer. He is also not a young (or small) man. Is there a plan in place in case he dies? Has he writen the outline for the rest of the stories? Why is he being allowed to go to interviews and do appearances when the book isn't finished? Is someone monitoring his blood sugar?

I hope he has more than 184 pages written, especially considering he had some parts written that was meant for ADWD but he decided to hold it back for WoW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,812 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

NickD wrote: »

He only had to submit those pages to satisfy a contractual clause and get his payment. This time last year he had over 400 or so pages done so he's up on that number by now.

He said if he kicks the bucket; the books are done, nobody else is to finish it...the show will carry it on to the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭NickD

Blay wrote: »
    He only had to submit those pages to satisfy a contractual clause and get his payment. This time last year he had 400 or so pages done so he's up on that number by now.

He said if he kicks the bucket; the books are done, nobody else is to finish it...the show will carry it on to the end.

That makes me feel better, I hadn't heard that he had 400 done was slightly freaking out. I am so worried he's gonna pop his clogs, and then I won't be able to chuckle at the non-book readers who declare their love for a character that I know is going to die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Blay wrote: »

Ya, heard that too. His publishers might think differently though and carry it on.

No Stannis in the pole, class! I am going to take that as a sign that our one true king will be around for a bit longer and hopefully survive the next book....